$446 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 27, 2015 Check-out: Jul 30, 2015

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Box 858 Mamme Bay, Ocho Rios,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
109 out of 109
Amenities:
4.3
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigred712
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 8, 2014

December Getaway

We stayed at the Diamond concierge room, which the pictures online did not give it justice it was amazing! The staff were very friendly, and had a good sense of humor. The food was good. I would love to come back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

*Remember to pack a nice set of clothes! Some of the restaurants have dress codes.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammyc
Business
Essex
Dec 8, 2014

Great Stay

We had a good stay at Jewel. It did not start great as we were allocated us a room on the first floor on arrival which had a view of palm trees - not the promised 'ocean view' - they said this was still classified as an ocean view but I was not having any of that. We got moved on the next night to the top floor which has the most amazing views. We had concierge but cannot say I knew what to do with them really - the one thing I asked (to organise a late check out) they said it was not something they do. Service was great save that breakfast was always a bit of a lottery whether you got cutlery or a cup for tea/coffee - they did not seem to be able to handle the turnaround of tables that effectively. We were in the diamond building. The staff were fantastic and the food really good - we really loved sitting outside the Italian restaurant by the beach - perfection. The pizza and jerk chicken during the day were also great. The one thing I found odd was the really loud music by the main pool - most people were couples in their 30s + and so probably not really interested in music that loud but you could sit by the quieter smaller pool if you wanted to. Overall had a nice stay and would go back. Top tips:- if you cannot find any sunbeds (they do allow cruise ship passengers to come into hotel on some days so beds not always freely available if you are a bit later down) speak to the lifeguards who will get you some (we did tip them for this), head to the Italian early if you want to sit outside by the beach, get top floor room if you can to get amazing views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VeronicaJ
Business
New York, NY
Nov 24, 2014

We loved this place

Location is great - no more than 10 min from Dunn's River Falls and maybe 15 min from downtown Ocho Rios. Staff is wonderful and friendly. Didn't feel pressure to pay for extra things, tip heavily (though we did anyway), or go on excursions (though we did that, too). We were there for our honeymoon, and when they found out they left a heart-shaped plate with "Happy Honeymoon" written in chocolate sauce and a couple of desserts. Very sweet :-) Beach is small but nice. Room was super clean and comfortable...huge comfy bed, flat screen TV, nice sized bathroom, cute balcony. The only thing that keeps it from getting 5 stars is that the food could've been better...not a lot of variety at breakfast, though the omlettes are EXCELLENT, and the buffets were generally underwhelming. But lunch at the outdoor bar is soooo good, and the Japanese steakhouse was really wonderful, too! And for the price, we absolutely could not ask for more. We'd definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
October Bride
Business
Sedalia, Missouri
Nov 21, 2014

Great Honeymoon

Overall our experience was great. The beach was nice and seemed like there were always chairs available to relax in. It was a little shorter than expected so if you like strolling along the beach, you'd have to turn around and go back and forth. The staff was friendly and accommodating and learned the guests names over the week. The resort had shows every night but they didn't start until 9 p.m. so they made for some late nights. The resort offers the non-motorized activities free which was great. They had classes in the mornings to teach people how to sail and after that you could come back and sail whenever you wanted. They also had a pool table and a ping pong table which were two highlight for my husband. We ended up doing the snorkeling through the resort instead of through the outside company and were very happy with the experience. If you have the chance to do the Dunn's River Falls, we would highly suggest it. The food on the resort was good. The fine dinning and Japaneses restaurant were by far the two best places to eat, in my opinion. If you ask my husband he would say the brick-oven pizza was the best food. We were told to get more authentic food with the spice to go off the resort. Due to where our room was (and we picked the basic room) our view overlooked the roof of the building below and the neighboring resort. We were able to see the ocean if we were sitting in one corner of our balcony but only barley. We would have been able to see it better if we were on higher floor but we were on the 1st floor of rooms. Our only complaint was the check-in process seemed a little unorganized. We got off the bus and told to sit down until someone gave you a clip-board. It was at least 15 minutes before we got the clip-board to fill out. Once we did it went smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make a reservation when you get there for the Japanese Steakhouse restaurant. We were able to eat there twice because we got our reservation earlier in our stay and then we were on the wait list for later in the week.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Another Honeymooner
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 6, 2014

Great Honeymoon

We were there for our honeymoon October 2014. We have stayed at other all inclusives, but this one was one of the best. The food at the Ala carte restaurants was great and the staff all over the property was amazing. We had some great drinks, played some volleyball and relaxed on the beach...no complaints! I would definitely point out that from our experience this resort is a couples resort. I would not recommend staying there if you are single!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Transfers to and from the resort are included with your stay!! Check out the resort page for more information. It was super easy to hook up with the transfer company when we arrived!

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aussie Pete
Business
West Wales
Oct 23, 2014

Cant wait to get back

Just on the approach to the complex was awsome on arrival was greated by cool drinks and our booking in was so quick we was whisked off to our rooms in a magical part in the Lanai Gardens the rooms were very large except for the bathroom but was lovely. It didnt take long before was in a complete chillout mode the staff was fantastic so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble cant wait to go back 10out of 10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you see the steel band show

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
XLost
Business
New York
Oct 16, 2014

Small, however great service

Compared to some of the other hotels you can stay at the Jewel Dunn's River is a bit smaller, however has excellent service. The staff does a great job getting to know you, and will go out of their way to make your stay amazing. At first glance you may feel as there may be a lack of activities for the duration of the stay, however the property makes up for this with events, and offsite activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandiedvs
Business
Northampton UK
Sep 24, 2014

Amazing break!

I have just spent 10 days at this hotel. The staff were amazing there was nothing they would not do for you. We were able to relax in the sunshine and do a few trips out the black river tour was brilliant! We were overlooking the sea which at times could be a little noisy if you wanted an early night. The only downside I found was that the music and games from the main pool interrupted what would have been an extremely peaceful time around the other pool but after a few cocktails you didn't mind quite so much! Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. It was also lovely not to have children around as they are not allowed at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Black River Tour, Bob Marley Tour, Horse riding in the sea.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy birthday man
Business
Dallas Tx
Sep 15, 2014

Great Vacation

The resort was extremely enjoyable. large staff that was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin dove, Dunns River Falls and downtown Orcho Rio.

Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby G on the J.O.B.
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 15, 2014

Great Value

Food was okay, not terrific, but overall resort, rooms and amenities were generally very nice. Most staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The only beer selection offered (Red Stripe draft) and then served in a plastic glass got old fast - especially since it was often warm and not cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chukka CAT catamaran trip (snorkeling, Dunn's River wet hike, Jerk chicken lunch, and party/booze cruise a must!!! Chukka staff very personable, energetic and fun!!!

Back to menu Return to top