$460 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 24, 2015

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Box 858 Mamme Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
95 reviews
December Getaway

We stayed at the Diamond concierge room, which the pictures online did not give it justice it was... See full review

  • bigred712
  • Dec 8, 2014
Cant wait to get back

Just on the approach to the complex was awsome on arrival was greated by cool drinks and our... See full review

  • Aussie Pete
  • Oct 23, 2014
Colonial decor and a 4-poster king bed topped with hand carved pineapples - a Caribbean symbol of welcome - greet you at the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Hotel in Jamaica. Most accommodations come with a view, either out towards the Ochos Rios peaks or straight across the crystal-blue waters. Butler suites are offered for indulgent walk-in closets, large bathtubs, his and hers robes, and personalized room service. Casual bites are served up in three cafes, including the Coral Cafe, which serves buffet breakfasts and lunches, and where ladies can wear their favorite cocktail dresses for formal evening dining. Jewel Dunn's vast swimming pools, water sports, and a pitch and putt golf course provide plenty of all-inclusive entertainment.
Key facts
  • Accommodations: Mountain and ocean view rooms and suites with butler service
  • Restaurants: Patio Restaurant, The Verandah, Bayside, Eight Rivers, Pool Grill, Veggie Bar
  • Several bars, including Piano Bar
  • Nightclub
  • Golf: 9-hole 'pitch and putt' course
  • 2 swimming pools with swim-up bars and poolside concierge service
  • Room service available 24 hours
  • Radiant Spa, offering massages, facials, and body treatments
  • 3 shops: Treasure Chest gift shop, photo shop, and The Jewel Box
  • Cut fitness center on the verandah
  • Sports: tennis, yoga, Pilates, kickboxing
Neighborhood
Located just to the west of the busy Ochos Rios, the hotel is surrounded by serene beauty just a short distance from the livelier island attractions. As the name suggests, the resort is very close to the world-famous Dunn's River Falls, where guests can climb the rocks and walk among wonderfully cool, gushing waters. Drive five minutes to Dolphin Cove to swim with these bright and friendly mammals, or explore the Seville Great House, a classic colonial English-style property dating back to the 17th century, now part of the Jamaican National Heritage Trust.
Hints and tips
Avid golfer? Guests of the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort can pay reduced fees at the nearby Runaway Bay Golf Club.

