$78 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 22, 2015

APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

3 stars
1 NISHI ABURAKOJICHO SHIOKOJI, ABURAKOJI DORI SHIMOJYO-KU, Kyoto, --
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.6
out of 5
19 reviews
Great Location & Friendly Staff

Leisure trip. The hotel was very well located. The room was small but very clean. Excellent. See full review

  • Ytravels
  • Aug 19, 2014
japan

wonderful See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 1, 2010
Hotel near Kyoto Station with open-air sauna
APA Horikawadori provides travelers with an ideal location in central Kyoto, comfortable rooms and warm service. The property features an open-air sauna, on-site restaurant and business services. The location, near Kyoto Station, also places APA Horikawadori guests within a short walk from the many shops, restaurants and entertainment options located at the subway station.
Highlights
  • Open-air sauna with excellent views of city
  • On-site buffet restaurant
  • Excellent location near Kyoto Station
Rooms
Bright, modern and simple, with furnishings designed in off-whites to match the decor, the 515 rooms at the APA Horikawadori provide guests with what they need enjoy a peaceful, relaxing stay. All rooms feature televisions, air conditioning and refrigerators. High-speed Internet access is available (fees apply). Villa-style rooms offer special blankets, humidifier pots, coffee sticks and air cleaners.
Features
High atop the 11-story APA Horikawadori sits the open-air sauna, which provides a traditional Japanese-style setting with a spectacular view of the bustling city below. For those unfamiliar with Japanese bath culture, the affair is often quite social, with the gender-separated bathhouses becoming a venue for conversation and camaraderie.
Transportation
  • Kyoto Station (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Osaka International Airport (47.8 mi/77 km)
Attractions
  • Kyoto Tower (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Toji Temple (0.6 mi/0.9 km)
  • Nintendo World Headquarters (1.2 mi/1.9 km)
  • Gion Corner (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
Business
  • Wired high-speed Internet access (fees apply)
  • Copy/fax/print services (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori Rooms

Guest Rooms
The rooms are medium in size and bright, furnished in a modern and simple style. The furniture is off-white colored to match decor of the room. The bathrooms are also modern designed and kept in good condition.

Amenities

General
Elevators
Activities
Sauna
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Kyoto Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Higashi Honganji Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Nishi Honganji Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Shosei-en Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Toji Temple Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • To-ji: 0.5 mi
  • Umekoji Steam Locomotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Gojo station: 0.7 mi
  • Sanjusangendo: 1 mi
  • National Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shijo: 1.2 mi
  • Tofukuji Temple: 1.4 mi
  • Nishiki Market: 1.5 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Kiyamachi Street: 1.7 mi
  • Kyoto Tower: 0.3 mi
  • Higashi Honganji Temple: 0.3 mi
  • Nishi Honganji Temple: 0.4 mi
  • Shosei-en Garden: 0.4 mi
  • Toji Temple Flea Market: 0.5 mi
  • To-ji: 0.5 mi
  • Umekoji Steam Locomotive Museum: 0.6 mi
  • Gojo station: 0.7 mi
  • Sanjusangendo: 1 mi
  • National Museum: 1.1 mi
  • Shijo: 1.2 mi
  • Tofukuji Temple: 1.4 mi
  • Nishiki Market: 1.5 mi
  • Minamiza Kabuki Theater: 1.6 mi
  • Kiyamachi Street: 1.7 mi
  • Gion: 1.7 mi
  • Manga Museum: 1.7 mi
  • Saiin: 1.7 mi
  • Sannenzaka Ninenzaka: 1.8 mi
  • Pontocho: 1.8 mi
  • Yasaka Shrine: 1.8 mi
  • Ryozen Kannon: 1.9 mi
  • Kiyomizudera: 1.9 mi
  • Sanjo station: 1.9 mi
  • Karasumaoike: 1.9 mi
  • Nijo Castle: 1.9 mi
  • Maruyama Park: 2 mi
  • Chion-in: 2.2 mi
  • National Museum of Modern Art: 2.4 mi
  • Municipal Museum of Art: 2.5 mi
  • Katsura Imperial Villa: 2.5 mi
  • Heian Shrine: 2.6 mi
  • Kyoto Imperial Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Sento Imperial Palace: 2.7 mi
  • Nanzen-ji: 2.9 mi
  • Nishijin Textile Center: 3 mi
  • Eikando Temple: 3.1 mi
  • Sen-oku Hakuko Kan: 3.1 mi
  • Toei Movie Land: 3.3 mi
  • Museum for World Peace: 3.6 mi
  • Philosophers Walk: 3.6 mi
  • Ginkakuji: 3.8 mi
  • Shimogamo Shrine: 3.8 mi
  • Ninnaji Temple: 3.8 mi
  • Ryoanji: 3.9 mi

