$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 24, 2015 Check-out: Jul 27, 2015

Samsara Resort

3 stars
View map of West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
107 reviews
amazing trip

I had a great time at the resort. It's beautiful grounds and cliffs were breathtaking. There's many... See full review

  • palma H.
  • Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Property features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

2.8 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 107
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.1
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
3.8
Value:
3.1

59% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
palma H.
Business
N/A
Apr 13, 2015

amazing trip

I had a great time at the resort. It's beautiful grounds and cliffs were breathtaking. There's many nearby entertainment like Rick's. My room was cleaned everyday, and the staff was helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
william g.
Business
bristol
Dec 31, 2014

they charge extra for everything

beautiful place on the cliffs but the nickel and dime you for everything . internet in your roo is 14 $ for 24 hrs 38$ a week. staff not friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

nice but not cheap

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
six two
Business
Ohio
Jul 25, 2014

My stay at Samsara 2014

I have been staying at Samsara since 1995 my first time in Jamaica. It seems to have gone down over the years. I will not stay there again. And to charge for everything is crazy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lsmitty53 in Baltimore
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 9, 2014

Birthday Present turns to NIGHTMARE!!!

i would strongly advise to not expect to get what is advertised. No in room Wi-Fi. Customer service nearly non-existing, basic items had to repeatedly request, requested follow-up by staff nearly never done. Request to speak to Mgr was rejected and I was not allowed to speak to the mgr who was there. I was ignored and not the only visitor to have problems with them at same time. I chose to spend my birthday weekend with them and instead of at least being pleasant I was grateful to leave. Will contact dept of tourism for Jamaica, and report to approiate authorities for our country. If you are looking for something pleasant to remember I advise not to stay at this location. My age 57years. and have completed a lot of international traveling. But as I said was not allowed to speak to the owner (who lives on site) or any manager at all, and was intentionally ignored when a direct request was made repeatedly. Truth and honesty should always be first and someone in authority should be available to answer a visitor who was staying with them. God bless all who has the patience and courage to read this honest and truthful review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Beware hotel specials that sounds to good to be true. and never expect to get everything that is in ads that you read online. Always find a way to spend a little more so you will at least be treated civil and you might get what you are promise.

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ro2013
Business
California
Nov 13, 2013

Amazing view but...

Breathtaking cliff and sunset view are the best part of this hotel. Internet was down 3 out of 4 days I stayed there. Room was clean, however I did find a couple of bugs in the room and bathroom. Ocean view: I paid for it but they gave me an ocean front view but was obstructed with trees that made it hard to see any ocean. Bed mattress was too firm. Restaurant food was good but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rick's Cafe is an amazing place to relax and enjoy amazing cliff divers and sunset view!

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tracyml
Business
Milwaukee
Feb 4, 2013

Disappointed

I was really disappointed with this hotel. I travel a great deal, and by far this was my worst. The food was not good, it's not for a person that wants to be around some action or other sites. The place needs updating. The pool furniture was old and run down, I wouldn't even sit on it. The lighting in the bathroom was horrible and one day it took until 4pm to get fresh towels. I asked for some extras and I received only 1 towel. And mosquitoes were constantly in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
temp1
Business
Texas
Dec 29, 2011

Beautiful view

The cliff view was gorgeous, and being able to jump off the cliffs is an experience you must try. However, do not take the garden view room. It really is not a garden - more like an unkept backyard with chickens that wake you up in the morning. The upgrade to the ocean view is well worth it. Your stay will be more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nativelady
Business
United States
Oct 28, 2011

exploring Jamaica

I stayed at Samsara for a few days into my trip. Staff was very friendly and helpful, cliffs were beautiful. Few local shops around the resort, i'd suggest eating at Choices, or on down the street to local street vendors. I stayed in the garden side of the resort and it was amazing. The view was lovely, porch was peaceful and I LOVED the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you arent all-inclusive at this resort, then I definitely wouldnt eat at Samsara. The restaurants and street smoker a few steps away is half the price, real Jamaican food, and have many cool stories to tell!

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 19, 2011

Not what i was expecting :(

Wow! it was not at all what i had expected. Frist off i paid extra for an ocean view room, and i got a few of trees! The A.C. didn't work, the t.v.remote was taped together.The front desk closed and open between the hours of 8am-11pm. Their towels were old, and they seem to have a shortage on towels and etc. when i was moved into another room for A.C. purposes, the view was no better from the second room. Don't know why they call it an Resort, because it felt like a motel-an OLD MOTEL!Some of the front desk help had attuide, and seem offended when asked for a extra face towels. The Only thing i can say that was good about the "motel" is once you were at the pool area the view was REMARKABLE. However, i've been to jamaica serval times over, and i can see a remarkable view anywhere. The cable went out and was never restored.Sorry to say Samsara SUCKED!:( never again will i stay at Samsara... When compare to my other visits and hotel stay, Samsara was the worst i've ever experience in jamaica. i still enjoy(ed) myself, because i only used the "motel" for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 19, 2011

Not what i was expecting :(

Wow! it was not at all what i had expected. Frist off i paid extra for an ocean view room, and i got a few of trees! The A.C. didn't work, the t.v.remote was taped together.The front desk closed and open between the hours of 8am-11pm. Their towels were old, and they seem to have a shortage on towels and etc. when i was moved into another room for A.C. purposes, the view was no better from the second room. Don't know why they call it an Resort, because it felt like a motel-an OLD MOTEL!Some of the front desk help had attuide, and seem offended when asked for a extra face towels. The Only thing i can say that was good about the "motel" is once you were at the pool area the view was REMARKABLE. However, i've been to jamaica serval times over, and i can see a remarkable view anywhere. The cable went out and was never restored.Sorry to say Samsara SUCKED!:( never again will i stay at Samsara... When compare to my other visits and hotel stay, Samsara was the worst i've ever experience in jamaica. i still enjoy(ed) myself, because i only used the "motel" for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top