Book your round at the hotel's tour desk, or simply present proof of residency to the golf club to benefit from these discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Premier Guest Room
Generously-sized standard guest rooms with limited views. All rooms have a dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant, Colonial decor and refreshingly tiled floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Mountain View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults Mountain View guest rooms in the Sapphire Tower offer picturesque views of the lush peaks surrounding Ocho Rios. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Emerald Lanai Guest Room
327 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The intimacy of these two-story buildings is perfect for friends and family traveling together, or a wedding party. Located in a tropical garden setting, the ground floor rooms all open to their own outdoor furnished patio; second floor rooms do not have a balcony and overlook the gardens. All rooms are highlighted by a dramatic 4-poster king bed (some of the rooms now feature two double beds) with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tile floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Ocean View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The sparkle of the Caribbean looks majestic from the private balconies in the Ocean view rooms in the Sapphire building. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Diamond Ocean View Concierge
445 square feet, accommodates 2 adults For a real treat indulge yourself with the personalized service in the Diamond Concierge guestrooms. These spacious rooms offer views of the sparkling Caribbean Sea from a completely private balcony. A dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and whirlpool bath welcome guests. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and liquor, with mixers and coffee/tea service. 24-hour room service, plush his and hers robes are just a few more touches. A concierge (available 7 am-10 pm) will assist in special seating for dinners, shopping advice and how best to see Jamaica. Special turndown service available nightly.
1-Bedroom Ocean View Buttler Suite
827 square feet, accommodates 2 adults With stunning ocean views from oversized balconies, these suites are ideal for those wanting to be pampered on their holiday. Enjoy a spectacular 4-poster canopied king bed, elegant mahogany decor, refreshing tiled floors, walk-in closets, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, enormous whirlpool tub and separate shower, plush robes, slippers, room service and a personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa trip, handling room service and much more. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.
Honeymoon Haven 1-Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
855 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The 1-bedroom Oceanfront Honeymoon Haven Butler Suites lavish guests with over-the-top pampering and dramatic direct ocean vistas. The bedroom features a magnificent 4-poster canopied king bed, refreshing tiled floors, oversized bath has dual sinks, an enormous whirlpool and separate shower, walk-in closets, plush his and hers robes, slippers, complimentary internet access is wired and your personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa treatment, handling room service and much more.The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Aquamarina Beach Bar & Grill
Outdoor dining and snacks Open all day and overnight: 10:00 am - 7:00 am Snack happily on made-to-order sandwiches, burgers, wraps and cocktails - all without leaving the sandy beach. Aquamarina Beach Grill is open almost 24-hours. Dress code: Bare feet and bathing suits are welcome!
Coral Cafe
Covered patio dining, no reservations required Breakfast: 7:00 am - 10:30 am / Lunch: Noon - 2:30 pm Open air dining with bountiful breakfast and lunches; buffet style with made to order items. Dress code: Resort Day Casual - Shorts or jeans, swimwear must be covered, no bare feet. Dinner: 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm Dinner is a variety of innovative specialties served a-la-carte. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome.
Court Jester's Fire-Oven Pizza
Outdoor dining and snacks Lunch and Dinner: 12:30 pm - 8:00 pm Pizza is the ideal afternoon snack whether you are relaxing poolside or frolicking on the beach. Enjoy customized, thin-crust pies crisped to perfection in a fire oven. Dress code is casual wear including swim wear.
Jade Samurai
Indoor dining, reservations required Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm Serving exotic gourmet specialties from the Far East. Ready for dinner and a show? Enjoy teppanyaki-style, chop-chop entertainment right at your table for 10. Set seating times require reservations. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Moonstone by Dominic
Indoor and alfresco dining, no reservations required Dinner: 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm Both indoor air-conditioned and alfresco dining are available. Those with a yen for Italian food can satisfy their craving at Moonstone by Dominic. The restaurant's namesake brought his passion and old country recipes from Northern and Southern Italy to our Jamaican beach. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Platinum
Indoor dining, no reservations required A la carte Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am Monday - Saturday Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm daily Indulge in the most formal of The Jewel's dining venues. Platinum offers a diverse menu spotlighting fine contemporary Caribbean cuisine and delightful international options. Experience the best white glove service in a romantic and sophisticated setting. Dress code: Resort Elegant - summer or cocktail dress, slacks or skirt and nice top for women. Dress or khaki pants, shirts with sleeves and collars and dress shoes for men. Jackets and ties are not required, but welcome. Jeans or shorts, sleeveless shirts, t-shirts, caps, sneakers or flip-flops are not allowed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Scratchy Sarah
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 26, 2013

Unimpressive & bed bugs

From all the reviews and photos I expected the resort to be a lot nicer. My boyfriend and I were pretty underwhelmed when we arrived to the point of looking into booking another place for the remainder of our visit. We ended up deciding to stick it out and give it a chance. It did get better and grow on us but to honest a lot of things were not up to par. The food was terrible. The Italian restaurant was awful... but maybe that is what you get when you try to eat Italian food in Jamaica. I can't believe I'm saying this but the best place to eat was the cheesy buffet. The food served there was by far the best the resort had to offer. That and the pizza place was fine too. It wasn't all bad though. The staff was incredibly nice and accommodating. The pool was a fun, enthusiastic atmosphere during the day and there is always special entertainment at night. The room was actually pretty clean and updated for my standards. Usually this is the biggest test for me when traveling. I often feel uncomfortable in hotel rooms but this was was actually quite easy to feel good in. There is just one major problem. While I thought the room and bed were clean and fine apparently they were not. My boyfriend and I each walked away in multiple bed bug bites... me with 4 on my legs and him with multiple ones on his upper body and legs. I didn't think much of them at first, they just looked like small red dots but they grew larger and continuously itching. Perhaps we are crazy though. Every other person we spoke with at the resort was having the best time of their life and thought it was such a great place. I don't know if our standards are just too high but in any case I thought I needed to let people know about the bed bugs. I can't stop itching my legs and am so freaked out by these itchy bumps!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

If you get sick of the resort there is a small restaurant/ bar called Scallywags right across the street from the resort that you can easily walk to and hang out in. On Friday nights they do karaoke and it was interesting to see the locals embrace American pop songs. Also, you have to take a taxi but we visited Margaritaville at night and that was a lot of fun. Definitely doesn't get busy until 11pm though so don't go too early. Fyi, the margaritas are way too strong and not worth the money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bay Shore, NY
Aug 7, 2011

Not a great resort, look elsewhere.

