$103 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 26, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

The Westin Miyako Kyoto

4 stars
View map of Sanjyo Keage Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, 605-0052

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
24 reviews
BEAUTIFUL!

This was a wonderful hotel, clean, neat, and in a fantastic location in Kyoto. I love to walk and... See full review

  • Tupun
  • Apr 22, 2015
Excellent!

Didn't expect that it was that nice. Wish to revisit in the future. See full review

  • Gyber
  • Nov 23, 2014
With spectacular views of the ancient capitol of Japan, The Westin Miyako, Kyoto enjoys a soothing setting in a Japanese garden. Right near a subway station and not far from downtown Kyoto, guests can relax on premises or explore the local area.
Stroll through one of the beautiful Japanese gardens, and then enjoy a warm cup of tea at the ancient style teahouse. Keep your body and mind invigorated with the outdoor jogging track and tennis courts and indoor pool. Try one of the delicious onsite restaurants for traditional and international fare.
Relax in one of it's spacious guest rooms complete with all of the necessary amenities including the signature Heavenly Bed. The Westin Miyako, Kyotos oversized guest rooms have beautiful mountain views, as well as separate showers and soaking tubs for your full relaxation.

Top hotels

The Westin Miyako Kyoto Rooms

Superior Double
25-sqm. 1 double Heavenly bed. In the case of the use with three, We put an extra in the room with extra bed charge.
Deluxe Twin
38-sqm. 2 single Heavenly bed. In the case of the use with three, We put an extra in the room with extra bed charge.
Deluxe Double
38-sqm. 1 double Heavenly bed. In the case of the use with three, We put an extra in the room with extra bed charge.
Executive Deluxe
36-sqm 1 double (180cm by 200cm) or 2 single (120cm by 200cm) Heavenly bed. Includes access to the exclusive Higashiyama Lounge on the 10th floor. There, you can take advantage of daily complimentary continental breakfast, all hours coffee and tea, High speed internet access, evening cocktails, inspiring city vistas, and more.
Superior Twin
25-sqm. 2 single Heavenly bed. In the case of the use with three, We put an extra in the room with extra bed charge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Chion-in: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nanzen-ji: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Maruyama Park: 0.5 mi
  • Eikando Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Heian Shrine: 0.6 mi
  • Yasaka Shrine: 0.6 mi
  • Sen-oku Hakuko Kan: 0.7 mi
  • Ryozen Kannon: 0.7 mi
  • Gion: 0.8 mi
  • Sannenzaka Ninenzaka: 0.8 mi
  • Sanjo station: 0.9 mi
  • Pontocho: 0.9 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1 mi
  • Chion-in: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nanzen-ji: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Maruyama Park: 0.5 mi
  • Eikando Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Heian Shrine: 0.6 mi
  • Yasaka Shrine: 0.6 mi
  • Sen-oku Hakuko Kan: 0.7 mi
  • Ryozen Kannon: 0.7 mi
  • Gion: 0.8 mi
  • Sannenzaka Ninenzaka: 0.8 mi
  • Sanjo station: 0.9 mi
  • Pontocho: 0.9 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1 mi
  • Kiyomizudera: 1 mi
  • Kiyamachi Street: 1 mi
  • Karasumaoike: 1.1 mi
  • Philosophers Walk: 1.2 mi
  • Nishiki Market: 1.3 mi
  • Ginkakuji: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Manga Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Sanjusangendo: 1.7 mi
  • Kyoto Imperial Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Gojo station: 1.8 mi
  • Sento Imperial Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Shijo: 1.9 mi
  • Shosei-en Garden: 2 mi
  • Kyoto Tower: 2.2 mi
  • Shimogamo Shrine: 2.3 mi
  • Nijo Castle: 2.3 mi
  • Nishi Honganji Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Higashi Honganji Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Nishijin Textile Center: 2.5 mi
  • Tofukuji Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Umekoji Steam Locomotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Toji Temple Flea Market: 3 mi
  • To-ji: 3 mi
  • Kyoto Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Kyoto Concert Hall: 3.1 mi
  • Shugakuin Villa: 3.2 mi
  • Saiin: 3.2 mi
  • Takaragaike Station: 3.4 mi
  • Kinkaku-ji: 3.9 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Heian Shrine 1.0 km/0.6 miles
Nanzenji Temple 1.0 km/0.6 miles
Kiyomizu Temple 3.0 km/1.9 miles
Kinkakuji Temple (Golden Pavillion) 8.0 km/5.0 miles

