$228 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Mar 22, 2015 Check-out: Mar 25, 2015

Hotel Granvia Kyoto

5 stars
View map of JR Kyoto Station, Karasuma Chuo-guchi,, Shiokoji-sagaru, Karasuma-dori, Shimogyo-ku, Kyoto, 600-8216

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.7
out of 5
18 reviews
Extremely good location and nice room

Being at the Kyoto Train Station, this hotel is ideal. Kyoto transportation system is almost... See full review

  • H.Lee
  • May 3, 2014
The very Best in all our visit in Japan

Strategically located, since you can move from the station to ANY part of the city surroundings... See full review

  • Paco Cortina
  • Feb 28, 2014
Kyoto Station hotel home to more than 1,000 pieces of art
Featuring deluxe accommodations, superb service and a prime location near the bustling JR Kyoto Station Building, the Hotel Granvia Kyoto provides guests with the maximum in comfort and convenience. With its emphasis on art, the hotel provides a welcoming backdrop for both business and leisure travelers. The property features 13 meeting and banquet rooms, including a ballroom that accommodates up to 1,400 people, 12 restaurants and bars, and fitness facilities. In addition, the Hotel Granvia Kyoto is close to the largest shopping mall in Kyoto.
Highlights
  • More than 1,000 pieces of art featured throughout hotel
  • Excellent location near Kyoto Station-area transportation, shopping and entertainment
  • Twelve bars and restaurants on site
  • Three-lane pool and indoor fitness center
Rooms
The Hotel Granvia Kyoto features 535 tastefully decorated rooms in soothing earth tones with pieces of art from the collection hosted by the property. Guests receive complimentary high-speed Internet access. Down comforters are found on all beds and deluxe guest rooms feature expansive views of the city and access to the Granvia Lounge. Eco-friendly bathroom amenities are among the many perks provided to visitors.
Features
More than just an accent feature of the property, the Hotel Gravia Kyoto uses art as an integral theme. The property is home to more than 1,000 pieces of art based on the theme of "The Contrast of Modern and Traditional Art." Many of these pieces, ranging from paintings, sculptures, and industrial art are created by Kyoto-based artists, and are prominently featured throughout the property and in guest rooms.
With 12 restaurants and bars, the Hotel Gravia Kyoto offers a dining experience for everyone. La Risata offers the flavor and fun on Italy. Ukihasi is a modern-styled restaurant serving traditional Japanese dishes. Roppongi Rogairo offers classic Chinese cuisine in a stately setting.
Transportation
  • Kyoto Station (adjacent)
  • Osaka Airport (60 mi/97 km)
Attractions
  • Kyoto Tower (0.1 mi/0.1 km)
  • Costume Museum (0.6 mi/1 km)
  • Kyoto National Museum (0.8 mi/1.2 km)
  • Nintendo World HQ (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
Business
  • Thirteen meeting and conference rooms
  • Business center with fax/copy/print services
  • Complimentary high-speed wireless Internet

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Hotel Granvia Kyoto also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Hotel Granvia Kyoto Rooms

King Bed Room / Non-smoking
King Bed rooms with a spacious room size of 32sqm/344sqf. The sweeping view of the city is a big plus; a premier-quality King bed & bedding guarantee a good night's sleep . In addition to all the standard room amenities, high speed LAN internet access and WiFi Internet access are complimentary. Smoking rooms are available upon request and subject to availability.
Deluxe Twin Room / Non-smoking
Deluxe Twin rooms with a spacious room size of 34sqm. a premier-quality Twin beds & bedding guarantee a good night's sleep . In addition to all the standard room amenities, high speed LAN internet access and WiFi Internet access are complimentary.
Standard Queen Room
Queen Bed rooms with a spacious room size of 26sqm. a premier-quality Queen bed & bedding guarantee a good night's sleep . In addition to all the standard room amenities, high speed LAN internet access and WiFi Internet access are complimentary.
All Standard Queen Rooms are NON SMOKING only.
Standard Twin Room
Standard Twin Room offers exceptional standards of comfort with a sweeping city-view. Stylishly decorated rooms with a commodious room size of 30sqm/323sqf, premier-quality 2 twin beds & bedding, in addition to the standard room amenities, high speed LAN internet access and WiFi Internet access are complimentary. Non-Smoking rooms are available upon request and subject to availability.
Superior Twin Room / Non-smoking
Superior Twin Rooms set new standards for comfort and quality. With an average room size of 34sqm/366sqf, the spacious rooms now feature a light alarm, which gently lightens the room as if the sun were rising, so that you will awaken gently and peacefully. Prime-quality beds and bedding guarantee a good night's sleep, and new bathroom features include a multi-function shower, high-quality and eco friendly bathroom amenities, bathrobes, and adjustable overhead lighting according to your liking. High speed LAN internet access and WiFi Internet access are complimentary and in-room safe deposit boxes large enough to accommodate a 15 inch laptop. Smoking rooms are available upon request and subject to availability.