Dining

Restaurant
There is a Japanese restaurant leading off from the reception where guests can enjoy breakfast and local meals. For Lunch and Dinner time, guest can enjoy Yuba and Tofu cuisine with local brew (Japanese Sake).

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (19)

Ratings and reviews for APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
19 out of 19
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
sf ca
Jun 1, 2010

japan

wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Urbana
Jun 6, 2008

friendly staff and good location

The hotel is just a 5-10min walk from Kyoto Station which can save you a lot of time every morning/evening getting to and from your destinations. Hotel staff is very friendly and courteous. Rooms are a bit small, as in the case for many Japanese hotel rooms, but they are clean and cozy. All in all, a good place to stay with good value for your money. I would recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Annaplois
Business
Columbus, OH
Nov 5, 2011

Great location by Kyoto Station. Classical small Japanese size.

Location: close to Kyoto station on the north side. A little hard to find but certainly cloase. Make sure you have a good map of the location. A sister APA is a block away from this, so they had a map in there to find this one. Amenities: OK, the bathrooms are clasic Japanese and small, but everything is there. You aren't there to stay in the room. Cleanliness- good. Comfort- cramped and a I had a view of the wall, but I only slept in the room. Comfort- bed, sheets and pillows better than average. Staff- ok, no issues. Value: very good primarily due to location and cleanliness. Took Subway everyday and couldnot have done much better for a balance of value and location. Would recommend it you are spending most of your time out of the hotel. Warning: small rooms, so don't try and cram too much luggage in there...had barely enough room to open 1 suitcase. Savings opportunity: Get a 1 day pass at the Kyoto station for 600 yen...you can travel the subway limitlessly for that day. Note: Starbucks in the Kyoto station underground at the PORTA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
vegan couple
Business
Maine, USA
Dec 10, 2011

great location for travel

The Apa Horikawadori hotel is located just about 3 blocks from Kyoto Station, therefore was great for the many day trips that we had planned on our vacation. This was our second stay at the hotel; the desk staff now speak English fairly well. The rooms are simple and small, but clean and comfortable. Non-smoking rooms available. The best for us was the breakfast buffet that included lots of choices, with many vegetarian choices (one has to be adventurous and eat the Japanese-style food, but it's delicious). The buffet wasn't free, but reasonably priced. We'll stay there again on our next trip to Kyoto.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cryogenius
Business
Houston, TX, USA
Feb 29, 2012

