$201 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

3 stars
Mamie Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
650 reviews
Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an... See full review

  • Lisa29
  • Jul 27, 2014
great place for a cavation

Riu Ochorios was a great location for our vacation getaway. The staff was second to none and the... See full review

  • chilillo
  • Jul 24, 2014
The Riu Ochos Rios is a five-star Jamaican resort owned and operated by the Spanish-based Riu hotel chain. Overlooking the Caribbean Sea and surrounded by lush green woodland and gushing waterfalls, the hotel showcases the best of both worlds - open-air beachfront luxury and forested hideaways. Gleaming balconied facades overlook the on-site kids and adult swimming pools, while the inside air is rich with the signature scents of the Riu brand's Renova Spa and the decidedly upscale Sir Richard and Sir John restaurants. Five meeting rooms culminate in the 5,000-square-foot Gran Salon, making the hotel a magnet for business travelers in addition to tropical vacationers.
Key facts
  • 856 guestrooms
  • All-inclusive breakfast and snacks
  • Unlimited beverages from the bar
  • Restaurants: Mandalay (Asian), Mamee Bay Steakhouse, Tushima (Japanese), St. Ann, Piccola Italia, Sir John and Sir Richard (gourmet reservation for adults-only wing)
  • Multipurpose sports facilities
  • Floodlit hard-surface tennis court
  • Full-service sauna and Jacuzzi
Neighborhood
You'll find Riu Ochos Rios on Jamaica's northern shore, some 2.5 miles from the popular resort town of Ochos Rios. The hotel has its own secluded space in Mammee Bay, with direct access to the Ochos Rios cruise terminal and the very beach made famous in the James Bond film Dr No. Dive all day long at Dolphin Cove along the coast, or watch the mighty Dunn's River Falls a few miles to the east of the hotel grounds.
Hints and tips
For those planning a romantic couple's vacation, Riu Ochos Rios includes a deluxe adults-only wing, providing access to exclusive areas of the property and facilities not available to families. These include the Sir Richard gourmet restaurant and a private check-in. Although the on-site cuisine is certifiably high-class, don’t miss out on low-key, homemade fare - the jerk hut selling pork, sausages and chicken on the beach is a visitor favorite.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive Rooms

Suite Jacuzzi
Suite Jacuzzi includes: balcony with outdoor Jacuzzi, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone and hairdryer. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Double Room Ocean Front
Double Room Ocean Front includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean Front View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed. Connecting rooms available.
Double Room Ocean View
Double Room Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and ocean view. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, connecting rooms available.
Suite Ocean View
Suite Ocean View includes: large balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, separate shower, walk in closet, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms have 1 king size bed. All rooms have large split-level sitting area and sofa. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Ocean View
Junior Suite Ocean View includes: balcony or terrace, whirlpool bathtub, AC, complimentary in room safe, mini bar, liquor dispenser, satellite TV, telephone, hairdryer and Ocean View. Rooms available with 2 double beds or 1 king size bed some with sofa bed. All rooms have a split-level sitting area with sofa. Connecting rooms available. Guest booking this room category have access to the exclusive restaurants Tushima, Sir Richard & Mamee Bay.
Junior Suite Garden View
Junior Suite Garden View includes: Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with hydromassage bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Services
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3985 -77.1033
Area served
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay Airport - (MBJ)
Area description
Situated in the north of Jamaica in Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to Ocho Rios, 2.5 miles to shopping center and 65.2 miles to Montego Bay Airport.

Dining

Mandalay
Asian Restaurant for dinner, reservations required. Open for all guests.
Mamee Bay
Grill Steakhouse. Enjoy grilled to order fare, and a variety of options. Reservations required only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)
Bars/Lounges
Lounge bar, Lobby bar, Pool bar, Swim up bar and Sports Bar.
Tushima
Japanese menu style dining, reservations required, only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi)
St. Ann
St. Ann main restaurant with non-smoking section and terrace, offering buffet syle dinning and theme dinners. Open for all guests.
Piccola Italia
Italian Restaurant for dinner. Reservations required. Open for all guests.
Sir John
menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required. Open for all guests.
Sir Richard
Sir Richard menu-style gourmet restaurant available only for dinner-reservation required.Only can reserve guests who stay at the Deluxe wing (Jr Suite Ocean View, Suite Ocean View & Suite Jacuzzi rooms)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1202

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (650)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
650 out of 650
Amenities:
4.1
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

82% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sheenie
Washington, DC
May 13, 2013

AMAZING! WE LOVED IT! JUST DO IT!

