$85 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Fishermans Point Resort

3 stars
Turtle Beach Road, Ocho Rios, 00
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.2
out of 5
36 reviews
NOT FOR THOSE WANTING THE FULL ALL-INCLUSIVE TOURIST NONCENSE.

This trip was the my 3rd trip, I have stayed in an All-inclusive, guest houses, and with... See full review

  • Sunshine Love
  • Mar 31, 2014
Fantastic getaway

This hotel was a great getaway for my fiance and I. It was right across from our favorite place,... See full review

  • PAULINE AND SHANE
  • Jul 21, 2012
Budget friendly Ocho Rios beach resort near shops, Dunn’s River Falls

The budget friendly Fisherman's Point Resort is ideally located for guests wishing to get out and explore the beauty and attractions of Ocho Rios. The resort is just steps from Turtle Beach, where visitors lounge or participate in a variety of water sports. Also within walking distance are shops, restaurants and the Island Village entertainment complex. Just a short drive away is famous Dunn's River Falls, one of the most stunning waterfalls in the world and the island's most popular natural attraction. The resort has a pool, restaurant and bar.

Highlights
  • Charming tropical beach setting
  • Proximity to Dunn's River Falls
  • Short walk to shopping, restaurants
  • Fishing and water sports available
Rooms

The Fisherman's Point Resort is an all-suite facility with 74 one and two-bedroom units. One-bedroom suites feature balconies with ocean or mountain views. Two-bedrooms suites have two terraces and can accommodate five adults or four adults and two children. All suites include air conditioning, kitchenette with full refrigerator, stove and satellite TV with premium channels.

Features

Breathtaking Turtle Beach, the main beach in Ocho Rios, is just steps from the Fisherman's Point Resort. Guests pay a minimal fee to access the beach. The water is usually calm and excellent for swimming. Numerous water sports are available, including kayaking, jet skis, snorkeling and scuba diving. Sun loungers and umbrellas are available for rent, and food and drink are widely available. 

 

Popular excursions can be booked at the Fisherman's Point Resort, including a short trip to Jamaica's most popular attraction, Dunn's River Falls. This is one of the most spectacular waterfalls in world, stretching 1,000 feet high. Visitors climb the falls with a guide, view the spectacle from a terrace or tour the Dunn's River Falls Park and beach.

 

The Fisherman's Point Resort is ideally located within walking distance to duty-free shops, food stores, restaurants and a crafts market. The nearby Island Village has a concert venue for live music, a casino and Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville.

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (68 mi/109 km)
Attractions
  • Coyoba River Garden (2 mi/3 km)
  • Fern Gully (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Dunn's River Falls (3 mi/5 km)
  • Dolphin Cove (3 mi/5 km)
  • White River Valley (eco-adventure park) (6 mi/9.5 km)

 

Business
  • High-speed Internet access in public areas

 

Policies & fees
  • Safety deposit keys are available for the boxes in the room at an additional cost of $3 per day.
  •  The front desk is open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. and the housekeeping service schedule is from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  •  A refundable damage deposit of $50 will be collected at check-in. Check-in is at 3 p.m. and check-out is at noon.
  • Confirmation is required to check-in. Those arriving after 11 p.m. should call 877-211-6313 to make prior arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Fishermans Point Resort Rooms

One Bedroom Suite
The one bedroom suite comes with a queen or a double bed in the bedroom and one or two singles in the living area. It is equipped with a hot and cold bath, A/C, TV, phones and kitchenette facilities.
Two Bedroom Suite
The two bedroom suite comes with a queen or a double bed in the main bedroom and one or two singles in the second bedroom. It is equipped with a hot and cold bath, A/C, TV, phones and kitchenette facilities.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fishermans Point Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.4076 -77.1102
Area served
Ocho Rios
Nearby airports
MBJ
Area description
The parish of St. Ann on the North Coast is known as the garden parish because of its great beauty. Its parish capital is the market town of St. Anns Bay. The resort development of this delightful parish, however, is centered around the town of Ocho Rios, known for its striking waterfalls.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (36)

Ratings and reviews for Fishermans Point Resort

Overall score

2 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 36
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.5
Hotel staff:
2.5
Room comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.5
Value:
2.2

36% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PAULINE AND SHANE
ORLANDO
Jul 21, 2012

Fantastic getaway

This hotel was a great getaway for my fiance and I. It was right across from our favorite place, "Ocean Eleven" and we had a spectacular view of the ocean. We will stay here again, very soon.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robbie C
Bronx New York
Feb 1, 2012

birthday trip

the hotel needs moderinization. the furniture was old the matterss was worn, there was no phone in the room. the lay out of the amenities listed did not exist. i did not enjoy my stay. I had to borrow an iron and iron board from house keeping, oly to be told that its a round robin with the iron they only have a few to go around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

best thing its close to town, Dunns River and Dolphin Cove

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamaican Girl
Alexandria, VA
Apr 2, 2010

Jamaica 2010

What I liked about this hotel was the fact that it was spacious. After a long day of swimming and shopping it was great just to relax in the living room and not being in a small hotel room. We also had a balcony and a patio, one with a view of the beach the other a view of the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a nice Jamaican restuarant find Mom's Homesytle Restaurant. For a shorter walk go to Island Plaza (Burger King is located there) and look for Snapper Grill. Snapper Grill offers the best fish you can think of the food is amazing and they cook it while you wait. We went there so much they knew what we wanted as we walk in and it is very cheap compared to everywhere else.

