$97 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Aug 16, 2015 Check-out: Aug 18, 2015

Fishermans Point Resort

3 stars
View map of Turtle Beach Road, Ocho Rios, 00

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
18 reviews
NOT FOR THOSE WANTING THE FULL ALL-INCLUSIVE TOURIST NONCENSE.

This trip was the my 3rd trip, I have stayed in an All-inclusive, guest houses, and with... See full review

  • Sunshine Love
  • Mar 31, 2014
Quirky but great

Our unit was a multilevel unit with three balconies, two floors, two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Mar 24, 2010

The budget friendly Fisherman's Point Resort is ideally located for guests wishing to get out and explore the beauty and attractions of Ocho Rios. The resort is just steps from Turtle Beach, where visitors lounge or participate in a variety of water sports. Also within walking distance are shops, restaurants and the Island Village entertainment complex. Just a short drive away is famous Dunn's River Falls, one of the most stunning waterfalls in the world and the island's most popular natural attraction. The resort has a pool, restaurant and bar.

Rooms

The Fisherman's Point Resort is an all-suite facility with 74 one and two-bedroom units. One-bedroom suites feature balconies with ocean or mountain views. Two-bedrooms suites have two terraces and can accommodate five adults or four adults and two children. All suites include air conditioning, kitchenette with full refrigerator, stove and satellite TV with premium channels.

Property features

Breathtaking Turtle Beach, the main beach in Ocho Rios, is just steps from the Fisherman's Point Resort. Guests pay a minimal fee to access the beach. The water is usually calm and excellent for swimming. Numerous water sports are available, including kayaking, jet skis, snorkeling and scuba diving. Sun loungers and umbrellas are available for rent, and food and drink are widely available. 

 

Popular excursions can be booked at the Fisherman's Point Resort, including a short trip to Jamaica's most popular attraction, Dunn's River Falls. This is one of the most spectacular waterfalls in world, stretching 1,000 feet high. Visitors climb the falls with a guide, view the spectacle from a terrace or tour the Dunn's River Falls Park and beach.

 

The Fisherman's Point Resort is ideally located within walking distance to duty-free shops, food stores, restaurants and a crafts market. The nearby Island Village has a concert venue for live music, a casino and Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville.

Highlights
  • Charming tropical beach setting
  • Proximity to Dunn's River Falls
  • Short walk to shopping, restaurants
  • Fishing and water sports available
Nearby attractions
  • Coyoba River Garden (2 mi/3 km)
  • Fern Gully (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Dunn's River Falls (3 mi/5 km)
  • Dolphin Cove (3 mi/5 km)
  • White River Valley (eco-adventure park) (6 mi/9.5 km)

 

Business
  • High-speed Internet access in public areas

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (68 mi/109 km)
Policies
  • Safety deposit keys are available for the boxes in the room at an additional cost of $3 per day.
  •  The front desk is open from 7 a.m. to 11 p.m. and the housekeeping service schedule is from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m.
  •  A refundable damage deposit of $50 will be collected at check-in. Check-in is at 3 p.m. and check-out is at noon.
  • Confirmation is required to check-in. Those arriving after 11 p.m. should call 877-211-6313 to make prior arrangements.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Fishermans Point Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.7 out of 5

Fishermans Point Resort Rooms

Two Bedroom Suite-Triple
The two bedroom suite comes with a queen bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the second bdrm. Some bedrooms suites has a loft with a single bed, all equipped with hot and cold water, A/C, ceiling fan in living and dining area, cable TV and kitchen facilities. Located on the 2nd and 3rd floors.
One Bedroom Suite-Triple
The one bedroom suite comes with a queen or a double bed in the bedroom and one or two singles in the living area. It is equipped with a hot and cold bath, A/C, TV, private balcony, and kitchenette facilities. Max Occupancy 3.
Two Bedroom Suite-Quad
The two bedroom suite comes with a queen bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the second bdrm. Some bedrooms suites has a loft with a single bed, all equipped with hot and cold water, A/C, ceiling fan in living and dining area, cable TV and kitchen facilities. Located on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Max Occupancy 5.
One Bedroom Suite-Double
The one bedroom suite comes with a queen or a double bed in the bedroom and one or two singles in the living area. It is equipped with a hot and cold bath, A/C, TV, private balcony, and kitchenette facilities. Max Occupancy 4.
One Bedroom Suite-Quad
The one bedroom suite comes with a queen or a double bed in the bedroom and one or two singles in the living area. It is equipped with a hot and cold bath, A/C, TV, private balcony, and kitchenette facilities. Max Occupancy 4.
Two Bedroom Suite-Double
The two bedroom suite comes with a queen bed in one bedroom and two single beds in the second bdrm. Some bedrooms suites has a loft with a single bed, all equipped with hot and cold water, A/C, ceiling fan in living and dining area, cable TV and kitchen facilities. Located on the 2nd and 3rd floors. Max Occupancy 3.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Fishermans Point Resort

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
18 out of 18
Amenities:
2.3
Cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
2.9
Comfort:
2.4
Location:
3.9
Value:
2.7

50% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sunshine Love
Business
usa
Mar 31, 2014

NOT FOR THOSE WANTING THE FULL ALL-INCLUSIVE TOURIST NONCENSE.

