$202 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 100, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
416 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

Love this place the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is awesome and it close to everything... See full review

  • Highly Bless
  • Jun 30, 2014
Awsome

I had an awsome time. Staff was friendly and service was excellent. I would recomend this hotel to... See full review

  • carribean gyal
  • May 28, 2014

The Sunset Grande Resort Hotel Jamaica is an all-inclusive hotel in the resort town of Ochos Rios. With 730 rooms and a private beach offering free watersports for guests, it’s one of the largest hotels on the island. Features like the five swimming pools - complete with rope bridges and plunge pools - make this hotel stand out from other Jamaican resorts. Inventive on-site entertainment includes themed parties (Thursdays are 'Pirate & Wench' day!) and the Jamaica’N Me Crazy nightclub will amuse the adults, while kids get their own hang-out at Club Mongoose.

Key facts
  • 730 guestrooms
  • 5 swimming pools
  • 6 restaurants: Grande Palm (open-air), South Beach Bar & Grill, Lighthouse Bar & Grill, Ginger Lily (pan-Asian), LaDiva (Italian), Dining on South Beach (Caribbean/American)
  • 8 bars, including 2 swim-up bars and a nightclub
  • Free non-motorized water sports
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • In-house boutique stores
  • Mini gaming lounge
  • Nightly entertainment
  • Business center and conference facilities
Neighborhood
Right on the beachfront, overlooking the Ochos Rios Cruise Terminal on the opposite side of Ochos Rios bay, there's plenty of opportunity to hit the sand around the Sunset Grande Resort. Just a short walk inland is the Turtle River Falls & Gardens, while following Milford Road out of town will take visitors to the jamming sounds of Jamaica’s reggae king, at the Bob Marley Experience. Dolphin Cove is just to the west of Ochos Rios center, where you can get up close to Caribbean sharks and the titular marine mammals, all within five acres of lush rainforest.
Hints and tips
If you prefer the beach to the mainland, opt for a two-person cabana room in the beachfront wing. Fancy a spin on the roulette wheels? Check out the hotel's casino - even with children in tow, the hotel features an all-ages kids clubs open from 7 - 9pm, so Mom and Dad can have some alone time at the tables.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Oceanfront
Both north and south Towers boast these lavish, beachfront rooms, all with a private balcony.
One Bedroom Suites
These corner suites dominate the South Pointe tower. Each contains a master bedroom with a king-sized bed, full bath and balcony, plus a separate sitting room with a full-size sleeper sofa, another full bath and balcony. The direct beachfront views are sensational.
Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Resort View
Each room features a private balcony overlooking the resort or Ocho Rios. Rooms are located in the north and south towers.
Oceanview
Catch a glimpse of the sparkling Caribbean or gaze onto the lush hillside from your balcony from the north or south towers.
Cabana Beach Front
King-sized beds and private patios distinguish these superb rooms, located in the two-story Cabana wing allong the South Pointe Beachfront. Recommended for wedding couples and honeymooners, the maximum occupancy is 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4122 -77.1052
Area served
Ocho Rios
Nearby airports
Montego Bay, Jamaica (MBJ) Kingston, Jamaica
Area description
The Sunset Jamaica Grande is the perfect location, central to Jamaica's famous attrations. Located in Ocho Rios on the stunning Northern coastline just 90 minutes from the Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Restaurants
The Grande Palm - Serves breakfast at 7:00-10:00 am, Lunch at noon-2:30 p.m. and 6:30 to 10:00 pm. A buffet-style, open-air restaurant overlooking the fantasy pool's meandering river and waterfalls, or the sparkling Caribbean Ocean. Ginger Lily: Opens 6:30 pm-10:00pm. Reservations required. Savor Asian favourites infused with Caribbean flavour at Ginger Lily. LaDiva Italian Restaurant - open 6:00pm to 10:00 pm. Reservations required. Featuring regional pasta dishes, fresh seafood and pizza from a wood-burning brick oven. Jamalicious - Open 11:00 am-11:00 p.m. Serving island and American favourites, this casual bistro has both indoor and outdoor seating. South Beach Bar & Grill and Lighthouse Bar & Grill - Open 11:00 am-5:00pm & 11:00 am-1:00 am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fruit juices and soft drinks.
Bar
The resort's eight bars are great places to unwind and socialize, choose from beach bars and swim-up bars to lobby bars and a nightclub. Bambu Lobby Bar - 10:00 am-MIdnight Blue Mahoe Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until 1:00am Ortanique Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until midnight South Beach Bar - OPen 10:00am until 1:00 am Lighthouse Beach Bar - Open 10:00 am until 1:00 am Two Swim-Up Pool Bars - Open 10:00 am -5:00 pm Jamaica'n Me Crazy Nightclub - Open 10:00 pm-2:00 am Cafe Bean - Coffee Station - OPen 24 hours