Dining

GRAND VIEW RESTAURANT
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF CUISINE - CONTINENTAL
MEALS SERVED - LUNCH - DINNER - DESSERT
HOURS -
FROM 1130HRS TO 1430HRS MON-SUN
FROM 1700HRS TO 2200HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
SERVING CONTINENTAL CUISINE WITH A SCENIC VIEW.
CONTEMPORARY KYOTO ATMOSPHERE
KACHO JAPANESE HOT POT
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF CUISINE - JAPANESE
MEALS SERVED - DINNER - DESSERT
HOURS -
FROM 1700HRS TO 2130HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
COMFORTABLE HOME STYLE ATMOSPHERE
KUNUGI TEPPANYAKI
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF CUISINE - JAPANESE
MEALS SERVED - DINNER - DESSERT
HOURS -
FROM 1700HRS TO 2130HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
JAPANESE STEAK AND SEAFOOD CUISINE IN A COUNTER SEATING
SETTING.
AQUABLU CAFE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF CUISINE - INTERNATIONAL
MEALS SERVED - BREAKFAST - BRUNCH/BUFFET - LUNCH - DINNER
- DESSERT
HOURS -
FROM 0630HRS TO 2300HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
ALL DAY DINING ATMOSPHERE FEATURING A LA CARTE AND
BUFFET.
MAYFAIR TEA ROOM
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - BAR/LOUNGE
HOURS -
FROM 0830HRS TO 2200HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
A TEA LOUNGE OFFERING BAKED GOODS/DESSERTS.

MOONLIGHT BAR
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - BAR/LOUNGE
HOURS -
FROM 1700 TO 2400

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
4.4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
lukasjts
Business
London
Apr 6, 2013

You Pay for the Location

Amazing location and good food. I felt everything was a bit pricey however. Rooms are in desperate need of updating and I still couldn't quite believe that my 25 sq ft 'Superior Room' was actually that. Unfortunately didn't have a tape measure to find out and didn't want to ask 'superior to what exactly'. Never stayed in a hotel where you have to pay to use the gym and if you want to use it more than once a day you pay every time. Also they had no apppointments for a back massage in their treatment area, which though pricey I was willing to pay. When I asked for help locating somewhere else in the region that could help ( i hate travelling with back pain) both the treatment people and the conceirge said they couldn't help. The reason being that only other hotels in the area would offer this service and they didn't want to give them my custom. As i don't speak Japanese and didn't know the area I was only looking for some guidance, which was not forthcoming. Left feeling quite irritated with the place despite the amazing views.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HNL Traveler
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Beautiful, Legendary Hotel with Some Annoyances

The legendary Miyako Hotel is situated in beautiful East Kyoto, surrounded by temples and set on a slight rise overlooking a panorama of the city. Amenities are abundant in this sprawling hotel, with multiple restaurants, two pools, a spa, and even a lovely on-site nature trail. Rooms are clean and elegant and come with nice touches such as Japanese robes, plentiful toiletries, and a supremely comfortable bed. But some staff members (including one person behind the concierge desk and another who answered their "service express" phone line!) seem mildly impatient at times, or just not as serene and effortlessly helpful as they are at some other luxury establishments in Japan. And they charge you for everything -- separately for internet access in your room and wifi elsewhere in the hotel, just to sit in their lounge, etc. -- which is irritating. And prices are annoyingly steep: $7 for a to-go coffee in a paper cup; $10 for a can of beer in the minibar; $70 for a simple dinner of soup, appetizer, and beer in their Chinese restaurant; etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

For exquisite, seasonal Japanese food and extraordinary service, go to the intimate and personal Osen restaurant in central Kyoto. This came as an excellent recommendation from a concierge.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fried.e
Business
Beijing, China
Jan 26, 2012

