SandCastles Resort

2 stars
Main Street PO, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.8
out of 5
27 reviews
the best location to stay no complains

the hotel was very good in every way the location was fantastic the privacy was good the staff... See full review

  • oneida(honey)
  • May 5, 2009
very family friendly

the hotel is near supermarket and shopping. great place to stay See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Dec 22, 2008
Be king of the castle at Ocho Rios beach resort near Dunn’s River Falls

The vibrant beach Sand Castles Resort rests between turquoise waters of the Caribbean and breathtaking mountains. It is just steps from white-sand Turtle Beach, where visitors relax in the sun or engage in water sports. Also nearby are shops, restaurants and the Island Village entertainment complex. Dunn's River Falls, the island's most popular natural attraction, is just a short drive away. An all-inclusive option is available. The resort's restaurant serves a buffet and a la carte Jamaican and international specialties.

Highlights
  • Tropical beach setting
  • Proximity to Dunn's River Falls
  • Close to shopping, restaurants
  • Fishing, water sports available
Rooms

The Sand Castles Resort's 174 apartments are housed in five terra cotta roofed buildings just steps from the Caribbean Sea. The apartments are bright and spacious with tile floors, floral fabrics and balcony or patio with garden or pool view (based on availability). All include air conditioning, satellite TV and kitchenettes or fully-equipped kitchens. The one and two bedrooms have a separate living area with sofa beds.

Features

Breathtaking Turtle Beach, the main beach in Ocho Rios, is steps from the resort. Guests pay a minimal fee to access the beach. The water is usually calm and excellent for swimming. Numerous water sports are available, including kayaking, jet skis, snorkeling and scuba diving. Sun loungers and umbrellas are available for rent. 

 

Excursions can be booked at the hotel, including Jamaica's most popular attraction, Dunn's River Falls. This is one of the most spectacular waterfalls in world, stretching 1,000 feet high. Visitors climb the falls with a guide or view the spectacle from a terrace. The nearby Island Village has a concert venue for live music and Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville

 

The pool is a hub of activity, with events planned daily. When hunger strikes, grab a snack at the poolside Mabe' Grill, or enjoy buffet or a la carte dining at the Castle Restaurant, which serves such dishes as fricassee chicken and grilled garlic lobster.

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (54 mi/87 km)
Attractions
  • Island Village (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Dolphin Cove (2.1 mi/3.3 km)
  • Dunn’s River Falls (2.2 mi/3.6 km)
Business
  • Business services
  • Meeting rooms and function space for up to 100
  • Internet access

Hotel Map

18.4169 -77.1167
Area served
In the heart of Ocho Rios, close to everything.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport (MBJ) is 1 1/2 hours drive away from Sandcastles Ocho Rios
Area description
Great location, in the heart of Ocho Rios, walking distance to shopping , restaurants and watersports.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed SandCastles Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

SandCastles Resort Rooms

Studio Suite
Studio suite with 2 twin beds or 1 double bed. Includes balcony, bathroom (with shower only), kitchenette, refrigerator, stove, and in-room safe (for a fee).
Two Bedroom Suite
Two Bedroom Suite: One bedroom with queen or double bed and the second bedroom with twin beds. Includes separate living area, double sofa sleeper, balcony, 2 full bathroom, kitchenette, stove, refrigerator, and in-room safe.
One Bedroom Suite
One bedroom suite with 1 double bed or 2 twin beds. Includes separate living area, double sofa sleeper, balcony, 1 full bathroom, kitchenette, stove, refrigerator, and in-room safe.

