$96 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2014 Check-out: Aug 7, 2014

APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

3 stars
1 NISHI ABURAKOJICHO SHIOKOJI, ABURAKOJI DORI SHIMOJYO-KU, Kyoto, --
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.7
out of 5
27 reviews
japan

wonderful See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 1, 2010
japan

wonderful See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 1, 2010
Hotel near Kyoto Station with open-air sauna
APA Horikawadori provides travelers with an ideal location in central Kyoto, comfortable rooms and warm service. The property features an open-air sauna, on-site restaurant and business services. The location, near Kyoto Station, also places APA Horikawadori guests within a short walk from the many shops, restaurants and entertainment options located at the subway station.
Highlights
  • Open-air sauna with excellent views of city
  • On-site buffet restaurant
  • Excellent location near Kyoto Station
Rooms
Bright, modern and simple, with furnishings designed in off-whites to match the decor, the 515 rooms at the APA Horikawadori provide guests with what they need enjoy a peaceful, relaxing stay. All rooms feature televisions, air conditioning and refrigerators. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Villa-style rooms offer special blankets, humidifier pots, coffee sticks and air cleaners.
Features
High atop the 11-story APA Horikawadori sits the open-air sauna, which provides a traditional Japanese-style setting with a spectacular view of the bustling city below. For those unfamiliar with Japanese bath culture, the affair is often quite social, with the gender-separated bathhouses becoming a venue for conversation and camaraderie.
Transportation
  • Kyoto Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Osaka International Airport (47.8 mi/77 km)
Attractions
  • Kyoto Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Toji Temple (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Nintendo World Headquarters (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Gion Corner (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Wired high-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Copy/fax/print services (fees apply)

Hotel Map

34.9866 135.7535

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori Rooms

Guest Rooms
The rooms are medium in size and bright, furnished in a modern and simple style. The furniture is off-white colored to match decor of the room. The bathrooms are also modern designed and kept in good condition.

Amenities

General
Elevators
Activities
Sauna
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kyoto Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Higashi Honganji Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Nishi Honganji Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Shosei-en Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Toji Temple Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • To-ji: 0.5 mi
  • Umekoji Steam Locomotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Gojo station: 0.7 mi
  • Sanjusangendo: 1 mi
  • National Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shijo: 1.2 mi
  • Tofukuji Temple: 1.4 mi
  • Nishiki Market: 1.5 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Kiyamachi Street: 1.7 mi
  • Kyoto Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Higashi Honganji Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Nishi Honganji Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Shosei-en Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Toji Temple Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • To-ji: 0.5 mi
  • Umekoji Steam Locomotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Gojo station: 0.7 mi
  • Sanjusangendo: 1 mi
  • National Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shijo: 1.2 mi
  • Tofukuji Temple: 1.4 mi
  • Nishiki Market: 1.5 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Kiyamachi Street: 1.7 mi
  • Gion: 1.7 mi
  • Manga Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Saiin: 1.7 mi
  • Sannenzaka Ninenzaka: 1.8 mi
  • Pontocho: 1.8 mi
  • Yasaka Shrine: 1.8 mi
  • Ryozen Kannon: 1.9 mi
  • Kiyomizudera: 1.9 mi
  • Sanjo station: 1.9 mi
  • Karasumaoike: 1.9 mi
  • Nijo Castle: 1.9 mi
  • Maruyama Park: 2 mi
  • Chion-in: 2.2 mi
  • National Museum of Modern Art: 2.4 mi
  • Municipal Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Katsura Imperial Villa: 2.5 mi
  • Heian Shrine: 2.6 mi
  • Kyoto Imperial Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Sento Imperial Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Nanzen-ji: 2.9 mi
  • Nishijin Textile Center: 3 mi
  • Eikando Temple: 3.1 mi
  • Sen-oku Hakuko Kan: 3.1 mi
  • Toei Movie Land: 3.3 mi
  • Museum for World Peace: 3.6 mi
  • Philosophers Walk: 3.6 mi
  • Ginkakuji: 3.8 mi
  • Shimogamo Shrine: 3.8 mi
  • Ninnaji Temple: 3.8 mi
  • Ryoanji: 3.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
There is a Japanese restaurant leading off from the reception where guests can enjoy breakfast and local meals. For Lunch and Dinner time, guest can enjoy Yuba and Tofu cuisine with local brew (Japanese Sake).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 6, 2010

