$57 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 25, 2014 Check-out: Jul 28, 2014

White Sands Negril

2 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
61 reviews
Great for the price..!!

Everything was great..! Cheaper price means more $$ for other stuff right? Staff was helpful, clean... See full review

  • smoker901
  • Dec 11, 2013
Unique Hidden Resort

I will not say everything was perfect only because I spotted a lizard in my room..I was a bit... See full review

  • Edible Flower
  • Nov 21, 2012
Family-owned Negril beach hotel seduces visitors with warm hospitality

The historic White Sands Negril hotel attracts guests who prefer the charm of a bed-and-breakfast to a traditional hotel. The resort is located on famed Seven Mile Beach, a playground for water sports, walking or lounging. A quick trip brings guests to Negril's famous cliffs, known for their acrobatic divers, sunsets and hip bars. The hotel's beach bar and grill serves tropical cocktails and jerk chicken. For evening entertainment, clubs featuring live reggae are a short walk away.

Hospitality, ambiance keeps guests returning to Negril beach resort

Highlights
  • Prime location on Seven Mile Beach
  • Close to Negril's famous cliffs
  • Short walk to shopping, restaurants, nightlife
  • Hospitable owner on site
Rooms

The 46 charming rooms and apartments occupy two-story structures are just steps from a stunning Seven Mile Beach. White Sands Negril hotel guests choose from among one-bedroom apartments, deluxe rooms and standard rooms. Some are located beach side, some garden side. All rooms have air conditioning, refrigerators and furnished balconies or terraces. The one-bedroom apartments feature flat-panel TVs in the bedrooms.

Features

The white sand beach just steps from the guest rooms is an idyllic playground for relaxation and recreation. The warm Caribbean waters attract water sports enthusiasts for windsurfing, sailing, kayaking, fishing, parasailing and scuba diving. For more relaxing endeavors, lounge with a book on the beach sun deck or take a casual beach walk for people-watching. The White Sands Negril hotel's Beach Bar & Grill serves jerk chicken platters and budget-friendly fruity libations such as the Blue Bird of Happiness and Caribbean Sky.

 

Only a short drive away are the famous West End cliffs, home to the popular Rick's Café and its famous cliff divers. Parts of the James Bond film "Thunderball" were filmed at this dramatic location. The coves, caves and tide pools beneath the cliffs provide excellent swimming and snorkeling. Chic bars and restaurants built into the cliffs attract crowds for dazzling sunsets.

 

The resort is within walking distance to duty-free shops, boutiques, food stores and craft markets. At night, visit a nearby club such as Alfred's Ocean Palace for live reggae.

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (37 mi/60 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Club (3 mi/4.8 km)
  • Kool Runnings Water Park (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
Business
  • Wireless  Internet

White Sands Negril Rooms

One Bedroom Apt.
All One Bedroom Apartments are located on the beach side of the property on the ground floor and have a garden view. Each apartment has a full kitchen, dining area, living area and bedroom with one double and one single bed. Two day beds in living room. Bedroom has a/c and each unit has a porch. Very spacious apartments. Rooms do not have TVs.
Standard Room Beach Side
All Standard Beach Side rooms are located on the beach side of the proeprty. No ocean view. Each unit has either one double bed or two single beds. a/c and balcony. Units on both the first and second floors. Rooms do not have TVs.
Standard Room Garden Side
All Standard Gardenside rooms are located across the road from the beach. Approx. 1.5 minute walk to beach. These rooms are larger then the Standard Beach rooms. Bedding is either one double or two twin beds. a/c and balcony. All units have a beautiful view of the lush tropical landscaping. Rooms do not have TVs.
Deluxe Room Beach Side
All Deluxe Rooms are located on the beach side of the property on the second floor with a garden view. Vaulted ceilings, ceiling fan, regrigerator, balcony, a/c. Bedding is one double bed and one twin bed. Rooms do not have TVs.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed White Sands Negril also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.2991 -78.3376
Area served
Negril beach.
Nearby airports
Sangster International Airport (MBJ): Approximate driving time is 60 minutes and distance is 60 km (37 miles).
Area description
Negril Hills Golf - 3 miles Negril Lighthouse – 4 miles, YS Falls – 20 miles Mayfield Falls – 25 miles. Royal Palm Reserve - 4 miles

Dining

Restaurant / Dining Information
Informal Beach Bar and Grill serves breakfast and lunch daily. We encourage our guests to sample the plethora of reataurants in Negril. Many are within easy walking distance from our beach. Teh more popular restaurants offer free shuttle service from our lobby area.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (61)

Ratings and reviews for White Sands Negril

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
61 out of 61
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
4.2

84% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smoker901
Minneapolis, MN
Dec 11, 2013

Great for the price..!!