Amenities

  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Restaurant
Parking
Free parking

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
We offer a meeting room that can seat 60 persons theater style,

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (27)

Ratings and reviews for SandCastles Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
27 out of 27
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
2.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.1

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Aug 10, 2011

HORRIBLE

I spent 4 nights at the hotel left the room at about 12 midnight, in the morning I realized my cash has been stolen, didnt even realized they had stolen my credit card also. They racked up over USD5000.00. They hotel would clean the room take my towels and did not replace them until way in the evenings. On one particular day I showered twice with no towels. Don't go there stay at rooms or turtle towers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Vibez
boston ma
Mar 23, 2011

single man on the look out

it was good I was hardly in the room, but the service was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sharon
Not Provided
Mar 4, 2011

Very beautiful gardens, very

Very beautiful gardens, very quiet, very safe. Located on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
No rating
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
charlotte, nc
Aug 7, 2010

Horrible, bad attitude, lack of bedding

I got there for a 4pm check in [...] get put into a room at 6:45 pm. Some of the beds didnt have sheets and I only received 1 towel and 1 bath mat for me and my fam, I called several times and noone brought anything. The attitude started when I had to call the booking csr to get service. A total waste of my money and time!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington DC
Aug 4, 2010

Great Rate, Improvements Needed

This was our second stay. Check-in was a royal pain, I'm hoping it was based on it being a busy day but it took nearly an hour to get our room. The wifi range was limited on the premises. No hot water to shower with. Great things, the rate for the place was good, mini kitchenette was a plus, proximity to the beach and walking distance to all the things Ocho Rios had to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
FL.
Aug 1, 2010

presently unpleasant, needs alot work.

very unpleasant, the staff tried every effort to assist, but things were beyond their control, the apartments needs work, they are old and brokendown the furniture are uncomfortable, did not get a good night sleep or a hot water bath for the 9 nights we stayed there. the kitchen flooded repeatedly and the roof leaks during the rain weting our personal belongings etc.the time spent there was terrible we spent most of our vacation waiting for service, there is only one plumber on duty 7 days/ week. however the staff is the best i have seen so far, they should fix the buildings and do all they can to keep such a great staff team. you the rental company need to investigate before booking people to stay at such a hotel, i will be seeking further to get my money refunded, all is documented and photographed for such time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Perris,CA
Jul 20, 2010

Great location

First off I chose this hotel because of the location, its in walking distance to everything. Checkin was a smooth process, they offer one complimentry drink upon arrival which is nice considering the long drive from the airport. The rooms are nice for someone that is on a budget and u want to cook instead of eating out every night. The rooms are kept very clean but you might want to put a towel in the space between the door and floor as the space is fairly large and bugs can get into your room. The one complaint I have is that the tv doesn't come with a remote so you have to give them a security deposit of $10 to get one. They don't have enough for every room so if they are fully booked then you are out of luck. The staff is friendly but there are not that many of them. The hotel has a resturant and the food is good you can have traditional Jamaican dishes as well as some American dishes. The prices are not too expensive. This hotel is in walking distance to margaritaville which is the party spot at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would definitly take the short walk to the grocery store and cook. We found out that there is a 17.5% tax on food at resturantes. But don't forget to try all the tradional dishes jamaica has to offer like jerk chicken and pork, curry chicken and goat. They have many more but those are just a few.

Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ocho Rios - Sand Castle
Jun 30, 2010

Sand Castle Hotel

Really just a sleep over; no frills hotel. Could have offered continental breakfast as an incentive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Close to everything.

Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Expatriated Jamaican
Temecula, CA
Jun 12, 2010

Urgent need of renovation

The Hotel was at a great location. The shower,bathroom, sink were stained, The corners were covered in mildew and bad repair attempts. The kitchenette contents were mismatched. We had two similiar rooms, they did not contain the same things, eg. one had toaster the other had none,small refrigerator in one large in the other. Icebox full of water evidently no one checked the rooms before re-letting.Another couple with us was so disgusted with the unclean condition in there apartment they had to be moved. The staff were OK except the porter who helped us to our rooms He was disgruntal and behaved as if we were disturbing His rest. The location was great, would not recommend it unless the person was desperate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There were several local eatery that did tradition or American food at affordable prices. Lots of shopping outlets, Market offered a variety of local fruits and vegatables.

Review of SandCastles Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
texas
Apr 21, 2010

the bad

i would not recommend this hotel to a friend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

need maintenance bad

Back to menu Return to top

Change search