SandCastles Resort

2 stars
View map of Main Street PO, Ocho Rios,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
31 reviews
the best location to stay no complains

the hotel was very good in every way the location was fantastic the privacy was good the staff... See full review

  • oneida(honey)
  • May 5, 2009
the best location to stay no complains

the hotel was very good in every way the location was fantastic the privacy was good the staff... See full review

  • oneida(honey)
  • May 5, 2009

This popular suite resort is situated in the heart of Ocho Rios, walking distance to the town's activities, nightlife and restaurants, and approximately 53 miles east of Montego Bay airport. It is comprised of 174 studios, one and two bedroom apartments in one of 5 terra cotta roofed buildings. The resort is a few steps away to the golden sands of Turtle Beach, perfect for swimming and water sports.

All Inclusive Packages include room tax, meals and drinks

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SandCastles Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

SandCastles Resort Rooms

Studio Suite
Studio suite with 2 twin beds or 1 double bed. Includes balcony, bathroom (with shower only), kitchenette, refrigerator, stove, and in-room safe (for a fee).
Two Bedroom Suite
Two Bedroom Suite: One bedroom with queen or double bed and the second bedroom with twin beds. Includes separate living area, double sofa sleeper, balcony, 2 full bathroom, kitchenette, stove, refrigerator, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suite with 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area, double sofa sleeper, balcony, 1 full bathroom, kitchenette, stove, refrigerator, and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We offer a meeting room that can seat 60 persons theater style,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Ratings and reviews for SandCastles Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
31 out of 31
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.2

61% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Aug 10, 2011

HORRIBLE

I spent 4 nights at the hotel left the room at about 12 midnight, in the morning I realized my cash has been stolen, didnt even realized they had stolen my credit card also. They racked up over USD5000.00. They hotel would clean the room take my towels and did not replace them until way in the evenings. On one particular day I showered twice with no towels. Don't go there stay at rooms or turtle towers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vibez
Business
boston ma
Mar 23, 2011

single man on the look out

it was good I was hardly in the room, but the service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte, nc
Aug 7, 2010

Horrible, bad attitude, lack of bedding

I got there for a 4pm check in [...] get put into a room at 6:45 pm. Some of the beds didnt have sheets and I only received 1 towel and 1 bath mat for me and my fam, I called several times and noone brought anything. The attitude started when I had to call the booking csr to get service. A total waste of my money and time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
charlotte, nc
Aug 7, 2010

Horrible, bad attitude, lack of bedding

I got there for a 4pm check in [...] get put into a room at 6:45 pm. Some of the beds didnt have sheets and I only received 1 towel and 1 bath mat for me and my fam, I called several times and noone brought anything. The attitude started when I had to call the booking csr to get service. A total waste of my money and time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington DC
Aug 4, 2010

Great Rate, Improvements Needed

This was our second stay. Check-in was a royal pain, I'm hoping it was based on it being a busy day but it took nearly an hour to get our room. The wifi range was limited on the premises. No hot water to shower with. Great things, the rate for the place was good, mini kitchenette was a plus, proximity to the beach and walking distance to all the things Ocho Rios had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
FL.
Aug 1, 2010

presently unpleasant, needs alot work.

very unpleasant, the staff tried every effort to assist, but things were beyond their control, the apartments needs work, they are old and brokendown the furniture are uncomfortable, did not get a good night sleep or a hot water bath for the 9 nights we stayed there. the kitchen flooded repeatedly and the roof leaks during the rain weting our personal belongings etc.the time spent there was terrible we spent most of our vacation waiting for service, there is only one plumber on duty 7 days/ week. however the staff is the best i have seen so far, they should fix the buildings and do all they can to keep such a great staff team. you the rental company need to investigate before booking people to stay at such a hotel, i will be seeking further to get my money refunded, all is documented and photographed for such time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perris,CA
Jul 20, 2010

Great location

First off I chose this hotel because of the location, its in walking distance to everything. Checkin was a smooth process, they offer one complimentry drink upon arrival which is nice considering the long drive from the airport. The rooms are nice for someone that is on a budget and u want to cook instead of eating out every night. The rooms are kept very clean but you might want to put a towel in the space between the door and floor as the space is fairly large and bugs can get into your room. The one complaint I have is that the tv doesn't come with a remote so you have to give them a security deposit of $10 to get one. They don't have enough for every room so if they are fully booked then you are out of luck. The staff is friendly but there are not that many of them. The hotel has a resturant and the food is good you can have traditional Jamaican dishes as well as some American dishes. The prices are not too expensive. This hotel is in walking distance to margaritaville which is the party spot at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would definitly take the short walk to the grocery store and cook. We found out that there is a 17.5% tax on food at resturantes. But don't forget to try all the tradional dishes jamaica has to offer like jerk chicken and pork, curry chicken and goat. They have many more but those are just a few.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Perris,CA
Jul 20, 2010

Great location

First off I chose this hotel because of the location, its in walking distance to everything. Checkin was a smooth process, they offer one complimentry drink upon arrival which is nice considering the long drive from the airport. The rooms are nice for someone that is on a budget and u want to cook instead of eating out every night. The rooms are kept very clean but you might want to put a towel in the space between the door and floor as the space is fairly large and bugs can get into your room. The one complaint I have is that the tv doesn't come with a remote so you have to give them a security deposit of $10 to get one. They don't have enough for every room so if they are fully booked then you are out of luck. The staff is friendly but there are not that many of them. The hotel has a resturant and the food is good you can have traditional Jamaican dishes as well as some American dishes. The prices are not too expensive. This hotel is in walking distance to margaritaville which is the party spot at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would definitly take the short walk to the grocery store and cook. We found out that there is a 17.5% tax on food at resturantes. But don't forget to try all the tradional dishes jamaica has to offer like jerk chicken and pork, curry chicken and goat. They have many more but those are just a few.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocho Rios - Sand Castle
Jun 30, 2010

Sand Castle Hotel

Really just a sleep over; no frills hotel. Could have offered continental breakfast as an incentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Expatriated Jamaican
Business
Temecula, CA
Jun 12, 2010

Urgent need of renovation

The Hotel was at a great location. The shower,bathroom, sink were stained, The corners were covered in mildew and bad repair attempts. The kitchenette contents were mismatched. We had two similiar rooms, they did not contain the same things, eg. one had toaster the other had none,small refrigerator in one large in the other. Icebox full of water evidently no one checked the rooms before re-letting.Another couple with us was so disgusted with the unclean condition in there apartment they had to be moved. The staff were OK except the porter who helped us to our rooms He was disgruntal and behaved as if we were disturbing His rest. The location was great, would not recommend it unless the person was desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several local eatery that did tradition or American food at affordable prices. Lots of shopping outlets, Market offered a variety of local fruits and vegatables.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top