$460 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 21, 2015 Check-out: Jan 24, 2015

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

4 stars
Box 858 Mamme Bay, Ocho Rios,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
95 reviews
December Getaway

We stayed at the Diamond concierge room, which the pictures online did not give it justice it was... See full review

  • bigred712
  • Dec 8, 2014
Cant wait to get back

Just on the approach to the complex was awsome on arrival was greated by cool drinks and our... See full review

  • Aussie Pete
  • Oct 23, 2014
Colonial decor and a 4-poster king bed topped with hand carved pineapples - a Caribbean symbol of welcome - greet you at the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Hotel in Jamaica. Most accommodations come with a view, either out towards the Ochos Rios peaks or straight across the crystal-blue waters. Butler suites are offered for indulgent walk-in closets, large bathtubs, his and hers robes, and personalized room service. Casual bites are served up in three cafes, including the Coral Cafe, which serves buffet breakfasts and lunches, and where ladies can wear their favorite cocktail dresses for formal evening dining. Jewel Dunn's vast swimming pools, water sports, and a pitch and putt golf course provide plenty of all-inclusive entertainment.
Key facts
  • Accommodations: Mountain and ocean view rooms and suites with butler service
  • Restaurants: Patio Restaurant, The Verandah, Bayside, Eight Rivers, Pool Grill, Veggie Bar
  • Several bars, including Piano Bar
  • Nightclub
  • Golf: 9-hole 'pitch and putt' course
  • 2 swimming pools with swim-up bars and poolside concierge service
  • Room service available 24 hours
  • Radiant Spa, offering massages, facials, and body treatments
  • 3 shops: Treasure Chest gift shop, photo shop, and The Jewel Box
  • Cut fitness center on the verandah
  • Sports: tennis, yoga, Pilates, kickboxing
Neighborhood
Located just to the west of the busy Ochos Rios, the hotel is surrounded by serene beauty just a short distance from the livelier island attractions. As the name suggests, the resort is very close to the world-famous Dunn's River Falls, where guests can climb the rocks and walk among wonderfully cool, gushing waters. Drive five minutes to Dolphin Cove to swim with these bright and friendly mammals, or explore the Seville Great House, a classic colonial English-style property dating back to the 17th century, now part of the Jamaican National Heritage Trust.
Hints and tips
Avid golfer? Guests of the Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort can pay reduced fees at the nearby Runaway Bay Golf Club.

Book your round at the hotel's tour desk, or simply present proof of residency to the golf club to benefit from these discounts.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive Rooms

