$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 100, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
417 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

Love this place the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is awesome and it close to everything... See full review

  • Highly Bless
  • Jun 30, 2014
Awsome

I had an awsome time. Staff was friendly and service was excellent. I would recomend this hotel to... See full review

  • carribean gyal
  • May 28, 2014

The Sunset Grande Resort Hotel Jamaica is an all-inclusive hotel in the resort town of Ochos Rios. With 730 rooms and a private beach offering free watersports for guests, it’s one of the largest hotels on the island. Features like the five swimming pools - complete with rope bridges and plunge pools - make this hotel stand out from other Jamaican resorts. Inventive on-site entertainment includes themed parties (Thursdays are 'Pirate & Wench' day!) and the Jamaica’N Me Crazy nightclub will amuse the adults, while kids get their own hang-out at Club Mongoose.

Key facts
  • 730 guestrooms
  • 5 swimming pools
  • 6 restaurants: Grande Palm (open-air), South Beach Bar & Grill, Lighthouse Bar & Grill, Ginger Lily (pan-Asian), LaDiva (Italian), Dining on South Beach (Caribbean/American)
  • 8 bars, including 2 swim-up bars and a nightclub
  • Free non-motorized water sports
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • In-house boutique stores
  • Mini gaming lounge
  • Nightly entertainment
  • Business center and conference facilities
Neighborhood
Right on the beachfront, overlooking the Ochos Rios Cruise Terminal on the opposite side of Ochos Rios bay, there's plenty of opportunity to hit the sand around the Sunset Grande Resort. Just a short walk inland is the Turtle River Falls & Gardens, while following Milford Road out of town will take visitors to the jamming sounds of Jamaica’s reggae king, at the Bob Marley Experience. Dolphin Cove is just to the west of Ochos Rios center, where you can get up close to Caribbean sharks and the titular marine mammals, all within five acres of lush rainforest.
Hints and tips
If you prefer the beach to the mainland, opt for a two-person cabana room in the beachfront wing. Fancy a spin on the roulette wheels? Check out the hotel's casino - even with children in tow, the hotel features an all-ages kids clubs open from 7 - 9pm, so Mom and Dad can have some alone time at the tables.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Oceanfront
Both north and south Towers boast these lavish, beachfront rooms, all with a private balcony.
One Bedroom Suites
These corner suites dominate the South Pointe tower. Each contains a master bedroom with a king-sized bed, full bath and balcony, plus a separate sitting room with a full-size sleeper sofa, another full bath and balcony. The direct beachfront views are sensational.
Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Resort View
Each room features a private balcony overlooking the resort or Ocho Rios. Rooms are located in the north and south towers.
Oceanview
Catch a glimpse of the sparkling Caribbean or gaze onto the lush hillside from your balcony from the north or south towers.
Cabana Beach Front
King-sized beds and private patios distinguish these superb rooms, located in the two-story Cabana wing allong the South Pointe Beachfront. Recommended for wedding couples and honeymooners, the maximum occupancy is 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4122 -77.1052
Area served
Ocho Rios
Nearby airports
Montego Bay, Jamaica (MBJ) Kingston, Jamaica
Area description
The Sunset Jamaica Grande is the perfect location, central to Jamaica's famous attrations. Located in Ocho Rios on the stunning Northern coastline just 90 minutes from the Montego Bay Airport.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sunset Jamaica Grande boasts more than 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space. The 17,650 square-foot Grande Hall is centrally located and hosts up to 2,500 people, while other meeting, banquet and two ballrooms are also available. Extensive outdoor venues are available for themed events and receptions.

