$375 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 4, 2015 Check-out: Jan 7, 2015

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
416 reviews
a wonderful relaxing vacation can't get any better than that

The best vacation ever me and my husband had a wonderful time, I would recommend this hotel to... See full review

  • Mta diva
  • Nov 28, 2014
Should of Stayed Longer!

When we got to the hotel, the staff instantly welcomed us, and they thanked us for coming. Each... See full review

  • SD Jamerican
  • Nov 15, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (416)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 22, 2007

very family friendly

i really enjoyed my stay and i would definetely recommend this hotel to friends and family

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the dunns river falls is just 5 minutes drive away beautiful torurist attraction

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Apr 27, 2007

Great resort

The Riu Ocho Rios was amazing! We went there on our honeymoon and could not have asked for anything better! We had one of the jacuzzi suites that was on it's own private balcony overlooking the water. Everything was very clean, and the staff were very accomodating. The Jerk Hut was serving jerk chicken, which was by far the best chicken I've ever had. We're talking now about visiting all of the Riu resorts around the world!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Don't visit Jamaica without taking a trip to Dunns River Falls. It's one of the most beautiful parts of Jamaica!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 16, 2007

Very family/couple/older people friendly

The Riu Ocho Rios was wonderful! I traveled with a friend for our spring break and had a great time. I would recommend the hotel for families/couples/and older people. Not a lot of singles there but that was okay with us because we had so much to do around Ocho Rios. The staff was great! We arrived very early in the morning and they sent us for breakfast while I room was being cleaned. We were in a jr. suit and having the flowers on the beds and in the bathroom each day was a nice touch. Everything was very clean and I am a clean freak. Food was good and we liked the fact that we can eat at any time of the day. Please, tip the staff. They work very hard and will try to do everything they can. Take smaller bills for tipping. We are already planning our next trip there. They, the hotel staff and the Jamaican people we met were all so very wondeful. We made lots of new friends!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Try the horse-back riding in the ocean water, swim with the dolphines, and Dunn's River Falls party boat ride and stay in the front of the boat for extra fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Okeechobee, FL
May 13, 2009

Best Birthday Trip Ever!

The best trip ever. The food was gourmet, the service was first-class, & I can't think of one negative thing about the whole trip. We paid $620 a person, for everything, the plain, food, hotel, drinks, etc.. It doesn't get any better!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galactic HitchHiker
Business
DE
Sep 8, 2009

First time ! but NOT the last time !

We enjoyed the nightly live entertaiment and the daily Beach Barbecue (Jerk Chicken), delicious food at the dining facilities. Fun recreation activities through out the day, very friendly staff that makes you want to come back again, and not to forget the beautiful scenery that Jamiaca has to offer.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Diego, CA
Nov 28, 2009

Best Vacation Ever!!!

The location was amazing. Every room has a balcony that faces the ocean. We were very impressed with the service and hospitality. Keep in mind the food is buffet style, almost everywhere. I know some people have a problem with that but we love buffets so it was perfect for our needs. Don't forget to go to the Jerk Hut out on the beach for authentic Jerk Chicken and Pork.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't be afraid of the locals. We saved money and time by going to the sights with the locals instead of the tour groups. We made friends with the bartenders who called the locals for taxis. This was a great way to save money, time and see the real Jamaica not just the American style resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
stjohn
Business
West Palm Beach
Apr 2, 2010

perfect

wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
D1981
Business
Cheektowaga, NY, USA
Oct 6, 2011

wonderdul honeymoon

Loved Jamacia, the hotel and staff were amazing and went out of there way to make this a trip of a lifetime. Hope to be able to come back soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sunburned Jay
Business
Orlando, FL, USA
Oct 14, 2011

Pretty Great Trip!!

I stayed in the Junior Suit, which the room was amazing, along with the pool. Totally worth it as far as the comforts, the nice living room with a couch, tv, fully stocked fridge, (all free sodas and liquor). The staff was amazing, and kind, and very friendly. Went out of their way to help me with whatever i needed. I lived off of a (strawberry banana mango) smoothie mix. GO TO THE SPORTS BAR!! Free nachos w/ cheese, popcorn, and sandwiches with free drinks if your just not getting used to the "almost" food taste they have. I mean it's not bad food, it's good and filling, but it's just a bit off in the way their sausage and bacon, or chinese food was from the way they serve it here in the states. (which i expect to a degree) So the nachos w/ cheese is a good sub. Plus, the bartender is awesome at making drinks. The beach is great, some shells in the water to go to the beach store first and buy water shoes, highly recommended. The pools are fantastic, but the pool by the suits is much quieter, and not full of screaming kids. Overall it was a great trip, the only thing i can say i'd change is to have an "american" food night, with real american food, and please please please put down some carpeting!! Walking from the pool to my room across polished tile is a nightmare when your barefoot. I kept warning people the floor was wet. There is no carpeting in the whole place!!! Just give me a patch by the pool to make it back on. :))

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Sports Bar. Good American tasting foods, nice atmosphere, great drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gyrldoggie
Business
Anchorage, AK, USA
Jan 5, 2012

Perfect beach getaway

This hotel was amazing..everything included, staff very friendly and helpful, hotel right on a beautiful beach..doesn't get any better than this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

There's a club and sports bar right in the hotel so you don't even have to leave if you don't want to.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top