$460 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 24, 2015

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Box 858 Mamme Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
95 reviews
December Getaway

We stayed at the Diamond concierge room, which the pictures online did not give it justice it was... See full review

  • bigred712
  • Dec 8, 2014
Cant wait to get back

Just on the approach to the complex was awsome on arrival was greated by cool drinks and our... See full review

  • Aussie Pete
  • Oct 23, 2014
Colonial decor and a 4-poster king bed topped with hand carved pineapples - a Caribbean symbol of welcome - greet you at the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Hotel in Jamaica. Most accommodations come with a view, either out towards the Ochos Rios peaks or straight across the crystal-blue waters. Butler suites are offered for indulgent walk-in closets, large bathtubs, his and hers robes, and personalized room service. Casual bites are served up in three cafes, including the Coral Cafe, which serves buffet breakfasts and lunches, and where ladies can wear their favorite cocktail dresses for formal evening dining. Jewel Dunn's vast swimming pools, water sports, and a pitch and putt golf course provide plenty of all-inclusive entertainment.
Key facts
  • Accommodations: Mountain and ocean view rooms and suites with butler service
  • Restaurants: Patio Restaurant, The Verandah, Bayside, Eight Rivers, Pool Grill, Veggie Bar
  • Several bars, including Piano Bar
  • Nightclub
  • Golf: 9-hole 'pitch and putt' course
  • 2 swimming pools with swim-up bars and poolside concierge service
  • Room service available 24 hours
  • Radiant Spa, offering massages, facials, and body treatments
  • 3 shops: Treasure Chest gift shop, photo shop, and The Jewel Box
  • Cut fitness center on the verandah
  • Sports: tennis, yoga, Pilates, kickboxing
Neighborhood
Located just to the west of the busy Ochos Rios, the hotel is surrounded by serene beauty just a short distance from the livelier island attractions. As the name suggests, the resort is very close to the world-famous Dunn's River Falls, where guests can climb the rocks and walk among wonderfully cool, gushing waters. Drive five minutes to Dolphin Cove to swim with these bright and friendly mammals, or explore the Seville Great House, a classic colonial English-style property dating back to the 17th century, now part of the Jamaican National Heritage Trust.
Hints and tips
Avid golfer? Guests of the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort can pay reduced fees at the nearby Runaway Bay Golf Club.

