$425 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

3 stars
PO Box 100, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
290 reviews
Friendly staff, nice locale

Stayed there with a big group for a wedding, and had a good stay. About a 2hr ride from the MBJ... See full review

  • Matty Mc
  • Jul 28, 2014
Fantastic Vacation

Love this place the staff are friendly and helpful. The food is awesome and it close to everything... See full review

  • Highly Bless
  • Jun 30, 2014

The Sunset Grande Resort Hotel Jamaica is an all-inclusive hotel in the resort town of Ochos Rios. With 730 rooms and a private beach offering free watersports for guests, it’s one of the largest hotels on the island. Features like the five swimming pools - complete with rope bridges and plunge pools - make this hotel stand out from other Jamaican resorts. Inventive on-site entertainment includes themed parties (Thursdays are 'Pirate & Wench' day!) and the Jamaica’N Me Crazy nightclub will amuse the adults, while kids get their own hang-out at Club Mongoose.

Key facts
  • 730 guestrooms
  • 5 swimming pools
  • 6 restaurants: Grande Palm (open-air), South Beach Bar & Grill, Lighthouse Bar & Grill, Ginger Lily (pan-Asian), LaDiva (Italian), Dining on South Beach (Caribbean/American)
  • 8 bars, including 2 swim-up bars and a nightclub
  • Free non-motorized water sports
  • Full-service spa
  • Fitness center
  • Tennis
  • In-house boutique stores
  • Mini gaming lounge
  • Nightly entertainment
  • Business center and conference facilities
Neighborhood
Right on the beachfront, overlooking the Ochos Rios Cruise Terminal on the opposite side of Ochos Rios bay, there's plenty of opportunity to hit the sand around the Sunset Grande Resort. Just a short walk inland is the Turtle River Falls & Gardens, while following Milford Road out of town will take visitors to the jamming sounds of Jamaica’s reggae king, at the Bob Marley Experience. Dolphin Cove is just to the west of Ochos Rios center, where you can get up close to Caribbean sharks and the titular marine mammals, all within five acres of lush rainforest.
Hints and tips
If you prefer the beach to the mainland, opt for a two-person cabana room in the beachfront wing. Fancy a spin on the roulette wheels? Check out the hotel's casino - even with children in tow, the hotel features an all-ages kids clubs open from 7 - 9pm, so Mom and Dad can have some alone time at the tables.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4122 -77.1052
Area served
Ocho Rios
Nearby airports
Montego Bay, Jamaica (MBJ) Kingston, Jamaica
Area description
The Sunset Jamaica Grande is the perfect location, central to Jamaica's famous attrations. Located in Ocho Rios on the stunning Northern coastline just 90 minutes from the Montego Bay Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5

Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Oceanfront
Both north and south Towers boast these lavish, beachfront rooms, all with a private balcony.
One Bedroom Suites
These corner suites dominate the South Pointe tower. Each contains a master bedroom with a king-sized bed, full bath and balcony, plus a separate sitting room with a full-size sleeper sofa, another full bath and balcony. The direct beachfront views are sensational.
Sunset Saver
Allow the resort to assign your room upon check-in and save big! View, category, and bedding cannot be guaranteed.
Resort View
Each room features a private balcony overlooking the resort or Ocho Rios. Rooms are located in the north and south towers.
Oceanview
Catch a glimpse of the sparkling Caribbean or gaze onto the lush hillside from your balcony from the north or south towers.
Cabana Beach Front
King-sized beds and private patios distinguish these superb rooms, located in the two-story Cabana wing allong the South Pointe Beachfront. Recommended for wedding couples and honeymooners, the maximum occupancy is 2 adults.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurants
The Grande Palm - Serves breakfast at 7:00-10:00 am, Lunch at noon-2:30 p.m. and 6:30 to 10:00 pm. A buffet-style, open-air restaurant overlooking the fantasy pool's meandering river and waterfalls, or the sparkling Caribbean Ocean. Ginger Lily: Opens 6:30 pm-10:00pm. Reservations required. Savor Asian favourites infused with Caribbean flavour at Ginger Lily. LaDiva Italian Restaurant - open 6:00pm to 10:00 pm. Reservations required. Featuring regional pasta dishes, fresh seafood and pizza from a wood-burning brick oven. Jamalicious - Open 11:00 am-11:00 p.m. Serving island and American favourites, this casual bistro has both indoor and outdoor seating. South Beach Bar & Grill and Lighthouse Bar & Grill - Open 11:00 am-5:00pm & 11:00 am-1:00 am. Sandwiches and grilled favourites and Jamaican 'Jerk' specialities, plus Red Stripe Beer, tropical rum drinks, fruit juices and soft drinks.
Bar
The resort's eight bars are great places to unwind and socialize, choose from beach bars and swim-up bars to lobby bars and a nightclub. Bambu Lobby Bar - 10:00 am-MIdnight Blue Mahoe Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until 1:00am Ortanique Lobby Bar - 5:00 pm until midnight South Beach Bar - OPen 10:00am until 1:00 am Lighthouse Beach Bar - Open 10:00 am until 1:00 am Two Swim-Up Pool Bars - Open 10:00 am -5:00 pm Jamaica'n Me Crazy Nightclub - Open 10:00 pm-2:00 am Cafe Bean - Coffee Station - OPen 24 hours

