$270 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 20, 2014 Check-out: Jul 23, 2014

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Box 858 Mamme Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
92 reviews
Wonderful. Relaxing. Nice outgoing staff

The staff is amazing. Happy Feet Sassy. Brandon crew guy. Mayor and Kevin. If it wasn't for the... See full review

  • ReeReeporge
  • Jul 2, 2014
Relaxation & Sunshine

My husband and I had a great time at this resort. Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold towel to... See full review

  • DavTee
  • Jun 8, 2014
Colonial decor and a 4-poster king bed topped with hand carved pineapples - a Caribbean symbol of welcome - greet you at the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Hotel in Jamaica. Most accommodations come with a view, either out towards the Ochos Rios peaks or straight across the crystal-blue waters. Butler suites are offered for indulgent walk-in closets, large bathtubs, his and hers robes, and personalized room service. Casual bites are served up in three cafes, including the Coral Cafe, which serves buffet breakfasts and lunches, and where ladies can wear their favorite cocktail dresses for formal evening dining. Jewel Dunn's vast swimming pools, water sports, and a pitch and putt golf course provide plenty of all-inclusive entertainment.
Key facts
  • Accommodations: Mountain and ocean view rooms and suites with butler service
  • Restaurants: Patio Restaurant, The Verandah, Bayside, Eight Rivers, Pool Grill, Veggie Bar
  • Several bars, including Piano Bar
  • Nightclub
  • Golf: 9-hole 'pitch and putt' course
  • 2 swimming pools with swim-up bars and poolside concierge service
  • Room service available 24 hours
  • Radiant Spa, offering massages, facials, and body treatments
  • 3 shops: Treasure Chest gift shop, photo shop, and The Jewel Box
  • Cut fitness center on the verandah
  • Sports: tennis, yoga, Pilates, kickboxing
Neighborhood
Located just to the west of the busy Ochos Rios, the hotel is surrounded by serene beauty just a short distance from the livelier island attractions. As the name suggests, the resort is very close to the world-famous Dunn's River Falls, where guests can climb the rocks and walk among wonderfully cool, gushing waters. Drive five minutes to Dolphin Cove to swim with these bright and friendly mammals, or explore the Seville Great House, a classic colonial English-style property dating back to the 17th century, now part of the Jamaican National Heritage Trust.
Hints and tips
Avid golfer? Guests of the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort can pay reduced fees at the nearby Runaway Bay Golf Club.

Book your round at the hotel's tour desk, or simply present proof of residency to the golf club to benefit from these discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Premier Guest Room
Generously-sized standard guest rooms with limited views. All rooms have a dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant, Colonial decor and refreshingly tiled floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Mountain View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults Mountain View guest rooms in the Sapphire Tower offer picturesque views of the lush peaks surrounding Ocho Rios. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Emerald Lanai Guest Room
327 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The intimacy of these two-story buildings is perfect for friends and family traveling together, or a wedding party. Located in a tropical garden setting, the ground floor rooms all open to their own outdoor furnished patio; second floor rooms do not have a balcony and overlook the gardens. All rooms are highlighted by a dramatic 4-poster king bed (some of the rooms now feature two double beds) with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tile floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Ocean View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The sparkle of the Caribbean looks majestic from the private balconies in the Ocean view rooms in the Sapphire building. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Diamond Ocean View Concierge
445 square feet, accommodates 2 adults For a real treat indulge yourself with the personalized service in the Diamond Concierge guestrooms. These spacious rooms offer views of the sparkling Caribbean Sea from a completely private balcony. A dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and whirlpool bath welcome guests. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and liquor, with mixers and coffee/tea service. 24-hour room service, plush his and hers robes are just a few more touches. A concierge (available 7 am-10 pm) will assist in special seating for dinners, shopping advice and how best to see Jamaica. Special turndown service available nightly.
1-Bedroom Ocean View Buttler Suite
827 square feet, accommodates 2 adults With stunning ocean views from oversized balconies, these suites are ideal for those wanting to be pampered on their holiday. Enjoy a spectacular 4-poster canopied king bed, elegant mahogany decor, refreshing tiled floors, walk-in closets, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, enormous whirlpool tub and separate shower, plush robes, slippers, room service and a personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa trip, handling room service and much more. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.
Honeymoon Haven 1-Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
855 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The 1-bedroom Oceanfront Honeymoon Haven Butler Suites lavish guests with over-the-top pampering and dramatic direct ocean vistas. The bedroom features a magnificent 4-poster canopied king bed, refreshing tiled floors, oversized bath has dual sinks, an enormous whirlpool and separate shower, walk-in closets, plush his and hers robes, slippers, complimentary internet access is wired and your personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa treatment, handling room service and much more.The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Hotel Map

18.43 -77.164
Area served
OCJ-Ocho Rios. Montego Bay, Ocho Rios, Negril
Nearby airports
MBJ-Sangster Airport, (MBJ), 65.00, E, Mile; OCJ-Ocho Rios Boscobel Airport, (OCJ), 5.00, E, Mile; NEG-Negril Airport, (NEG), 120.00, W, Mile; KIN-Norman Manley Airport, (KIN), 70.00, W, Mile
Area description
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa is located 2.5 miles from bustling Ocho Rios and moments from the spectacular Dunn's River Falls, one of Jamaica's must-see attractions. Complimentary airport transfers from Montego Bay's Sangster International Airport will have you at the resort in just 90 minutes.

