$245 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 10, 2014 Check-out: Oct 13, 2014

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Box 858 Mamme Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
86 reviews
Great Vacation

The resort was extremely enjoyable. large staff that was very nice. See full review

  • Happy birthday man
  • Sep 15, 2014
Amazing vacation

Just got back from our Labor Day weekend vacation. Had an amazing time and the jewel, Dunns river... See full review

  • Janwe
  • Sep 1, 2014
Colonial decor and a 4-poster king bed topped with hand carved pineapples - a Caribbean symbol of welcome - greet you at the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Hotel in Jamaica. Most accommodations come with a view, either out towards the Ochos Rios peaks or straight across the crystal-blue waters. Butler suites are offered for indulgent walk-in closets, large bathtubs, his and hers robes, and personalized room service. Casual bites are served up in three cafes, including the Coral Cafe, which serves buffet breakfasts and lunches, and where ladies can wear their favorite cocktail dresses for formal evening dining. Jewel Dunn's vast swimming pools, water sports, and a pitch and putt golf course provide plenty of all-inclusive entertainment.
Key facts
  • Accommodations: Mountain and ocean view rooms and suites with butler service
  • Restaurants: Patio Restaurant, The Verandah, Bayside, Eight Rivers, Pool Grill, Veggie Bar
  • Several bars, including Piano Bar
  • Nightclub
  • Golf: 9-hole 'pitch and putt' course
  • 2 swimming pools with swim-up bars and poolside concierge service
  • Room service available 24 hours
  • Radiant Spa, offering massages, facials, and body treatments
  • 3 shops: Treasure Chest gift shop, photo shop, and The Jewel Box
  • Cut fitness center on the verandah
  • Sports: tennis, yoga, Pilates, kickboxing
Neighborhood
Located just to the west of the busy Ochos Rios, the hotel is surrounded by serene beauty just a short distance from the livelier island attractions. As the name suggests, the resort is very close to the world-famous Dunn's River Falls, where guests can climb the rocks and walk among wonderfully cool, gushing waters. Drive five minutes to Dolphin Cove to swim with these bright and friendly mammals, or explore the Seville Great House, a classic colonial English-style property dating back to the 17th century, now part of the Jamaican National Heritage Trust.
Hints and tips
Avid golfer? Guests of the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort can pay reduced fees at the nearby Runaway Bay Golf Club.

Book your round at the hotel's tour desk, or simply present proof of residency to the golf club to benefit from these discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.43 -77.164
Area served
OCJ-Ocho Rios. Montego Bay, Ocho Rios, Negril
Nearby airports
MBJ-Sangster Airport, (MBJ), 65.00, E, Mile; OCJ-Ocho Rios Boscobel Airport, (OCJ), 5.00, E, Mile; NEG-Negril Airport, (NEG), 120.00, W, Mile; KIN-Norman Manley Airport, (KIN), 70.00, W, Mile
Area description
The Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort & Spa is located 2.5 miles from bustling Ocho Rios and moments from the spectacular Dunn's River Falls, one of Jamaica's must-see attractions. Complimentary airport transfers from Montego Bay's Sangster International Airport will have you at the resort in just 90 minutes.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Premier Guest Room
Generously-sized standard guest rooms with limited views. All rooms have a dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant, Colonial decor and refreshingly tiled floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Mountain View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults Mountain View guest rooms in the Sapphire Tower offer picturesque views of the lush peaks surrounding Ocho Rios. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Emerald Lanai Guest Room
327 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The intimacy of these two-story buildings is perfect for friends and family traveling together, or a wedding party. Located in a tropical garden setting, the ground floor rooms all open to their own outdoor furnished patio; second floor rooms do not have a balcony and overlook the gardens. All rooms are highlighted by a dramatic 4-poster king bed (some of the rooms now feature two double beds) with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tile floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Ocean View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The sparkle of the Caribbean looks majestic from the private balconies in the Ocean view rooms in the Sapphire building. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Diamond Ocean View Concierge
445 square feet, accommodates 2 adults For a real treat indulge yourself with the personalized service in the Diamond Concierge guestrooms. These spacious rooms offer views of the sparkling Caribbean Sea from a completely private balcony. A dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and whirlpool bath welcome guests. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and liquor, with mixers and coffee/tea service. 24-hour room service, plush his and hers robes are just a few more touches. A concierge (available 7 am-10 pm) will assist in special seating for dinners, shopping advice and how best to see Jamaica. Special turndown service available nightly.
1-Bedroom Ocean View Buttler Suite
827 square feet, accommodates 2 adults With stunning ocean views from oversized balconies, these suites are ideal for those wanting to be pampered on their holiday. Enjoy a spectacular 4-poster canopied king bed, elegant mahogany decor, refreshing tiled floors, walk-in closets, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, enormous whirlpool tub and separate shower, plush robes, slippers, room service and a personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa trip, handling room service and much more. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.
Honeymoon Haven 1-Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
855 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The 1-bedroom Oceanfront Honeymoon Haven Butler Suites lavish guests with over-the-top pampering and dramatic direct ocean vistas. The bedroom features a magnificent 4-poster canopied king bed, refreshing tiled floors, oversized bath has dual sinks, an enormous whirlpool and separate shower, walk-in closets, plush his and hers robes, slippers, complimentary internet access is wired and your personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa treatment, handling room service and much more.The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Aquamarina Beach Bar & Grill
Outdoor dining and snacks Open all day and overnight: 10:00 am - 7:00 am Snack happily on made-to-order sandwiches, burgers, wraps and cocktails - all without leaving the sandy beach. Aquamarina Beach Grill is open almost 24-hours. Dress code: Bare feet and bathing suits are welcome!
Coral Cafe
Covered patio dining, no reservations required Breakfast: 7:00 am - 10:30 am / Lunch: Noon - 2:30 pm Open air dining with bountiful breakfast and lunches; buffet style with made to order items. Dress code: Resort Day Casual - Shorts or jeans, swimwear must be covered, no bare feet. Dinner: 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm Dinner is a variety of innovative specialties served a-la-carte. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome.
Court Jester's Fire-Oven Pizza
Outdoor dining and snacks Lunch and Dinner: 12:30 pm - 8:00 pm Pizza is the ideal afternoon snack whether you are relaxing poolside or frolicking on the beach. Enjoy customized, thin-crust pies crisped to perfection in a fire oven. Dress code is casual wear including swim wear.
Jade Samurai
Indoor dining, reservations required Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm Serving exotic gourmet specialties from the Far East. Ready for dinner and a show? Enjoy teppanyaki-style, chop-chop entertainment right at your table for 10. Set seating times require reservations. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Moonstone by Dominic
Indoor and alfresco dining, no reservations required Dinner: 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm Both indoor air-conditioned and alfresco dining are available. Those with a yen for Italian food can satisfy their craving at Moonstone by Dominic. The restaurant's namesake brought his passion and old country recipes from Northern and Southern Italy to our Jamaican beach. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Platinum
Indoor dining, no reservations required A la carte Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am Monday - Saturday Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm daily Indulge in the most formal of The Jewel's dining venues. Platinum offers a diverse menu spotlighting fine contemporary Caribbean cuisine and delightful international options. Experience the best white glove service in a romantic and sophisticated setting. Dress code: Resort Elegant - summer or cocktail dress, slacks or skirt and nice top for women. Dress or khaki pants, shirts with sleeves and collars and dress shoes for men. Jackets and ties are not required, but welcome. Jeans or shorts, sleeveless shirts, t-shirts, caps, sneakers or flip-flops are not allowed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelBum
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nov 7, 2012