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
The Sunset Jamaica Grande boasts more than 30,000 square feet of flexible indoor meeting space. The 17,650 square-foot Grande Hall is centrally located and hosts up to 2,500 people, while other meeting, banquet and two ballrooms are also available. Extensive outdoor venues are available for themed events and receptions.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (290)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
290 out of 290
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.5
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.5

69% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Queen of the Nile
Massachusetts
Jun 11, 2014

Nice couples get away

The staff were exceptional along with the food; but, the bed/ mattress need to go along with the hallway carpet. The rooms could also use some dehumidifier. Overall, it was worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anna Travesky
New York
Jun 11, 2014

Dirty and strong sewer smell

I stayed at the north point tower and the sewer smell in the lobby was awefull. Food and drinks, poor quality. Staff very unprofessional and rude, no customer service at all. The pool and the beach are the only good things about this facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Darlene and Jackie
New York
Jun 10, 2014

Started out Rough but ending up Grand

A little courtesy goes a long way. My cousin and I had some issues with our room(s) BUT after lots of waiting (nothing happens "fast" in Jamaica) and explaining our concerns to management, we were taken care of and HAPPY by the time we left. A "special" THANKS to Erol Lingo for making Darlene & Jackie stay memorable; Shelly Kelly, who made sure we felt welcomed; Kamilia Black (11th floor Supvr) & Stephanie (9th floor Supvr); Clayton (bartendar) is awesome & always happy; Kaiesha (maid on 11th floor) who gave us the BIGGEST smile, you had to smile back; Nigel (Cook Supvr) who made sure we were good, happy, full from the first day we got there; Sherieka (Ground floor Customer Service desk) who we enjoyed talking to and hope your daughter had a WONDERFUL birthday. There were a few others but I left my paper with the names at home:( Pros: Food & drinks were excellent. You would not go hungry here unless you are Vegan. Entertainment: Dancing/Fire eating/Singing/Steel Pan was EXCELLENT every night. Con: Roughly 2 hrs away from MBJ Airport. Need to have a variety of meats including turkey bacon, etc. (mostly pork products). Rooms NEED to be updated but they are clean. I will return with more family members in the near future. THANK YOU... The kids would enjoy this resort as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Feel free to haggle with different vendors and KNOW what price you want to spend. Someone would give you what you are looking for.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAYJAY awesome
Albany, NY
Jun 4, 2014

Family Get a way!

I met my family from other states at this location. it was a great place to meet and relax for a few days before we headed out to Kingston for a wedding. Recommend it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dr. Howie
Hattiesburg
Jun 1, 2014

Not luxorius, but good value

The amenities were nice, but not fancy. My five year old loved all the pools. The food was good and plentiful. Bars were well stocked and had friendly bar tenders. Convenient location for lots of activities in the area. It was loud on Saturday late into the night, but the rest of the nights we're fine. Snorkeling off the beach was nice, but fair bit of trash on the bottom. Great beach and mountain view from the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Bring strong water shoes to walk up Dunns falls.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The 2 Foley's
Harpers Ferry, Iowa
May 29, 2014

40th Anniversary Trip

The beautiful pools and landscaping beckoned us to the sunshine and delightful atmosphere of the resort. Our biggest decision was to either play or lay. A nice dilemma to ponder. Our only complaint was that our room could sure use an update. A little musty smelling, uncomfortable beds, and a patio door that was very stubborn to open. Granted, most of our time was spent elsewhere, but our "temporary home" needed some TLC. The staff was absolutely awesome. So very friendly and helpful. By the end of our vacation, some of them felt like forever friends. Hope to be back again sometime.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
JOLIE COEUR
ELMONT NEW YORK
May 28, 2014

RALPH EDOUARD BIRTHDAY VACATION

this is the worse hotel that i ever been the staffs are not curteous at all, the foods were discussing, the room was dirty, the towel i could not used them i had to bye my own, i saw roaches in my room and in the dinning area, my rate to this hotel is zero i don't advise anyone to go to this resort/ hotel it was a nasty hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
carribean gyal
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
May 28, 2014

Awsome

I had an awsome time. Staff was friendly and service was excellent. I would recomend this hotel to all my friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anb99
Chicago, IL
May 22, 2014

Average hotel in a great location!

I recently visited Jamaica for business and had 2 days off which I spent at Sunset Jamaica grand. The hotel is in Ocho Rios which I felt was a great location in terms of accessibility. There are many touristy activities which are just around the area and lot of restaurants/shopping that are right outside the hotel. The resort has quite a few pools but some are used exclusively by the local population for events/lessons etc. There is plenty of beachfront area to relax. The amenities are very average, a tidy room-nothing special. There is a distinct musty odor in the lobby areas which could irritate some people. They have a few restaurants which are ok (Chinese was good). Bars are average and buffet breakfast is decent with lot of fresh fruit. Overall, it is a decent hotel for its price but the gloss of a perfect resort still lacks. Needs a lot of updating.In prime location though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Chinese restaurant is by far the best restaurant in the hotel.

Review of Sunset Jamaica Grande Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DesiPaul
Kingston
May 22, 2014

Honey Moon

Overall experience was good. Could do with more dinning areas.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search