$383 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 12, 2015 Check-out: Mar 15, 2015

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
421 reviews
Amazing Honeymoon!

Everything was amazing from the beginning to end of our stay! Great beach and food. Jerk chicken on... See full review

  • Felicia happy honeymooner
  • Jan 25, 2015
Honey moon trip

The hotel was amazing. The staff treated us like queens and kings. Everything was wonderful and the... See full review

  • Madonna S.
  • Jan 9, 2015
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:02 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (421)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
421 out of 421
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Uptown girl
Business
Dallas, TX
Jun 10, 2009

Horrible choice

I recently visited the Riu hotel and resort in Ocho Rios Jamaica. I was not pleased at all with my stay. I booked the trip on [...]. It took 1.5 hours to reach the hotel from the airport. I was not aware of this. Online it appeared the hotel would be bout 45 min away from the airport. Once arriving at the hotel, It took approximately 1.5 hours to check in. Once we were in the room, the safe was not operating properly. We had to carry around all personal items the entire stay: passports, cash, credit cards, phones, etc. The entire stay, we were only given two face towels and two bath towels per day. There were three women in my room including myself. Housekeeping would knock on the door early in the moring and ask for dirty was cloths and bring two new ones back around 4/5 o' clock pm that day. The electricity was in and out the whole stay. The AC in the rooms was not working well. At check in, we were given three keys. The keys to the room were not working properly. We had to have a technician come up to the room at least 4 times to try to fix the problem. Every time we left the room, we had to stop at the front desk and have someone escort us back to the room w/a master key. We did not receive properly functioning keys until the night before we left. The pool closed every night at 6pm for "treatment" as well as there was no beach access after 6 pm. There was no note of this on the Riu website. There weren't many activities that were included in the amount paid, maybe three. We pretty much had to pay for all the activities. I had to wake up early in the morning and be in line by 7am to wait until 8am in order to make a reservation for dinner at one of the restaurants. Although you can make a reservation until 4, all the restaurants would be booked by 10am. And of course once we would have dinner, half the restaurant was empty. he food was not that great. There was basically no authentic Jamaican food at the St Annes Buffet or any of the other restaurants. The alcohol was watered down. There were about ten front desk supervisors. Every time we had questions no one appeared eager to help nor was there any urgency. . We would have to wait until they were ready to assist us even though they were standing around. There was no consistency with responses to the same questions regarding the room keys. Considering the trip was booked online, we did not have a "representative". So when it came time to book a shuttle to go back to the airport, no one was willing to help. The only thing said was we need to contact our Representative, which we didn't have one. When we were finally at out wits end and asked to speak to a Manager, we were given the run around. I briefly spoke to [...] who wasn't very helpful and only offered the same solutions that didn't work before. She said she would open the line on the phone in our room but never did. We were not bale to call out when we tried to call American Airlines to try to get onto an earlier flight home.We were given the name for [...], who never appeared. Instead she sent out An assistant manager by the name of [...] who finally had more towels sent up. By far [...] was the most customer service oriented and appeared to be sincerely concerned. There was a mosquito problem, I cam home with about 20 bites on my legs and arms. My left foot is swollen from so many bites and I have puss bumps on my foot from the bite as well. I've been taking benadryl since I returned home. Not to mention a stomach ache from something I ate...which I'm just now getting over. Otherwise I would have already sent this email. This was my third time going to Jamaica. i was very disappointed with my experience with the Riu Ocho Rios. There appeared to be 850 rooms and not enough staff to accommodate all the visitors.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, Fl
Nov 30, 2009

Never will return to Riu

We arrived in Ocho Rios for a family wedding and it was our first stay at a Riu Resort, and I must say it will also be our last. Simply put, you can get a better experience at a Holiday Inn! They advertise 24hr food service but when we walked across the hotel for a late night snack all they offered were nachos and popcorn. They also said they have a kiddie pool, what they had was a 3ft hole in the ground, okay I'm not placing my baby in there. Now about the staff; I've never been treated any ruder at another hotel in all of my travel experiences, here are a few examples. After coming back from spending the day with family we arrive at our building to take the elevator to our floor. The housekeeper takes the elevator before allowing myself, my husband and 1yr baby to go first, oh but she did say she would send the elevator back down for us. Thanks! We had problems with the security gate letting through vehicles that were previously cleared to enter property to pick us up and dealt with rudeness from the guard. If you leave early for a flight they offer no tea or coffee before breakfast opens.Now for the coup de grace - our check out experience. We were ready to go down to the lobby and meet the shuttle to take us to the airport which was scheduled to leave at 6:30am. From 5:45am we called the reception desk to request a bell hop, there was no answer after calling repeatedly for 15 minutes. Finally I place a call from my mobile phone to the hotels direct line and finally get an answer and await service to bring our baggage down. We finally reach the lobby at 6:20 at which time the front desk says we are missing a piece for the safe key. My husband asks if someone could bring it from the room for us as our shuttle and other passengers our waiting to depart. Manager says no gives my husband what she thought was the correct room key and he had to walk back to the room only to discover it was the incorrect key, long walk btw. Now, running late for the airport and having been given the wrong key, and waiting with a sick baby, we request again that this time someone be sent to the room to retrieve the key part. Manager says no, we head to the shuttle to leave. The manager on duty [...] call the marksman security on property to vagrantly attempt to intimidate my husband. Marksman who claimed to be named [...] waved his arms and boisterously shouted to the shuttle driver that we are not allowed to leave the property before going back to our rooms! Okay, so say you will charge us for an unreturned key, but to hold us hostage to the property by a disorderly marksman and impertinent manager is contumelious and uncivil. Both the manager and marksman were beginning an altercation and caused a disorderly scene in the lobby. Now I love Jamaica, but if this was a travelers first experience in the country what a poor representation and quite a turn-off. As for my family we will certainly never stay in another Rui Resort again! I didn't expect a Ritz Carlton, but you can get a better value at a Holiday Inn!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LizaM
Business
NYC
Jul 9, 2010

WORST RESORT IN JAMAICA!!!!!!!

