$343 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 15, 2015 Check-out: May 18, 2015

Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of PO Box 118 Norman Manly Blvd, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
73 out of 73
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4.1
Value:
4.2

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Louisville
Aug 3, 2009

Outstanding Resort

The staff at SATP were the most gracious, welcoming and accommodating people we have ever encountered during any previous vacation. The food was consistently good (especially the breakfast and beach grill). The rooms were very clean and comfortable. It felt like you were staying in a lush garden. The beach and water were beautiful. My wife and I had a wonderful 10 year anniversary at SATP and would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxing,quiet and romantic vacation. We are very glad we made the decision to stay at Sunset at the Palms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Jamaramerican
Business
Atlanta
Jul 23, 2009

Great Place to relax

The resort was very nice, clean, and quiet. The beach was not nice or clean, it could use lots of improvements, plus it was across the street and only open from 7am to 7pm so forget about seeing the sunset or walking on the beach at night.. The food was just ok ..nothing to write home about. The same breakfast buffet was served everyday and was always cold. Lunch on the beach was good when they didn't run out. Dinner was just ok ..nothing special. The entertainers at night were not good...that had the same band 3 nights in a row. The servers were slow ..It always took to long to get a drink at the pool bar and it really should not have. The resort only had about 50 people in it while we stayed there. Go somewhere else. Next time I will.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go into Negril and have dinner at the Rock House. The food was awesome ...and you can watch the sunset while having dinner...get there by 5:30 for the best seats.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Farmville, VA
Jul 20, 2009

Paradise

This was our second time staying at this hotel. The first time we got married there so some of the staff remembered us. It was great! We were treated like family and the bartenders are halarious. I always love the beautiful gardens that are kept so well groomed. It's very private and laid back (you choose what and when you want to do something). I would recommend this resort to any travel wanting a relaxing and carefree vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food was great. Every night there was a different theme. There were two dining areas. One was for guests that wanted a more casual dining experience and the other was for the guests that wanted to dress it up a bit.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Orleans, LA
Jul 16, 2009

Fabulous Find

We were staying here during a business/vacation trip for a week and wanted a quiet, all-inclusive with good food and great service. This hotel certainly exceeded our expectations. The rooms, two to each elevated cabin structure scattered among a jungle-like setting, were very private and large with an extremely comfortable king bed and multi-head shower. Each had a comfortable balcony, great AC and multiple channel tv,including HBO, etc. If you appreciate nature, you'll enjoy the sounds of the frogs at night and the birds in the morning...they're so relaxing.As far as food, I've been to other all-inclusive resorts in Jamaica and the quality of the meals at this resort was beyond superior with an extensive breakfast served every day, special theme nights at the buffet and a consistently excellent menu at the a la carte restaurant. They also had a grille across the street at the beach with great burgers and sandwiches. Lastly, there were tasty tea sandwiches and cookies served around 5 pm at the pool.What impressed me most, above and beyond all of those other great assets, was the amazing staff. I have never been to a resort where the staff was not only efficient but also genuinely friendly, especially at an all inclusive where they're not guaranteed tips. The entire staff always smiled and enthusiastically fulfilled every request. The waiters were very accommodating and the bartenders were very friendly. My fiance and I had memorable experiences with [...], [...], [...] and [...] (a food/bev manager at the resort) -- they truly elevated our overall experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to go to the a la carte restaurant at the hotel. It's open Tues/Thurs/Sat/Sun. I know that the limited hours may be a turnoff to some, but believe me, it's worth the wait, proving its quality is better than the quantity served at other all-inclusive resorts. The menu includes some divine dishes...the pork, beef and lamb being terrific. If you want something a bit different, try the Rock a short drive away...not only could you watch people dive off the rocks, but they had great grilled lobster and a very well priced wine list.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Jul 11, 2009

Honeymoon

For an all-inclusive, this place is small and intimate, making the service more personal and attentive. The rooms and grounds are beautiful, although the room is a bit small and the bathroom door is basically transparent. Food and drink are delicious, but to have it brought to your room is an additional cost. They do have a small private beach which is great (food/drink by the beach also very good). All in all a great place to spend a romantic week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Marth.
Business
Negril, Jamacia
Jul 4, 2009

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

Staff was very nice. The room was terrible, hot, air conditioner was "hit and miss", very poor lighting in room and bathroom, we were always running out of hot water, no refrigarator in room or coffee maker. Only 2 places on campus to eat (buffet, and restaurant which was only open on select nights with the same menu every night) would not ever think about returning!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
40 somethings on their 10th anniversary
Business
Kent, Ohio
Jun 19, 2009