We went to the Jewel Dunn's River resort in July 2011 and picked the resort based on it's positive reviews online. After spending the week there, we had quite a few complaints and would not come back to this resort again. Both pools were dirty and had bugs and bird poop floating in them every day even after they "cleaned" them. The service wasn't great and the staff wasn't as attentive as we have seen at other resorts. We also had an issue with loud music being heard every morning since our room was close to the kitchen and despite calling every morning at 6:45, nothing was done to resolve it. The food was okay and typical for a resort. There also wasn't much variety for dinner, only 3 restaurants. The drinks were okay depending on which bar you went to since it seemed like everybody made them differently.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pearleliza
Business
Austin, Texas
Oct 3, 2013

Sisters Reconnecting

The best part of our stay at this resort was the service that the staff provided. The facility was adequate and could use some updating. Our room was located next to the Housekeeping Service Utility Room which was somewhat disruptive during the morning hours. Our light weight white plastic balcony furniture which consist of two chairs and a table was easy to move. We had not much of a view of the beach/ocean due to the room was on the second floor but we were able to enjoy the happenings in the courtyard.My sister especially enjoyed the food and entertainment. I truly enjoyed that it was an adult only facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travisdb
Business
Idaho
Jun 5, 2014

Poor service

The resort and setting were beautiful! The beach was small but very nice. There were many food and drink choices. The repetitive negative the entire stay was surprisingly poor service. Only a few employees seemed to really want to please us. Most of them seemed to be bothered by us. We had to constantly ask for things that should have been provided without our asking. We will definitely not stay here again. There are plenty of better resorts to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hibachi grill was good but not the best. For dinner the Italian was the best. Breakfast want great. We figured out room service was best for breakfast.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, Ohio
Jun 6, 2011

Wake Up Call

We arrived to the Jewel Dunn River after a 2 hour bus ride from the MBJ airport. During the bus ride you will have the opportunity to see Jamaica in the raw; why you should never leave your resort EVER! Upon arrival, we were greeted by the concierge with a cold "Jewel of the Day" alcoholic beverages and a cold lemongrass infused wash cloths We received a small free room upgrade which was unexpected. The upgraded us from the basic Premier room to a Sapphire Ocean View room. In the same breath, the hotel then asks you for your credit card so that they can place a $200 hold that will be reimbursed 2 weeks after check out. When I asked the front desk why, they simply said, "We may need to charge you later for incidentals." Incidentals? At an all-inclusive resort? I travel a lot and the hotels I stay in, all-inclusive or not, do ask for your credit card, but never withdrawal money upfront just in case. None the less, I negotiated them down to $100 as I didn't have many cards or cash with me because I was forewarned not to bring anything to Jamaica that I wasn't prepared to loose or have stolen. After we checked in, we were escorted up to the room with the concierge to review the room and make sure it was to our liking. After we gave our approval, the concierge left and we went down to dinner. Initially we were excited about all the different restaurant choices and couldn't wait to try all of them. Considering it was raining upon arrival and expected to be raining everyday during our vacation, we knew that eating would be the highlight of our trip. The first place we ate was the Aquamarina Beach Bar & Grill. They change their menu twice a day between lunch and dinner versions. Both versions were meek and have only about 5-7 different items to choose from. Oh, and they all come with fries even if you don't want them. Since we came in the middle of the shifts, I ordered the jerk chicken which is found on both menus. The jerk chicken was excellent, but the fries were just okay. My husband ordered a cheeseburger. He was not impressed. They cook a majority of their burger patties early in the morning and then throw them back on the grill for a quick reheating upon order and you can tell. My husband ate about half the burger and then when for the self-serve nacho machine with is a heated box filled with deep-fried tortilla chips like you get in a Mexican restaurant and a nacho cheese dispenser. After we ate, we walked around, and around, and around and then...well...that was it! Since we came in after the daily orientation (11:00 AM daily) we did not know where to go or what to do or what was happening that night entertainment wise so we ended up getting a few drinks which were on the weaker side and walking along the beach. We walked on the beach, which is only about 500 feet long. On one side is a chain link fence that is supposed to block the locals from coming over and at the other end is a pier that divides Jewel of Dunn River from RIU Resort. My husband and I learned quickly how the chain link fence does not block out any of the locals; they shimmy right along one side to get over to the other. They will come right up to you while you are on the beach and try to sell you EVERYTHING! And they are persistent. This is not exclusive to Jewel as these locals will hop over the pier and go over to RIU and will walk as far as they can trying to sell to tourists. The next morning we woke up and went to the Coral Cafe which serve buffet style breakfast and lunch. This was my favorite place to eat because of the different options. Breakfast is always the same each morning, but lunch usually switches up their layout. If you order an omelette, make sure you order it well done. If you are craving a Mimosa or Bloody Mary with your breakfast, you can forget it until after 10:00 AM. They also serve breakfast at Platinum - a la carte, sit down style with less dinning options. Because it was raining so much, we spent most of our time ...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ask for a drink called the Dirty Banana. It's delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DeerHunter
Business
Charlotte, NC, USA
Sep 12, 2011

