Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 201, Main Street, Runaway Bay,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
21 reviews
wonderful family vacation

We loved our time at the Franklyn D Resort. Though the hotel itself is not fancy, the rooms are... See full review

  • jsnorm
  • Aug 22, 2013
Great Stay

What everybody says about this place is true: fabulous people make it. Tremendously enjoyable stay.... See full review

  • TorontoLawGuy
  • Mar 25, 2013
Charming Runaway Bay beach all inclusive a joy for kids, adults alike

This Runaway Bay all-inclusive resort is serious about its claim as the "best family hotel in Jamaica."  Families are assigned Vacation Nannies to ensure adults and kids get the most of their tropical vacation. Kids have their own buffet, disco and supervised Kiddie's Center. Adults indulge in spa treatments, snorkeling and dine at romantic adults-only restaurants while the kids are professionally supervised. The spacious suites at the Franklyn D Resort & Spa come with stocked refrigerators. Evenings bring live entertainment and torch-lit buffets.

Highlights
  • Tropical beachfront location
  • Family oriented with nanny service, kids program
  • Luxurious spa
  • Five restaurants with buffet, a la carte options
Rooms

The Franklyn D Resort & Spa has eight Tuscan-style buildings that house 78 one, two and three bedroom suites just steps from the beach. The suites are brightly decorated with a tropical flair and include spacious balconies or garden terraces. All suites have a living room, dining area and stocked refrigerator. Amenities include satellite TV, iPod dock, DVD player and free wireless Internet. The resort's three-bedroom suites have two bathrooms and can accommodate five adults and four children under 16.

Features

The Franklyn D Resort & Spa is about as kid-friendly as they come. A Vacation Nanny service assigns a qualified staff member to serve as families' personal vacation assistant. Nannies watch the kids, tidy up the suite and keep the fridge stocked. The Yellow Bird Kids Club entertains youngsters with a range of toys, computer games and activities such as arts, crafts and snorkeling lessons. Kids will delight in the pool slides and kids' disco.

 

The Franklyn D Resort & Spa offers a variety of dining options, including three a la carte restaurants and a buffet. The adults-only Pier Restaurant serves Italian food in a romantic candlelit atmosphere. The Verandah Restaurant hosts a buffet by torch-light on Wednesdays. A Kidz Buffet offers a magnificent spread of kids' favorites.

 

Water sports enthusiasts flock to the beach next door to snorkel and kayak. For more relaxing activities, lounge by the pool, sink into a hammock or visit the Sea Grape Spa for a massage.

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (40.9 mi/65.7 km)
Attractions
  • Dunn’s River Falls (10.9 mi/17.6 km)
  • Martha Brae River Rafting (21.8 mi/35.1)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference facilities
  • Wireless Internet complimentary
  • Meeting/banquet facilities
Policies & fees
  • Guests must book all-inclusive categories to receive all-inclusive program. Only all-inclusive rates include round-trip Montego Bay airport transfers. In addition, all-inclusive rates include activities, taxes, tips, meals and drinks.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4621 -77.3575
Area served
Runaway Bay, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Donald Sangster International Airport Montego Bay (MBJ)
Area description
The Franklyn D. Resort & Spa is a boutique, all suite family friendly Resort, located on the beachfront in Runaway Bay. Attractions nearby are Dunn's River Falls, Dolphin Cove, Cranbrook Flower Forest, Green Grotto Caves, Chukka Cove Adventures.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

One Bedroom Suite (Room Only)
Decorated in Tropical Colors, our spacious one bedroom suites consist of a private air-conditioned bedroom with one king or two twin sized beds, separate living room with day bed and dining room, ceiling fan, cable TV, Ipod Dock, DVD Player, telephone, kitchen, hairdryer, iron and iron board, bathroom, free WiFi and private balcony. Additional rollaway bed and crib available at no additional cost.
Two Bedroom Suite (Room Only)
Our two bedroom suites are spacious and have a private air-conditioned master bedroom complete with a king sized bed and full bathroom. The second private bedroom is also air-conditioned with two twin sized beds and a full bathroom. Hair dryer, iron and iron board, separate living room with day bed and dining room, ceiling fan, cable TV, Ipod Dock, DVD player, telephone, free WiFi, kitchen and private balcony. Additional rollaway bed and crib available at no additional cost.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

The Verandah
By the ocean, this restaurant serves International cuisine in a family atmosphere. Serves breakfast, lunch and dinner.
The Sea Cotton Tree Grill
Features popular Jamaican specialties like beef patties, jerk pork and chicken. Open daily from 11AM-5PM.
The Pier
Serves delightful Italian fare. Open for dinners. Adults only.
Overproof Jamaican Restaurant
Right on the beach, guests can enjoy authentic Jamaican cuisine at the 'Overproof Restaurant'. Adults only, open for dinner 5 nights per week.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (21)

Ratings and reviews for Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
21 out of 21
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

100% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago Dan
Chicago
Dec 4, 2013

Pretty good experience.

