$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 29, 2014 Check-out: Aug 1, 2014

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

4 stars
Coppers P.O. Box 106 - Runaway Bay, Runaway Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
627 reviews
Great Place

Good Vibes. The staff was great. Place was very nice! See full review

  • S Cheekz
  • Jun 26, 2014
GREAT 1st time to Jamaica

Had a great time. Every staff member went out of their way to meet our needs. Extremely friendly... See full review

  • KSAK
  • Jun 8, 2014
Run by the Bahia Principe Hotels & Resorts brand, The Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive packs plenty of distinctly "local" touches. Colonial Victorian facades overlook the quintessentially-Jamaican beach at Runaway Bay, and there are no 'guest rooms' here, only luxurious suites. Float beneath the starry sky at one of the three inclusive pools, test out the in-room hydro-massage tubs (in selected suites), or chow down at one of the five on-site restaurants. The Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica is an all-inclusive resort, so the majority of amenities are covered with the cost of a stay, though some fees and restrictions may apply.
Highlights
  • 850 guestrooms
  • 3 lake-style pools
  • 9 bars
  • 6 restaurants
  • Wi-Fi available
  • Spa
  • Conference space
Neighborhood

In the surrounding area, guests will discover hidden cenotes, water-filled caves that invite serious scuba divers and casual snorkelers alike, and parks like Xcaret, that give you a chance to enjoy the clear currents of a calm lagoon in a more naturalistic setting than found at any waterpark. Nearby Chichen Itza is a World Heritage Site, which includes The Castle, the Pyramid of Kukulcan and Juego de Pelota. The Sacred Cenote is a spot where the Mayans apparently made human sacrifices, and should not be missed by lovers of history, macabre and otherwise.

Hints and tips
Don't leave without putting the Jerk chefs at the hotel through their paces: the locally-spiced chicken and pork dishes are fine examples of Jamaican cuisine.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4604 -77.3509
Area served
Runaway Bay is a town in Saint Ann Parish on the Northern coast of Jamaica. Runaway Bay is a notable tourist destination located about15 miles West of Ocho Ros, and slightly East of Discovery Bay.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airpot (MBJ)- 45 minute drive and Kingston Airport - 2.5 hour drive.
Area description
Ocho Rios is one of the major tourist destination of Jamaica, given that Dunn's River Falls and many popular beaches, like Puerto Seco Beach, are located there. There is a cruise ship dock on the west shore of Ocho Rios Bay.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Superior
All rooms feature 2 double beds or 1 King size, air conditioning, large fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryers, satellite TV's, direct dial telephone, safe box (extra charge), mini-bar (daily refill), balcony or terrace with extraordinary views.
Junior Suite Sea View
All rooms feature 2 double beds or 1 King size, air conditioning, large fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryers, satellite TV's, direct dial telephone, safe box (extra charge), mini-bar (daily refill), balcony or terrace with extraordinary Ocean Views.
Junior Suite Deluxe
All rooms feature 2 double beds or 1 King size, air conditioning, large fully equipped bathrooms, hair dryers, satellite TV's, direct dial telephone, safe(extra charge), mini-bar (daily refill), balcony or terrace with extraordinary Ocean views. 4 A La Carte dinner per week stay, room service, bathrobe & sleepers in the room, delivery of the towels into your room for the beach & pool.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Solarium
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mikado
Japanese menu-style dining Reservations required. Open 6:30 pm - 10:00pm
Dolce Vita
Italian menu-style dining Reservations required Open 6:30 pm - 10:00pm
Orquidea
Main Buffet Restaurant, themed dinner nightly with beautiful ocean views. Open 7:oo am to 10:30 am for breakfast, 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm for lunch and 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm for dinner.
Garden Grill
Enjoy this steak house, and its many specialty dishes. Menu-style dining. Open 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm. Reservations required.
Don Pablo
Gourmet dinner restaurant, menu-style. Reservations required. Open 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm.
2 Palmyra
Buffet style restaurant, adults only. Open 7:00 am to 10:30 am for breakfast, 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm for lunch and 6:30 pm to 10:30 pm for dinner.
Burquer Principe
Night snack bar, open from 11:00 pm to 7:00 am.
Piscis
Beach buffet.
Picasso
Adults only, a la carte restaurant.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (627)