Premier Guest Room
Generously-sized standard guest rooms with limited views. All rooms have a dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant, Colonial decor and refreshingly tiled floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Mountain View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults Mountain View guest rooms in the Sapphire Tower offer picturesque views of the lush peaks surrounding Ocho Rios. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Emerald Lanai Guest Room
327 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The intimacy of these two-story buildings is perfect for friends and family traveling together, or a wedding party. Located in a tropical garden setting, the ground floor rooms all open to their own outdoor furnished patio; second floor rooms do not have a balcony and overlook the gardens. All rooms are highlighted by a dramatic 4-poster king bed (some of the rooms now feature two double beds) with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tile floors. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Turndown service is offered nightly.
Sapphire Ocean View Guest Room
347 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The sparkle of the Caribbean looks majestic from the private balconies in the Ocean view rooms in the Sapphire building. All rooms have a private balcony, a welcoming 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and refreshing tiled floors. Internet access is wired and available for a modest fee. Your mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, soda, juices and coffee/tea service. Turndown is offered nightly.
Diamond Ocean View Concierge
445 square feet, accommodates 2 adults For a real treat indulge yourself with the personalized service in the Diamond Concierge guestrooms. These spacious rooms offer views of the sparkling Caribbean Sea from a completely private balcony. A dramatic 4-poster king bed with elegant Colonial decor and whirlpool bath welcome guests. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and liquor, with mixers and coffee/tea service. 24-hour room service, plush his and hers robes are just a few more touches. A concierge (available 7 am-10 pm) will assist in special seating for dinners, shopping advice and how best to see Jamaica. Special turndown service available nightly.
1-Bedroom Ocean View Buttler Suite
827 square feet, accommodates 2 adults With stunning ocean views from oversized balconies, these suites are ideal for those wanting to be pampered on their holiday. Enjoy a spectacular 4-poster canopied king bed, elegant mahogany decor, refreshing tiled floors, walk-in closets, an oversized bathroom with dual sinks, enormous whirlpool tub and separate shower, plush robes, slippers, room service and a personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa trip, handling room service and much more. The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.
Honeymoon Haven 1-Bedroom Ocean Front Suite
855 square feet, accommodates 2 adults The 1-bedroom Oceanfront Honeymoon Haven Butler Suites lavish guests with over-the-top pampering and dramatic direct ocean vistas. The bedroom features a magnificent 4-poster canopied king bed, refreshing tiled floors, oversized bath has dual sinks, an enormous whirlpool and separate shower, walk-in closets, plush his and hers robes, slippers, complimentary internet access is wired and your personal butler available for: in-suite check-in, unpacking and pressing, nightly turndown, drawing a scented bath, arranging a Radiant Spa treatment, handling room service and much more.The mini-bar is stocked and replenished with water, beer, wine and a premium liquor package with mixers and coffee/tea service.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free airport shuttle
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Golf
Tennis
Dining
All inclusive
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Free airport shuttle
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Aquamarina Beach Bar & Grill
Outdoor dining and snacks Open all day and overnight: 10:00 am - 7:00 am Snack happily on made-to-order sandwiches, burgers, wraps and cocktails - all without leaving the sandy beach. Aquamarina Beach Grill is open almost 24-hours. Dress code: Bare feet and bathing suits are welcome!
Coral Cafe
Covered patio dining, no reservations required Breakfast: 7:00 am - 10:30 am / Lunch: Noon - 2:30 pm Open air dining with bountiful breakfast and lunches; buffet style with made to order items. Dress code: Resort Day Casual - Shorts or jeans, swimwear must be covered, no bare feet. Dinner: 6:30 pm - 9:30 pm Dinner is a variety of innovative specialties served a-la-carte. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome.
Court Jester's Fire-Oven Pizza
Outdoor dining and snacks Lunch and Dinner: 12:30 pm - 8:00 pm Pizza is the ideal afternoon snack whether you are relaxing poolside or frolicking on the beach. Enjoy customized, thin-crust pies crisped to perfection in a fire oven. Dress code is casual wear including swim wear.
Jade Samurai
Indoor dining, reservations required Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:00 pm Serving exotic gourmet specialties from the Far East. Ready for dinner and a show? Enjoy teppanyaki-style, chop-chop entertainment right at your table for 10. Set seating times require reservations. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Moonstone by Dominic
Indoor and alfresco dining, no reservations required Dinner: 6:30 pm - 10:00 pm Both indoor air-conditioned and alfresco dining are available. Those with a yen for Italian food can satisfy their craving at Moonstone by Dominic. The restaurant's namesake brought his passion and old country recipes from Northern and Southern Italy to our Jamaican beach. Dress code: Resort Evening Casual - Smart evening wear; slacks, skirts or dress shorts and sandals welcome
Platinum
Indoor dining, no reservations required A la carte Breakfast: 8:00am - 11:00am Monday - Saturday Dinner: 6:00 pm - 9:30 pm daily Indulge in the most formal of The Jewel's dining venues. Platinum offers a diverse menu spotlighting fine contemporary Caribbean cuisine and delightful international options. Experience the best white glove service in a romantic and sophisticated setting. Dress code: Resort Elegant - summer or cocktail dress, slacks or skirt and nice top for women. Dress or khaki pants, shirts with sleeves and collars and dress shoes for men. Jackets and ties are not required, but welcome. Jeans or shorts, sleeveless shirts, t-shirts, caps, sneakers or flip-flops are not allowed.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (95)

Ratings and reviews for Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.7
Room comfort:
4.5
Location:
4.2
Value:
4.5

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
bigred712
Business
Washington, DC
Dec 8, 2014

December Getaway

We stayed at the Diamond concierge room, which the pictures online did not give it justice it was amazing! The staff were very friendly, and had a good sense of humor. The food was good. I would love to come back here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

*Remember to pack a nice set of clothes! Some of the restaurants have dress codes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tammyc
Business
Essex
Dec 8, 2014

Great Stay

We had a good stay at Jewel. It did not start great as we were allocated us a room on the first floor on arrival which had a view of palm trees - not the promised 'ocean view' - they said this was still classified as an ocean view but I was not having any of that. We got moved on the next night to the top floor which has the most amazing views. We had concierge but cannot say I knew what to do with them really - the one thing I asked (to organise a late check out) they said it was not something they do. Service was great save that breakfast was always a bit of a lottery whether you got cutlery or a cup for tea/coffee - they did not seem to be able to handle the turnaround of tables that effectively. We were in the diamond building. The staff were fantastic and the food really good - we really loved sitting outside the Italian restaurant by the beach - perfection. The pizza and jerk chicken during the day were also great. The one thing I found odd was the really loud music by the main pool - most people were couples in their 30s + and so probably not really interested in music that loud but you could sit by the quieter smaller pool if you wanted to. Overall had a nice stay and would go back. Top tips:- if you cannot find any sunbeds (they do allow cruise ship passengers to come into hotel on some days so beds not always freely available if you are a bit later down) speak to the lifeguards who will get you some (we did tip them for this), head to the Italian early if you want to sit outside by the beach, get top floor room if you can to get amazing views!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
VeronicaJ
Business
New York, NY
Nov 24, 2014

