$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 20, 2014

Fishermans Point Resort

3 stars
Turtle Beach Road, Ocho Rios, 00
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
36 reviews
NOT FOR THOSE WANTING THE FULL ALL-INCLUSIVE TOURIST NONCENSE.

This trip was the my 3rd trip, I have stayed in an All-inclusive, guest houses, and with... See full review

  • Sunshine Love
  • Mar 31, 2014
Fantastic getaway

This hotel was a great getaway for my fiance and I. It was right across from our favorite place,... See full review

  • PAULINE AND SHANE
  • Jul 21, 2012
Budget friendly Ocho Rios beach resort near shops, Dunn’s River Falls

The budget friendly Fisherman's Point Resort is ideally located for guests wishing to get out and explore the beauty and attractions of Ocho Rios. The resort is just steps from Turtle Beach, where visitors lounge or participate in a variety of water sports. Also within walking distance are shops, restaurants and the Island Village entertainment complex. Just a short drive away is famous Dunn's River Falls, one of the most stunning waterfalls in the world and the island's most popular natural attraction. The resort has a pool, restaurant and bar.

Highlights
  • Charming tropical beach setting
  • Proximity to Dunn's River Falls
  • Short walk to shopping, restaurants
  • Fishing and water sports available
Rooms

The Fisherman's Point Resort is an all-suite facility with 74 one and two-bedroom units. One-bedroom suites feature balconies with ocean or mountain views. Two-bedrooms suites have two terraces and can accommodate five adults or four adults and two children. All suites include air conditioning, kitchenette with full refrigerator, stove and satellite TV with premium channels.

Features

Breathtaking Turtle Beach, the main beach in Ocho Rios, is just steps from the Fisherman's Point Resort. Guests pay a minimal fee to access the beach. The water is usually calm and excellent for swimming. Numerous water sports are available, including kayaking, jet skis, snorkeling and scuba diving. Sun loungers and umbrellas are available for rent, and food and drink are widely available. 

 

Popular excursions can be booked at the Fisherman's Point Resort, including a short trip to Jamaica's most popular attraction, Dunn's River Falls. This is one of the most spectacular waterfalls in world, stretching 1,000 feet high. Visitors climb the falls with a guide, view the spectacle from a terrace or tour the Dunn's River Falls Park and beach.

 

The Fisherman's Point Resort is ideally located within walking distance to duty-free shops, food stores, restaurants and a crafts market. The nearby Island Village has a concert venue for live music, a casino and Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville.

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (68 mi/109 km)
Attractions
  • Coyoba River Garden (2 mi/3 km)
  • Fern Gully (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Dunn's River Falls (3 mi/5 km)
  • Dolphin Cove (3 mi/5 km)
  • White River Valley (eco-adventure park) (6 mi/9.5 km)

 

Business
  • High-speed Internet access in public areas

 

Policies & fees
  • Safety deposit keys are available for the boxes in the room at an additional cost of $3 per day.
  •  The front desk is open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. and the housekeeping service schedule is from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  •  A refundable damage deposit of $50 will be collected at check-in. Check-in is at 3 p.m. and check-out is at noon.
  • Confirmation is required to check-in. Those arriving after 11 p.m. should call 877-211-6313 to make prior arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.4076 -77.1102
Area served
Ocho Rios
Nearby airports
MBJ
Area description
The parish of St. Ann on the North Coast is known as the garden parish because of its great beauty. Its parish capital is the market town of St. Anns Bay. The resort development of this delightful parish, however, is centered around the town of Ocho Rios, known for its striking waterfalls.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fishermans Point Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Fishermans Point Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
The one bedroom suite comes with a queen or a double bed in the bedroom and one or two singles in the living area. It is equipped with a hot and cold bath, A/C, TV, phones and kitchenette facilities.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two bedroom suite comes with a queen or a double bed in the main bedroom and one or two singles in the second bedroom. It is equipped with a hot and cold bath, A/C, TV, phones and kitchenette facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Fishermans Point Resort