Book your round at the hotel's tour desk, or simply present proof of residency to the golf club to benefit from these discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Premier Guest Room
Generously-sized standard guest rooms with limited views. All rooms have a dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant, Colonial decor and refreshingly tiled floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Mountain View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults Mountain View guest rooms in the Sapphire Tower offer picturesque views of the lush peaks surrounding Ocho Rios. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Emerald Lanai Guest Room
327 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The intimacy of these two-story buildings is perfect for friends and family traveling together, or a wedding party. Located in a tropical garden setting, the ground floor rooms all open to their own outdoor furnished patio; second floor rooms do not have a balcony and overlook the gardens. All rooms are highlighted by a dramatic 4-poster king bed (some of the rooms now feature two double beds) with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tile floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Ocean View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The sparkle of the Caribbean looks majestic from the private balconies in the Ocean view rooms in the Sapphire building. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Diamond Ocean View Concierge
445 square feet, accommodates 2 adults For a real treat indulge yourself with the personalized service in the Diamond Concierge guestrooms. These spacious rooms offer views of the sparkling Caribbean Sea from a completely private balcony. A dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and whirlpool bath welcome guests. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and liquor, with mixers and coffee/tea service. 24-hour room service, plush his and hers robes are just a few more touches. A concierge (available 7 am-10 pm) will assist in special seating for dinners, shopping advice and how best to see Jamaica. Special turndown service available nightly.
1-Bedroom Ocean View Buttler Suite
827 square feet, accommodates 2 adults With stunning ocean views from oversized balconies, these suites are ideal for those wanting to be pampered on their holiday. Enjoy a spectacular 4-poster canopied king bed, elegant mahogany decor, refreshing tiled floors, walk-in closets, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, enormous whirlpool tub and separate shower, plush robes, slippers, room service and a personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa trip, handling room service and much more. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.
Honeymoon Haven 1-Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
855 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The 1-bedroom Oceanfront Honeymoon Haven Butler Suites lavish guests with over-the-top pampering and dramatic direct ocean vistas. The bedroom features a magnificent 4-poster canopied king bed, refreshing tiled floors, oversized bath has dual sinks, an enormous whirlpool and separate shower, walk-in closets, plush his and hers robes, slippers, complimentary internet access is wired and your personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa treatment, handling room service and much more.The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Aquamarina Beach Bar & Grill
Outdoor dining and snacks Open all day and overnight: 10:00 am - 7:00 am Snack happily on made-to-order sandwiches, burgers, wraps and cocktails - all without leaving the sandy beach. Aquamarina Beach Grill is open almost 24-hours. Dress code: Bare feet and bathing suits are welcome!
Coral Cafe
Covered patio dining, no reservations required Breakfast: 7:00 am - 10:30 am / Lunch: Noon - 2:30 pm Open air dining with bountiful breakfast and lunches; buffet style with made to order items. Dress code: Resort Day Casual - Shorts or jeans, swimwear must be covered, no bare feet. Dinner: 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm Dinner is a variety of innovative specialties served a-la-carte. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome.
Court Jester's Fire-Oven Pizza
Outdoor dining and snacks Lunch and Dinner: 12:30 pm - 8:00 pm Pizza is the ideal afternoon snack whether you are relaxing poolside or frolicking on the beach. Enjoy customized, thin-crust pies crisped to perfection in a fire oven. Dress code is casual wear including swim wear.
Jade Samurai
Indoor dining, reservations required Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm Serving exotic gourmet specialties from the Far East. Ready for dinner and a show? Enjoy teppanyaki-style, chop-chop entertainment right at your table for 10. Set seating times require reservations. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Moonstone by Dominic
Indoor and alfresco dining, no reservations required Dinner: 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm Both indoor air-conditioned and alfresco dining are available. Those with a yen for Italian food can satisfy their craving at Moonstone by Dominic. The restaurant's namesake brought his passion and old country recipes from Northern and Southern Italy to our Jamaican beach. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Platinum
Indoor dining, no reservations required A la carte Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am Monday - Saturday Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm daily Indulge in the most formal of The Jewel's dining venues. Platinum offers a diverse menu spotlighting fine contemporary Caribbean cuisine and delightful international options. Experience the best white glove service in a romantic and sophisticated setting. Dress code: Resort Elegant - summer or cocktail dress, slacks or skirt and nice top for women. Dress or khaki pants, shirts with sleeves and collars and dress shoes for men. Jackets and ties are not required, but welcome. Jeans or shorts, sleeveless shirts, t-shirts, caps, sneakers or flip-flops are not allowed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sgm1115
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 22, 2011

A grate couples get away

your stay starts at the air port where the tour guide will find you and get you to your right bus. it is a 1.5 hour ride through the beutiy full costal inland. then at the hotel you are greated buy the staff with a drink in hand for you. the bell capton takes your bags from the buss whale you check in . they already seam to know who you are and are ready for you. afeter you are set in your room go down to the tour desk. and go to the mistic mountant zip line tour . it was a lot of fun. we also did the dune buggys i wish i would have done thier trippel package of buggy, river tubing and zip line. i will next time.the shoping tour was fine. but at the craft market the venders can be agressive. just rember to only pay 1/4 of the asking price. this my require you to walk away before they agree to the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

but at the craft market the venders can be agressive. just rember to only pay 1/4 of the asking price. this my require you to walk away before they agree to the price.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
sachou
Business
Dearborn, MI, USA
Jan 4, 2012

Amazing couples getaway!