Beautiful resort. Fantastic Value. Staff- I have never met friendlier staff. They were very happy and accommodating. They went out of their way to bring us drinks, ask about our stay and make jokes with us. We received a phone call to ask about how our visit was going. They also gave us free postcards to send to family. Lots of extras. The staff always say things like, "I'll get that for you. You're in Jamaica, mon. No worries. You relax." The staff really do work hard and it shows. We left small tips because we appreciated the service. Beach- I've done a lot of traveling, and this is the most beautiful beach I've seen. It is pristine. The water is turquoise blue and mellow. Great for swimming. The beach has the perfect ratio of palm trees. The staff climbed the trees and brought down fresh coconuts for us. They chopped them open and we were able to drink fresh coconut juice on the beach. Early every morning, the staff is outside cleaning the beach and they periodically take cups, etc. Lots of lounge chairs. We were never at a loss for private space. They also have free kayaks, paddle boats, and wind surfing. We took advantage! LOVED IT! Great value. Food- I was worried that this was going to be a greasy Vegas buffet. But I was PLEASANTLY surprised. There are lots of restaurants and food options. Fresh tropical fruit each day (including exotic ones). They also had fresh seafood (even lobster tails one day). My favorite was the jerk chicken that they grill on the beach every day. Very tasty. Some of the food was a little greasy, but you can avoid it it you want to. Plenty of other options. Salad bar is fantastic. We were there for a week and didn't get sick of the food. Rooms- The rooms are nice. Nothing too fancy, but clean and spacious. We had a tv and couch in our room. The cleaning staff left towel sculptures on our bed everyday--swans, hearts, etc. We always had hot water. AC and fans all worked perfectly. Free drinks in the room, including large water bottles. Replenished daily. We tipped the cleaning staff at the end of the trip. Internet- Internet is free for 90 minutes in the lobby. You have to use your own computer. Sometimes it was a little slow during heavy traffic times, so we used it early in the morning before breakfast and it was fine. You really only have "one free session" per day even if it is under 90 minutes. We honestly didn't use the internet that much since we were on vacation, so it wasn't a big deal. You can pay for premium service if it's important to you. Entertainment- The steel drum band from Kingston was AMAZING. They were the real deal. Lots of live music. We loved Lady Champagne, a reggae singer. Some of the performances were not family friendly--women wore thongs and dancing was sexualized. They do have special performances catered towards children though. Pools- Pools were fancy and clean. They have a swim up bar. The main pool has some entertainment during the day and music, but other pools are quiet. Something for everyone. Classes- They have water aerobics, beach aerobics and dance classes during the day that I liked. Taxis- My only complaint is that the on-site taxis are very expensive. We were adventurous and walked/took local transportation, which is not recommended by the resort but we were fine. Location- We flew into Montego Bay and took a shuttle that we booked through this website. The resort is about 2 hours from the airport. It's totally worth it even with the long ride. Resort is close to Dunn's River Falls. We totally recommend it! We scratched our heads the whole time wondering how the hotel makes money when they give everything away for free! Great value!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Food- I was worried that this was going to be a greasy Vegas buffet. But I was PLEASANTLY surprised. There are lots of restaurants and food options. Fresh tropical fruit each day (including exotic ones). They also had fresh seafood (even lobster tails one day). My favorite was the jerk chicken that they grill on the beach every day. Very tasty. Some of the food was a little greasy, but you can avoid it it you want to. Plenty of other options. Salad bar is fantastic. We were there for a week and didn't get sick of the food.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lisa29
Orlando FL
Jul 27, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