Overall score

2.3 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 36
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
2.9
Hotel staff:
3.2
Room comfort:
2.7
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

67% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
m1123
Maryland
Jan 18, 2014

Not worth it

First, I booked this hotel on the fly from my cell phone orbtz app at the Atlanta Airport. I reserved a two bedroom suite for the five of us. When we arrived, I showed the guy at the front desk my confirmation number on my cell phone. He asked for a piece of paper. I told him I didn't have one. He said next time to bring a piece of paper. He said I have these two rooms for you. I asked what had happened to my two bedroom suite? He never answered. He handed me two keys on some stupid key chains. Our rooms were on the third floor with no elevator. The rooms were spacious and clean, but lots of problems. First, no hot water. No phones to be able to call the front desk. The televisions are old CRT models. No remotes. The television in our room turned off if you tried to turn up the volume. The sheets were thread-bare and stained. The pillows did not have regular cotton pillow cases, but those colored, quilted, ruffled ones. So, it made me wonder how many layers of drool were on them. Bathtub had a big rust spot. Hotel had slats for windows. So, very little sound insulation and we were just next to a very loud bar that went on all night. One air conditioner in each room that sort of worked. The swimming pool was freezing. The beach is a long walk. It is a very small swimming area that never gets more than about 2.5' deep. Lots of seaweed. I got stung by a jelly fish. The maid took our towels and never gave us any new ones. Very, very, very disappointed. Not sure why Orbtz even has it on its web page.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J HYL
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
May 28, 2013

Broken Down

This hotel is very run down. The room was dusty, no hot water, poorly working television, rusty tub. Would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adventuring
Greenville, SC
May 30, 2010

Great location and room for the price

Once we changed rooms, we had very nice room with a beautiful view. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adventuring
Greenville, SC
May 30, 2010

Great location and room for the price

Once we changed rooms, we had very nice room with a beautiful view. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
May 3, 2010

clean and the staff was great!!

The location was excellent!! We were close by Dunn's River and other great activites. The staff were kind and helpful. The hotel it self was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
May 3, 2010

clean and the staff was great!!

The location was excellent!! We were close by Dunn's River and other great activites. The staff were kind and helpful. The hotel it self was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jamatraveler
bowie maryland
Apr 1, 2010

A tale of two rooms

When we arrived at the hotel we were given two rooms that were very shabby. The bed linen was so dingy that we did not feel comfortable even sitting. After trying unsucessfully to find another hotel we expressed our displeasure to the staff and were transferred to another set of rooms. There was a remarkable difference in the rooms. It appears that the better rooms are reserved for "squeaky wheels", so if you have the experience with bad rooms feel free to speak to the management. I always wondered how there could be different reviews of the same hotel, now I know!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
jamatraveler
bowie maryland
Apr 1, 2010

A tale of two rooms

When we arrived at the hotel we were given two rooms that were very shabby. The bed linen was so dingy that we did not feel comfortable even sitting. After trying unsucessfully to find another hotel we expressed our displeasure to the staff and were transferred to another set of rooms. There was a remarkable difference in the rooms. It appears that the better rooms are reserved for "squeaky wheels", so if you have the experience with bad rooms feel free to speak to the management. I always wondered how there could be different reviews of the same hotel, now I know!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
london ontario
Mar 24, 2010

Quirky but great

Our unit was a multilevel unit with three balconies, two floors, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was located right next to the dock for the cruise boats. The atmosphere was perfect. Of course it had it's quirks such as no hot water in the morning,three trips by the maintenance guy, once to replace light bulbs, another to deliver toilet paper and lastly to repair a light at 8:00 that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
london ontario
Mar 24, 2010

Quirky but great

Our unit was a multilevel unit with three balconies, two floors, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was located right next to the dock for the cruise boats. The atmosphere was perfect. Of course it had it's quirks such as no hot water in the morning,three trips by the maintenance guy, once to replace light bulbs, another to deliver toilet paper and lastly to repair a light at 8:00 that night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top