$255 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Box 858 Mamme Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
83 reviews
Amazing resort

This resort was truly a jewel! There were so many good things about this resort! I have done a lot... See full review

  • ST23
  • Aug 13, 2014
Best Ever Vacation

It was top notch, Service, Room and all staff was so kind and friendly. We were so sad to leave. We... See full review

  • steelusa
  • Aug 2, 2014
Colonial decor and a 4-poster king bed topped with hand carved pineapples - a Caribbean symbol of welcome - greet you at the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Hotel in Jamaica. Most accommodations come with a view, either out towards the Ochos Rios peaks or straight across the crystal-blue waters. Butler suites are offered for indulgent walk-in closets, large bathtubs, his and hers robes, and personalized room service. Casual bites are served up in three cafes, including the Coral Cafe, which serves buffet breakfasts and lunches, and where ladies can wear their favorite cocktail dresses for formal evening dining. Jewel Dunn's vast swimming pools, water sports, and a pitch and putt golf course provide plenty of all-inclusive entertainment.
Key facts
  • Accommodations: Mountain and ocean view rooms and suites with butler service
  • Restaurants: Patio Restaurant, The Verandah, Bayside, Eight Rivers, Pool Grill, Veggie Bar
  • Several bars, including Piano Bar
  • Nightclub
  • Golf: 9-hole 'pitch and putt' course
  • 2 swimming pools with swim-up bars and poolside concierge service
  • Room service available 24 hours
  • Radiant Spa, offering massages, facials, and body treatments
  • 3 shops: Treasure Chest gift shop, photo shop, and The Jewel Box
  • Cut fitness center on the verandah
  • Sports: tennis, yoga, Pilates, kickboxing
Neighborhood
Located just to the west of the busy Ochos Rios, the hotel is surrounded by serene beauty just a short distance from the livelier island attractions. As the name suggests, the resort is very close to the world-famous Dunn's River Falls, where guests can climb the rocks and walk among wonderfully cool, gushing waters. Drive five minutes to Dolphin Cove to swim with these bright and friendly mammals, or explore the Seville Great House, a classic colonial English-style property dating back to the 17th century, now part of the Jamaican National Heritage Trust.
Hints and tips
Avid golfer? Guests of the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort can pay reduced fees at the nearby Runaway Bay Golf Club.

