$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of PO Box 20 Main Road St. Ann, Runaway Bay,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
161 out of 161
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
3.6
Value:
4

76% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
crazytrini8
Business
Grand Prairie, TX
Sep 10, 2010

Great Stay!!

Overall I had a great time at Club Ambiance! My husband and I are both 22 so this was a great place for us. Although there are people of all ages I would recomend this resort for younger people. They keep the drinks coming and the music playing!Hotel staff is great they even bring you juice when you check-in. However tips are welcome even though the website says they aren't necessary. You will definitely get better service if you tip. Also the men are much friendlier then the women, excluding front desk staff, so if you need something ask a guy!Plus when we missed out van to the airport the staff found someone willing to make the drive, for a fee of course, but they still went out of their way.Not too much to do during the day if you stay on the property, although they do make an effort to have some activities with prizes...I won a bottle of rum! [...].The rooms aren't the nicest but they are cozy. Also bring lots of OFF because there are lots of bugs in Jamica and even some small ones in the rooms. Nothing to be alarmed about though because the ones in your room don't bother anyone.We didn't spend any time in the hotel pool because the resort is right on the shore so you can swim in the ocean. Eventhough there is a topless section, no one is actually topless. Lastly, the food is great and so are the drinks! Drinks aren't traditional drinks that are like the ones in America but they are still good, however they only have RedStripe beer. The bartenders are willing to make the drinks strong just ask! Overall this was a great vacation, I definitely wouldn't mind going back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Go to the club at the hotel. It's a lot of fun and you don't have to worry about safety since you are on-site. The surrounding neighborhood isn't the nicest so we felt safer staying at the hotel. The music is great and the DJ is open for request. Some nights there aren't a lot of people but the DJ and bartender are still great!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
little rock,ar
Aug 30, 2010

its good and bad

THE FOOD WAS NOT THAT GOOD NEED BETTER CHEF

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

THE ENTERTAINMENT WAS GOOD

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Jackson, MS
Aug 22, 2010

Best Kept Secret

This is a best kept secret hotel! Its not over crowded with guest so it makes for a personal "you are the most imporant" customer service experience. The staff was very attentive and really aimed to please. Its location is not too far from the hustle and bustle of Ochio Rios so it serves as a good tour of the coast line. The attrations and activities this hotel offer is extensive as well which is sure to give you a great adventurous trip if you choose. If not, you could stay at the hotel and have a awesome experience with the many activites that they offer everyday as well in addition to laxidasical atmosphere that they offer. When they say "No Problem Mon" they mean it!!! The only things that could have been better was their inconsistant water tempatures and and the slow internet connections. But I will say the 5 meals and all the drinks you can consume makes up for it! ****I Love the Drinks**** get a Humming Bird and A No Problem and see if you agree!!! In my opinion, this hotel is just as good if not better than some of the big name places...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't convert your currency to theirs! The rates vary from place to place and if you don't use it all you will get a lower return rate!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Penniwallie
Business
Sterling, VA
Jul 19, 2010

9 out of 10!

Club Ambiance was a fantastic resort! When we were there, only about 50 other people were there with us.It felt like we had the place to ourselves. The staff knew us by name and made us feel very welcome. No problems!My one complaint would be that the beds were uncomfortable. I would definitely go back there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dunns River Falls was an amazing waterfall that we climbed up for a cheap price! We made a human chain by connecting hands with 50 other people and got to slide down the falls and the staff took a video of the whole trip and we bought the DVD of us climbing! What an experience?!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, Georgia
Jul 8, 2010

Great value for money

As noted in previous recommendations...the rooms in the West Block, expecially H01 and H02, are next to a nightclub and the music is very loud and vibrates until the wee hours, especially on Friday and Saturday nights. Sleeping pills help tremendously! The beach area is small, but there was always room for everyone. Don't consider if you do not want to be immersed in the Jamaican culture/food/attitude. I sought that and it was great!! The worst thing experienced was the lack of a/c in the dining room. Not good at all. Too many flies landing on or about the food. It was too hot to eat in on 2 days of the trip. I would highly recommend the resort consider a/c in the dining room. Tradewinds don't cut it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Marietta, GA
Jul 8, 2010

