$600 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 13, 2015 Check-out: Mar 16, 2015

Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of PO Box 118 Norman Manly Blvd, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
73 reviews
Great for our honeymoon!!!!

My wife and I had an excellent stay. The resort is very unique and enjoyable. The wildlife and... See full review

  • Brandon V.
  • Feb 13, 2015
Relaxing Vacation

The "treehouse" rooms were very clean and had very fancy bathrooms, and nice balcony. Beautiful... See full review

  • Spring break SPED teacher
  • Jan 25, 2015
Escape to tranquil all-inclusive tree house-style enclave in Negril

The chic, all-inclusive and adults-only Sunset at the Palms Resort & Spa reflects the intimacy, tranquility and natural beauty of the Jamaican west coast. The trendy tree house-style guest rooms blend naturally into the tropical flora, a design praised by Architectural Digest. Guests frolic on the resort's five beachfront acres - two miles of white sand beach. 

Relaxation is a featured activity at Sunset at the Palms Resort, the first Green Globe certified hotel in the Caribbean. The scenic, refreshing beach attracts sunbathers, kayakers and snorkelers, while others chill at a swim-up pool bar serving fruity cocktails. The Treatment Garden spa offers mesmerizing massages and facials. Meals are casual, as guests choose from scrumptious buffet and a la carte options. The perfectly situated Jacuzzi, pool and restaurant/bar area are ideal for guests of Sunset at the Palms. Visitors can relax at the chic cabanas, chaise lounges, beach huts and open-air massage areas.

Highlights
  • "Tree house style" lodging praised by Architectural Digest
  • Short walk to stunning white sand beach
  • Buffet and a la carte dining with Jamaican specialties and Asian fusion
  • Beach bar, swim-up pool bar and martini bar
  • Complimentary property-wide high-speed Internet access
Rooms
The 85 "tree house style" non-smoking rooms are situated in charming bungalows nestled within the Sunset at the Palms Resort & Spa's 10-acre tropical gardens. High ceilings, dark wood floors and Asian inspired furnishings create a romantic setting. Suites include platform beds with white linens, colorful throws and intimate verandas with daybeds, perfect for coffee at sunrise or a pre-dinner cocktail. Modern bathrooms and armoire with TV add a cosmopolitan touch to the back-to-nature vibe. Rollaway beds are available upon request. 
Features

Everything about the Sunset at the Palms Resort & Spa stimulates the senses -- and that includes food and drink. Between the lobby martini bar, beach bar and refreshing swim-up pool bar, guests are never far from tropical cocktails or a cold Red Stripe beer. The Palm Breeze Beach Bar & Grill serves jerk-grilled specialties and sandwiches. Enjoy open-air dining at the buffet-style Palm Grove, indulge in Asian-fusion cuisine at the romantic Lotus Leaf and savour authentic local cuisine at Chef's Table "In The Bush".

Water sports enthusiasts relish the surf along the two-mile long crescent beach, located across the street from the resort. Snorkeling is especially popular, as guests marvel at the colorful sea life surrounding Negril's caverns, arches and coral gardens. The Sunset at the Palms Resort & Spa offers equipment for kayaking, sailing and windsurfing.

Amenities on offer at Sunset at the Palms Resort include air-conditioned accommodations, all meals and beverages, Mimosa Hour before dinner service, mini bar stocked daily with bottled water, beer and soda, His and Hers robes for use during stay, nightly turn down service, premium bar offerings, non-motorized water sports, air-conditioned gym with cybex equipment, tennis court, daytime and evening activities, high speed Internet throughout the property, pool  poolside hot tub, and private beach.

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (49 mi/78.8 km)
Attractions
  • Kool Runnings Water Park (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
Business
  • Complimentary high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees

All-inclusive includes accommodations, meals, drinks, on-site entertainment, non-motorized water sports, water park, taxes and tips. Additional fees for spa, optional excursions, airport transfers.