Amenities

  • Free internet in room
  • Indoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Indoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Wheelchair accessible elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Kyoto Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Shosei-en Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Higashi Honganji Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Nishi Honganji Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Gojo station: 0.6 mi
  • Sanjusangendo: 0.7 mi
  • Toji Temple Flea Market: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • To-ji: 0.8 mi
  • Umekoji Steam Locomotive Museum: 1 mi
  • Tofukuji Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Shijo: 1.2 mi
  • Nishiki Market: 1.4 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Sannenzaka Ninenzaka: 1.5 mi
  • Kyoto Tower: 0.1 mi
  • Shosei-en Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Higashi Honganji Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Nishi Honganji Temple: 0.6 mi
  • Gojo station: 0.6 mi
  • Sanjusangendo: 0.7 mi
  • Toji Temple Flea Market: 0.8 mi
  • National Museum: 0.8 mi
  • To-ji: 0.8 mi
  • Umekoji Steam Locomotive Museum: 1 mi
  • Tofukuji Temple: 1.1 mi
  • Shijo: 1.2 mi
  • Nishiki Market: 1.4 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1.4 mi
  • Sannenzaka Ninenzaka: 1.5 mi
  • Gion: 1.5 mi
  • Kiyomizudera: 1.5 mi
  • Kiyamachi Street: 1.5 mi
  • Ryozen Kannon: 1.6 mi
  • Yasaka Shrine: 1.6 mi
  • Pontocho: 1.6 mi
  • Maruyama Park: 1.7 mi
  • Manga Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Sanjo station: 1.7 mi
  • Karasumaoike: 1.8 mi
  • Chion-in: 2 mi
  • Saiin: 2 mi
  • Nijo Castle: 2.1 mi
  • National Museum of Modern Art: 2.2 mi
  • Municipal Museum of Art: 2.3 mi
  • Heian Shrine: 2.5 mi
  • Nanzen-ji: 2.6 mi
  • Kyoto Imperial Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Sento Imperial Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Eikando Temple: 2.8 mi
  • Sen-oku Hakuko Kan: 2.9 mi
  • Katsura Imperial Villa: 2.9 mi
  • Nishijin Textile Center: 3 mi
  • Philosophers Walk: 3.4 mi
  • Ginkakuji: 3.6 mi
  • Toei Movie Land: 3.6 mi
  • Shimogamo Shrine: 3.7 mi
  • Museum for World Peace: 3.8 mi
  • Ninnaji Temple: 4.1 mi
  • Kinkaku-ji: 4.1 mi

Dining

La Risata / Ristorante
Offering the flavors and fun of the real Italy,in the sunny surroundings of new Ristorante.
Southern Court / Sky Lounge
Enjoy sweeping views of the ancient city while you savor your favorite drink and list to live music.
Roppongi Rogairo / Chinese Restaurant
Dishes at this wonderful restaurant are prepared as they have been for centuries in Hangzhou, China.
Ukihashi / Japanese Restaurant
Modern in design, this restaurant serves traditional Japanese specialties in course menus or a la carte.
Kyoto Kitcho / Japanese Restaurant
Kyoto Kitcho offers superb Japanese cuisine that has earned it a reputation as being among the finest restaurants in Japan.
Kyorinsen / Tempura
Delicious Tempura, featuring seasonal ingredients, prepared using recipes that stretch back in history, is the hallmark of this restaurant.
Le Temps / Cafe Restaurant
Two stately clocks welcome diners who come to enjoy anything from coffee to a full-course French dinner.
Grand Jour / Lobby Lounge
With natural sunlight flowing in, there is no better place to meet friends or business associates for an informal gathering.
Orbite / Main Bar
With its nostalgic decor, this is the perfect place to enjoy an evening cocktail.
La Fleur / French Restaurant
At this lovely restaurant, you'll enjoy exquisitely prepared European dishes and excellent wines.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (18)

Ratings and reviews for Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Overall score

4.8 / 5
5.01.0
10 out of 18
Amenities:
4.7
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4.9
Comfort:
4.9
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.6

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrissie XL
Business
Cheltenham, England
Oct 4, 2013