Overall, I felt the hotel was good. Nanny service is terrific. The one complaint would be that the food is certainly not top-notch...but you aren't going here for the food and it is probably good enough for the price point of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jsnorm
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 22, 2013

wonderful family vacation

We loved our time at the Franklyn D Resort. Though the hotel itself is not fancy, the rooms are spacious and adequate and the staff is outstanding. Our vacation nanny Tashana was amazing and kept our kids happy and entertained the whole time. We were able to spend time with them as well as have some time to ourselves, which was a huge bonus. The beach is glorious and the staff -- from the font office to the life guards to the servers -- could not have been friendlier or more welcoming. We hope to go back, as so many people seem to!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TorontoLawGuy
Toronto
Mar 25, 2013

Great Stay

What everybody says about this place is true: fabulous people make it. Tremendously enjoyable stay. Wouldn't go without kids. Perfection with them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheetal13
Redondo beach, Ca
Mar 5, 2013

Perfect Family Getaway

The nanny included in the hotel room made the holiday for us a perfect vacation to relax. The staff is amazing,friendly and ensure that you have a great time..just what you are looking for in a vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aidanumma
Ny
Feb 19, 2013

All about the nanny

Just returned from this resort. Took a 3 month old and it was such a great vacation. Had an amazing time with my husband thanks to our nanny(Dane). She was great with our baby! Resort and food is average at best, but we were willing to make that tradeoff for having a nanny. Staff are extremely friendly and the service is 5 star. Rooms are spacious and clean. Definitely recommend this resort for families with infants or children!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
4
Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demetrise
Washington, DC
Sep 4, 2012

Vacation nanny is where its at

Low stress... Great staff... Yummy food... All inclusive... Excellent customer service... VACATION NANNY!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit the vendors on the beach. Stick to your guns and don't be swindle into something you don't want to but. The prices are better that what you find on the resort and at Dunns River Falls/Ochos Rios.

Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
relaxed and rested una
Ontario, Canada
Aug 15, 2012

Perfect family getaway with young children

We travelled with 3 children (ages 8,9 and 16).The nanny service provided by the resort is second to none. At first we were skeptical about leaving our children (ages 8 and 9) with a complete stranger, but felt completely comfortable after seeing the interaction between the nanny and our chlidren. You can see that they genuinely care and enjoy being with your children. Our youngest even wanted to take her home with us. If you are looking for a 5 star hotel with all the glitz and glamor, then this is not the place for you. But in my opinion, the nanny service by for surpasses the glitz and glamour of a 5 star resort. We were able to literally relax and enjoy a strees free vacation, knowing that our children were being well cared for. The food is mediocre. I would have liked to see more authentic jamaican foods. The rooms were kept phenominally clean by our private nanny, floors were cleaned with bleach daily and linen changed daily. The resort is small, intimate and secluded. The beaches are what is lacking (very small area lots of rocks), in order to enjoy a "REAL" beach, sand and swimming experience you have to walk (a short walk) to the adjoining resort. They have several activities throughout the day for kids, teens and adults. I would definately recommend this resort for any family with young children. We will be returning in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Take advantage of the on site restaurants (when open). Jamaican and Italian. As the buffet served in the dining room is just "OK".

Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Demetrise
Washington, DC
May 16, 2012

The vacation nanny is where it's at

Our vacation nanny made our vacation all the more enjoyable. She was a great fit for our family. What excellent customer service and personality!!! We will be repeat customers for sure.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Support the vendors on the beach near the adjacent resort (Breezes)

Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Strupp family
Wisconsin
Apr 17, 2012

Nannies, Nannies, Nannies

The nannies totally make it worth the trip. They are great and our children had a blast with them. The food and accomadations are just ok but the nannies make it great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Franklyn D Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
giorgiony1
New York, NY, USA
Apr 16, 2012

Perfect for low-key, relaxing family vacation

We have been at this resort several times already. The experience has always been great. The staff is fantastic, there is a nanny that takes care of the kids from 9am to 4:30pm (included in the hotel rate), good activities for both kids and adults, and the place is quite nice. The beach is a bit tiny, but more than enough for kids and adults. They pick you up at the airport and from that moment you don't have to worry about a single thing, so it's incredibly relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search