Dining

Aquamarina Beach Bar & Grill
Outdoor dining and snacks Open all day and overnight: 10:00 am - 7:00 am Snack happily on made-to-order sandwiches, burgers, wraps and cocktails - all without leaving the sandy beach. Aquamarina Beach Grill is open almost 24-hours. Dress code: Bare feet and bathing suits are welcome!
Coral Cafe
Covered patio dining, no reservations required Breakfast: 7:00 am - 10:30 am / Lunch: Noon - 2:30 pm Open air dining with bountiful breakfast and lunches; buffet style with made to order items. Dress code: Resort Day Casual - Shorts or jeans, swimwear must be covered, no bare feet. Dinner: 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm Dinner is a variety of innovative specialties served a-la-carte. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome.
Court Jester's Fire-Oven Pizza
Outdoor dining and snacks Lunch and Dinner: 12:30 pm - 8:00 pm Pizza is the ideal afternoon snack whether you are relaxing poolside or frolicking on the beach. Enjoy customized, thin-crust pies crisped to perfection in a fire oven. Dress code is casual wear including swim wear.
Jade Samurai
Indoor dining, reservations required Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm Serving exotic gourmet specialties from the Far East. Ready for dinner and a show? Enjoy teppanyaki-style, chop-chop entertainment right at your table for 10. Set seating times require reservations. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Moonstone by Dominic
Indoor and alfresco dining, no reservations required Dinner: 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm Both indoor air-conditioned and alfresco dining are available. Those with a yen for Italian food can satisfy their craving at Moonstone by Dominic. The restaurant's namesake brought his passion and old country recipes from Northern and Southern Italy to our Jamaican beach. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Platinum
Indoor dining, no reservations required A la carte Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am Monday - Saturday Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm daily Indulge in the most formal of The Jewel's dining venues. Platinum offers a diverse menu spotlighting fine contemporary Caribbean cuisine and delightful international options. Experience the best white glove service in a romantic and sophisticated setting. Dress code: Resort Elegant - summer or cocktail dress, slacks or skirt and nice top for women. Dress or khaki pants, shirts with sleeves and collars and dress shoes for men. Jackets and ties are not required, but welcome. Jeans or shorts, sleeveless shirts, t-shirts, caps, sneakers or flip-flops are not allowed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelBum
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nov 7, 2012

Ladies Trip

We booked this resort because of it's location and the fact that there were no children at this location. Nothing against the little ones but it's nice to enjoy peace an quite once in a while. Be warned though- most of the people there are couples, but I think that's true for most Jamaican getaways. The location was very nice, our hotel room looked over the mountains and the beach was very close. The staff definitely made this trip incredible. Everyone was very friendly, accommodating and the entertainment staff made sure everyone was having a good time even when the weather wasn't cooperating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

BARTER BARTER BARTER. Never accept first prices offered for anything. They expect you to barter with them and if you accept their first price, you'll end up paying a lot more than you should. Practice your negotiating skills!

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anessandra
SUdbury
May 23, 2014

AMAZING RESORT

OMG this resort is a must must must, its soooooo clean right down to the washrooms, and the staff well what can I say about them, they are all SUPER FRIENDLY AND AMAZING. never expecting a tip at any time and the customer service started the minute we step foot off the bus, until the min we stepped back on the Bus great job everyone especially KEVIN from the Buffet and MORRIS the main bartender (swim up bar mostly) they were exceptional entertainment was awesome and the steel drum group was WOW WOW WOW I don't have even one little complaint it was ALL AMAZING will return and recommend to everyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see the Blue Hole....its not a attraction through the hotel you must find a local to take you but its 150% times better then the Dunn

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NEAL22
Moreno Valley, Ca
May 11, 2014

First Time Travelers

Except for delayed checkin due to rooms not being ready, this resort was top notch. One of the best resorts we've visited. Good fun staff, nice beach, great pools, good food. Since we took new travelers, this was the perfect introduction to all inclusive vacations. Everyone in our group had a great time and are looking forward to future travels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If faced with late registration, grab your bathing suits and enjoy the facility. Don't let unexpected inconveniences spoil your good vacation. Every minute of vacation is precious, don't was a moment of it being angry or upset.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BethAnna
Ohio
Apr 27, 2014

Couples getaway

Our first time to the Caribbean & to an all inclusive. We are an older couple & especially enjoyed the friendliness & attentiveness of the staff. There is plenty to do for any age, on the resort or nearby attractions. The food was good but wished at times that more snack food was a available for a quick bite between meals. Chips with nacho cheese was it. Beach is short in length but was kept clean & plenty of places to sit/layout and enjoy the beautiful water. Rooms were lovely & we were surprised with some nice little touches each evening when we returned . Very romantic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Wish we had known before we arrived the opportunities available via the resort & JTL Guidelines on tipping would be helpful.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
D mon
Chicopee, Massachusetts
Mar 4, 2014