When we first arrived at Riu Ochos Rios it was complete chaos in the Hotel Lobby during check in. We could not check into our room till after the actual check in time because of cleaning and maintenance delays. It was quite the epic check in process. There was no organization and it took over an hour to check into our room. The check in associates was not welcoming what so ever and there is NO air conditioning while waiting in the lobby, so sweat was dripping down my face. After we finally got checked in, the room that was assigned to us was close to a half a mile away from the Lobby and was in terrible condition. The air condition did not work and there were bugs everywhere. We then ask the the front desk to change our rooms and with lots of hesitation they finally did. We then had to gather our things OURSELVES and schlep them across the hotel once again!!!!! We finally got to a second room that was more convenient however, noting seemed to work. Our refridgerator was EMPTY...and one of the liquor dispenser bottles were missing..and there were no wall sconces covering the light bulbs. The icing on the cake was that our toilet did not flush and our pillows did not have pillow cases!!!!!! Who sleeps without pillowcases? We would have to go to the lobby to use the bathroom??? The hotel staff did not offer any better suggestions. To top it off, there was big hole in our bathroom wall where the hair dryer was SUPPOSE TO BE!!! Next, our TELEVISION only showed in GREEN! I called and asked to have the televison fixed and requested a remote. All of the things I asked for showed 4 days later, one day before my checkout!!! What is the point in that???? This was absolutely the worst hotel I've ever stayed in....I would never pay money for such accommodations. I am highly disapointed!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Paul B........
Business
New York, NY, USA
Oct 17, 2011

Riu (No Way)

This is the worst hotel I have been to in Jamaica in the last 27years. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone how is looking to go to Jamaica. The front desk serves is so bad

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Beverley
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL, USA
Nov 16, 2011

Disappointing Getaway

First night, my sister and I decided to lounge around and enjoy the scenery. The second night, my sister had her purse stolen at the front of the lobby. We advised the security and we wanted to stop the credit card in the purse and could not make a call to london because the hotel is not equipped to make calls from the front desk to overseas so they wanted us to go to our room and make the call and the charges be billed to rooms. I was extremely disappointed with this hotel. I have stayed at the RIU in Negril and the service was exceptional service;however the experience at Ocho Rios was extremely disappointing. We also waited over an hour for a bell boy to take our luggage down stairs to lobby. Needless to say I will not be visiting this hotle in the near future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Wont go back
Business
Bronx, NY, USA
Dec 20, 2011

PLEASE DONT GO

Me and my mother visited this so called 5 star resort, and the only 5 star experience i felt was when i left to go back home to the USA. When we arrived like many other who wrote reviews, we as for a two double beds. We were told that there were two beds in the room and when we arrived there was one king bed. After returning to the desk they were able to fix the issue, but told me i would have to wait about 15-20 because the room was not ready yet. Entering the room i was disappointed about the bedding, to include some of the other visitors that stayed in my room without paying....THE ROACHES and the SPIDERS in the toilet. When we went to lunch, the food was semi-warm, and the menu was mostly the same each day. The same with breakfast and dinner. The men staff were excellent. The women staff have a poor attitude. Especially to those of color. The dinner at the select restaurants was good, but order more than one entree if you want to get your money worth. The beach was great among other things as well as the spa services, which was the only thing we enjoyed besides the Rum Punch. The entertainment each night could have used a make over. Overall if you want to enjoy Jamaica stay some place else..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Dunns River Falls...this was a great experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dobie4
Business
Dallas TX
Dec 30, 2012

2.5 stars at best!

If you are accustomed to the Hyatt over the Holiday Inn then this is NOT the resort for you. We could not have been more disappointed. The rooms are aged and tired. The staff is rude unless tipped. There is NO premium liquor and the food is wretched, even in the 'reservation only' restaurants. The entertainment is lacking and the daily activities are a bore. I'm not sure who ranked it 4stars but it's 2.5 at best! If you have any class, you will be disappointed. Btw...I am here now and can't wait to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I love to travel 23
Business
New York
Mar 17, 2014

Good

The views are amazing, the hotel was beautiful and clean. They could use more food variety. Overall a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShayRedd
Business
Quincy, MA
May 29, 2014

awful service

Bedsheets were stained, requested for them to be changed 4 times since each time they were changed they still had stains. No one answers front desk phones. There was a roach crawling out of the buffet. Someone came into my room 2 times with a key card in 1 night. Front desk supervisor claims a computer glitch in their system indicated my room was vacant. The shower water was either scalding hot or there was no water. The toilet constantly ran. The buffet food was never hot but rather lukewarm. I got sick the 2nd day from the buffet. I sat at the Dr's station at the resort for over a half hour with 3 nurses walking by who never acknowledged my presence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, Ca
Aug 23, 2009

BIG Mistake!!!

Our stay at the Riu was a disaster. Here is the copy of the police report. The guest, Mr/Mrs. Alex B staying in room number 2015 informed the Management of the hotel Club RIU Ocho Rios about the following missing itmes: 2 Pair of underweard 1 watch 1 cellphone 1 gucci perfume 1 perfume I can not believe, 2 Pairs of underweard were stolen from our room. This is crazy, I will never go back there again. If you really have to go there, please put everything in the safe, because hotel is not responsible for anything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top