Good Value for Location

The room is very small, but the location is good and the price is very low. There is a free public bath, so at the end of touring on a cold day I got into the habit of visiting the bath where a good hot tub was the perfect answer! The location is good because it is a short walk to the train station, and across the street from the Rihga Royal Hotel Kyoto, where sunrise tours has a bus pick up spot for English guided tours. I know the walk to the train station is short because I messed up my timing for departure; I was in my room packed and ready to go when I took another look at my train ticket and saw that it was 10:30 AM and my Shinkansen train was leaving at 10:50 AM. By 10:45 AM I was checked out of the place and standing on the platform waiting for the train. Whew! I do walk quickly though. I give this place a high rating because of the value for the money in Japan. It is not room where you would want to spend much time - it is a place to sleep. Aside from the bath, the other nice amenity was the vending machines on each floor that dispensed beer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The train station is an architectural masterpiece, and has lots of restaurants. Also, there are a lot of places that sell "Yatsuhashi," which is a specialty snack food of Kyoto. Do an internet search on the term and then you will understand what they look and you will recognize the places that sell them. Worth trying!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
M Susan
Business
Berkeley, CA, USA
Apr 23, 2012

Great hotel, convenient and comfortable

The APA hotel was very conveninient, clean and had very courteous staff who were great at giving advice for local food and sites. The room was small, but efficient. It is only 5 minute walk from the Kyoto station on the East side (where city bus station is located).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Estacion Cafe is in the Kyoto station on the East side F1 and is a great deal for breakfast. You can get a full breakfast including great coffee (get the Blended coffee) for under 500 Yen.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LTKO
Business
San Jose, Costa Rica
Oct 15, 2012

Good budget Kyoto Hotel

I would recommend this hotel, mostly because of its location, very close to the amazing Kyoto station, and its affordability. As you exit the station, take a left (away from the Kyoto tower) and walk until the road ends, then take another left and you are there! Of course the room is small, I stayed in 5 different hotels during my Japan trip and this one was slightly above average.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Olav
Business
SUMAS, WA
Oct 15, 2009

Nice hotel; confusing name

THE HOTEL IS A SHORT WALK FROM THE STATION, BUT I HAD TROUBLE FINDING IT. FIRST OF ALL THERE IS ANOTHER HOTEL IN THE AREA WITH THE NAME "APA" AND I MISTOOK THIS HOTEL FOR THAT ONE. ALSO - THE MAP ON [...] MAKES THE HOTEL LOOK FURTHER WEST OF THE TRAIN STATION THAT IT ACTUALLY IS, SO I WENT WAY OUT OF MY WAY LOOKING FOR IT. TOUGH WHEN YOU'RE IN A FOREIGN COUNTRY. ONCE I FOUND IT (WITH THE HELP OF FRIENDLY LOCALS), I WAS SATISFIED WITH IT. ROOMS A LITTLE SMALL, BUT THAT'S JAPAN.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pafnutygoes2mars
Business
seattle, wa
Mar 21, 2011

central location, firm bed

The hotel was very close to Kyoto Station which was priority for me. Like most affordable hotels in japan, this one was tiny, just enough space for the double bed and sliver of a desk, which was just deep enough to set my laptop on but the internet was free, no nickle and diming like US hotels. There was an unpleasant musty swampy odor in the room but it dissipated into the background after a few minutes, i.e. i got used to it and didn't notice it. Nice firm beds which i really appreciate about Japanese hotels, hotels in the US always have way too soft beds and usually hurt my back. the best part of the hotel was the public bath on the top floor, free and excellent, good HOT! sauna and large hot bath. read up on the etiquette if it is your first time using one. Worth the price if you're not trying to impress anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Sanjusangendo and Ryoanji were my favorites, the first is walkable but a longish walk but Ryoanji requires JR rail ride and then a transfer to the private line. But there is practically a temple or shrine on every corner, Kyoto is a very beautiful city and two days are not enough. take a stroll around the neighborhood. Gion corner at night is also a must do too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of APA Hotel Kyoto-Eki-Horikawadori

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fishingbuddhasr
Business
richmond, british columbia
Oct 26, 2010

tiny but functional

Close to the jr station and thus all the restaurants located in the Porta and the top floors of the jr station. Also close to the city bus system where you can purchase an all day pass for $5.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

We ate every night in either the Porta which is an underground shopping center in front of the rail station or in the upstairs two floors of the rail station. Lots of choices for people. There are some places that offer a cheap but good breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top