Book your round at the hotel's tour desk, or simply present proof of residency to the golf club to benefit from these discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.43 -77.164
Area served
OCJ-Ocho Rios. Montego Bay, Ocho Rios, Negril
Nearby airports
MBJ-Sangster Airport, (MBJ), 65.00, E, Mile; OCJ-Ocho Rios Boscobel Airport, (OCJ), 5.00, E, Mile; NEG-Negril Airport, (NEG), 120.00, W, Mile; KIN-Norman Manley Airport, (KIN), 70.00, W, Mile
Area description
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa is located 2.5 miles from bustling Ocho Rios and moments from the spectacular Dunn's River Falls, one of Jamaica's must-see attractions. Complimentary airport transfers from Montego Bay's Sangster International Airport will have you at the resort in just 90 minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Premier Guest Room
Generously-sized standard guest rooms with limited views. All rooms have a dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant, Colonial decor and refreshingly tiled floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Mountain View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults Mountain View guest rooms in the Sapphire Tower offer picturesque views of the lush peaks surrounding Ocho Rios. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Emerald Lanai Guest Room
327 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The intimacy of these two-story buildings is perfect for friends and family traveling together, or a wedding party. Located in a tropical garden setting, the ground floor rooms all open to their own outdoor furnished patio; second floor rooms do not have a balcony and overlook the gardens. All rooms are highlighted by a dramatic 4-poster king bed (some of the rooms now feature two double beds) with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tile floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Ocean View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The sparkle of the Caribbean looks majestic from the private balconies in the Ocean view rooms in the Sapphire building. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Diamond Ocean View Concierge
445 square feet, accommodates 2 adults For a real treat indulge yourself with the personalized service in the Diamond Concierge guestrooms. These spacious rooms offer views of the sparkling Caribbean Sea from a completely private balcony. A dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and whirlpool bath welcome guests. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and liquor, with mixers and coffee/tea service. 24-hour room service, plush his and hers robes are just a few more touches. A concierge (available 7 am-10 pm) will assist in special seating for dinners, shopping advice and how best to see Jamaica. Special turndown service available nightly.
1-Bedroom Ocean View Buttler Suite
827 square feet, accommodates 2 adults With stunning ocean views from oversized balconies, these suites are ideal for those wanting to be pampered on their holiday. Enjoy a spectacular 4-poster canopied king bed, elegant mahogany decor, refreshing tiled floors, walk-in closets, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, enormous whirlpool tub and separate shower, plush robes, slippers, room service and a personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa trip, handling room service and much more. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.
Honeymoon Haven 1-Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
855 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The 1-bedroom Oceanfront Honeymoon Haven Butler Suites lavish guests with over-the-top pampering and dramatic direct ocean vistas. The bedroom features a magnificent 4-poster canopied king bed, refreshing tiled floors, oversized bath has dual sinks, an enormous whirlpool and separate shower, walk-in closets, plush his and hers robes, slippers, complimentary internet access is wired and your personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa treatment, handling room service and much more.The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Aquamarina Beach Bar & Grill
Outdoor dining and snacks Open all day and overnight: 10:00 am - 7:00 am Snack happily on made-to-order sandwiches, burgers, wraps and cocktails - all without leaving the sandy beach. Aquamarina Beach Grill is open almost 24-hours. Dress code: Bare feet and bathing suits are welcome!
Coral Cafe
Covered patio dining, no reservations required Breakfast: 7:00 am - 10:30 am / Lunch: Noon - 2:30 pm Open air dining with bountiful breakfast and lunches; buffet style with made to order items. Dress code: Resort Day Casual - Shorts or jeans, swimwear must be covered, no bare feet. Dinner: 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm Dinner is a variety of innovative specialties served a-la-carte. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome.
Court Jester's Fire-Oven Pizza
Outdoor dining and snacks Lunch and Dinner: 12:30 pm - 8:00 pm Pizza is the ideal afternoon snack whether you are relaxing poolside or frolicking on the beach. Enjoy customized, thin-crust pies crisped to perfection in a fire oven. Dress code is casual wear including swim wear.
Jade Samurai
Indoor dining, reservations required Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm Serving exotic gourmet specialties from the Far East. Ready for dinner and a show? Enjoy teppanyaki-style, chop-chop entertainment right at your table for 10. Set seating times require reservations. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Moonstone by Dominic
Indoor and alfresco dining, no reservations required Dinner: 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm Both indoor air-conditioned and alfresco dining are available. Those with a yen for Italian food can satisfy their craving at Moonstone by Dominic. The restaurant's namesake brought his passion and old country recipes from Northern and Southern Italy to our Jamaican beach. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Platinum
Indoor dining, no reservations required A la carte Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am Monday - Saturday Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm daily Indulge in the most formal of The Jewel's dining venues. Platinum offers a diverse menu spotlighting fine contemporary Caribbean cuisine and delightful international options. Experience the best white glove service in a romantic and sophisticated setting. Dress code: Resort Elegant - summer or cocktail dress, slacks or skirt and nice top for women. Dress or khaki pants, shirts with sleeves and collars and dress shoes for men. Jackets and ties are not required, but welcome. Jeans or shorts, sleeveless shirts, t-shirts, caps, sneakers or flip-flops are not allowed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (83)

Ratings and reviews for Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
83 out of 83
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.7
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelBum
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nov 7, 2012

Ladies Trip

We booked this resort because of it's location and the fact that there were no children at this location. Nothing against the little ones but it's nice to enjoy peace an quite once in a while. Be warned though- most of the people there are couples, but I think that's true for most Jamaican getaways. The location was very nice, our hotel room looked over the mountains and the beach was very close. The staff definitely made this trip incredible. Everyone was very friendly, accommodating and the entertainment staff made sure everyone was having a good time even when the weather wasn't cooperating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

BARTER BARTER BARTER. Never accept first prices offered for anything. They expect you to barter with them and if you accept their first price, you'll end up paying a lot more than you should. Practice your negotiating skills!

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ReeReeporge
Columbus Ga
Jul 2, 2014

Wonderful. Relaxing. Nice outgoing staff

The staff is amazing. Happy Feet Sassy. Brandon crew guy. Mayor and Kevin. If it wasn't for the staff I don't know what that place will do. The place is awesome but the staff makes you feel a home. My my my. Headed back soon. Clean and nice!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Scotchies was ok. But you really don't have to leave

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BranMan
Texas
Jun 15, 2014

Couples Second Anniversary

I will give the pros and cons Pros - Great Staff Beautiful Resort Awesome Pool Daily Activities Drinks were very good Food, Bars, Souvenirs are all close to the rooms Cons - Limited Food Selection Food Isn't Great Very Small Beach It is a 1 1/2 to 2 hour drive from airport. Some of the busses air conditioning suck. We got the the diamond room and it was just like a room you would get at a standard hotel. Overall. You pay a premium for going to Jamaica vs Cancun. I have it 4 stars because it is not the perfect resort but the good out weighs the bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Do NOT go to mystic mountain. It is pretty awful.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DavTee
New York, NY
Jun 8, 2014