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamaican Girl
Alexandria, VA
Apr 2, 2010

Jamaica 2010

What I liked about this hotel was the fact that it was spacious. After a long day of swimming and shopping it was great just to relax in the living room and not being in a small hotel room. We also had a balcony and a patio, one with a view of the beach the other a view of the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a nice Jamaican restuarant find Mom's Homesytle Restaurant. For a shorter walk go to Island Plaza (Burger King is located there) and look for Snapper Grill. Snapper Grill offers the best fish you can think of the food is amazing and they cook it while you wait. We went there so much they knew what we wanted as we walk in and it is very cheap compared to everywhere else.

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hilfiga
cleve, oh
Mar 22, 2010

My Experience at Fisherman's Point Hotel

I was there because I had a funeral so when I got there I just checked in and left to be with other family members. The reception was so poor I could cryThe room was dirty the dining table was dirty and the front desk person [...] told me bluntly that was the last room a that was it, and although I booked it two weeks before she said that it did not matter. [...] asked her if the next day she could change it when someone checked out and she bluntly said no. I asked for her name to make a report but with being in and out because of the funeral I was in late at night and out early in the morning so I have not called the manager yet. Iwould not recommend that hotel to anyone its just terrible. I could go on and on about this its just that bad, imagine I have to call them for towels, I come in late at night and there is not towels to take a shower, to think that I have to pay for that makes me sick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
hilfiga
cleve, oh
Mar 22, 2010

My Experience at Fisherman's Point Hotel

I was there because I had a funeral so when I got there I just checked in and left to be with other family members. The reception was so poor I could cryThe room was dirty the dining table was dirty and the front desk person [...] told me bluntly that was the last room a that was it, and although I booked it two weeks before she said that it did not matter. [...] asked her if the next day she could change it when someone checked out and she bluntly said no. I asked for her name to make a report but with being in and out because of the funeral I was in late at night and out early in the morning so I have not called the manager yet. Iwould not recommend that hotel to anyone its just terrible. I could go on and on about this its just that bad, imagine I have to call them for towels, I come in late at night and there is not towels to take a shower, to think that I have to pay for that makes me sick.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 21, 2010

Not a cheap trip

Fisherman's point seems like a deal, but it cost us an extra $20 a night to get a room that wasn't next door to the EXTREMELY loud bar next door and the beach is only open when the cruise ships are in, not at night, not at sunrise, not on weekends. It is close to all of the tourist stuff that caters to the cruise ships, but everything is expensive. It was a good thing that we had a kitchen to make some of our meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

General Food Market is about 3 blocks and takes credit cards. Fisherman's village is just a local place and pretty rough, but Lobster Dave's is the best food we had in Jamaica and the people were very nice. Get a deal at an all inclusive instead, you'll save money in the long run.

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Albuquerque, NM
Mar 21, 2010

Not a cheap trip

Fisherman's point seems like a deal, but it cost us an extra $20 a night to get a room that wasn't next door to the EXTREMELY loud bar next door and the beach is only open when the cruise ships are in, not at night, not at sunrise, not on weekends. It is close to all of the tourist stuff that caters to the cruise ships, but everything is expensive. It was a good thing that we had a kitchen to make some of our meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

General Food Market is about 3 blocks and takes credit cards. Fisherman's village is just a local place and pretty rough, but Lobster Dave's is the best food we had in Jamaica and the people were very nice. Get a deal at an all inclusive instead, you'll save money in the long run.

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nitemareinmobay
Houston, Texas
Feb 28, 2010

Disgraceful. Another [...] Ripoff!

What a disgrace! This place is filthy and unsafe. They even allowed people from the street to wander in who were trying to scam you us at the front desk. The front desk was never staffed and when it was they couldn't help us with the simplest of things. The rooms are filthy and the entire complex is in shambles. [...] This truly is the most miserable place I've ever stayed and the whole Mobay scene is auwful. I feel sorry for the Jamaican people but not [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Watch out if you walk anywhere. Desperate people out to scam you including [...] with his Margaritaville. We got sick either from the food or dirty silverware (maybe the glasses). He should stick to making records and if ever there was an excuse [*] -- this is it.

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Nitemareinmobay
Houston, Texas
Feb 28, 2010

Disgraceful. Another [...] Ripoff!

What a disgrace! This place is filthy and unsafe. They even allowed people from the street to wander in who were trying to scam you us at the front desk. The front desk was never staffed and when it was they couldn't help us with the simplest of things. The rooms are filthy and the entire complex is in shambles. [...] This truly is the most miserable place I've ever stayed and the whole Mobay scene is auwful. I feel sorry for the Jamaican people but not [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Watch out if you walk anywhere. Desperate people out to scam you including [...] with his Margaritaville. We got sick either from the food or dirty silverware (maybe the glasses). He should stick to making records and if ever there was an excuse [*] -- this is it.

Back to menu Return to top