$116 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 14, 2015

The Westin Miyako Kyoto

4 stars
View map of Sanjyo Keage Higashiyama-ku, Kyoto, 605-0052

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.6
out of 5
23 reviews
Excellent!

Didn't expect that it was that nice. Wish to revisit in the future. See full review

  • Gyber
  • Nov 23, 2014
Worth the cost

I didn't expect a wonderful place, which was a mistake. See full review

  • Gyber
  • Nov 17, 2014
With spectacular views of the ancient capitol of Japan, The Westin Miyako, Kyoto enjoys a soothing setting in a Japanese garden. Right near a subway station and not far from downtown Kyoto, guests can relax on premises or explore the local area.
Stroll through one of the beautiful Japanese gardens, and then enjoy a warm cup of tea at the ancient style teahouse. Keep your body and mind invigorated with the outdoor jogging track and tennis courts and indoor pool. Try one of the delicious onsite restaurants for traditional and international fare.
Relax in one of it's spacious guest rooms complete with all of the necessary amenities including the signature Heavenly Bed. The Westin Miyako, Kyotos oversized guest rooms have beautiful mountain views, as well as separate showers and soaking tubs for your full relaxation.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Westin Miyako Kyoto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 5.0 out of 5

The Westin Miyako Kyoto Rooms

Superior Double
25-sqm. 1 double Heavenly bed. In the case of the use with three, We put an extra in the room with extra bed charge.
Deluxe Twin
38-sqm. 2 single Heavenly bed. In the case of the use with three, We put an extra in the room with extra bed charge.
Deluxe Double
38-sqm. 1 double Heavenly bed. In the case of the use with three, We put an extra in the room with extra bed charge.
Executive Deluxe
36-sqm 1 double (180cm by 200cm) or 2 single (120cm by 200cm) Heavenly bed. Includes access to the exclusive Higashiyama Lounge on the 10th floor. There, you can take advantage of daily complimentary continental breakfast, all hours coffee and tea, High speed internet access, evening cocktails, inspiring city vistas, and more.
Superior Twin
25-sqm. 2 single Heavenly bed. In the case of the use with three, We put an extra in the room with extra bed charge.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Wheel chair access
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Chion-in: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nanzen-ji: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Maruyama Park: 0.5 mi
  • Eikando Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Heian Shrine: 0.6 mi
  • Yasaka Shrine: 0.6 mi
  • Sen-oku Hakuko Kan: 0.7 mi
  • Ryozen Kannon: 0.7 mi
  • Gion: 0.8 mi
  • Sannenzaka Ninenzaka: 0.8 mi
  • Sanjo station: 0.9 mi
  • Pontocho: 0.9 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1 mi
  • Chion-in: 0.3 mi
  • Municipal Museum of Art: 0.4 mi
  • Nanzen-ji: 0.4 mi
  • National Museum of Modern Art: 0.4 mi
  • Maruyama Park: 0.5 mi
  • Eikando Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Heian Shrine: 0.6 mi
  • Yasaka Shrine: 0.6 mi
  • Sen-oku Hakuko Kan: 0.7 mi
  • Ryozen Kannon: 0.7 mi
  • Gion: 0.8 mi
  • Sannenzaka Ninenzaka: 0.8 mi
  • Sanjo station: 0.9 mi
  • Pontocho: 0.9 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1 mi
  • Kiyomizudera: 1 mi
  • Kiyamachi Street: 1 mi
  • Karasumaoike: 1.1 mi
  • Philosophers Walk: 1.2 mi
  • Nishiki Market: 1.3 mi
  • Ginkakuji: 1.4 mi
  • National Museum: 1.5 mi
  • Manga Museum: 1.6 mi
  • Sanjusangendo: 1.7 mi
  • Kyoto Imperial Palace: 1.8 mi
  • Gojo station: 1.8 mi
  • Sento Imperial Palace: 1.9 mi
  • Shijo: 1.9 mi
  • Shosei-en Garden: 2 mi
  • Kyoto Tower: 2.2 mi
  • Shimogamo Shrine: 2.3 mi
  • Nijo Castle: 2.3 mi
  • Nishi Honganji Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Higashi Honganji Temple: 2.4 mi
  • Nishijin Textile Center: 2.5 mi
  • Tofukuji Temple: 2.5 mi
  • Umekoji Steam Locomotive Museum: 2.9 mi
  • Toji Temple Flea Market: 3 mi
  • To-ji: 3 mi
  • Kyoto Botanical Garden: 3 mi
  • Kyoto Concert Hall: 3.1 mi
  • Shugakuin Villa: 3.2 mi
  • Saiin: 3.2 mi
  • Takaragaike Station: 3.4 mi
  • Kinkaku-ji: 3.9 mi

