$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 20, 2014 Check-out: Aug 23, 2014

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 100, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
417 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

Love this place the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is awesome and it close to everything... See full review

  • Highly Bless
  • Jun 30, 2014
Awsome

I had an awsome time. Staff was friendly and service was excellent. I would recomend this hotel to... See full review

  • carribean gyal
  • May 28, 2014

The Sunset Grande Resort Hotel Jamaica is an all-inclusive hotel in the resort town of Ochos Rios. With 730 rooms and a private beach offering free watersports for guests, it’s one of the largest hotels on the island. Features like the five swimming pools - complete with rope bridges and plunge pools - make this hotel stand out from other Jamaican resorts. Inventive on-site entertainment includes themed parties (Thursdays are 'Pirate & Wench' day!) and the Jamaica’N Me Crazy nightclub will amuse the adults, while kids get their own hang-out at Club Mongoose.

Key facts
  • 730 guestrooms
  • 5 swimming pools
  • 6 restaurants: Grande Palm (open-air), South Beach Bar & Grill, Lighthouse Bar & Grill, Ginger Lily (pan-Asian), LaDiva (Italian), Dining on South Beach (Caribbean/American)
  • 8 bars, including 2 swim-up bars and a nightclub
  • Free non-motorized water sports
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • In-house boutique stores
  • Mini gaming lounge
  • Nightly entertainment
  • Business center and conference facilities
Neighborhood
Right on the beachfront, overlooking the Ochos Rios Cruise Terminal on the opposite side of Ochos Rios bay, there's plenty of opportunity to hit the sand around the Sunset Grande Resort. Just a short walk inland is the Turtle River Falls & Gardens, while following Milford Road out of town will take visitors to the jamming sounds of Jamaica’s reggae king, at the Bob Marley Experience. Dolphin Cove is just to the west of Ochos Rios center, where you can get up close to Caribbean sharks and the titular marine mammals, all within five acres of lush rainforest.
Hints and tips
If you prefer the beach to the mainland, opt for a two-person cabana room in the beachfront wing. Fancy a spin on the roulette wheels? Check out the hotel's casino - even with children in tow, the hotel features an all-ages kids clubs open from 7 - 9pm, so Mom and Dad can have some alone time at the tables.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Oceanfront
Both north and south Towers boast these lavish, beachfront rooms, all with a private balcony.
One Bedroom Suites
These corner suites dominate the South Pointe tower. Each contains a master bedroom with a king-sized bed, full bath and balcony, plus a separate sitting room with a full-size sleeper sofa, another full bath and balcony. The direct beachfront views are sensational.
Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Resort View
Each room features a private balcony overlooking the resort or Ocho Rios. Rooms are located in the north and south towers.
Oceanview
Catch a glimpse of the sparkling Caribbean or gaze onto the lush hillside from your balcony from the north or south towers.
Cabana Beach Front
King-sized beds and private patios distinguish these superb rooms, located in the two-story Cabana wing allong the South Pointe Beachfront. Recommended for wedding couples and honeymooners, the maximum occupancy is 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4122 -77.1052
Area served
Ocho Rios
Nearby airports
Montego Bay, Jamaica (MBJ) Kingston, Jamaica
Area description
The Sunset Jamaica Grande is the perfect location, central to Jamaica's famous attrations. Located in Ocho Rios on the stunning Northern coastline just 90 minutes from the Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Restaurants
The Grande Palm - Serves breakfast at 7:00-10:00 am, Lunch at noon-2:30 p.m. and 6:30 to 10:00 pm. A buffet-style, open-air restaurant overlooking the fantasy pool's meandering river and waterfalls, or the sparkling Caribbean Ocean. Ginger Lily: Opens 6:30 pm-10:00pm. Reservations required. Savor Asian favourites infused with Caribbean flavour at Ginger Lily. LaDiva Italian Restaurant - open 6:00pm to 10:00 pm. Reservations required. Featuring regional pasta dishes, fresh seafood and pizza from a wood-burning brick oven. Jamalicious - Open 11:00 am-11:00 p.m. Serving island and American favourites, this casual bistro has both indoor and outdoor seating. South Beach Bar & Grill and Lighthouse Bar & Grill - Open 11:00 am-5:00pm & 11:00 am-1:00 am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fruit juices and soft drinks.
Bar
The resort's eight bars are great places to unwind and socialize, choose from beach bars and swim-up bars to lobby bars and a nightclub. Bambu Lobby Bar - 10:00 am-MIdnight Blue Mahoe Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until 1:00am Ortanique Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until midnight South Beach Bar - OPen 10:00am until 1:00 am Lighthouse Beach Bar - Open 10:00 am until 1:00 am Two Swim-Up Pool Bars - Open 10:00 am -5:00 pm Jamaica'n Me Crazy Nightclub - Open 10:00 pm-2:00 am Cafe Bean - Coffee Station - OPen 24 hours

