$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 31, 2014 Check-out: Sep 3, 2014

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
405 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an... See full review

  • Lisa29
  • Jul 27, 2014
great place for a cavation

Riu Ochorios was a great location for our vacation getaway. The staff was second to none and the... See full review

  • chilillo
  • Jul 24, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (405)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
405 out of 405
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Greg Super Dad
Columbus, GA
Jul 9, 2012

One of the best places for a family vacation.

The food was the best part of the all inclusive vacation. The entertainment at night was over the top. I learnt Scuba diving with our kids, I got trained and certified. Excellent service at the spa, had a massage and facial. Great location, close to different excursions, Cool Runnings, Dunn River, Snorkeling, Rainforest, River tubing, Dolphin cove etc. . Different culture, very nice and corteous staff.. So much intercontinental well prepared food you will forget about any other problem. Getting an extra pillow when requested could have made a little difference. One of our best family vacation for the money.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

St Ann,s Restaurant is open for breakfast and supper every day. Dont even waste your time on fine dinning unless you just want to dress up. On vacation, St Ann's has a lot of varieties. If you really want to sit down and be waited on then the Japanese restaurant is on top. If you really like eating steak and hamburgers, just eat as much as you want before you leave the US. If you are open to variety, trying something different but good, and food from other countries, St Ann's is it. Enjoy. One Love!

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Blueberry Farmer
Kountze, TX
Jun 30, 2012

Ocho Rios

My wife and I had a wonderful time. The hotel was fantastic and the staff was SUPER wonderful. The shows at night were very entertaining. The food was beautifuly displayed and very tasty. I was impressed with one of the managers; Mr. Carlington Price, super nice man. My rating for this vacation: AWESOME.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Get your travel agent to hire a local to show you around.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tana N.
DC
Jun 28, 2012

Pros and cons

Pro: fantastic beach: turquoise blue waters, plenty of lounge chairs, works. Pro: food galore, debaucherous and plentiful, almost embarrassing how much food there is. It's not gourmet but good/decent. Anything you can think of, it's there. If you're a foodie and expect plated beauty, it's not the place for you. Pro and con: this hotel is massive. It has two pools - one noisy and one quiet, the great beach mentioned above, 7 (or more) restaurants, gym, spa etc. On the downside, it's a tourist processing machine. There must be 2 thousand people there? There is no ability to pay attention to the individual guest when there are so many people to process. You kind of have to fend for yourself. On the other hand, if you want to just be solo/quiet and not have anyone bother you, this is good. There is lots of motion/activity/action going on around you, but nobody will badger you to get involved. Con: the staff are friendly, but it's a little forced. You can tell they have some pressure on them. They keep on asking if everything is ok but with stress. Con: my room had aunts. They had to spray it and my room smelled of noxious spray all night. Con: Checkin time is at 3pm and they mean it. If you arrive earlier, expect to wait until 3pm to get your room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Oli's mom
Miami
Jun 27, 2012

worst customer service anywhere in the world

I can't say I have been more disappointed more in a hotel. They claim to be a five star hotel. The hotel is nice; however the staff was rude repeatedly. When we checked in they did not go over anything. When I inquired about facilities and restaurants the front desk replied I can read my paper. Nobody helped my husband and I as we pushed our stroller and suitcases wondering around trying to locate our room. The food was about two steps below a Denny's. The specialty restaurants were full when we arrived. We tried to change our trip to return home early. For a positive note the landscape is beautiful. It is not a family hotel, more of a couple’s hotel. Would not recommend this for a family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
neresa
stockbridge, ga
Jun 21, 2012

retiree vacation from a vacation

my experience was great the people were friendly and courteous i enjoyed myself

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MOMA J
EDMONTON, AB
Jun 14, 2012

AWESOME WEDDING VACATION

A beautiful faciclity and the stafff wqas awesome for the most part. Front desk was rather slow. No fans in the bathrooms made for a not so pleasant experience almost everyday due to all the food and drinks, the odor lingers due to all the heat and moisture. On the whole an awesome vacation and wonderful people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Best deal mom
Virginia
Jun 14, 2012

Great June getaway

Our reception when we arrived was fantastic. Greeted with drinks and helped with luggage. Staff was friendly and all smiles! Food was great. Many food choices for even the pickiest eaters. Can't understand why anyone would not be happy with the amazing display of food at the specialty restaurants as well as the buffet. Location was about an hour and a half from airport but hotel was clean, beautiful, and had breathtaking views. You just can't beat it for the price. We snorkeled at the reef within view of the hotel. Kids will love that! The entertainment staff members were phenomenal! The staff worked really hard...we tipped even though it was all-inclusive. These people work so hard and are deserved of the extra bonus! We were a party of 8 with 4 kids. The only negative were the pool towel cards. We were given 2 per family and it was just inconvenient to remember to bring the card to exchange for a towel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Slims
USA
Jun 3, 2012

Satsfactory

The hotel room required a thorough cleaning. The bedspread needed to be laundered as the odor was noxious. The room had a musty smell which aggravated our sinus condition. The staff were friendly and hospitable. The lunch menu lacked diversity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jelle
Poughkeepsie, New York
May 28, 2012

Unhappy vacation

I was excited to go to this hotel because of the great reviews from friends and family. My experience, however was not so good. Upon check-in I was sent to a room that was already occupied and the replacement room was filled with the smell of smoke. Luckily I had friends there who were willing to exchange rooms with me to avoid another ordeal at the reception desk. To my surprise they did not ask for my ID...anyone could have hacked into my account and taken my place at the hotel and they would not know. All this after a long travel. I did ask for the manager who apologised and sent a token to my room but It did not stop there, Because of this we did not get to dinner until late that evening when the food was dried out and distasteful from being out so long. The next morning my family and I had the stomach flue and had to buy a bottle of peptobismal to carry us for the next 2 nights. Every time we ate we took some. I had cockroaches in my room and bathroom which I had to be killing to prevent them from going in by suitcases. Nightly entertainment was good and my meal at the mamamee Bay steakhouse was the best I had at the hotel on my last night. My kids were disappointed and so was I. I will not go back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go for meals as soon as they start serving and always have peptobismal ready

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iris W
Florida
May 21, 2012

Good Getaway

Nice hotel, very clean, lots of food. Nice beach. Fully stocked refrigerator and bar in the room including bottle water. Difficulty getting reservation for the restaurants. Two wash cloths per room, housekeeping takes them to be washed and then brings them back later in the day, consider bringing your own. Otherwise nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top

Change search