Dining

Restaurants
The Grande Palm - Serves breakfast at 7:00-10:00 am, Lunch at noon-2:30 p.m. and 6:30 to 10:00 pm. A buffet-style, open-air restaurant overlooking the fantasy pool's meandering river and waterfalls, or the sparkling Caribbean Ocean. Ginger Lily: Opens 6:30 pm-10:00pm. Reservations required. Savor Asian favourites infused with Caribbean flavour at Ginger Lily. LaDiva Italian Restaurant - open 6:00pm to 10:00 pm. Reservations required. Featuring regional pasta dishes, fresh seafood and pizza from a wood-burning brick oven. Jamalicious - Open 11:00 am-11:00 p.m. Serving island and American favourites, this casual bistro has both indoor and outdoor seating. South Beach Bar & Grill and Lighthouse Bar & Grill - Open 11:00 am-5:00pm & 11:00 am-1:00 am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fruit juices and soft drinks.
Bar
The resort's eight bars are great places to unwind and socialize, choose from beach bars and swim-up bars to lobby bars and a nightclub. Bambu Lobby Bar - 10:00 am-MIdnight Blue Mahoe Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until 1:00am Ortanique Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until midnight South Beach Bar - OPen 10:00am until 1:00 am Lighthouse Beach Bar - Open 10:00 am until 1:00 am Two Swim-Up Pool Bars - Open 10:00 am -5:00 pm Jamaica'n Me Crazy Nightclub - Open 10:00 pm-2:00 am Cafe Bean - Coffee Station - OPen 24 hours

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (417)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
417 out of 417
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2007

EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED

I was very dissatisfied with my stay at the Sunset Jamaica Grande. The check-in process is not too welcoming, they solicite hotel services right in the lobby, very aggressively. The rooms are small and not up-to-date, especially the bathroom. The food is below average, you will enjoy it if you like eating the same foods all week. There was nothing special about the taste or the appeal of buffet. I was hungry all week. Reservations for the specialty restaurants are very hard to get. Then you have to hope guest services enter your reservations correctly for the restaurant that you wanted, so please double check your voucher once they give it to you. Overall, in opinion customer service was extremely poor. Also, should you have any complaints while you're staying there, hotel management is not the easiest to interact with. I left the resort feeling very depressed and disappointed.I would not recommend this hotel to my friends or family nor would I stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food on the strip outside the resort is excellent. I went to a seaside cafe called Andy's about 15 minutes away and loved it.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jul 6, 2007

EXTREMELY DISSATISFIED

I was very dissatisfied with my stay at the Sunset Jamaica Grande. The check-in process is not too welcoming, they solicite hotel services right in the lobby, very aggressively. The rooms are small and not up-to-date, especially the bathroom. The food is below average, you will enjoy it if you like eating the same foods all week. There was nothing special about the taste or the appeal of buffet. I was hungry all week. Reservations for the specialty restaurants are very hard to get. Then you have to hope guest services enter your reservations correctly for the restaurant that you wanted, so please double check your voucher once they give it to you. Overall, in opinion customer service was extremely poor. Also, should you have any complaints while you're staying there, hotel management is not the easiest to interact with. I left the resort feeling very depressed and disappointed.I would not recommend this hotel to my friends or family nor would I stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food on the strip outside the resort is excellent. I went to a seaside cafe called Andy's about 15 minutes away and loved it.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love lost
kennesaw, GA
Aug 8, 2011

Waste of Money

The location was great but the service and rooms are comparable to motel 6. The restuarants need a three day reservation. The rooms smell of mold. The lights in the lobby by the elavators of building north were never on as if attendance was need. The food was mediocre. The pool, beach and bar service were great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet food need improvement which I believe is why you nned to make reservations for the restuarants 3 days in advance

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
love lost
kennesaw, GA
Aug 8, 2011

Waste of Money

The location was great but the service and rooms are comparable to motel 6. The restuarants need a three day reservation. The rooms smell of mold. The lights in the lobby by the elavators of building north were never on as if attendance was need. The food was mediocre. The pool, beach and bar service were great though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: In Hotel

The buffet food need improvement which I believe is why you nned to make reservations for the restuarants 3 days in advance

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
brownsville tn
May 9, 2011

terrible resort very shocked

cool runnings mystic mountain both fabulous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TeacherBarbara
Hazel Crest, IL
Mar 2, 2012