Good place to relax

My husband and I spent a week at the Westin Miyako Hotel Kyoto, and we had a very nice time. The staff were all incredibly nice and helpful, especially the concierge. The room was a bit smaller than we had anticipated, but it was comfortable. I especially appreciated regular and decaf coffee plus two kinds of tea restocked every day, as well as the hot water boiler, coffee machine, and mini fridge. Those little things really help me feel comfortable. The bed was great, I had no backaches after sleeping on it, which I frequently do in other beds. The rooms were quiet, which we really appreciated, and I loved the heated toilet seats! The location is great, just next to the Keage metro and walking distance from a lot of things, including Nanzenji temple, which was our favorite. Plus, the free shuttle to Sanjo, Gion, and Kyoto station was really convenient. Our one complaint is that the food is incredibly expensive. We would have liked to eat a nice breakfast at the hotel, but since it was over 3000 yen per person, it was just too much for a simple breakfast. I also would have been unhappy if our booking had not included free use of the gym. Paying 500 yen a person to use the gym each time seems a bit much. One more tip: buy from the bakery off the lobby after 19:00, when their items go half price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nynpink
Business
Hong Kong
Mar 25, 2012

Comfortable

Hotel staff was very friendly and I found the hotel to be in a good location. My main note is the food in the hotel was very pricey. It's much better to just walk down the street and find less expensive, better food. WiFi is only in the lobby, it would be nice if they connected it to the rooms. And there is an extra cost to use the gym. This should be free to all guests. But overall the rooms are comfortable and I enjoyed my trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Veronica Travelers
Business
Shanghai
Oct 14, 2013

Hotel With Tradition

Westin Miyako Hotel in Kyoto has been around for a long time. It has the tradition of hosting Queens, princess and dignitaries in the past. It is also a popular wedding hall in Kyoto. There were too many guests going in and out of the lobby either attending weddings or conference. The hotel and its room facilities are also a bit old. Even though the hotel is not centrally located, there is a shuttle bus every half an hour to take guests to the downtown and the train station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the shuttle to different parts of Kyoto to save taxi fee.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Catlady88
Business
NJ
Oct 30, 2013

Good value

We stayed at a Club floor but really was not impressed with the Club lounge. There are drinks but no real snacks. The drinks last from 5:30 pm to 7:30 pm. The renovated floors are nice. The gardens are beautiful. There are a few temples within walking distance but other than that we had to take the hotel shuttle which runs only twice an hour to the train station. It takes about 20 minutes. The breakfast buffet has a lot to offer. Definitely would not go hungry. There are not too many eating places close to the hotel. There is a Lawson market within walking distance

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Kyoto Handicraft Center is just behind the Henine Shrine. Offers good variety and good prices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZenSan
Business
San Fran, California
Jun 2, 2014

Good for business travel

Quiet location but Close to Subway. Restaurants on site are good. I enjoyed the buffet, had high quality and fresh foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KM Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 30, 2014

Kyoto Trip

It is a very nice hotel in terms of general areas, restaurants, etc. They have a very nice pool, whirlpool, and sauna. The rooms were adequate and clean, but not amazing. The hotel is a little father into Eastern Kyoto than is perfectly ideal, but they have regular shuttle buses to the train station and it's only a 10 minute walk to the more built up area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristin C.
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Our Kyoto stay

I went to Japan at the end of May with my mother. We first stopped in Tokyo before making our way to Kyoto for a two day stay. The hotel is a ways away from the train station but they had a shuttle that took us to the hotel. The hotel was nice but the room needed patched up a little bit. The room had a great view of the trails around the hotel. There were a few shrines within walking distance around the hotel in different directions. Was nice and peaceful with alot of nature to explore (which was opposite from tokyo). Staff was nice and friendly. It was in walking distance from some neat shops whice was great for bringing back gifts for family and friends. We hardly stayed in the hotel due to a short stay and exploring around us. Sadly we didn't get to see as much as we wanted but hopefully I will be going back in two years. I would be likely to stay again. Most important thing was the room was comfortable and the stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheldon traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 30, 2014

outstanding hotel

The hotel is very well located for visiting a good number of beautiful hillside temples and pagoda. Easy access to very close subway station. Very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top