$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2015 Check-out: Sep 6, 2015

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
View map of Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
406 out of 406
Amenities:
4.1
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hex68
Couples
ATL
Jul 18, 2013

Great vacation

Food was very good, good service and they keep the guest busy with shows, live music and entertainment on a daily basis, the club inside its also great and play good music, the only negative it's that the selection of the alcohol they offer is not that great, overall I would visit again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Check out the catamaran cruise they offer(chukka cat), it was a blast.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChiGirl Heatherl
Family
Schaumburg, Illinois
Jun 4, 2013

Awesome Time!

Had a really great time at RIU with my 15 year old son. I was somewhat reluctant as some of the reviews were not great but we had a fantastic time, just wished that they had more Caribbean food and pastries on site, but would definitely stay there again. The staff were exceptional, they went above and beyond to honor whatever requests I made..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Be careful as which transportation you uses, take the ones that are in the hotel lot with red license plates.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JamaicanMeCrazy
Friends
Kansas City, MO
May 6, 2013

Weekend fun

Me and my friend celebrated her bday and I'm so happy we choose this resort! The poodle were great! the room was awesome! And the food was wonderful... my friend is a picky eater and she loved it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Although places on and off the resort take American money it's a good idea to exchange some. Things are cheaper with Jamaican money.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Thegera
Family
Bakersfield California
May 5, 2013

Happy vacation place

Trip from airport to hotel was good and comfort, hotel location are in good conditions, all staff was very friendly specially with my little kid, drinks good, food average nothing special except for the Italian food ( pizza was very good and the beef lasagna was delicious, Asian food no good taste just regular nothing special. Beach beautiful! Amenities good Our only issue was about the cleanliness in the room, it was very poor and we saw some little roaches on it in our last days. Next time I will inspect room once we start our vacation time, after this the rest if things was okay

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Michelle f
Couples
Carmel, New York
Apr 27, 2013

Fantastic getaway

Our stay was excellent. My husband and I went for a week with the idea of just relaxing and that wa exactly what we did. The hoitel had many activities going on also.You were able to snorkel jet ski zip line etc. if you wanted or do nothing but lay at the pool/beach and relax. The staff was also very freindly and got people involved in doing dancing or whatever was going on. Much more value for your buck. Will go back or even visit a different Riu in another area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to make reservation at specialty restaurants in advance because they book fast

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Dan NJ
Couples
NJ
Apr 12, 2013

Very good vacation for the value.

We stayed at Riu Ocho Rios from 4/5-4/11 and had a fantastic time. Staff was excellent and very friendly, beach was beautiful, and the hotel was always clean. Only downside was the somewhat aggressive beach vendors and the inconsistent food in different restaurants (steakhouse, fine dining and buffet were very good/ italian and asian were not). Location is great to several fun attractions and lots of great shopping at town center. Overall great vacation for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

dolphins cove

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NUDIO69
Family
New Jersey
Apr 11, 2013

Great All Inclusive Hotel with Great Facilities

Great 3.5 / 4 star resort. The value factor is what makes Riu Hotel chain worth being loyal to when traveling to the Caribbean destinations. The only drawback is that they do not offer premium liquor at the bars. They only offer no name brand liquor I am a single malt drinker and prefer at least at a minimum blended malt Johnny Walker Red Label if they want to serve non premium brand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: In Hotel

If you are strict Vegetarians or Vegan, get a hold of the Food and Beverage Manager ahead of time so they can make arrangements for good tasting food options. I tried contacting Jose C. 4 days prior to our arrival and he never responded to my email that the hotel manager asked me to send vs. speaking to him on the phone. This was the only issue I can really BITC& about. :)

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Airborne Tuba
Couples
American Military Overseas
Apr 11, 2013

Food was meh....

The food was very mediocre at all of the non-deluxe meals. At some meals the food was honestly lacking in quality. For example, the breakfast bacon tasted heavily of smoke. My wife and I would go around the buffets trying different things every meal. The only sure winners we discovered were hot cocoa, ham and cheese sandwiches, and omelets. Everything else was pretty hit or miss. We expected higher quality on the buffet line for an all-inclusive. Perhaps our expectations were too high. The reservation dinners were good. Unfortunately, we were only able to make 2 reservations during our 4-night stay. Room service would not clean our room before 4:00PM. We would leave the room and put the sign up at 12:00PM hoping they would come by before we finished at the beach, but every day they would come after we had already returned for the evening. Honestly, it looked like the room service ladies just stood in the hallways. We couldn't figure out why 2 ladies would be on a single hallway for 4 hours without cleaning our room. All-inclusives seem to seek other small ways to make money off of patrons. At this all-inclusive, they would leave a 1.5L bottle of water of in your bedroom. If you wanted water from the bar, you would have to get Jamaican tap water in a glass. They did not stock bars with small bottles of water. They did, however, sell small bottles of water at the gift shop. Items at the gift shop had a considerable mark-up. 2 doses of a common ointment for cuts would cost $4USD. Cigars would cost almost twice as much as if you bought them outside of the resort. I suppose you could call it a convenience fee. Also, the hotel charged you additional money to play arcade games in the bar, the pool table and the ski ball table. All of our excursions were canceled because my wife found out just before the trip she was pregnant. Apparently, pregnant women are not allowed to ride horses, go on zip lines, or do anything else fun. We decided to book a sunset cruise, and all seemed well. Then the sunset cruise was canceled for 2 consecutive days. I was upset that we didn't do any excursions during our visit, so my wife decided to hire a taxi to take us to Dunn's River Falls. That was the highlight of our trip. Don't let the canceled excursion stop you from going out into Jamaica to explore. Finally, I think that sites like this one need to reference if the people at resorts are paid realistic wages. It turns out that many of the housekeepers and staff are paid the Jamaican minimum wage which is $50-60USD per week. If I had known that the workers were only paid about $1.30 an hour, I would have probably chosen a resort that took better care of the workers. You can tell that the workers are grateful for having their jobs, but I truly feel sorry for the workers that do no get tips daily such as the towel boys or the people that clean up your dishes. The resort was very pretty and clean. The service from the Jamaicans we met was exceptional. You could tell a lot of care went into maintaining the facility and the grounds. I just thought it would be good to shed light on the few problem areas. If you're looking for a cheap place to go on your vacation, this is a good hotel for you. I might try a different resort if I go back to Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

1) Don't exchange currency at the airport. There exchange for about 15% less than your currency is actually worth. 2) Don't buy from the hotel. Go into town to buy items such as cigars. 3) If you use Jamaican Dollars in town, you will usually get better deals.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Plucky in Pink
Family
Willard, MO
Apr 3, 2013

Great location

This is a really great location. It's all inclusive, so the food is buffets. There is no heat, so if you are prone to being cold, bring plenty of warm clothes. No hot tub, warm water in the shower was iffy. It was realloy difficult to find a way to warm up. We loved all of the boating activities offered on the beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

You must go on the Chukka Ride and Swim!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Luigi Five
Business
Italy
Apr 2, 2013

Fantastic hotel and lovely animation

Fantastic experience. Good quality food and wide selection. Room large, clean and provided with suitable furniture. Fantastic animation. Nice beach and sport facilities available.The only negative is the fridge that was not working well and was not fixed in 11 days.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fantastic lobsters in a beach restorant just next to the hotel

Back to menu Return to top