Location ONLY

I stayed at this hotel from 2/27 - 3/1/12, the room were not in good shape at all. I am not a complainer, but if you book this hotel, don't expect a good room, not at all. NO soap, NO floor towel mat, NO clock, wow, the ocean view I paid for was a joke, what a waste of money and the food was not good at all. I stayed here 3 years ago and this hotel has gone down, there were so many people complaining, it was unbelievable, the drinks are so watered down, I didn't even get a buzz, no premium liquor, not even Malibu rum, and tha's not premium at all. I don't understand who the people are that loved this hotel, but if you book it after you've read this review, don't blame anyone but yourself, save your money and go to one of the Rui, mainly n Montego Bay where the food was good, the rooms were much nicer and the service was top notich, I would never recommed this hotel again, location is the only thing this hotel has going for it. Sorry, but this is sooo true, Now I see why the price was not too expensive as you get what you pay for,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Dunn's River Fall is close, 5 min. cab ride and Margaritaville is a 10 min. walk, its safe, just don't stop and talk and you'll be fine,

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Stickler for Good Service
virginia beach
Aug 25, 2009

Horrendous

This hotel was the worst we've ever been to. I am so disappointed in it. To make matters worst, my neice and nephew's clothes were stolen. Hotel staff and manager did little to this situation. We still have not heard from them. They are slow. Rooms were without iron. I requested one, and 5 days later, still no iron. Towels were taken from our room and not replaced. I can go on and on and on. Very disappointed. Want to keep your stuff. Don't stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Craft market is right outside the hotel to your right. Bargin, bargin, bargin. Don't feel pressured into buying. Hold strong. Walk around before purchasing, despite the pressure. They all have pretty much the same thing.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy!
Tennessee
Mar 24, 2011

I will NEVER stay here again!

We arrived at 2pm at the resort. We were told that check in was at 3pm and the desk clerk suggested we eat lunch while the room was being prepared. We returned to the desk at 3pm as advised. The desk clerk stated that the room was not ready and ask us to wait a few more minutes. Over the next 2 hours we would periodically check in with the clerk to see if the room was ready. Each time we would approach the desk he would pretend he had to take care of a matter at the other desk. Finally, after waiting 2 1/2 hours, he informed us the room was ready. When we got to the room, the bellboy immediately started testing the lights, phone and tv to ensure they were working. The light didn't work and the remote didn't work. The room also didn't have any towels. We immediately called the desk to request towels and inform them of the other concerns. The clerk stated that the problems would be corrected as soon as possible. We left the room for a couple hours and came back. Still no towels!!! Finally, the towels arrived. The next day we left the room at 8:30am. When we returned at 3:45 pm, the room still hadn't been cleaned and of course no clean towels! This happened every day! To make up for all the issues, the hotel booked us dinner at the Ginger Lily. The food was lukewarm and too spicy. Other issues we had: the room door had to be slammed very hard to shut it, the bathroom door would "stick" and you had to jerk it to open it, the food was cold and not very good, the grills never had enough cups or ice, the ice machine didn't have any ice and it took at least 5 minute for the water in the shower to warm up! I will never stay here again!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anna Travesky
New York
Jun 11, 2014

Dirty and strong sewer smell

I stayed at the north point tower and the sewer smell in the lobby was awefull. Food and drinks, poor quality. Staff very unprofessional and rude, no customer service at all. The pool and the beach are the only good things about this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Aug 28, 2010

The worst hotel ever!!!

From the moment we walked into the so-called resort we were greeted by attitudes and unfriendly non-verbal behavior. When we checked into the room it was filthy and old. Dust was every where, and the so called ocean front room we paid more to get was clearly no where near the ocean, and we could barely even see it. The food was horrible, with repetative dishes throughout our stay. The buffet and grill were not open throughout the day, so if you missed meal time you had to suffer through or pay $7.50USD for a bag a chips...which was horrible for us b/c one of our travelers was pregnant. Also, in order to reserve a table in one of the restaurants it required a 2 day advanced notice. Kids were running around everywhere and there were no adult only places or pools. Over this is the WORST place I have ever stayed...and I have stayed in some low budget places.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top