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sunset Jamaica Grande boasts more than 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space. The 17,650 square-foot Grande Hall is centrally located and hosts up to 2,500 people, while other meeting, banquet and two ballrooms are also available. Extensive outdoor venues are available for themed events and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (417)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
417 out of 417
Amenities:
3.6
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
April and 4 year old
USA Michigan
Apr 18, 2014

Jamaica Resort

My stay was amazing. Swimming in the ocean was beautiful and the pools were great. The DJ played fun music and me and my son danced in the pool. The ocean view from our balcony in our room was stunning. We saw the moon reflect on the ocean, great pics. The food was alright and very well organized. Room was decent. The staff was incredible, they make me want to come back. They were very nice and helpful. We didn't do the water slide but a great attraction as well. Make sure to climb Dunns Falls, very close to the resort. And most importantly...The resort has better prices at their gift shops than the shops down town and no need to exchange money from American to Jamaican. So, I would go again and love to stay in the same resort. Good price for a no worries vacation!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Climb Dunns Falls

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sinclair76
New York, NY
Apr 14, 2014

Great Location!

This hotel is right in the heart of Ocho Rios. Close to shops, restaurants, etc. Rooms could be a little nicer but for the price it's well worth it, besides who stays in their room while on vacation and the beach is in your backyard! Also the food was much better this year as opposed to last year. Quite Content

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sher30
ATL
Apr 12, 2014

Perfect Stay

Am very happy that I choose the SunSet Jamaica Grand staying there made me feel like I wasn't missing anytime at home that's how welcome and comfortable they made me feel I will start making planes to revisit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

You don't have to leave the hotel for nothing.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J Wils
Tampa, FL
Mar 21, 2014

Hotel

Need some new improvements for the 21st century...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Stickleberry
Westchester New York
Mar 17, 2014

Great fun time for my fiancé and I

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel lots to do great location and pool and beach area were gorgeous

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rovina
Toronto
Mar 15, 2014

Perfect for what we needed!

Myself and 5 other coworkers just got back from staying at this hotel. I have stayed here before so I know that it's not a 5 star hotel. However, the staff is awesome, the food is great and the proximity to The beach and city is excellent. We did have an issue with our room but the guest relations manager went out of our way to make it up to us with a better room and other special treats. We would definitely return!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

For those who like to party: Saturday Monday and Wednesday - margaritaville Tuesday- karaoke at oceans 11 *a taxi to either place costs under $5 US

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Daniel from Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Mar 8, 2014

Great Deal

This vacation has something for everyone. Live music on two stages: DJ on one and a band on the other, and there is also a Night Club with another DJ. They also have an assortment of activities throughout the day so you can find something to do if sunbathing at one of their pools, or the beach is not your thing. Breakfast, lunch, and dinner are included, but if you want an elevated dinner experience over the buffet style dining, then make reservations at one of their 4 restaurants, which all have unique views of the sundown, and plan for that if you want a more romantic dining experience. The amenities include non motorized sports so check them out if you want to kill some time. Best place to get souvenirs is in town, just minutes away from the resort, but be prepared to be approached by "helpful guides" that would offer to taxi you around the island, or give you a tour of the market, where they will try to sell you anything*, or some nice souvenirs. As far as that goes, i didn't haggle and I was not too interested at first, but they dropped their price a few times, and without the haggling, you will save over half over the mainstream shops, so buy your souvenirs from the street vendors if you want to experience that. Bring sunblock as the sun is HOT there. I brought SPF 50 and I still got burned in some spots. Lastly, plan your excursions depending on what your interests are and the Dunn's River Falls was my favorite, but go with a large group as they will try to sell you a $40 movie/recording of the adventure which is filmed by your guide so this way you only have to buy 1 copy for the group and then share it, which will be a nice souvenir from the vacation. This is an all inclusive experience so enjoy it...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Make restaurant reservations as soon as possible as they a nicer experience and much better food quality over the buffet style dining offered otherwise.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tps2007
Wadena, MN
Mar 3, 2014

Good family getaway for the price

This was my first trip out of the states. For the price of our booking it was a great experience. It wasn't anything 5 star, but I also didn't have to pay a 5 star price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
HappyMom2014
Maine
Feb 24, 2014

Nice family getaway

This is a very large hotel, but the staff was very friendly and we never had to wait too long (for breakfast, lunch dinner). The hotel is right on the beach, which was very beautiful. There was also a lot of pool area and a lot of afternoon activities for everyone around the pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get down to the beach early if you want chairs under a hut!

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
M A M
West palm beach Florida
Feb 18, 2014

Getaway

My stay was amazing. I had a great time. Staff were friendly and service was great .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Great entertainment

Back to menu Return to top