Relaxation & Sunshine

My husband and I had a great time at this resort. Upon arrival we were greeted with a cold towel to cool down and a refreshing beverage. The staff went above and beyond to ensure that we did not want for anything. We stayed in the Emerald. The room was clean and cozy. The food was delicious. Breakfast was always my favorite. On Friday, they set up dinner on the pier. It was amazing to say the least. The stars above made for a romantic night. This was our first adults only resort. I don't think we will go back to family friendly resorts any time soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Travisdb
Idaho
Jun 5, 2014

Poor service

The resort and setting were beautiful! The beach was small but very nice. There were many food and drink choices. The repetitive negative the entire stay was surprisingly poor service. Only a few employees seemed to really want to please us. Most of them seemed to be bothered by us. We had to constantly ask for things that should have been provided without our asking. We will definitely not stay here again. There are plenty of better resorts to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The hibachi grill was good but not the best. For dinner the Italian was the best. Breakfast want great. We figured out room service was best for breakfast.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
mommy and poppy
conley, georgia
Jun 5, 2014

yearly trip to the jewel

if you want a place to eat, drink, relaxe and do it all with no children around, then this is the place.We have been to the jewel 4 times in the last 4 years and it just keeps getting better. we can't wait until 2015. forgot to mention they have a full slate of excursions to choose from.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

do your homework and really find a great deal as prices will vary greatly.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tracy Fleischer
Virginia
Jun 3, 2014

A must stay!!!

My husband and I just got back from here on 5/31/14 from our honeymoon and was so amazed at the resort, the STAFF :) the food just everything we have not stopped talking and telling everyone about this resort! It by far met every expectation and more. To travel so far and not know what to expect can be scary but not with this resort. The entertaining staff made us feel like part of a family. Happy feet, Coco puff, Caralynn, Ordain, and many more. The staff was always smiling and we never once had a issue or a problem.. no worries :). The resort went beyond on the entertainment each day and there was always stuff going on if you wanted to take part. It was never so crowded you felt you couldnt go somewhere quiet and it was so clean! A staff member was always near by if you needed something they always came through for ya. This is a place we will be going back to in the near future we want to stay longer than a week. The restaurants were over the top! I could go on and on about this place and show tons of pictures but that would take up to much space. Go stay at The jewel you will not regret it one bit! Thanks Jewel staff!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pohlisa
Seneca, South Carolina
May 29, 2014

Pleasantly surprised...

When we first got there, I was a little disappointed at how small the resort was compared to the ones we stayed at on other islands. In the end, this was what I liked the most. A short walk to breakfast, walk right out to the pool, and the beach is just a few steps away. Everything is close by and you don't have to walk all over creation to grab a meal or go for a swim. The food was excellent. I am not a picky eater but I think there was something for everyone. I really loved the local foods that I'd never heard of or tried before. The room was nice and cool and the bed slept really good. The staff was the friendliest of any resort I've ever visited. They really went the extra mile and were downright entertaining! I feel sure that we'll be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go eat some jerk chicken at Scotchies!

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wooh
Baltimore, MD
May 29, 2014

Jamaica Success

Resort was wonderful. Couldn't ask for anything more. Only complaint was the two hour drive from the airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Oma Carmen
The Villages, Fl.
May 26, 2014

Fantastic honeymoon resort whether it is your 1st or your 48th :)

This is our second time at this great resort. There is an endless variety of food, drinks and things to do. The staff is wonderful and willing to get you whatever you need or want. The workout area with weights, bikes and treadmills were readily available as well as the 3 hot tubs and swim-up bars. We'll go back again!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Go to their Italian Restaurant-excellent and no reservations needed. Nice selection of entrees as well.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
anessandra
SUdbury
May 23, 2014

AMAZING RESORT

OMG this resort is a must must must, its soooooo clean right down to the washrooms, and the staff well what can I say about them, they are all SUPER FRIENDLY AND AMAZING. never expecting a tip at any time and the customer service started the minute we step foot off the bus, until the min we stepped back on the Bus great job everyone especially KEVIN from the Buffet and MORRIS the main bartender (swim up bar mostly) they were exceptional entertainment was awesome and the steel drum group was WOW WOW WOW I don't have even one little complaint it was ALL AMAZING will return and recommend to everyone

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Must see the Blue Hole....its not a attraction through the hotel you must find a local to take you but its 150% times better then the Dunn

Back to menu Return to top

Change search