Most relaxing vacation ever

My wife and I really loved this resort. It was very secluded and small (in comparison to most resorts). Though many people don't know this, Negril, Jamaica, doesn't allow hotels, or businesses of any kind for that matter, to be built taller than the highest palm tree.Sunset at the Palms has 80 or so tree house type cottages, each with a veranda and day bed, and surrounded by the most beautiful flower and fauna you will ever see! The grounds are absolutely amazing and we grew to love them more and more as the days went on (we stayed at the resort for 10 days). The rooms were really nice - Jamaican + Bali-esque. The food and service were out of this world. All authentic Jamaican with some Asian-flare and FRESHLY prepared. The Palm Grove restaurant had frest fruit with every breakfast - and I mean fresh - unlike you have ever tasted (mango, melon, papaya) - there were always the staples - bacon, scrambled eggs, rice, steamed vegetables, fresh omlettes, and best of all; Porridge. The cornmeal porridge was out of this world! Lunch and Dinners were excellent as well. They also have a fancier restaurant that is open on Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday for dinner - don't miss it - excellent food as well (be sure to try the Lamb and Pork dish here). Oh, by the way, [...] is the bomb at taking care of you in the Palm Grove![...], [...] and [...] will keep you entertained at the bar and make excellent drinks. Don't forget to try the Dirty Banana: Overproof rum, 1/2 fresh banana, coffee liquor, cream, and I think more rum (dark). Tastes amazing! Entertainment was excellent with bands at the pool bar and a pianist in the martini lounge. Their was an excercise professional that did activities three times a day and she was excellent (ie. water aerobics, brisk beach walks, stretching, etc.). The Jamaican people with their rich culture are the most genuinely nice people I have met. Sure, some may solicit you with their wares and such, but, you can just simply say "no" if you're not interested. We loved and purchased a couple of wood carvings and paid what the Jamaican gentleman was asking - it was well worth it. Also, be sure to listen to and tip the singers that come on the beach. We are music lovers and were amazed at some of the talent. We loved this vacation and will go back to this same resort again. As a matter of fact, it has made us look harder at resorts that are smaller and more secluded than the MEGA resorts that we have visited in the past.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Well, not really a short drive (about an hour and a half). Go with Garry, a Sunset at the Palms driver, to Mayfield Falls. It is much better than Dunns River - less packed and really beautiful. Check out the shops around here and especially the wood carvings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
florida
Jun 4, 2009

quiet and peaceful

We loved it! Wish we never had to leave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Itching to go back
Business
Virginia
May 31, 2009

Great romantic getaway!

We just got back from a week at the Sunset at the Palms. It wasn't long enough! This vacation has all of our previous ones beat. The hotel caters to couples of all ages but younger couples who need a lot of activity will not like it there. The atmosphere is quiet, peaceful, relaxed. Although the hotel has entertainment every evening but it is not a party place. You can easily meet other people and hang out or just spend romantic time with your significant other. The beach is small and is located across the street - no problem, mon. The walk took literally 2 minutes and a guard will stop traffic for you if want to cross. The hotel is very small which was something we were looking for, and it was nice to meet up with guests at breakfast, dinner, the beach, or even on excursions outside of the hotel. The food (buffet style) was good. They tried very hard to provide something everybody will like. Which is harder in a small hotel than in a mega resort. Every night was a different "theme" night (i.e. BBQ, Caribbean Night, Seafood, etc.) The a la carte restaurant was delicious. It is open, Saturday, Sunday, Tuesday and Thursday. One word of advice --- Mosquitos were horrendous - take some bugspray. We went through an entire bottle of it in a week! The entire experience was a great one for us. We will definitely go back to Jamaica and if we go to Jamaica, Sunset at the Palms will be the place for us. Nothing else will do. We highly recommend it!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Sunset at the Palms Resort and Spa All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
GA
May 24, 2009

Sunset at the Palms

Fun filled Relaxing stay here it was a perfect getaway. The Bartenders were excellent....At check-in you get an ICE cold towel and a glass of fruit punch...Very Very nice :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Bring Bug Spray...We sprayed the doors and windows with the bug spray before dinner...the mosquitoes can get quite bad....Also wear jeans and shoes to dinner so you don't get ate up at night.....other than that...nothing really....The taxis outside the hotel are cheaper than the hotel to take you to downtown or wherever....bargain with them....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top