Everything was great..! Cheaper price means more $$ for other stuff right? Staff was helpful, clean rooms and property... However beware that they have two properties one on the beach and one across the street... We booked and the itinerary stated "ON THE BEACH".. when we showed up, they didn't have one available... But, a few days of crossing over the street we walked more then if we stayed on the beach... and it worked out well... found a few hidden gems of restaurants and little "convenience" stores to buy cheaper drinks and snacks than on the beach.. so it work out well... We like trying different places, although I give this one a thumbs-up, next time we will probably move on to another one down the beach....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Find a convenience store off of the beach and purchase your snacks, red strip, and rum....

Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Edible Flower
Negril
Nov 21, 2012

Unique Hidden Resort

I will not say everything was perfect only because I spotted a lizard in my room..I was a bit freaked out from that and just a bit of bug spray to the rooms by the beach.. The staff was great!! Thanks White Sands!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MidwestSwing
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Apr 9, 2012

You get what you pay for!

I have to say overall, the experience was positive except for the last night which was a little scary but i'll get to that later. The room is more like a U.S. motel than a hotel which is to be expected for the rate. We got in late at night which was really creepy since the street and the hotel was not lit up, I would recommend bringing a flashlight. We stayed in a beach side room for the first night but after we went to check in the next morning we switched to the garden side since the room was a lot bigger, the manager was very nice. The room had a weird smell to it at first but after we turned on the air it was ok. The room was neat, a little run down but it wasn't horrible. The beds in the room were comfortable. There was a small refrigerator in the room so we could store drinks which was nice. If you do not plan to go out often at night I would bring some form of entertainment such as cards, IPAD, etc because it gets really quiet at night and there isn't a TV. By far the best thing about the hotel was that it was smack dead in the middle of the beach so we were able to access both ends easily. There are people on the beach selling patties, coco bread, fresh fruit, juice, etc all day which is nice, the food is great and cheap. The food at the restaurant was okay, nothing special but there is great food on the street all day and its really cheap. So those were days 1-5, however the last night turned into a complete nightmare. I'm not quite sure what happened but when we returned to our room the last night after coming from the beach we were greeted by a salamander on the dresser and several huge black cockroach looking bugs which we never saw previously. The bugs seemed to be coming from under one of the beds repeatedly which creeped us out pretty bad so we had a hard time falling asleep the last night. My theory is that the salamander got in while the housekeeper was working because she did leave the doors open while cleaning. As for the bugs, I'm not quite sure because we never ate in the room and was very neat with everything but I guess it was a good thing it didn't happen until the last night. Overall not a bad stay if you are just looking for a place to sleep and plan to spend all day outdoors like we did. Next time I'll definitely try a nicer place/resort for more money. Not bad for a first timer/budgeted trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The town center is about a three minute car ride up the street, if you are interested in buying liquor DO NOT go to the liquor store, go to the grocery store. The owner is a very slick talker and tricked us into paying $43 for what we could have purchased for $29 at the grocery store which I was not happy about, don't fall for it. Also if you are riding locally, don't pay anything over 200J's/$3 or they'll try to get you.

Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leech
Illinois
Jan 13, 2011

Great location, Great price

This was our first beachside vacation (we're used to hiking in the mountains or non-stop site-seeing excursions) and we were not disappointed. The staff at White Sands was helpful in finding things to do, arranging safe and inexpensive ways to get there, and recommending great places to eat (including pointing out which beach vendors had the best fruit or meat patties). We felt very safe at the hotel and were pleased with our room. True, we didn't have a phone or TV in the room, but I looked at that as a bonus! The beds were a bit hard, but that was remedied by putting back a few rum punches at the bar (gotta love those 2 for 1 specials). We were warned before going that the local "peddlers" could be overwelming and even annoying at times, but I found that a polite, "No, thank you", did the trick and they continued on their way. White Sands was in the perfect location for spending a few days lounging on the beach and then taking some time to check out the local sites. One day we walked up the road, rented a Jeep and headed out to the mountains to have a look around. Another day we rented a scooter, drove 30 minutes over to Half Moon Beach for great snorkling and good food, and then jetted back over to the cliffs for a romantic, sunset dinner at LTU pub. For another excursion the hotel helped us a arrange a driver and tour guide who took us out to YS Falls, the Black River tour and Pelican Bar. I would definitely recommend White Sands as a great place to hang your sunhat in Negril!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Half Moon Beach is paradise! Great snorkeling, good food, tasty drinks and quiet beach. It's only a 30 minute scooter ride from Negril or you can enjoy a lunch there during the Wild Thing catamaran excursion.

Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Leech
Illinois
Jan 13, 2011

Great location, Great price

This was our first beachside vacation (we're used to hiking in the mountains or non-stop site-seeing excursions) and we were not disappointed. The staff at White Sands was helpful in finding things to do, arranging safe and inexpensive ways to get there, and recommending great places to eat (including pointing out which beach vendors had the best fruit or meat patties). We felt very safe at the hotel and were pleased with our room. True, we didn't have a phone or TV in the room, but I looked at that as a bonus! The beds were a bit hard, but that was remedied by putting back a few rum punches at the bar (gotta love those 2 for 1 specials). We were warned before going that the local "peddlers" could be overwelming and even annoying at times, but I found that a polite, "No, thank you", did the trick and they continued on their way. White Sands was in the perfect location for spending a few days lounging on the beach and then taking some time to check out the local sites. One day we walked up the road, rented a Jeep and headed out to the mountains to have a look around. Another day we rented a scooter, drove 30 minutes over to Half Moon Beach for great snorkling and good food, and then jetted back over to the cliffs for a romantic, sunset dinner at LTU pub. For another excursion the hotel helped us a arrange a driver and tour guide who took us out to YS Falls, the Black River tour and Pelican Bar. I would definitely recommend White Sands as a great place to hang your sunhat in Negril!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Half Moon Beach is paradise! Great snorkeling, good food, tasty drinks and quiet beach. It's only a 30 minute scooter ride from Negril or you can enjoy a lunch there during the Wild Thing catamaran excursion.

Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NC Browning
WS, NC
Sep 27, 2010

Great Place to Stay

The staff is always friendly. The bartender keeps everyone entertained. The food (only open for breakfast and lunch) is great and reasonably priced, along with the drinks at the bar. My room was very nice. At times I did miss not having a TV but it made me find other ways of entertaining myself, which is sometimes needed. When I really needed my TV fix I just went to the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
NC Browning
WS, NC
Sep 27, 2010

Great Place to Stay

The staff is always friendly. The bartender keeps everyone entertained. The food (only open for breakfast and lunch) is great and reasonably priced, along with the drinks at the bar. My room was very nice. At times I did miss not having a TV but it made me find other ways of entertaining myself, which is sometimes needed. When I really needed my TV fix I just went to the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord, NH
May 20, 2010

Great value

Best location. Directly in middle of 7 mile beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had several great meals at Idle Awhile, just steps from White Sands.

Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Concord, NH
May 20, 2010

Great value

Best location. Directly in middle of 7 mile beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Had several great meals at Idle Awhile, just steps from White Sands.

Review of White Sands Negril

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Washington, DC
Apr 27, 2010

Basic accomodation in a good location

This hotel provides very basic accommodations but in a great location. If you plan to spend most of your time outside of the hotel enjoying the beach and visiting other attractions in the city and just want a good base location on the beach, this is a good value.The hotel itself has no amenities to speak of - it's about as far from an all-inclusive experience as you can get. The hotel restaurant is only open for breakfast and lunch, but the front desk offers free pick-up service for a number of nearby restaurants and there are several other options within walking distance. Bring your own beach towels, snorkeling gear, etc as there is no option to borrow/rent anything from the hotel.The rooms come with beds, a small refrigerator, and a very basic bathroom. Rooms were kept reasonably clean but took ages to cool down between the underpowered A/C unit and gaps in the windows & doors. (Several windows had screens & slats, but no glass)The service wasn't anything to rave about with the notable exception of [...] at the front desk, who was super helpful at several points.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you plan on traveling outside the hotel much, it's worth finding a cab driver you like and trust early on. Rates for cabs are very reasonable, especially if you can make arrangements for one driver to take you to several locations & wait for you.

Back to menu Return to top