Ratings and reviews for Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
627 out of 627
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.1

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Suziepops
Nutley, NJ
Jul 8, 2014

For Girls Only

Hotel was great once we got there. Would have been more enjoyable if we got to our hotel when we should have.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

To use the Adult Only Buffet if you are not travelling with children.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
real jamaican
Connecticut
Jun 27, 2014

killer mosquitos

The food and amenities were alright but the mosquitos ate us alive in our room. There were dead mosquitos in our bed..under the paper pad...blood from killed mosquitos on the curtains. Another couple was with us they never received their coffee pot or remote after asking numerous times. Not a good experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
S Cheekz
NY
Jun 26, 2014

Great Place

Good Vibes. The staff was great. Place was very nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KarenBoop
New York City
Jun 18, 2014

Lots of Fun

The staff , from the front to the pool guys, were all extremely friendly, and helpful. Specialty restraunts were very good, the buffet was OK. Rooms were clean and a/c worked very well. View was beautiful , ocean and pool.However, one of the pools was very cloudy for most of my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Go early for the Michael Jackson show

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Redhot86
New York City
Jun 17, 2014

Terrible customer service

When I originally booked my trip it was for 3 people in one room. At check in they only had me down for two people in the room and tried to make me pay again. Thankfully I had my paperwork with me and was able to prove that I had indeed paid for all three people. When I finally got my room there was just one king Size bed. I called and complained about the matter and they told me that they didn't have enough rooms with 2 beds and would bring me up. They never brought the bed up! And then when I checked out they again tried to charge me for the third person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Traveling Golie
San Diego
Jun 13, 2014

Faulty construction

The staff here are wonderful. The construction of the property is very poor. The handle to my sliding glass door fell off and the light fixture in my shower fell out of the ceiling. Luckily it did not happen while I was in the shower. When we brought these issues to the management, they were not concerned and recemmened sending a fruit plate. Never was an apology offered. The staff is wonderful, management poor and food was fair to say the least. I would say this is a Motel 6 Jamaican Style:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Hike up the water falls, it's an amazing experience.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KSAK
Indiana
Jun 8, 2014

GREAT 1st time to Jamaica

Had a great time. Every staff member went out of their way to meet our needs. Extremely friendly and helpful. I would not hesitate to stay 2 weeks the next time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Get out on the water! The colors are georgeous.

Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LAK2014
New York, NY
Jun 3, 2014

Good value for the money

Very good for families. A little bit far from the airport, but that is a minor inconvenience along with the internet limit (free wifi only in lobby area for one hour a day to use right away). Safe, fun, god food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Suzy Wonderwizard
NY, NY
Jun 2, 2014

They do try....they really do

It was ok....great no suitable yes. Block 23 best.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Grand Bahia Principe Jamaica All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jacky the traveler
United States
May 31, 2014

Fun vacation

My husband and I spent 4 nights at the Grand Bahia and enjoyed our trip. This was our first all inclusive vacation, and didn't know what to expect before we arrived. I will say this hotel is quite far from the airport. We were on the bus for over an hour, and after the plane ride it would have been nice to have a quicker ride to the hotel. Food- We are not picky eaters and really liked everything we ate. The breakfast buffet had a great omelette station and the dinner buffet had a delicious fresh pasta station. We made dinner reservations at Mikado and Don Pablo. I would recommend Don Pablo because the food was very delicious but do not recommend Mikado. My husband and I are both avid sushi lovers and sadly we were very disppointed with the food. Entertainment- Honestly I found the entertainment quite boring, but it isn't Broadway so still enjoyable. Service- Everyone at the resort was nice and always willing to help. Excursions- We only went on one excursion and that was to the Dunnes River Waterfall. This was probably what we enjoyed most about the whole trip. I would recommend you go on this trip. Overall, we had a great time. This was our first all inclusive and probably our last for awhile. The hotel was great but we felt trapped at times and didn't love just being stuck at the hotel. With all of that said, I would recommend this hotel for anyone who is interested in a very relaxing vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Go on as many excursions as you can. I wanted to save money, so I only went on one but regret not going on more.

Back to menu Return to top