Short Break in Kyoto

Can't fault the hotel. Check-in efficient and were upgraded. Staff gave all the information needed for our stay. Room very clean and comfortable with all amenties required. Room service excellent. A pity we didin't have time to take advantage fo the gym and pool. Great location above the station (but not noisy). Made the trip to and from Osaka airport very easy. Would definitelt recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
US first timer
Business
NYC, NY
Sep 29, 2013

US first timer

Beautiful hotel located right in the Kyoto train station, with views of Kyoto tower across the street and a pool as well. Room was was spacious and clean, and multiple restaurants etc right nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you go up long escalator and go to 11th floor there are many restaurants to choose from, some with unbelievable views of Kyoto, some requiring reservations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PTUI
Business
NJ
Jul 10, 2012

Convenient location in a very nice hotel

Being right in the train station made arriving and departing Kyoto very easy and saved cab fares. City buses depart from the station and with the all day pass (500 yen) one can go antwhere. The station provides diverse and reasonably priced eating options. The only thing the hotel needs is wi-fi.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Wonderful food hall in the dept. store in the station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Seoulmate
Business
Seoul, Korea
May 14, 2012

Wonderful for sightseeing!

The location of this hotel was marvellous! We arrived late at night at Kyoto railway station from Osaka airport and were immediately in the hotel! It was very quiet (despite being a part of the railway station) and we had a wonderful view of the trains coming in and out of the station, as well as the city. The next day we went out the station door to find all the tourist buses waiting for us. You can buy a day pass for all the buses for 500 yen at the little bus ticket office. It also has a bakery where you can buy coffee and something to take with you for a snack.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
theatre fan
Business
Palm Springs California
Jan 11, 2012

Kyoto in the winter

Beautiful hotel; steps from the shinkansen, close to shopping and transportation. Note that there computer/business office consists of three computers, difficult to use. So take your computer if you need one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

in Kyoto train station; excellent transportation connections throughout Japan and within Kyoto.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
fierydragon
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Dec 29, 2011

Really Enjoyed the Granvia

You can't beat the location in terms of access to things outside of Kyoto. Even for the city itself, it is not bad, but there could be nicer parts of town to stay in. Still, it was the nicest we could afford and didn't leave us wanting. The Superior King room had a good view, was spacious, and had one of the best beds I ever slept in. Excellent staff, and we ordered expensive but delicious room service breakfast once. A fun experience. I would definitely consider the Granvia again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use your JR pass to take the JR trains to visit Nijo Castle and Fushimi Inari Shrine. So easy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Nov 5, 2010

Great service

We really enjoyed the central location and superior service. The hotel staff were very helpful with travel and sightseeing questions. Our room was upgraded without any particular request on our part and was very comfortable. After a long airplane trip from the U.S. and train ride from Osaka, it was fabulous to get off the train, take the escalator upstairs to the hotel, and fall into our bed within 10 minutes. We stayed at other "5 star" hotels during our trip and this was the nicest. While this hotel is not inexpensive, we felt the money was well spent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Consider buying 1 day city bus passes that allow unlimited rides within the city center. Most buses of interest leave from or stop at Kyoto station.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin, TX
Aug 10, 2010

Great option if you can get a good price

My husband and I stayed at Hotel Granvia for 2 nights. We had a busy itinerary for our short stay in Kyoto, so we wanted convenient access to public transportation. Since the hotel was located inside Kyoto station, the location couldn't have been better for us! The service was incredible. It seemed like there were 3 staff members for every guest! It was a bit awkward being accompanied to our room by 2 staff members, but if you're wanting top-class service, this hotel is definitely a great choice. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to get a good rate at the hotel since I booked so close to our arrival date. We paid around $230/night, which was FAR too much for a standard room, in my opinion. However, the room was a good size, clean, and had a really great view. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was a good size. The service and location were great. If we had paid less for our room, it would have been perfect! Definitely recommended.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Eki Ben
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 29, 2010

Awesome hotel

Great location next to the station. We decided to stay in Kyoto at the last minute, so we made reservations online via wireless internet literally five minutes before checking in. We were upgraded to the best room for no charge. The room was large, comfortable, and very clean. Service was great, which is not unusual since this was Japan. If you've been there before, you'll understand. We wanted to ship some things to the next hotel we were staying and a quick call to the front desk had a staff member in our room with the shipping form and a box in two minutes. He waited for us to pack the box and brought it down for shipping. The concierge was wonderful. She took all the time we needed with suggestions and explaining options and routes. She made color copies of everything for us that were as good as the originals. She even lent us two umbrellas since it looked like rain - which it did. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Hotel Granvia Kyoto

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
First time to Japan
Business
Chicago, IL
Jan 18, 2010

Amazing Hotel

The service was incredible. We were extremely well treated. The room and other facilities was awesome. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Kyoto!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top