We loved this place

Location is great - no more than 10 min from Dunn's River Falls and maybe 15 min from downtown Ocho Rios. Staff is wonderful and friendly. Didn't feel pressure to pay for extra things, tip heavily (though we did anyway), or go on excursions (though we did that, too). We were there for our honeymoon, and when they found out they left a heart-shaped plate with "Happy Honeymoon" written in chocolate sauce and a couple of desserts. Very sweet :-) Beach is small but nice. Room was super clean and comfortable...huge comfy bed, flat screen TV, nice sized bathroom, cute balcony. The only thing that keeps it from getting 5 stars is that the food could've been better...not a lot of variety at breakfast, though the omlettes are EXCELLENT, and the buffets were generally underwhelming. But lunch at the outdoor bar is soooo good, and the Japanese steakhouse was really wonderful, too! And for the price, we absolutely could not ask for more. We'd definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
October Bride
Business
Sedalia, Missouri
Nov 21, 2014

Great Honeymoon

Overall our experience was great. The beach was nice and seemed like there were always chairs available to relax in. It was a little shorter than expected so if you like strolling along the beach, you'd have to turn around and go back and forth. The staff was friendly and accommodating and learned the guests names over the week. The resort had shows every night but they didn't start until 9 p.m. so they made for some late nights. The resort offers the non-motorized activities free which was great. They had classes in the mornings to teach people how to sail and after that you could come back and sail whenever you wanted. They also had a pool table and a ping pong table which were two highlight for my husband. We ended up doing the snorkeling through the resort instead of through the outside company and were very happy with the experience. If you have the chance to do the Dunn's River Falls, we would highly suggest it. The food on the resort was good. The fine dinning and Japaneses restaurant were by far the two best places to eat, in my opinion. If you ask my husband he would say the brick-oven pizza was the best food. We were told to get more authentic food with the spice to go off the resort. Due to where our room was (and we picked the basic room) our view overlooked the roof of the building below and the neighboring resort. We were able to see the ocean if we were sitting in one corner of our balcony but only barley. We would have been able to see it better if we were on higher floor but we were on the 1st floor of rooms. Our only complaint was the check-in process seemed a little unorganized. We got off the bus and told to sit down until someone gave you a clip-board. It was at least 15 minutes before we got the clip-board to fill out. Once we did it went smoothly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Make sure you make a reservation when you get there for the Japanese Steakhouse restaurant. We were able to eat there twice because we got our reservation earlier in our stay and then we were on the wait list for later in the week.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Another Honeymooner
Business
Wisconsin
Nov 6, 2014

Great Honeymoon

We were there for our honeymoon October 2014. We have stayed at other all inclusives, but this one was one of the best. The food at the Ala carte restaurants was great and the staff all over the property was amazing. We had some great drinks, played some volleyball and relaxed on the beach...no complaints! I would definitely point out that from our experience this resort is a couples resort. I would not recommend staying there if you are single!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Transfers to and from the resort are included with your stay!! Check out the resort page for more information. It was super easy to hook up with the transfer company when we arrived!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aussie Pete
Business
West Wales
Oct 23, 2014

Cant wait to get back

Just on the approach to the complex was awsome on arrival was greated by cool drinks and our booking in was so quick we was whisked off to our rooms in a magical part in the Lanai Gardens the rooms were very large except for the bathroom but was lovely. It didnt take long before was in a complete chillout mode the staff was fantastic so helpful and friendly and nothing was too much trouble cant wait to go back 10out of 10

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Make sure you see the steel band show

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
XLost
Business
New York
Oct 16, 2014

Small, however great service

Compared to some of the other hotels you can stay at the Jewel Dunn's River is a bit smaller, however has excellent service. The staff does a great job getting to know you, and will go out of their way to make your stay amazing. At first glance you may feel as there may be a lack of activities for the duration of the stay, however the property makes up for this with events, and offsite activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sandiedvs
Business
Northampton UK
Sep 24, 2014

Amazing break!

I have just spent 10 days at this hotel. The staff were amazing there was nothing they would not do for you. We were able to relax in the sunshine and do a few trips out the black river tour was brilliant! We were overlooking the sea which at times could be a little noisy if you wanted an early night. The only downside I found was that the music and games from the main pool interrupted what would have been an extremely peaceful time around the other pool but after a few cocktails you didn't mind quite so much! Overall I would highly recommend this hotel. It was also lovely not to have children around as they are not allowed at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Black River Tour, Bob Marley Tour, Horse riding in the sea.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Happy birthday man
Business
Dallas Tx
Sep 15, 2014

Great Vacation

The resort was extremely enjoyable. large staff that was very nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Dolphin dove, Dunns River Falls and downtown Orcho Rio.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Jewel Dunn's River Beach Resort and Spa - All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bobby G on the J.O.B.
Business
Atlanta, GA
Sep 15, 2014

Great Value

Food was okay, not terrific, but overall resort, rooms and amenities were generally very nice. Most staff were amazingly friendly and helpful. The only beer selection offered (Red Stripe draft) and then served in a plastic glass got old fast - especially since it was often warm and not cold!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Chukka CAT catamaran trip (snorkeling, Dunn's River wet hike, Jerk chicken lunch, and party/booze cruise a must!!! Chukka staff very personable, energetic and fun!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top