Truly a jewel

I just returned from my honeymoon at the jewel three days ago and I can't wait to return. This truly is a jewel!!! I have been to Jamaica before at a much bigger resort, however, my experience at the jewel Dunns river far outshined my previous trip. The resort itself is smaller, however, the staff will get to know you and treat you right. The food is fabulous and the drinks are plentiful. Each day there are activities as well as during the evening. Dinner is even offered for everyone on the beach with live entertainment. This resort is truly worth the money. I eagerly await my return to the jewel as I will never stay anywhere else!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The airport shops are very expensive. You are better off to by souvenirs in the gift shop or the vendors on the property.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy Dad and Daughter
Chicago, Illinois
Feb 18, 2014

Great Stay at Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa

My daughter and I returned from a 5 day stay at the Jewel and were very impressed. The hotel itself is very nicely maintained and the room was very clean and comfortable. We found the food to be above average, the service prompt and courteous, and most if all, the staff was very nice, polite and friendly. I would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tiffany Dawn
Hayes, Va.
Feb 3, 2014

Yeah mon no problem

My title to my review says it all....no problem mon!! What a great place to spend your vacation. The resort is beautiful and the employees were awesome. Coco Puffs, The Mayor and Happy Feet from the entertainment staff made our days and time a lot of fun! They are very special people who are there making everyone vacation special. We did go to Dunns river fall, that was great! Also you got to do the Bob Marley tour, the best tour there. Overall, the food was good, you will never go hungry. The pizza is SUPER!!! Drinks made by Damion at the pool bar was awesome. The only complaint I have is that there are not enough waitors and waitress's walking around during the day while you are chilling by the pool. Great place, great people and a great experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Dunns River and the Bob Marley tour

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
One super happy traveler
South Central Pennsylvania
Dec 11, 2013

Views from the balcony all the way to Cuba!

The check-in was quick and simple. The room was far beyond our expectations, from the mahogany carved furniture to the large balcony overlooking the pool and ocean; everything was just right. We didn't get to use restaurants besides the buffet (didn't bring nice enough cloths. The service at the buffet was nice and the food fine but the menus from the other places was mouthwatering. We did try the pizza place and of course the grill next to the pool which has excellent food. The drinks were nice; my new favorite was the Jamaican Smile, not sure what goes into it but it has a cocoa taste at one point and a hint of strawberry towards the end. One is quite enough for me! We also played twice the very small pitch n putt 9-hole course. I'd recommend the clubs you use get cleaned, the balls as well. Next, put an arrow of which way to hit your ball at the tee box and another arrow pointing to the next tee from each green. We got lost a few times, there was always a groundskeeper to point us in the right direction. The longest hole is a monster 67 yards, the greens are very small so your score will still be over 30 for most people. Next great thing was the water sports, the equipment was in great shape. I used the sailboat 14' Hobie Cat# and they all worked just fine. The windsurfers were also just fine. I took a snorkel trip money well spent and saw several unique fish and had a great guide called himself Capt. Hook. the pools were clean, cool which is good on hot days and we had plenty of room to lay around and sun. Finally we went for a Zip line trip, perfect as well, loads of fun. We had a total of 4 nights and 5 days and we enjoyed every minute. I'm planning on going to another Jewel resort in Jamaica again soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Where the road to Jewel's Dunn's River Resort and Spa meets the main road there is a "Boat" shaped restaurant across the street. It looks a little tired outside but inside the food was excellent. I recommend the visit for lunch or dinner.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Villages Mary
Lady Lake, Florida
Dec 7, 2013

Great Hotel & Staff!! A few problems

The hotel & staff were fantastic, however we had a few problems! The sixth day we were there a power outage occured and the elevators were down so we had to take the stairs in the dark, which was hazardous. We were on the fouth floor and it would have been much safer if they had generators or some kind of backup lights in the stairs. Also we had no water and a lot of the restaurants were closed. The day of checkout the water pipe broke in the resort and no one had water, which was a problem while getting ready to leave since we couldn't shower or use the bathroom facilities. All in all the staff was fantastic and the place is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Definately take the climb up Dunn's River Falls.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Pearleliza
Austin, Texas
Oct 3, 2013

Sisters Reconnecting

The best part of our stay at this resort was the service that the staff provided. The facility was adequate and could use some updating. Our room was located next to the Housekeeping Service Utility Room which was somewhat disruptive during the morning hours. Our light weight white plastic balcony furniture which consist of two chairs and a table was easy to move. We had not much of a view of the beach/ocean due to the room was on the second floor but we were able to enjoy the happenings in the courtyard.My sister especially enjoyed the food and entertainment. I truly enjoyed that it was an adult only facility.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jah from Jersey
New Jersey
Sep 20, 2013

Excellent

Great resort for adults only with helpful and friendly staff.Very clean and room was very spacious. Would def go back again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top