the resort is amazing,the staff is super friendly. This resort is veryyy suitable for young or older couples looking forward to a quiet time and relaxing. We stayed at a premier guest room which was more than enough. We stayed for 10 nights and 11 days and wished to stay longer. They have entertainment shows every night,they have games and around 6 bars ...the restaurants are extraordinary...including breakfast! I have no complaints whatsoever,i would definitely recommend this resort for honeymooners.as for us,we would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Travel Nut1983
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 26, 2012

Had a great trip

Went for an extended weekend. Hotel was very easy to get around, food was pretty good overall, and the hotel staff was great! Also very close to Dunns falls which was a good trip. Also right down the street from Jamaican restaurant Scotchies that was very good. Will def be back to Jamaica and if we decide Ocho Rios again we will stay no where else but the Jewel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leebish
Business
Dracut, MA
Aug 18, 2012

Lasting memories at the Jewel

This was our first trip to Jamaica. We celebrated our 25th anniversary at the Jewel!! We were a little disappointed to hear the bus trip from the airport was going to be 11/2 to 2 hours but, it wasn't that bad at all!! We had a great driver who was very entertaining. We even stopped at a small roadside bar where some got food and drinks to go. The rum punch, what a kick!! When we arrived at the resort, we were treated so well. We were greeted with the gem of the day and cold towels. We were told to have a seat and relax that we were on vacation and didn't have to worry about a thing! Yeah Mon!! Our room was great, Sapphire ocean view! Beautiful mahogany furniture, the four poster bed was so comfortable!! The balcony was wonderful with such a great view of the ocean and partial view of the resort as well. The grounds are beautiful!! We had turn down service every night which was such a surprise. We came home one afternoon to two heart shaped chocolate cakes with a beautifully decorated Happy Anniversary on the plate! We were also invited and attended a cocktail party for those celebrating honeymoons and anniversaries. It was great. I must say the foot and leg massage was wonderful!! We also had a couples massage!! It was amazing!!! Thanks to Jessika!! The staff goes above and beyond at the Jewel!! They are so friendly and helpful! I wish I could remember each of their names. I do remember a few for sure. First and foremost Jason, So good at what he does!! Gets everyone involved in all the activities going on. We met Jason on our first full day at the resort during orientation and he never forgot our names the entire time we stayed!! So Funny too!! Also want to mention two great bartenders, Garnet and Demetri!! Great personalities and such great service!! If you want a different or high end brand of liquor, all you have to do is ask!! The food was very good! The beach is a bit small but was never crowded! It was just beautiful as well as the ocean!! Loved it so much!! The pool is great too...especially the pool bar. So much fun was had there!! The entertainment was just great!! We loved it all!! We went on a few excursions, one was snorkeling, the Dunn's River Falls and a booze cruise on the way back, we had a great time!! Even the bus ride was fun, great driver and music!! The other was horseback riding at Chukka. We had a great time riding, but swimming on horseback in the ocean was the BEST!!!! I can't imagine a better place to have celebrated our 25th and can't wait to come back!! I miss it already!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelBum
Business
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nov 7, 2012

Ladies Trip

We booked this resort because of it's location and the fact that there were no children at this location. Nothing against the little ones but it's nice to enjoy peace an quite once in a while. Be warned though- most of the people there are couples, but I think that's true for most Jamaican getaways. The location was very nice, our hotel room looked over the mountains and the beach was very close. The staff definitely made this trip incredible. Everyone was very friendly, accommodating and the entertainment staff made sure everyone was having a good time even when the weather wasn't cooperating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

BARTER BARTER BARTER. Never accept first prices offered for anything. They expect you to barter with them and if you accept their first price, you'll end up paying a lot more than you should. Practice your negotiating skills!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gabrielle July
Business
Throggs neck, Bronx, NY
Jan 8, 2013

Amazing Getaway!