Not worth the 4 star, only about a 3 star at most

We did not think it was as good as the reviews on Orbitz. Not much to do there, only two small pools, room didn't get cleaned once until we called, messed up our dinner reservation & wouldn't let us in while our dinner party was waiting on us, extremely hot in our room. Noisy pool games we had to listen to all day, not relaxing or romantic. Very noisy party next door the 1st night. When we were leaving, the bell hop came earlier than expected but wouldn't wait for us, left & would not come back, carried bags ourselves out to front desk. Felt very unwelcomed, except for nice breakfast by roomservice, & cakes on our anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Apr 7, 2011

Fun trip but probably wouldn't go back

The hotel itself was really nice. The room was very clean with a beautiful ocean view and balcony. The grounds were very kept up very well with tropical flowers all over the place. The staff was friendly and helpful though other travelers complained that the staff didn't approach you at the pool for drink service. There were 2 bars by the pools with lots of good drink options. The food was decent but the snack options were very limited. The property was on the smaller side and we wished there was enough space to take a jog along the beach or that the fitness center was nicer (it's outside and many of the weights and machines are rusted or very dirty). The highlight of the trip was going on the hobie cat boat ride with Steve. Even though this resort is only 60 miles from the Montego Bay airport, the ride to the resort took 2 and a half hours (almost as long as the plane trip) with stops at a bar and many other resorts along the way. Overall we had a great time but would probably want to go somewhere with better access to running/biking next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
El David
Business
Phoenix, AZ
Jun 2, 2011

Jewell Dunn's River Resort

Enjoyed the piano bar pool. More quiet than the larger pool, with lots of privacy. Also enjoyed the beach. Enjoyed the nightclub entertainment, although wish it would've started slightly earlier.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Aside from pool grill, there were no casual dining area. All restaurants required/requested long pants and collared shirts for men. The menu did not change in any of the restaurants at dinner time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
go go gino
Business
Fair Haven, NJ, USA
Jan 2, 2012

Relaxing times

Had a wonderful vacation with my family; wife and 3 adult children and their spouses. The food is the only thing that could have been alittle better. The staff was always friendly and the accomodations were very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LLTNT
Business
NY
Jan 30, 2012

Great couples getaway

Very enjoyable. Nice staff though the men who work there tend to be a bit aggressive with the women (it's all in good fun, just have a good sense of humor) Very good food. View was great. I'd go back. Also, they do a very good job on anniversaries, birthdays, etc. It was my girlfriends birthday and the $100 birthday package was well worth it. Fresh baked cakes, wine, balloons, gift, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to mystic mountain. Zip lining and bob sled A LOT of fun!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top