$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 2, 2015

Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

4 stars
View map of Sanjo-Agaru Kawaramachi Nakagyo-ku, Kyoto, 604-8005

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 46
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
4

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary in MA
Couples
Chelmsford, Massachusetts
Mar 28, 2013

Great location, helpful staff

The Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa is in a terrific location for sightseeing in Kyoto. It made the perfect base for walking trips in all directions from the city center. The staff is particularly helpful. And Happy Hour at the Haven lounge was a nice treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The hotel is just steps away from all the dining possibilities along Pontocho-dori.

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yihyi
Couples
london
Jan 8, 2013

No Spa in winter

Staff is extremely polite ( like every other Japanese) and they actually refused tips after helping us with our heavy luggage for a change. Perfect location next to train metro station and shoppinh streets. As well as walking distance to manga museum and Kyoto Palace, Gion etc. Do need to take a train back to Kyoto Centre for others shrine and pagoda. The only down side is no spa in winter. Room is dated but nice and cleen.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Curlyfries09
Couples
San Francisco, California
Nov 8, 2012

Good location, average hotel

Overall good as the rooms were clean, the staff was friendly and helpful. Expensive for what it had but it's probably because I went during high peak season. Western style hotel so if you want a more Japanese style experience stay at a bed and breakfast (ryokan). It's worth it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
suzannamontana
Single
Missoula, Montana
Sep 6, 2012

Great location, Bad smell

The hotel is in a great spot - close to many of the sites, close to the river and Pontocho and Gion, great bus and underground access. The staff spoke good English and were very helpful with directions and bus schedules. There were two negatives: no WiFi in the rooms and the WiFi available in the lobby was hit or miss, and the stench of cigarettes in the room and hallways. All the rooms on my floor were marked No Smoking, but it was painfully obvious they had been smoking rooms in the past. I stayed 3 nights and normally would unpack my suitcase for a stay of that duration, but I didn't want my clothes to absorb the old cigarette stench so I lived out of my suitcase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cookie muncher
Single
Paris, France
Jul 26, 2012

Very pleasant stay

Very good location for this hotel. Subway station next door and lots of eating / nightlife options around. Large size room which was a change from the other hotels I've stayed in Japan. Would definitely recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
luna00729
Friends
long beach, ca
Jul 8, 2012

Kyoto Royal Hotel And Spa

This hotel was nice. However, it really does not compare to the Kyoto Hotel Granvia. It is rated a 4 star, but feels more like a 3 star. One morning we left a couple items of clothing on the bed and the bed was not made, nor was the carpet vacuumed. The best thing about staying at this hotel is its location and proximity to metro stations. The other great part of our stay in Kyoto were the SPA services here. My masseuse was Emi and she was fantastic. I have had massages all over the world and I received a top 3 massage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many many great places to eat around here. Note: Everything closes from 2 pm to 5:30 PM. Plan your day accordingly or you will end up overpaying for food at places that stay open.

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MP3214
Couples
London, Ontario
Jun 28, 2012

Great hotel, reasonably priced

This hotel only costs slightly more than staying at much lower quality hotels or hostels and is in the middle of a bustling part of Kyoto. Great nightlife near by. Only complaint was the lack of wifi and slow lobby computers, but at least they were free to use.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M. Reed
Single
San Diego, CA, USA
May 1, 2012

A good stay

Good hotel, great location that is convenient to tourist spots, fair price. Haven bar is beautiful lounge for a draft Asahi, a daiquiri, or a cigar. WiFi in lobby is nice touch... in-room WiFi would have earned 5 stars.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jbockle
Business
DC
Aug 14, 2011

Very small rooms

tiny! I barely had enough room to walk. Great location though..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Kyoto Royal Hotel and Spa

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Upland,California, USA
Nov 22, 2010

Great Hotel in Kyoto

Location is GREAT ! 3 mins walk to Metro station. City bus also very close to anywhere. Shopping & dining place are just few blocks away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Back to menu Return to top