$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 100, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
416 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

Love this place the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is awesome and it close to everything... See full review

  • Highly Bless
  • Jun 30, 2014
Awsome

I had an awsome time. Staff was friendly and service was excellent. I would recomend this hotel to... See full review

  • carribean gyal
  • May 28, 2014

The Sunset Grande Resort Hotel Jamaica is an all-inclusive hotel in the resort town of Ochos Rios. With 730 rooms and a private beach offering free watersports for guests, it’s one of the largest hotels on the island. Features like the five swimming pools - complete with rope bridges and plunge pools - make this hotel stand out from other Jamaican resorts. Inventive on-site entertainment includes themed parties (Thursdays are 'Pirate & Wench' day!) and the Jamaica’N Me Crazy nightclub will amuse the adults, while kids get their own hang-out at Club Mongoose.

Key facts
  • 730 guestrooms
  • 5 swimming pools
  • 6 restaurants: Grande Palm (open-air), South Beach Bar & Grill, Lighthouse Bar & Grill, Ginger Lily (pan-Asian), LaDiva (Italian), Dining on South Beach (Caribbean/American)
  • 8 bars, including 2 swim-up bars and a nightclub
  • Free non-motorized water sports
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • In-house boutique stores
  • Mini gaming lounge
  • Nightly entertainment
  • Business center and conference facilities
Neighborhood
Right on the beachfront, overlooking the Ochos Rios Cruise Terminal on the opposite side of Ochos Rios bay, there's plenty of opportunity to hit the sand around the Sunset Grande Resort. Just a short walk inland is the Turtle River Falls & Gardens, while following Milford Road out of town will take visitors to the jamming sounds of Jamaica’s reggae king, at the Bob Marley Experience. Dolphin Cove is just to the west of Ochos Rios center, where you can get up close to Caribbean sharks and the titular marine mammals, all within five acres of lush rainforest.
Hints and tips
If you prefer the beach to the mainland, opt for a two-person cabana room in the beachfront wing. Fancy a spin on the roulette wheels? Check out the hotel's casino - even with children in tow, the hotel features an all-ages kids clubs open from 7 - 9pm, so Mom and Dad can have some alone time at the tables.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4122 -77.1052
Area served
Ocho Rios
Nearby airports
Montego Bay, Jamaica (MBJ) Kingston, Jamaica
Area description
The Sunset Jamaica Grande is the perfect location, central to Jamaica's famous attrations. Located in Ocho Rios on the stunning Northern coastline just 90 minutes from the Montego Bay Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Oceanfront
Both north and south Towers boast these lavish, beachfront rooms, all with a private balcony.
One Bedroom Suites
These corner suites dominate the South Pointe tower. Each contains a master bedroom with a king-sized bed, full bath and balcony, plus a separate sitting room with a full-size sleeper sofa, another full bath and balcony. The direct beachfront views are sensational.
Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Resort View
Each room features a private balcony overlooking the resort or Ocho Rios. Rooms are located in the north and south towers.
Oceanview
Catch a glimpse of the sparkling Caribbean or gaze onto the lush hillside from your balcony from the north or south towers.
Cabana Beach Front
King-sized beds and private patios distinguish these superb rooms, located in the two-story Cabana wing allong the South Pointe Beachfront. Recommended for wedding couples and honeymooners, the maximum occupancy is 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurants
The Grande Palm - Serves breakfast at 7:00-10:00 am, Lunch at noon-2:30 p.m. and 6:30 to 10:00 pm. A buffet-style, open-air restaurant overlooking the fantasy pool's meandering river and waterfalls, or the sparkling Caribbean Ocean. Ginger Lily: Opens 6:30 pm-10:00pm. Reservations required. Savor Asian favourites infused with Caribbean flavour at Ginger Lily. LaDiva Italian Restaurant - open 6:00pm to 10:00 pm. Reservations required. Featuring regional pasta dishes, fresh seafood and pizza from a wood-burning brick oven. Jamalicious - Open 11:00 am-11:00 p.m. Serving island and American favourites, this casual bistro has both indoor and outdoor seating. South Beach Bar & Grill and Lighthouse Bar & Grill - Open 11:00 am-5:00pm & 11:00 am-1:00 am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fruit juices and soft drinks.
Bar
The resort's eight bars are great places to unwind and socialize, choose from beach bars and swim-up bars to lobby bars and a nightclub. Bambu Lobby Bar - 10:00 am-MIdnight Blue Mahoe Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until 1:00am Ortanique Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until midnight South Beach Bar - OPen 10:00am until 1:00 am Lighthouse Beach Bar - Open 10:00 am until 1:00 am Two Swim-Up Pool Bars - Open 10:00 am -5:00 pm Jamaica'n Me Crazy Nightclub - Open 10:00 pm-2:00 am Cafe Bean - Coffee Station - OPen 24 hours

