Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 100, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
286 reviews
Friendly staff, nice locale

Stayed there with a big group for a wedding, and had a good stay. About a 2hr ride from the MBJ... See full review

  • Matty Mc
  • Jul 28, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

Love this place the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is awesome and it close to everything... See full review

  • Highly Bless
  • Jun 30, 2014
Relax in the cool vibe of the legendary Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort & Spa; a unique all inclusive experience in the heart of Ocho Rios, about 53 miles east of Montego Bay airport. Come celebrate the resort's fresh multi-million dollar enhancements to the lobby, restaurants, pools and spa. The Sunset Jamaica Grande is situated on the island's northern coastline and occupies the longest stretch of beachfront in the lively resort town of Ocho Rios. The resort's 730 guestrooms and suites are located in two towers separated by a spectacular open-air lobby overlooking the blue waters of the Caribbean. The resort has upgraded its 4 restaurants and added a new entertainment pavilion, new lobby, 2 Grill bars and 7 bars as well as the captivating Aqua Azul Spa. Other resort features include five pools (three brand-new) and a kids' wading pool, a slot machine casino, gift shops, two beach grills, eight bars, four championship tennis courts and a newly remodeled fitness center and a full service spa. The children's center, "Club Mongoose," is open daily and available for kids ages two to twelve. The Pirate's Cove Teen Center entertains older children. Golf, horseback riding, polo, river rafting and world famous Dunns River Falls are all nearby. Relax among the Caribbean colours and a mellow island vibe at the Sunset Jamaica Grande. A spectacular open-air lobby links the resort's two guestroom towers, which overlook the sparkling Caribbean Sea and Jamaica's lush, green countryside. Private balconies, spacious rooms and cool tile floors grace the 730 rooms and suites. All include either a king size or two double beds; modern bathroom amenities; in-room safes; direct-dial telephone with voicemail; iron and ironing boards; hairdryer; color satellite televisions and individually controlled air conditioning. All Inclusive includes: taxes, gratuities, meals and drinks.

Hotel Map

18.4122 -77.1052
Area served
Ocho Rios
Nearby airports
Montego Bay, Jamaica (MBJ) Kingston, Jamaica
Area description
The Sunset Jamaica Grande is the perfect location, central to Jamaica's famous attrations. Located in Ocho Rios on the stunning Northern coastline just 90 minutes from the Montego Bay Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Oceanfront
Both north and south Towers boast these lavish, beachfront rooms, all with a private balcony.
One Bedroom Suites
These corner suites dominate the South Pointe tower. Each contains a master bedroom with a king-sized bed, full bath and balcony, plus a separate sitting room with a full-size sleeper sofa, another full bath and balcony. The direct beachfront views are sensational.
Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Resort View
Each room features a private balcony overlooking the resort or Ocho Rios. Rooms are located in the north and south towers.
Oceanview
Catch a glimpse of the sparkling Caribbean or gaze onto the lush hillside from your balcony from the north or south towers.
Cabana Beach Front
King-sized beds and private patios distinguish these superb rooms, located in the two-story Cabana wing allong the South Pointe Beachfront. Recommended for wedding couples and honeymooners, the maximum occupancy is 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurants
The Grande Palm - Serves breakfast at 7:00-10:00 am, Lunch at noon-2:30 p.m. and 6:30 to 10:00 pm. A buffet-style, open-air restaurant overlooking the fantasy pool's meandering river and waterfalls, or the sparkling Caribbean Ocean. Ginger Lily: Opens 6:30 pm-10:00pm. Reservations required. Savor Asian favourites infused with Caribbean flavour at Ginger Lily. LaDiva Italian Restaurant - open 6:00pm to 10:00 pm. Reservations required. Featuring regional pasta dishes, fresh seafood and pizza from a wood-burning brick oven. Jamalicious - Open 11:00 am-11:00 p.m. Serving island and American favourites, this casual bistro has both indoor and outdoor seating. South Beach Bar & Grill and Lighthouse Bar & Grill - Open 11:00 am-5:00pm & 11:00 am-1:00 am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fruit juices and soft drinks.
Bar
The resort's eight bars are great places to unwind and socialize, choose from beach bars and swim-up bars to lobby bars and a nightclub. Bambu Lobby Bar - 10:00 am-MIdnight Blue Mahoe Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until 1:00am Ortanique Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until midnight South Beach Bar - OPen 10:00am until 1:00 am Lighthouse Beach Bar - Open 10:00 am until 1:00 am Two Swim-Up Pool Bars - Open 10:00 am -5:00 pm Jamaica'n Me Crazy Nightclub - Open 10:00 pm-2:00 am Cafe Bean - Coffee Station - OPen 24 hours

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sunset Jamaica Grande boasts more than 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space. The 17,650 square-foot Grande Hall is centrally located and hosts up to 2,500 people, while other meeting, banquet and two ballrooms are also available. Extensive outdoor venues are available for themed events and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (286)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
286 out of 286
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Will The Traveller
Buffalo, New York
Jun 7, 2013