It was our first time in this hotel...but simply the best. When we arrived at the hotel we were informed that our room was not ready...however, as we waited for our room we were served with a couple of their special drinks of the day..they were delicious and as an apology for the delay, they accommodated us with a free room upgrade. We were very happy as the room we booked was really nice, but this room was beautiful. staff was extremely helpful and polite and catered to our every need..they even went the extra mile and remembered my hubby and I''first name through out our stay we were always greeted very respectfully by our names. The rooms were super clean, restaurants were elegantly adorned and the food was fabulous. The activities were plentiful..and the best part about this resort was that it was an adult-only. It was our first stay here but definitely not our last.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Daryl C
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 15, 2013

Excellent getaway!!!

I couldn't find a lot to complain about the Jewel Dunns River Resort. The property was meticulous and the staff was excellent. It's not the biggest resort I've ever been to but that way fine with us. Everything is nice and close together, tough for you to not be able to find something. Food was good, drinks were good too. The pool staff and bartenders were probably the best at any all inclusive I've been to. Extremely friendly and always in a wonderful mood. Very appreciative every time we gave them a small to generous tip. Japanese restaurant was fun and that food was probably the best meal at the resort. Dominic was our chef both times and he was a pleasure. We laughed the whole time, very entertaining!!! We only did 5 nights which was actually perfect...just enough time. One great part of this resort was the fact you didn't have to wake up at 6am and claim your lounge chairs!!! Always open chairs no matter what time of day. Great trip overall!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Sandinator
Business
New York, NY
Apr 20, 2013

Heavenly couples retreat

This resort is beautiful! I went for 4 days with my boyfriend and we had an amazing time. Although I would warn that there is so much to do that it would be much better to go for an entire week. The customer service is unmatched. Waiters, cooks and other workers went out of their way to make sure that you had a drink while laying on the beach, to make sure your meal was just the way you wanted it and that you were as comfortable as possible. However this is definitely a more calm couples type of environment, so if you're with a group of singles looking for a lot of activity I wouldn't really choose the Jewel. But if you would like a relaxing scene by a gorgeous beach with occasional excursions to waterfalls and forests then this place is right for you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you booked a package that offers the spa credit or the "bogo" trip to Dunn's River falls you MUST have the voucher with the code PRINTED or else you will not receive the discount.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Yahmon
Business
Kansas
May 26, 2013

Heaven on Earth.

This was our first all-inclusive trip and our first trip to Jamaica. It was great! The resort is wonderful! The food is terrific. We only ate at the buffet because it is sooooo good, but other people said the other restaurants were good too. The drinks were great also, especially the Dirty Bananas. There are lots of activities. Many of the activities are geared more to the younger set, (we are in our 60's), but still a great place to relax for older folks like us. My suggestion is to go early to the beach and mark some loungers in the shade, because it gets really hot without shade. Same thing at the pool, get your loungers early. Tuesday night party on the beach was one of my favorite things. Also the bonfire on Thursday was nice. Friday night dinner on the pier took way too long. That's my only criticism of the place. We will definitely go back if and when we can afford to do so. We had a Saffaire mountain view room; would recommend the ocean view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

You wear your swimming suit almost all the time, so don't bother bringing many clothes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
joe linda happy couple
Business
santa ana, ca
Jun 1, 2013

Just Perfect

Went for our 42 anniversary. The hotel was perfect. No wrist bands to wear, no towel card, no reservations for the restaurants (except one and had no problem). We have stayed at many all inclusives and this is by far the best. They did little things that the big hotels don't do to make your stay a good memory like dinner under the stars on the pier for everyone, a band on the beach at night (we sat in the chase lounge and loved it), dinner on the beach for everyone. The staff was excellent. Marcia at the Platinum restaurant, Roger at the tree bar, Basil on the beach. Sunday Night steel band terrific. Best hotel we have ever been in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

take hotel taxi to town. they drop you off and pick you up when you want. Our driver did a tour for us of the surrounding area. was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top