This trip was the my 3rd trip, I have stayed in an All-inclusive, guest houses, and with friends. I loved Fisherman's Pointe, The location was good, close to the store & several food establishments, and entertainment. The Staff was wonderful, their is interned access in the lobby for free, and a small fee for in room access, no phones in room, but I have a cell, and you control when the hot water is on or off. I asked to be moved to the 3rd floor for the view and the beautiful ability to have the air flow through my room. Did not care I had to climb stairs, good for the soul. I set up all my excursions there, and had a cab driver on site or only a phone call away, and it was extremely reasonable. The security may look simple, but I, as a single female traveler, I felt safe & comfortable on site. The beach access is a little walk to the public beach, but I did enjoy the pool. If you are expecting to be waited on, and have everything immediately brought to you......this is not the place for you, dish out the case & stay at one of the huge chains. Enjoy the silliness of the games and family activities. I highly recommend it to the seasoned Jamaican traveler & worth the money

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
m1123
Business
Maryland
Jan 18, 2014

Not worth it

First, I booked this hotel on the fly from my cell phone orbtz app at the Atlanta Airport. I reserved a two bedroom suite for the five of us. When we arrived, I showed the guy at the front desk my confirmation number on my cell phone. He asked for a piece of paper. I told him I didn't have one. He said next time to bring a piece of paper. He said I have these two rooms for you. I asked what had happened to my two bedroom suite? He never answered. He handed me two keys on some stupid key chains. Our rooms were on the third floor with no elevator. The rooms were spacious and clean, but lots of problems. First, no hot water. No phones to be able to call the front desk. The televisions are old CRT models. No remotes. The television in our room turned off if you tried to turn up the volume. The sheets were thread-bare and stained. The pillows did not have regular cotton pillow cases, but those colored, quilted, ruffled ones. So, it made me wonder how many layers of drool were on them. Bathtub had a big rust spot. Hotel had slats for windows. So, very little sound insulation and we were just next to a very loud bar that went on all night. One air conditioner in each room that sort of worked. The swimming pool was freezing. The beach is a long walk. It is a very small swimming area that never gets more than about 2.5' deep. Lots of seaweed. I got stung by a jelly fish. The maid took our towels and never gave us any new ones. Very, very, very disappointed. Not sure why Orbtz even has it on its web page.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
J HYL
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
May 28, 2013

Broken Down

This hotel is very run down. The room was dusty, no hot water, poorly working television, rusty tub. Would not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Meka Got Engaged
Business
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
Nov 29, 2012

Great Couple Location

I enjoyed my stay here. It's in a good location to experience everything fro night life to shopping to entertainment and privacy. However the website needs to be updated because they only have a small number of rooms with King or Queen sized beds and wifi is only available in the lobby of the office and not the rooms. So my expectations were more than what I actually received.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of shopping spots avaiable in walking distance but mae sure that you contact your bank first before you travel so you can have access to your money.

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Robbie C
Business
Bronx New York
Feb 1, 2012

birthday trip

the hotel needs moderinization. the furniture was old the matterss was worn, there was no phone in the room. the lay out of the amenities listed did not exist. i did not enjoy my stay. I had to borrow an iron and iron board from house keeping, oly to be told that its a round robin with the iron they only have a few to go around

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

best thing its close to town, Dunns River and Dolphin Cove

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami
Jul 10, 2010

below average

If you are just looking for a place to stay and don`t care about the presentation then you can lodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Kelly K.
Business
Bay Area, Ca
Jun 22, 2010

Think twice about this one!!

I absolutely love Jamaica and I also loved Ocho Rios but out of the whole trip my stay at Fisherman's Point Resort was the worst! They messed up our reservation, and when they found out they were in error the didn't want to accommodate us. We took a day trip to Negril and when we came back to our room our food that we purchased was stolen and they did not want to be "fully liable" for our stolen goods. There were giant water bugs/roaches in the kitchen. No utensils, the oven didn't work, the bathrooms were rundown and clogged, and the staff was unfriendly. I STRONGLY advise that you think twice about your stay at this hotel/resort. Spend the extra money on a better quality hotel/resort you thank yourself later!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Adventuring
Business
Greenville, SC
May 30, 2010

Great location and room for the price

Once we changed rooms, we had very nice room with a beautiful view. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ocho Rios, Jamaica
May 3, 2010

clean and the staff was great!!

The location was excellent!! We were close by Dunn's River and other great activites. The staff were kind and helpful. The hotel it self was clean and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Fishermans Point Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jamaican Girl
Business
Alexandria, VA
Apr 2, 2010

Jamaica 2010

What I liked about this hotel was the fact that it was spacious. After a long day of swimming and shopping it was great just to relax in the living room and not being in a small hotel room. We also had a balcony and a patio, one with a view of the beach the other a view of the courtyard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are looking for a nice Jamaican restuarant find Mom's Homesytle Restaurant. For a shorter walk go to Island Plaza (Burger King is located there) and look for Snapper Grill. Snapper Grill offers the best fish you can think of the food is amazing and they cook it while you wait. We went there so much they knew what we wanted as we walk in and it is very cheap compared to everywhere else.

Back to menu Return to top