I have been to Riu Ocho Rios twice now and it doesn't get any better than this. We always have an incredible time. The staff are extremely friendly and go above and beyond to pamper to us every time we stay here. The food is amazing with a huge variety of items to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Char23
New York, New York
Jul 27, 2014

Vacation with boyfriend and parents

My experience at the RIU was good. I traveled with my boyfriend and parents and the activities were fun for all of us. The entertainment team were all very friendly & ensured all participated in differnt activities. What I liked most about the hotel was the beautiful views of the beach. You can literally sit anywhere around the resort for relaxation and enjoy the sound of the beach waves, and the beautiful clear blue ocean! The beach is absolutely amazing!! I also enjoyed the adult only pool. It was very relaxing and not over crowded. On the contrary, the service at the hotel was not good at all! The people were not friendly, hardly smiled or greeted one to even say good morning. This hotel is definitely lacking a friendly enviornment!! If you are looking for great customer service, dont come here! Otherwise it's a good hotel. Improving the customer service should be the main focus, and I bet it would go from a 3 start to a 5-star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dunn's River Falls & Snorkeling

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
chilillo
Los Angeles, California
Jul 24, 2014

great place for a cavation

Riu Ochorios was a great location for our vacation getaway. The staff was second to none and the room as well as the facility in general was superb. I highly recommend this location to any of my friends for the future vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Everything is open to bargain in Jamaica. Even cab drive to downtown oho Rios. You should pay no more than $25 for round trip cab or you could to go around the lobby where there is agency booking Tours and paid $8 for a share ride to downtown.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Papapula
New York
Jul 17, 2014

Great Time

Great time staff friendly, room cleaned everyday, mini bar check and stock every other day. Had a great time so much to do never got board. Daily entertainment was original and fun. Food was varied and good. I would recommend Riu Ocho Rios to every one.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
husband1
Minnesota
Jul 6, 2014

Excellent

I would it to anyone. Extremely friendly staff, absolutely beautiful resort. I would go back in a heartbeat. We loved it!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Stay at the resort the whole time. The entertainment is not only great but free besides. It truly is awesome.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mari 10
Florida
Jun 16, 2014

honeymoon

The hotel views are beautiful and it is close to great attractions. Downside was that the beds were a little too hard and uncomfortable. Everything else was great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JLowry
Atlanta, GA
Jun 16, 2014

Beyond Expectations

This place is great! Plenty to do locally and on site. The staff was very nice, we felt welcome and appreciated. It's the best of both worlds, all the family's are in one part of the resort and the other is for adults only.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Climbing Dunn River Falls was great, also try the tubing down the White River if you get a chance.

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
irv178
new york
Jun 9, 2014

my beautiful trip

my experience was amazing , let me start by saying Ocho rios is a beautiful place. it's fauna, the people are so warming and attentive. you can never be bored;there is so much what you can do there.the RIU is located in one of the most gorgeous beach i have seen,clear water,warm and calm just picture perfect. the beach is very important for me when i get way and that beach get from me 2 thumbs up. the resort is very clean as well as the rooms. Food is more than average . i love Jamaican food and i wasn't disappointed i had a great time . i truly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

the dolphins cove

Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ShayRedd
Quincy, MA
May 29, 2014

awful service

Bedsheets were stained, requested for them to be changed 4 times since each time they were changed they still had stains. No one answers front desk phones. There was a roach crawling out of the buffet. Someone came into my room 2 times with a key card in 1 night. Front desk supervisor claims a computer glitch in their system indicated my room was vacant. The shower water was either scalding hot or there was no water. The toilet constantly ran. The buffet food was never hot but rather lukewarm. I got sick the 2nd day from the buffet. I sat at the Dr's station at the resort for over a half hour with 3 nurses walking by who never acknowledged my presence.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Riu Ocho Rios All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gaza Girl
Toronto, Canada
May 23, 2014

Amazing

I have been to Riu 3 times in the last month !!! That says it all ....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top