Great vacation for price

It was a great vacation for the price! Location was ideal to shopping and just walking around. The entertainment was great at night especially the talent show. The views were amazing & we had a resort view! Food and drink alcohol plentiful. Water was amazing, temperature perfect The stay would have been great if there was more jamaican food during dinner.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lady Delia
New York
May 29, 2013

Be Prepared

Beautiful hotel but the peeling paint of the bathtub that didn't drain well and the toilet seat that looked like someone chewed it were not what I was expecting for an Oceanside view. Loved the food and all the activities. Canoeing and sailing are a definite plus. I recommend that you try to book your restaurants as soon as you can as reservations go quickly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mrs. Davis
Ft. Lauderdale fl.
May 21, 2013

Unhappy customer

Unfriendly staff, limited food choices. They ran out of cups, juice, ice. I was not pleased, very unhappy. Would not stay there again. Had to call for towels more than three times in one day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joseph Francisco
Miami, florida
May 20, 2013

Good relax

Staff was wonderfull, very good service. Polls and drinks was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sinclair76
New York, NY
May 15, 2013

Great place to stay especially with kids!

I thought this hotel was pretty comfortable. I have stayed at quite a few other resorts in ocho rios that I thought were a little nicer and had much better entertainment, but for the price this hotel was okay. The food could have been a lot better and the rooms can use updating but the facilities on the outside were perfect, I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Short walk to nightlife outside of the resort, lots of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
stubborn tina
malone,ny
May 6, 2013

family vacation

experience all the activities offered was great got sick of chicken and rice every dinner.staff was friendly.room was average.weather was great,visited dunns river great time.asked for queen bed got two doubles.Location was great for swimming and snorkeling compared to stay in montego bay.Stayed 4/28/13 -5/5/13 Ochi Rios sunset grande resort.ok if just want to chill out for week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

lots of water and rock climbing

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Charlott18
Hartford CT
May 3, 2013

Extended weekend stay

Never bored. Lots of options interns of pools, the beach, and dining locations on site. Island tours are also available. Safety guaranteed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lee2013
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 29, 2013

Not the most horrible place but could be better

Paid for an all inclusive trip, ended up spending more on having to TIP everyone we came in contact with, maybe the tip going forward should be included in set price from resort/tours. Our trip ended up being uncomfortable due to that. They ask for tips!!!! who does this!! tips were to be included in and on resort and given by travelers, not to be asked for. Giving them a $15-$20 US tip and there disappointed with that amonut. When we paid for excursions off the resort, we had to also tip our tour guide and everyone who we came in contact with on the tour. Have to stay on your toes when you leave the resort because you never know who will be bumping into you. Dunns River Fall s was very nice but the minute you walk off back to your tour bus, you have locals harrasing you and getting to touch there merchandise, the minute you have touched it, you have to buy. So not only do you spend all that money for relaxing vacation, but then your harrased by resort people and locals for DRUGS, BRAIDS and tips when you want to do things in the area of the hotel. Our room was very clean, hair dryer did not work, and it was freezing. air condtioner was not controlled by us AT ALL. We were only open to reserve 2 dinners by the time we arrived on Wed, food portions are tiny. Food is nothing compared to US. Views and location were both amazing!! Ocenview in North tower is roof top. South tower looks to be the better hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
frequent Jamaica traveler
Atlanta, GA
Apr 24, 2013

They Tried

I had made two reservations for this hotel, one with this site and one with another online service. The staff did try to help us out and have us not check in and check out because of our two separate reservations. However, it was a strenuous process. The floors in the room were really dirty and there was garbage under the bed when we arrived. It is pretty impossible to make a dinner reservation, for the restaurants that required them, so we had to settle for the buffet which was not good at all. We had requested a king bed and they gave us two double beds which was very frustrating to have to sleep on a tiny bed with your husband. The property itself is pretty beautiful and there are lots of activities. Pools, beach, unlimited drinks. We attended a wedding and they really did an amazing job at creating a magical night for the couple. The only downers for me were the food, cleanliness and the service. But the other features for an island getaway were great...very close to the attractions!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definitely go to Dunn's River Falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
L.Pom
Greenwich,CT
Apr 22, 2013

Just OK

We just got back from a week at the Grande. The grounds were beautiful, could use some updating though. The room was not good. We paid for an ocean view room but we got stuck overlooking a powerplant below us, and a view of the town, and the locals dogs barking at 6am everyday. We also were awaken every night by some college students partying near us blasting their music. We were there a day and had to get the shower head replaced since it was shooting all over the place. There was nothing in the room like a pamphlet on what to do that week. No room serve. Also, every day there was a bad smell of Marijuana in the hallways. It was awful that I had to explain to to my girls. The pools were beautiful, kids loved the slide, one of the slides was closed all week. Entertainment good, and food not bad. Also if y ou wanted a drink at the bar you had to wait in a line to get it. No one served you at the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do the horse riding in the water, and Dunns Rivers fall

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search