Complimentary tours and excursions include: 

  • Discover Jamaica's flora and fauna on a nature walk with Shorty the resident gardener, duty free shopping at Time Square Plaza, Sunset on the cliffs at Xtabi 
  • Snorkel and swim in the underwater caves or just enjoy the relaxed atmosphere of Jamaica
  • Visit Rhodes Hall Plantation and experience a historical perspective and environmental knowledge, especially on Samuels Bay Marine Park
  • Take a stroll down the private beach with access to the facilities, or participate in additional attractions such as horseback riding and snorkeling for a small fee (10 AM- 2:30PM)

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive Rooms

Tree Top Deluxe Room
Large and airy Tree Top Deluxe Rooms are set amidst the tropical gardens of the resort. High peaked bleached-wood ceilings are graced with a wood-paddle ceiling fan, and large wooden-louvered windows line the walls. Balinese decor of dark-wood flooring, canvas drapes, tapestry pillows, floor mats and bed throws complement the King-sized platform beds. All rooms feature individually controlled air conditioning, armoire with TV with U.S./European cable channels, desk and cushioned chair and direct-dial phones. The sleek, modern bathrooms feature slate tiles, chrome fixtures and glass enclosed showers with four body jets and two showerheads, slate bench with handheld showerhead, and a contemporary basin sink with chrome faucet set on the marble-and-wood counter. The private, weathered-wood veranda features a relaxing daybed and two-chair teak dining set.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Doctor on call
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Lotus Leaf /A la Carte Restaurant
This a la carte restaurant serves delicious international cuisine - a fusion menu with an Asian flair. Open 6:30 pm-10pm.
Palm Breeze Beach Bar & Grill
Open daily from 10am - 6 pm Spending a day at the beach? Delight in an array of simple pleasures - great sandwiches and grilled favourites including Jamaican Jerk specialities, plus a friendly bar staff serving ice-cold Red stripe beer, tropical rum drinks, fresh fruit juices, soft drinks and refreshing smoothies.
Palm Grove Restaurant
An open air dining pavilion for breakfast, lunch and dinner, featuring first-rate, buffet-style Caribbean and international cuisine. Enjoy a variety of themed-buffets accented by fruits and vegetables grown right on the resort's property. Breakfast served 7-10 am, Lunch served 12:30 - 2:30 pm Dinner served 7-10 pm
Martini Lobby Bar
Sip martini made with Jamaican Appleton rum in new Martini Lobby Bar (6-11pm).
Bamboo Bar
OPen daily from 10am-1am. Swin up and enjoy a refreshing cocktail, pull up a seat by the bar or lounge by the pool, all while enjoy an array of your favourite tropical concoctions, juices and an assortment of beverages.
In The Bush
Chefs Table In The Bush dinner 6:30pm-9pm The Executive Chef features authentic local cuisines. Open select evenings.
Coffee Bar
Coffee Bar daily 7am-10pm choose from an amazing array of freshly brewed coffee concoctions. Delight in a rich texture cappuccino, get your day started with a full flavored espresso or simply enjoy Jamaicas freshly brewed Blue Mountain Coffee; noted as one of the best in the world.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (73)

Ratings and reviews for Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville
Aug 3, 2009

Outstanding Resort

The staff at SATP were the most gracious, welcoming and accommodating people we have ever encountered during any previous vacation. The food was consistently good (especially the breakfast and beach grill). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It felt like you were staying in a lush garden. The beach and water were beautiful. My wife and I had a wonderful 10 year anniversary at SATP and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing,quiet and romantic vacation. We are very glad we made the decision to stay at Sunset at the Palms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jamaramerican
Business
Atlanta
Jul 23, 2009

Great Place to relax

The resort was very nice, clean, and quiet. The beach was not nice or clean, it could use lots of improvements, plus it was across the street and only open from 7am to 7pm so forget about seeing the sunset or walking on the beach at night.. The food was just ok ..nothing to write home about. The same breakfast buffet was served everyday and was always cold. Lunch on the beach was good when they didn't run out. Dinner was just ok ..nothing special. The entertainers at night were not good...that had the same band 3 nights in a row. The servers were slow ..It always took to long to get a drink at the pool bar and it really should not have. The resort only had about 50 people in it while we stayed there. Go somewhere else. Next time I will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into Negril and have dinner at the Rock House. The food was awesome ...and you can watch the sunset while having dinner...get there by 5:30 for the best seats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmville, VA
Jul 20, 2009

Paradise

This was our second time staying at this hotel. The first time we got married there so some of the staff remembered us. It was great! We were treated like family and the bartenders are halarious. I always love the beautiful gardens that are kept so well groomed. It's very private and laid back (you choose what and when you want to do something). I would recommend this resort to any travel wanting a relaxing and carefree vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was great. Every night there was a different theme. There were two dining areas. One was for guests that wanted a more casual dining experience and the other was for the guests that wanted to dress it up a bit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 16, 2009