Ladies Trip

We booked this resort because of it's location and the fact that there were no children at this location. Nothing against the little ones but it's nice to enjoy peace an quite once in a while. Be warned though- most of the people there are couples, but I think that's true for most Jamaican getaways. The location was very nice, our hotel room looked over the mountains and the beach was very close. The staff definitely made this trip incredible. Everyone was very friendly, accommodating and the entertainment staff made sure everyone was having a good time even when the weather wasn't cooperating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

BARTER BARTER BARTER. Never accept first prices offered for anything. They expect you to barter with them and if you accept their first price, you'll end up paying a lot more than you should. Practice your negotiating skills!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby G on the J.O.B.
Atlanta, GA
Sep 15, 2014

Great Value

Food was okay, not terrific, but overall resort, rooms and amenities were generally very nice. Most staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The only beer selection offered (Red Stripe draft) and then served in a plastic glass got old fast - especially since it was often warm and not cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chukka CAT catamaran trip (snorkeling, Dunn's River wet hike, Jerk chicken lunch, and party/booze cruise a must!!! Chukka staff very personable, energetic and fun!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy birthday man
Dallas Tx
Sep 15, 2014

Great Vacation

The resort was extremely enjoyable. large staff that was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin dove, Dunns River Falls and downtown Orcho Rio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sailing ship
New York
Sep 13, 2014