Find somewhere better to visit

We have been to Negril & Montego Bay before going to Runaway Bay. In Runaway Bay we came across a place that wasn't as nice, wasn't as much for our money, wasn't as fun or as friendly as our other experiences. We still did a lot around the resort for fun & even did a real fun excursion.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We booked our excursion online before taking the trip as the resort didn't seem to offer enough options and/or the one we wanted. Our driver was late but everything after that was WELL worth it! We pd $90/person for a ride to Ocho Rios, zip lining, ATV riding, a swing ride, a stop for shopping & eating/drinking at Margaritaville & finally back to our resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Southern California
Jun 26, 2010

Disappointing

A couple of the staff were very friendly, but most didn't really smile and were not friendly. If you go, seek out [...] (bartender), [...] (late night cook), and [...] (omelette station). They were very friendly and deserve at tip. The supposed beach was disappointing because it was non-existent. The "beach" you see in the picture is actually a lagoon area the hotel partitioned off from the rocky ocean area in front of the hotel, however, it is very small and very shallow. It's only about 3 feet, at best, at it's highest point. The nightclub was scary they have on site. I would avoid it. That basically means after 11 p.m. you can not get a drink because you have to go to the nightclub to get a drink after 11. Another significant problem was the noise at night. Unfortunately we had to stay indoors after dinner because otherwise I was eaten alive by mosquitos. Because of this we just wanted to relax in the room at night and try to get to bed early. But the noise from the entertainment was so ridiculously loud in our room we couldn't do much of anything. And I mean it was loud and would even vibrate our windows. The food options were okay. Everything tasted okay, but there really wasn't much seafood, which we would have expected being on the ocean. A positive was that the alcoholic drinks were strong. If you like weak drinks, which I don't thankfully, you should probably let them know. Bugs in the rooms are also a serious problem. Be sure to exert how you feel about this w/the manager if you see them (bugs) when you enter the room. Also, once/if that is under control make sure not to leave any food yourself in the room or the bugs will be there instantly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milwaukee,wisconsin
Jun 24, 2010

fantastic just lovely

we was there for a wedding and love time it was very nice

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

you really do not have to leave everything is right there

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Victokirsh
Business
Humboldt SD
Jun 8, 2010

Worth a second trip

Nice, smaller resort without crowds. The staff had a chance to learn who you were, very attentive and friendly. Meals were limited, but they were only cooking for a small group so can't expect large choice of entrees. Great desserts. Large pool. Many tours to pick from, tours and buses were on time. Lots of scheduled on-resort activities. Drinks are delicious and NOT watered down. Many types of rum to pick from. Would definately return again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Club Ambiance - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
okiefarmer[@]
Business
Arpelar ,Oklahoma
May 26, 2010

A great place to stay

If you love to eat at Burger King on your trips,don't stay here.If you love cookie cutter resorts with shiny chrome and plastic people that pretend you are the center of the world,don't stay here.This is an older hotel that has old world charm with views that look like post cards. The staff is friendly and strive to remember not only your name but what you like.The food has authentic Jamaican dishes along with familiar ones for the faint of heart.When we were in Ocho Rios shopping people there talked about how they loved Hotel Ambiance. If you want to relax without children screaming and running about,you will like it here. The pool and beach are topless if they want too,we were there for a week and rarely saw nudity.There is a clothing optional beach that is separated and usually has a few folks there--but you have to look for them.The crowd went from newly wed to middle aged folks like us celebrating our 30th anniversary to a few older folks that partied harder than us. Food and drink are pretty much always available.We drank the water the whole time we were there and never had any problems.The bartenders and waiters got us whatever we liked,whether just a Diet Pepsi, a Red Stripe beer or any drink you could think of.They were not bashful about adding alcohol if you wanted stronger. We snorkeled on the reefs just offshore and had a great time.There is a wreck not too far out if you are a better swimmer.The beaches are nice to lie on but not to great to swim in.Coral bottoms so pack some water shoes.There is a really nice public beach called Flavors within walking distance. We loved the place but if you are stuck on new and shiny and love to eat at American Fast food places in Foreign countries,well you won't like it here,and I really don't want to hear your whining while I'm there so just don't.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a local grocery store about a mile away.You can buy coffee there that is less than $10 a lb. Thats about a third what the shops ask. If you insist on shopping there for Blue Mountain,well best prices we heard ran about$15 a lb. At the craft places fo some coffe that was nearing expiration dates about $8-10 a lb.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top