Fabulous Find

We were staying here during a business/vacation trip for a week and wanted a quiet, all-inclusive with good food and great service. This hotel certainly exceeded our expectations. The rooms, two to each elevated cabin structure scattered among a jungle-like setting, were very private and large with an extremely comfortable king bed and multi-head shower. Each had a comfortable balcony, great AC and multiple channel tv,including HBO, etc. If you appreciate nature, you'll enjoy the sounds of the frogs at night and the birds in the morning...they're so relaxing.As far as food, I've been to other all-inclusive resorts in Jamaica and the quality of the meals at this resort was beyond superior with an extensive breakfast served every day, special theme nights at the buffet and a consistently excellent menu at the a la carte restaurant. They also had a grille across the street at the beach with great burgers and sandwiches. Lastly, there were tasty tea sandwiches and cookies served around 5 pm at the pool.What impressed me most, above and beyond all of those other great assets, was the amazing staff. I have never been to a resort where the staff was not only efficient but also genuinely friendly, especially at an all inclusive where they're not guaranteed tips. The entire staff always smiled and enthusiastically fulfilled every request. The waiters were very accommodating and the bartenders were very friendly. My fiance and I had memorable experiences with [...], [...], [...] and [...] (a food/bev manager at the resort) -- they truly elevated our overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to go to the a la carte restaurant at the hotel. It's open Tues/Thurs/Sat/Sun. I know that the limited hours may be a turnoff to some, but believe me, it's worth the wait, proving its quality is better than the quantity served at other all-inclusive resorts. The menu includes some divine dishes...the pork, beef and lamb being terrific. If you want something a bit different, try the Rock a short drive away...not only could you watch people dive off the rocks, but they had great grilled lobster and a very well priced wine list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 11, 2009

Honeymoon

For an all-inclusive, this place is small and intimate, making the service more personal and attentive. The rooms and grounds are beautiful, although the room is a bit small and the bathroom door is basically transparent. Food and drink are delicious, but to have it brought to your room is an additional cost. They do have a small private beach which is great (food/drink by the beach also very good). All in all a great place to spend a romantic week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marth.
Business
Negril, Jamacia
Jul 4, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Staff was very nice. The room was terrible, hot, air conditioner was "hit and miss", very poor lighting in room and bathroom, we were always running out of hot water, no refrigarator in room or coffee maker. Only 2 places on campus to eat (buffet, and restaurant which was only open on select nights with the same menu every night) would not ever think about returning!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
40 somethings on their 10th anniversary
Business
Kent, Ohio
Jun 19, 2009

Most relaxing vacation ever

My wife and I really loved this resort. It was very secluded and small (in comparison to most resorts). Though many people don't know this, Negril, Jamaica, doesn't allow hotels, or businesses of any kind for that matter, to be built taller than the highest palm tree.Sunset at the Palms has 80 or so tree house type cottages, each with a veranda and day bed, and surrounded by the most beautiful flower and fauna you will ever see! The grounds are absolutely amazing and we grew to love them more and more as the days went on (we stayed at the resort for 10 days). The rooms were really nice - Jamaican + Bali-esque. The food and service were out of this world. All authentic Jamaican with some Asian-flare and FRESHLY prepared. The Palm Grove restaurant had frest fruit with every breakfast - and I mean fresh - unlike you have ever tasted (mango, melon, papaya) - there were always the staples - bacon, scrambled eggs, rice, steamed vegetables, fresh omlettes, and best of all; Porridge. The cornmeal porridge was out of this world! Lunch and Dinners were excellent as well. They also have a fancier restaurant that is open on Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday for dinner - don't miss it - excellent food as well (be sure to try the Lamb and Pork dish here). Oh, by the way, [...] is the bomb at taking care of you in the Palm Grove![...], [...] and [...] will keep you entertained at the bar and make excellent drinks. Don't forget to try the Dirty Banana: Overproof rum, 1/2 fresh banana, coffee liquor, cream, and I think more rum (dark). Tastes amazing! Entertainment was excellent with bands at the pool bar and a pianist in the martini lounge. Their was an excercise professional that did activities three times a day and she was excellent (ie. water aerobics, brisk beach walks, stretching, etc.). The Jamaican people with their rich culture are the most genuinely nice people I have met. Sure, some may solicit you with their wares and such, but, you can just simply say "no" if you're not interested. We loved and purchased a couple of wood carvings and paid what the Jamaican gentleman was asking - it was well worth it. Also, be sure to listen to and tip the singers that come on the beach. We are music lovers and were amazed at some of the talent. We loved this vacation and will go back to this same resort again. As a matter of fact, it has made us look harder at resorts that are smaller and more secluded than the MEGA resorts that we have visited in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Well, not really a short drive (about an hour and a half). Go with Garry, a Sunset at the Palms driver, to Mayfield Falls. It is much better than Dunns River - less packed and really beautiful. Check out the shops around here and especially the wood carvings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jun 4, 2009

quiet and peaceful

We loved it! Wish we never had to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Itching to go back
Business
Virginia
May 31, 2009

Great romantic getaway!