Not so comfortable, but OK in a pinch

Not the most comfortable room ever. It was a few bucks cheaper than the other places we stayed in Japan, but far more cramped. The bed was really hard (even for me, and I love firm beds - but maybe this was a cultural issue on our part), the bathroom was tiny, and the room was stuffy. Having said that, the location is good, and the room had a nifty little map of the area that we used to find a laundromat. The front desk was also helpful when I lost my key and had to replace it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 6, 2010

Not so comfortable, but OK in a pinch

Not the most comfortable room ever. It was a few bucks cheaper than the other places we stayed in Japan, but far more cramped. The bed was really hard (even for me, and I love firm beds - but maybe this was a cultural issue on our part), the bathroom was tiny, and the room was stuffy. Having said that, the location is good, and the room had a nifty little map of the area that we used to find a laundromat. The front desk was also helpful when I lost my key and had to replace it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manina
Mexico
Jul 25, 2010

Hotel

The rooms are very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Manina
Mexico
Jul 25, 2010

Hotel

The rooms are very small

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent traveler to Japan
Springfield, VA
Jul 15, 2009

Reasonable value for the price

This hotel provides an adequate base for sightseeing or business in Kyoto. The twin room is average in size for a Japanese business hotel, but the double room is very small. Check-in seemed awkward and complicated--the reservation for one of our three prepaid rooms apparently could not be found initially. Mosquitoes in the lobby were a problem for some in our group. The whistles and bells on the toilets in the lobby bathrooms were a great source of entertainment. The staff was gracious and accommodating with storing luggage before check-in and after check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dougen
Rohnert Park, California
Apr 20, 2014

Close to station but very small room

If you have a lot of luggage, this place is not for you. It is a 5 min walk to Kyoto station. This is a hotel for business people. Each room is best for one person. The rooms are very small. When you get out of bed, you can be in the bathroom in 3 steps and at your desk in 1 step. There is TV, a hot plate for tea and coffee,which serves also as a humidifier, small frig, phone etc. There is a small charge for local calls. I think I made 3 calls and it costs $1.49. The room rate is very reasonable. There is a coffee shop in the hotel and public bath on the 11th floor. If you are 6ft tall or more, I don't recommend this hotel. Once you get used to it, it is fine, but you will not want to spend a lot of time in your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many wonderful and reasonable restaurants in Kyoto station. For a good Japanese style breakfast, where you can also get pancakes, I highly recommend "Amichi" in Kyoto station. I good breakfast will cost you from $5 to $8. However, a second cup of coffee will cost you $4.

Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JoycenMel
Hawaii
Jan 4, 2014

New Years stay

Location was good. Although many Japanese hotel rooms are small, it was the set up in the room which made it especially difficult for the 2 of us to navigate the room around each other. The worst was the hard, hard bed. We stayed for 5 days, so this was especially tough. Breakfast buffet offered a nice array of Japanese food. Not sure if I'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent traveler to Japan
Springfield, VA
Jul 15, 2009

Reasonable value for the price

This hotel provides an adequate base for sightseeing or business in Kyoto. The twin room is average in size for a Japanese business hotel, but the double room is very small. Check-in seemed awkward and complicated--the reservation for one of our three prepaid rooms apparently could not be found initially. Mosquitoes in the lobby were a problem for some in our group. The whistles and bells on the toilets in the lobby bathrooms were a great source of entertainment. The staff was gracious and accommodating with storing luggage before check-in and after check-out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellevue, Wa
Apr 9, 2010

Small rooms but good location

I stayed only for a couple nights with friends, it's from walking distance of Kyoto station which is very convenient. The rooms are very small but they are ok and have everything you need although big people will have trouble bathing in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kyoto Station has a bunch of dinning options and is just a couple blocks away

Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bellevue, Wa
Apr 9, 2010

Small rooms but good location

I stayed only for a couple nights with friends, it's from walking distance of Kyoto station which is very convenient. The rooms are very small but they are ok and have everything you need although big people will have trouble bathing in there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Kyoto Station has a bunch of dinning options and is just a couple blocks away

Back to menu Return to top