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sunset Jamaica Grande boasts more than 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space. The 17,650 square-foot Grande Hall is centrally located and hosts up to 2,500 people, while other meeting, banquet and two ballrooms are also available. Extensive outdoor venues are available for themed events and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (416)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 20, 2007

very relaxing

It was our first travel to Jamaica. Everything was nice. At the hotel everything went very smooth, all the employees very attentive and friendly. This hotel was built some years ago but everything work properly and everything very clean. The food was excellent. We think that Jamaica is more expensive that other places like CanCun. For us Cancun is far bether. We spend around one full day traveling from Dallas Fort Worth until get our hotel at Montego Bay. Since we wake up really early until we got our hotel was around 14 hours. The return was abut the same. Probably you should count like two days spent going and returning if you reside in USA While traveling in Jamaica towards our hotel we saw many small stores on the main street with iron or steel bars closing all the doors and windows. We tought it was to avoid some kind of robberies, so we decided to stay inside our hotel all the time. We only left the hotel to get back to US This year we decided to go first to Jamaica by first time, and next day we went to Cancun since we already know it very good and now we know it is a very superior place, less expensive and we need less than half day to get there. We recommend Jamaica, but other places are better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We only did some shopping at the hotel store

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
auburn , wa.
Aug 6, 2011

awesome family vacation

This hotel was fantastic. Lots of activities..great pools and great location. The buffets were good with a wide variety of foods and the restraunts were great. We will definately return to the Sunset Jamaica Grande in Ocho Rios.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

dunn river falls and dolphin cove are must sees in Ocho Rios

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Aug 30, 2008

GREAT TRIP

IT WAS A GREAT WAY TO SPEND OUR FAMILY VACTION EVERYTHING WAS GREAT AND WOULDN'T CHANNGE ANYTHING ABOUT IT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Springfield, IL
Mar 14, 2008

Great Price

Wonderful stay in the beach front room at Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa in Ocho Rios, Jamaica. We would definitely return and have already recommended it to family and friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin Cove Cool Runnings Boat Tour Dunn's River Falls

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Phoenix
Aug 30, 2008

GREAT TRIP

IT WAS A GREAT WAY TO SPEND OUR FAMILY VACTION EVERYTHING WAS GREAT AND WOULDN'T CHANNGE ANYTHING ABOUT IT!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
May 29, 2007

Very Very Wonderful Resort

The Sunset Jamaica Grande is an EXCELLENT HOTEL. The view from our renovated room (north tower 10th fl) was truely breathtaking. You literally see why the hotel is called SUNSET! The bathroom was a bright clean white. The hotel location is ideal for those who wish to go to Margaritaville and the World Famous Dunns River Falls. Also very close to Walkerswood Tour, for the Jerk Food fanatic. The hotel dining at Jamalicous & the Italian Restaurant was truly 5-star. The entire hotel staff was EXCELLENT! Despite the rain on & off (which I dont see why some blame the weather on the hotel) during our 4 day stay, the hotel offered so much to do. Check in was swift & everyone is more than ready to ensure you enjoy your stay. Day 1 - enjoyed the hotel grounds, mini-casino; nightclub; Dinner @ Ginger Lilly; nightcap. Day 2 - swimming; water slides; hot tub; paddleboat; games by the pool; live concert; dinner @ buffet under the sunset. Day 3 - spa; venture out in-town; Dunns River; Hot tub; Dinner @ La Diva Day 4 - breakfast & ck out

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Feb 20, 2008

Great Resort for Fun

This hotel is minutes from the pier, so all of the cruise ships are visible from the oceanview rooms. The resort is very clean. The staff extremely friendly and corteous. The food was delicious and there were plenty of dinning options, from Italian to Jamaican cusines. The resort rivals the cruises ship experiences that I have had. The only dissapointing aspect of this resort was the check-in process. It was very long, however the check-out was smooth and efficient. I give this hotel a 8.5 out of 10.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The resort has plenty of water activities from non-motorized to motorized. Everything is in walking distance. Shuttles to Margaritaville are also a plus.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Jose, CA
Jun 20, 2007

very relaxing

It was our first travel to Jamaica. Everything was nice. At the hotel everything went very smooth, all the employees very attentive and friendly. This hotel was built some years ago but everything work properly and everything very clean. The food was excellent. We think that Jamaica is more expensive that other places like CanCun. For us Cancun is far bether. We spend around one full day traveling from Dallas Fort Worth until get our hotel at Montego Bay. Since we wake up really early until we got our hotel was around 14 hours. The return was abut the same. Probably you should count like two days spent going and returning if you reside in USA While traveling in Jamaica towards our hotel we saw many small stores on the main street with iron or steel bars closing all the doors and windows. We tought it was to avoid some kind of robberies, so we decided to stay inside our hotel all the time. We only left the hotel to get back to US This year we decided to go first to Jamaica by first time, and next day we went to Cancun since we already know it very good and now we know it is a very superior place, less expensive and we need less than half day to get there. We recommend Jamaica, but other places are better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Not Applicable

We only did some shopping at the hotel store

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Warner Springs
Jun 14, 2008

good for the money

The overll hotel was very good, the room itself could of been more maintained, ice machines on the floors did not work, staff was ver friendly and more than welcoming. Pool area was excellent, good location, overall experience was a good one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

shopping nearby

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
J*ME
PA
Mar 31, 2011

fabulous !!!!!

the resort was great! staff very friendly. will absolutely be going back. just wish the water in the pools was a little warmer!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top