Dining

GRAND VIEW RESTAURANT
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF CUISINE - CONTINENTAL
MEALS SERVED - LUNCH - DINNER - DESSERT
HOURS -
FROM 1130HRS TO 1430HRS MON-SUN
FROM 1700HRS TO 2200HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
SERVING CONTINENTAL CUISINE WITH A SCENIC VIEW.
CONTEMPORARY KYOTO ATMOSPHERE
KACHO JAPANESE HOT POT
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF CUISINE - JAPANESE
MEALS SERVED - DINNER - DESSERT
HOURS -
FROM 1700HRS TO 2130HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
COMFORTABLE HOME STYLE ATMOSPHERE
KUNUGI TEPPANYAKI
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF CUISINE - JAPANESE
MEALS SERVED - DINNER - DESSERT
HOURS -
FROM 1700HRS TO 2130HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
JAPANESE STEAK AND SEAFOOD CUISINE IN A COUNTER SEATING
SETTING.
AQUABLU CAFE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - FULL SERVICE RESTAURANT
TYPE OF CUISINE - INTERNATIONAL
MEALS SERVED - BREAKFAST - BRUNCH/BUFFET - LUNCH - DINNER
- DESSERT
HOURS -
FROM 0630HRS TO 2300HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
ALL DAY DINING ATMOSPHERE FEATURING A LA CARTE AND
BUFFET.
MAYFAIR TEA ROOM
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - BAR/LOUNGE
HOURS -
FROM 0830HRS TO 2200HRS MON-SUN
RESTAURANT DESCRIPTION -
A TEA LOUNGE OFFERING BAKED GOODS/DESSERTS.

MOONLIGHT BAR
TYPE OF RESTAURANT - BAR/LOUNGE
HOURS -
FROM 1700 TO 2400

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Heian Shrine 1.0 km/0.6 miles
Nanzenji Temple 1.0 km/0.6 miles
Kiyomizu Temple 3.0 km/1.9 miles
Kinkakuji Temple (Golden Pavillion) 8.0 km/5.0 miles

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Overall score

4.6 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Comfort:
4.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kristin C.
Business
N/A
Jan 20, 2015

Our Kyoto stay

I went to Japan at the end of May with my mother. We first stopped in Tokyo before making our way to Kyoto for a two day stay. The hotel is a ways away from the train station but they had a shuttle that took us to the hotel. The hotel was nice but the room needed patched up a little bit. The room had a great view of the trails around the hotel. There were a few shrines within walking distance around the hotel in different directions. Was nice and peaceful with alot of nature to explore (which was opposite from tokyo). Staff was nice and friendly. It was in walking distance from some neat shops whice was great for bringing back gifts for family and friends. We hardly stayed in the hotel due to a short stay and exploring around us. Sadly we didn't get to see as much as we wanted but hopefully I will be going back in two years. I would be likely to stay again. Most important thing was the room was comfortable and the stay was pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gyber
Business
Seoul, Kores
Nov 23, 2014

Excellent!

Didn't expect that it was that nice. Wish to revisit in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gyber
Business
Seoul, Kores
Nov 17, 2014

Worth the cost

I didn't expect a wonderful place, which was a mistake.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
eke in Japan
Business
Tokyo, Japan
Oct 17, 2014

Fantastic for the price

You really get your money's worth here. You have all the comforts of a western hotel company. Comfortable beds and amenities. English TV channels and WIFI. All the staff we encountered spoke English and were helpful, welcoming and friendly. They upgraded us to a room with a view and we got there just in time for a wonderful sunset over the city. We wanted to stay another night because we were so comfortable but had to move on to other cities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the complimentary shuttle to get around. They also have a satellite location at Kyoto station where you can keep your luggage after you check out if you have time for sightseeing before you leave.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KM Chicago
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 30, 2014

Kyoto Trip

It is a very nice hotel in terms of general areas, restaurants, etc. They have a very nice pool, whirlpool, and sauna. The rooms were adequate and clean, but not amazing. The hotel is a little father into Eastern Kyoto than is perfectly ideal, but they have regular shuttle buses to the train station and it's only a 10 minute walk to the more built up area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mr RH
Business
Taipei, Taiwan
Jul 22, 2014

Love this hotel

Stayed here for 4 nights in June 2014. This was our second time staying at this hotel (first was 3 years prior). I had booked a Superior double room with 1 bed but got upgraded to a larger room but with two beds, no problem just push the beds together. Very generous sized room for Japan. Clean, comfortable. I read some reviews saying it was dated, but I didn't feel that at all. Nice tub for soaking after a long day of sightseeing. The towels were luxuriously soft. Location may seem a bit out of the way but it's right next to the subway and we also utilized the free shuttle 3 times. Also within walking distance to some main attractions like Nanzen-ji, Hein-an Shrine. Priced very reasonable considering the quality. Pretty much just loved our stay and would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Everyone probably knows about it already, but definitely check out Saryo Tsujiri in Gion for delicious Japanese desserts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Elitza
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 24, 2014

Great value!

I stayed for only one night but this was a great hotel with very convenient location near Gion. It had really large room, which I didn't expect. Very satisfied, would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ZenSan
Business
San Fran, California
Jun 2, 2014

Good for business travel

Quiet location but Close to Subway. Restaurants on site are good. I enjoyed the buffet, had high quality and fresh foods.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SF Bay Area Traveler
Business
SF Bay Area, USA
Feb 21, 2014

Luxury Property, acessible to major sites

Great place to stay for a western style experience. Its close to the major eastern temples/tourist sites. And the subway line nearby and the shuttle service makes other sites and the station easy to access. The view from the terrace was excellent. But we didn't take advantage of the amenities since we spent the time sightseeing, but the grounds look fabulous for a stroll. Good dining options nearby, lets you experience the culture of Japan. Menus were not varied enough at the hotel to entice us to eat at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Westin Miyako Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheldon traveler
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jan 30, 2014

outstanding hotel

The hotel is very well located for visiting a good number of beautiful hillside temples and pagoda. Easy access to very close subway station. Very helpful staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top