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sunset Jamaica Grande boasts more than 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space. The 17,650 square-foot Grande Hall is centrally located and hosts up to 2,500 people, while other meeting, banquet and two ballrooms are also available. Extensive outdoor venues are available for themed events and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (416)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ted63
Colorado
Feb 4, 2014

Winter Getaway Anniversary

We had a very good experience. However, we did have to change rooms due to the loud entertainment right below our first room in the North tower. We were moved to an excellent room in the South tower. Customer Service was friendly and helpful .... everything from tours to the room change. We visited Dunn's River Falls and Mystic Mountain. Both were excellent. One of the reasons we picked the hotel was the ability to walk into Ocho Rios. However, walking into the City meant dealing with folks trying to get our attention and money. We generally kept moving and did okay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveler NJ 86
South River, NJ
Jan 21, 2014

GreatStay

Been going the Jamaica Grande for years. Fully satisfied each time and it caters to all typed of guests. Honeymoon, short get away, party types and the cool beachside loungers. Also a great location for outside activities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Madam Couture
Brooklyn New York
Nov 16, 2013

Jamaica me crazy

Nice hotel if you get a good room and wifi is Not free....shower wasn't the best and the menu wasn't impressive But it was tasty and its definitely all inclusive!!!! I vacationed alone and had a blast . If youre stella thered a chance you can find winston lol Jamaicamecrazy!!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
chacha girl
West Palm Beach Fl
Nov 14, 2013

Supurb getaway

Hotel was centrally located to walking distance to gift shops, banks, restaurants and the famous straw market which offers great souvenirs. The private beach on site was very clean with adequate beach chairs. My husband and I enjoyed the nightly entertainers, the private restaurants and even buffets. Needed more people to do check in desk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

At the straw market, negotiate your price and stick to what you want to spend for that item.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
girlygurl
canada
Oct 28, 2013

Fantabulous Birthday getaway!!

I absolutely love this hotel!! The location is right on main st within walking distance to everything you would want. The food is good, the a la carte's are wonderful.The rooms are dated but very clean and comfy.The staff are super ,the managers are personable.what more could one want for such a great price??

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tae Cee
Brooklyn, New York
Oct 13, 2013

Couples getaway

actually love the hotel and its location it is right in the middle of everything. loved Omar and Azala they were an amazing staff and so friendly and made sure that our stay was ok. hotel is very huge but well maintained. only thing is that they could do a little better on the food thats the only issue t had but everything else was perfect will definitely go back

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovin' Jamaica
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Oct 3, 2013

Great getaway spot

Great location and very clean.. Rooms are exactly as pictured, but could use some upgrades to the ceilings and walls. Resort is good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jodean29
Ochio rios , Jamaica
Oct 2, 2013

Miss

Had an amazing time with my family , the staff was very friendly I would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
FeMeMou
Washington DC
Oct 1, 2013

Nothing to really talk about

On a scale of 1-10 I would give this hotel a 4.5/5. The first room we got was not clean-floors not clean, hairs in the tub and on the sink, stains on the shower curtin and the room smelled like mildew. We got move to another room which the decor was better but the A/C was leaking water on the floor and not working properly. The food was not good more often than not...the buffet-breakfast was ok--you could find something worthwhile-lunch never had anyting appealing;dinner was so-so. The other pool bar/food...the best think going was the fries...the hot dogs and burgers were mush meat....not sure what kind of meat though. Dinner at the Asian resturant was surprisingly good and the Itilian resturant.....well lets just say I spit it out and left....that may have been one of the worst things I have tasted. The SPA treatments were great. and the beach and the pools were great-minus the fact they close all the pools at 6pm....What fun is that. All in all you get what you pay for. Not bad but wouldnt stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
J Fly
College Station, Texas
Sep 29, 2013

Everything closes early

We stayed for approximately two weeks at SJG. The hotel itself is dated when compared to some of the other resorts, but at least they had good AC and the pools were nice. The beaches in Ocho Rios are just not as good as Montego Bay, which is where we went before in Jamaica. The staff is friendly and nice, just working hard for a living. Food is ok, although I did get food poisoning a couple of days before leaving, so storage practices may not be the best. Weirdest thing was that all of the resort pools shut down at 6:00pm, which seems very early. In Montego Bay, we would hang out at the pool and swim-up bar until 10pm or so (it was an adult designated pool). It kind of ruined the experience for us since we were traveling with friends and like to just sit and chill and visit in the evenings.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top