We just got back from a week at the Sunset at the Palms. It wasn't long enough! This vacation has all of our previous ones beat. The hotel caters to couples of all ages but younger couples who need a lot of activity will not like it there. The atmosphere is quiet, peaceful, relaxed. Although the hotel has entertainment every evening but it is not a party place. You can easily meet other people and hang out or just spend romantic time with your significant other. The beach is small and is located across the street - no problem, mon. The walk took literally 2 minutes and a guard will stop traffic for you if want to cross. The hotel is very small which was something we were looking for, and it was nice to meet up with guests at breakfast, dinner, the beach, or even on excursions outside of the hotel. The food (buffet style) was good. They tried very hard to provide something everybody will like. Which is harder in a small hotel than in a mega resort. Every night was a different "theme" night (i.e. BBQ, Caribbean Night, Seafood, etc.) The a la carte restaurant was delicious. It is open, Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday. One word of advice --- Mosquitos were horrendous - take some bugspray. We went through an entire bottle of it in a week! The entire experience was a great one for us. We will definitely go back to Jamaica and if we go to Jamaica, Sunset at the Palms will be the place for us. Nothing else will do. We highly recommend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChrisAdventure
Business
Detroit Metro Area, Michigan
May 24, 2009

Great Experience - Attentive Staff

Sunset at the Palms (SATP) in Negril was a unique opportunity for my wife and I to enjoy an intimate escape without feeling like we were among 1,000s of other people. The resort only has about 65 total rooms and is spread out over 10 acres. The laid back atmosphere and attentive staff made our all inclusive experience more memorable. The impeccable landscaping and flora create an atmosphere which is more relaxing and unique among other common all inclusive hotels in the area. We enjoyed the sandy beach of Bloody Bay (a bay which is about 3 miles in length where two Riu resorts and Couples resort was located), non-motorized water sports (kayaking and snorkeling), sun bathing, beach bar/grill, and the opportunity to schedule an short excursion to Booby Cay (an island just off the bay) so we could snorkel along a shallow reef area. The fitness center was well equipped and outfitted - all new Cybex machines will support upper and lower body conditioning. Plus, the exercise area was air conditioned with TV. This is very beneficial considering the temps rarely drop below 70's at night and are 80's by day. It was also open throughout the day to accommodate anyone who wants to work off the extra calories you'll likely consume during your stay. I would strongly recommend taking the Y S Falls and Black River excursion which also takes you to the Appleton Rum Distillery. It is a great opportunity to see more of the southwest portion of the island and learn more about the people of the island nation of Jamaica. Did you know that ALL of Appleton Rum is distilled at its distillation location in Jamaica - St. Catherine's Parrish on the SW part of the island? 14,000 liters per day (about 3,700 gallons per day at 3.79 liters per gallon). The rum is bottled in Kingston but the entire distillation process occurs at a single location. In my opinion, Appleton Rums have no equivalent when it comes to sipping - period. (This is not a paid endorsement - I'm simply presenting my educated/experienced opinion). The staff members at SATP were always willing to extend a helping hand. We enjoyed the buffet which featured different themes each night and offered something for everyone. Dinner was always by candlelight and featured white linen tablecloths. The deserts were incredible and would tease the pallet in so many ways... BTW...the three bars always poured drinks with MORE than adequate alcohol and would allow you to sample any tiki drink your heart ever desired. Red Stripe is always on draft wherever you go...I think you get the idea…enough said. This is a great resort for couples and small groups. This is not a resort for children as there are no structured activities or services for them. After considerable research, Orbitz provided the lowest price and the most complete information about this resort option. If you are looking for a tranquil getaway...this is definitely the right choice if you are looking to find a Jamaican escape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The entertainment at the hotel is enjoyable and introduces you to some of the Jamaican culture. However, I would recommend that you experience some nightlife at Ricks too.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top