LOVELY ANNIVERSARY TRIP

Wonderful time, even though we went during the rainy season! So there were clouds every day & rain, which didn't last, except for one afternoon. Still able to tan, & BURN though (must remember to re-apply!). Loved the almost constant breeze, that seemed very nearly hurricane-like just before & during the rainstorms. The staff was great, although 2 or 3 of them seemed a little snippy. I certainly wouldn't downgrade their rating though, just cos someone might have been having a hectic day. The room was very nice; my own preference is to have the bathroom amenities closed off & to themselves, but I managed. The food at the Coral Cafe didn't impress me the afternoon we first arrived ( maybe just jet -lag), but it was markedly better when we returned for lunch 2 days later. Breakfast of course was always good, & the 2 casual eateries by the pool were sooo good! The brick-oven pizza was delicious, especially the quattro formaggio. And the cheese burger with french fries was the best I've had in a while at a resort. The 3 specialized restaurants were of course excellent. We ate at the Moonstone twice (Italian), at The Platinum (contemporary Caribbean) on our last night, & the Jade Samurai once. You need reservations for the Jade, & I strongly suggest you give it a try. We had Junior for our hibachi chef, & he was amazing! I'm so glad we had him at our table- amiable, talented, & funny as hell… and our dinner companions were all younger, very nice couples. Oh, I forgot about the scrumptious fried chicken, & the national dish- curried goat. Give them a try, cos they're both wonderful too. The beach & pools were all I'd hoped for. The water was dy-no-mite! I ran in to it after lunch when we arrived, & I was in it every day, for hours at a time until we left. One of the best Caribbean water & beach we've experienced. The drinks were good also, especially the frozen pina coladas. They had 2 nights where dinner was set up outside; one night on the pier, the other out the back of the hotel, by the pool. The staff did super jobs setting up & serving, & all the food was so yummy. Though there were lots of other things to entertain, we only took advantage of listening to the wonderful piano man in the lounge/bar area, & the super house band called Rhampayge. These guys are brilliant musicians, loaded with energy & Jamaican zest for life. I could have watched them play all night, if I wasn't exhausted from the sun & water exercise all day. The guitar man is ace(cos that's the instrument I really dig), but then again, they ALL were. They move from one style of music to another with perfect ease; I wish them the best! Thank you Jewel, for a memorable anniversary vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
klemi
Oak Ridge, tennessee
Sep 8, 2014

Very Nice

This was my 4th stay and this resort is hard to beat for size, all adult, but the staff is what makes this resort stand out to me. I could tell from past trips that some of the food options were not quite as good as in past visits but I was never hungry and dealing with the wonderful staff is what makes this a very special place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Italian restaurant Moonstone was good but serving was small and long wait at table

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Janwe
Brooklyn
Sep 1, 2014

Amazing vacation

Just got back from our Labor Day weekend vacation. Had an amazing time and the jewel, Dunns river hotel. Hotel was beautiful, staff couldn't be better and food was delicious with many options. Doesn't get better than this. Of course the drinks kept coming and coming. Great weekend, will definatley be back!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Blue water hole, ask for Rusty to take you!! Go!!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
aeropg
new york
Aug 23, 2014

incredible experience

The staff at this place was the best. They're very friendly. I had the best room in my opinion lol. Room 4107 this room is located right on the 1st floor with a garden and steps away from the beach and pool. It is right by everything. I did not need to go up and down elevators which was an A+ food was delicious try the jerk chicken wrap. I went to the Italian restaurant and the pizza spot both were good. Book your stay its worth it the hotel has activities everyday and night games by the pool music and even movie nights.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

Ask for 1st floor room in building 4 save you time from going up and down elevators. Not that elevators were packed but I got an incredible experience from being feet away from the beach pool and restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
rattie
Business
new york
Aug 18, 2014

quiet business getaway

my experience was very good, most of the staff were excellent and go above and beyond to help.Special thanks to Mr.Gemar Mc Farlane for his great hospitality and professionalism and making me feel at home.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

A courteous assistant makes dining at the hotel a pleasure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Rudi2014
West PAlm Beach, Florida
Aug 15, 2014

Jamaica Getaway

We had a great time at Jewel Dunn River Falls! The food was wonderful, the hotel staff treated us perfect, even remembered our names by the 2nd day! The Hotel location is about 1 1/2 hours from the airport, but it's really worth it because the best attractions are in Ocho Rios anyway. WE would stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
danlewis740
Adair, OK
Aug 14, 2014

20th Anninversary

Jewel Dunn's River is the nicest resort that we have ever visited. The staff was extremely pleasant and attentive to our every request. If you are looking for a beautiful, comfortable, affordable place to vacation I highly recommend this property. Just realize that this is not a sleepy little resort. "Party" music is constantly playing and there are poolside activities all day every day. You can, however, usually escape the party vibe by going to the beach. The accommodations were good but were not exquisite. Our only complaint is that their definition of adequate air conditioning is not the same as that of a typical American. The result was a room temperature that was constantly a bit "warm" thus only a 4 star rating.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ST23
New Jersey
Aug 13, 2014

Amazing resort

This resort was truly a jewel! There were so many good things about this resort! I have done a lot of traveling and have never been at a resort where the staff is ALWAYS friendly and they will do anything to accommodate you. All of the bars are great and the drink specials are delicious. They will bring you drinks on the beach-Basil and Gairy are great bartenders and sweet people! Brighton is the guy you want to see for hobies and kyack rentals which is all included in the hotel. The resturants are all very good. You can get wood grilled pizzas all day long! The beach resturant is open from 11am to 7am for anyone that stays out late. The other formal resturants are delicious-and you don't have to make reservations which is so nice! The only Resturant you have to make a reservation for is the hibachi Resturant. Go to the blue hole!!! It is so beautiful. Although the hotel does not reccomend it because it's not promoted by the tours. Get a cab and go to the blue hole-1000 times better than Dunn River Falls! We took a cab and was 60 to the hole and then 10 each. You just pay the locals and they take you to the cliff jumps, rope swings, and crystal clear waters! We went with Troy and Hector and they were fun and made the experience great! I really can't say enough about the Jewel. It is a great resort and truly the best staff in Jamaica!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Blue Hole

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search