$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 14, 2014

Samsara Resort

3 stars
West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
90 reviews
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great staff and location!

Love the staff and location! Food is good, although nothing special. See full review

  • Kybug
  • Feb 23, 2014
Oceanfront vacation “on the rocks” at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Café (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.2727 -78.3669
Area served
Negril, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay – Donald Sangster International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located on Negril’s West End Road nestled atop low cliffs with direct sea access to crystal clear lagoons and coves. This area offers outstanding privacy and a tranquil setting commanding spectacular Caribbean views of sea and sunset. Area Location - Downtown Negril - 1.5 km / Rick's Café (cliff jumping, dancing) - 1.5 km / Negril Lighthouse - 2 km / Negril River - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville - 4 km / Negril Hills Golf Club - 16 km / Negril Royal Palm Reserve - 17 km / Horseback riding – 40 km / YS Falls – 56 km / Mayfield Falls - 72 km / Appleton Rum Factory - 80 km / Bamboo Avenue – 96.5 km / Black River – 120 km / Dunn’s River Falls – 145 km / Dolphin Experience – 145 km / Blue Mountains – 289 km.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
12 out of 90
Amenities:
3.4
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
4.3

83% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teeeeee
Business
Wilmington, DE
Nov 25, 2012

7 Stays

This is our seventh trip to Samsara and they seem to have improved something on the property every time we return. The location is excellent- a short walk or taxi to all the negril hotspots. The new restaurant on the property is wonderful- menu and staff! The only complaint would be the bar staff at both Samsara and Legends were not very personable. We were not all inclusive- and we were tipping- yet they seemed to be bothered all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

ALWAYS agree on a price with the taxi driver before you get into the car. Use the taxi price guide on the front desk as a guide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ppimentel90
Business
New Jersey
Mar 20, 2012

Relaxing time in Jamaica

A group of friends and I went to Jamaica for spring break this year and we stayed at the Samsara Resort. The resort itself was nothing out of the ordinary but the people that we met there including the staff is what made our trade worthwhile. The food there is not five star but it feels like a great home cooked meal. It is mostly buffet style if you stay and pay all inclusive. I would 100% recommend this to anyone and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle
Aug 30, 2010

Great Value for your Buck

Overall Staff was great and handy all the time. Loved the location and view. Cant complain about anything other than the occasional bug in the room. But that was to be expected in Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love JA
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jun 5, 2010

Samsara no no "SamSorry"

This was the worst hotel (motel)I have ever stayed, my daughter's graduation gift and it was aweful, no towels in the room, you have to take the dirty towels to the front in order to get clean ones, the towels are like brillo against your skin, this hotel needs major renovation, while I was there my television went dead, the worst vacation ever and I travel to Jamaica four times yearly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would not recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C-burt
Business
new york, ny
May 17, 2010

samsara

The resort is gorgeous. The staff was very helpful and attentive. I would consider coming back again. Everything was perfect, and the food was good. The amenities in the room were very minimal. I was hoping there would be shampoo and stuff. I think the gift shop closed too early considering it's hard to find any last minute shopping in the area. We didn't spend a ton of time at the resort, but when it did, it was very relaxing. We got a massage that was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the wild thing tour. Definitely sign up for that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
May 13, 2010

Very nice place

The hotel is very nice, something important is that if you pay te economic room you will have to cross a very dangerous road to go to the pool and beach so think about painb the economic rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 3, 2010

Samsara Resort is excellent!

I loved SamSara. I especially enjoyed how I could travel to legends - on the beach. I wish that the food (all inclusive) had included more. I would call it more of a buffett. Overall, I had an excellent time. It was beautiful and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

All attractions are about 1 1/2 hours from the resort...much time is spent traveling. Having said this, it is still worth staying at SamSara because of how beautiful the location is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westfield, Massachusetts
Jan 14, 2010

Fabulous resort all around

When we arrived at Samsara we were early for check-in but were greeted warmly! They showed us to the bar and where we could get lunch. We had all-inclusive packages that I highly recommend-it takes the guess work out of what/where to eat and the drinks are included. They are smaller sizes but the bar is conveniently located.They have a great variety of local and american foods served buffet style. We went snorkeling there by putting down a deposit and get the money back upon return of the equipment. They had great Jamaican music playing, but it could have been a little louder. It is not located on the 7-mile beach but is only a short distance away by the hotel shuttle and then walk from Legends or your car. Overall an extremely relaxing place with amazing views and a wonderful staff to round off the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Craft market- It is located near the sister hotel of Legends. Remember to haggle and pay what you feel appropriate for something!! They had amazing jewelry of all styles and shirts that say Jamaican soccer on them that are not located many other places around Jamaica (great gifts for the average guy!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Sep 1, 2009

Great Vacation

For the price it is a great hotel. Everyone is super friendly and nice. They go out of their way to help you and answered all questions in a super friendly manner. Upon reading other reviews I was worried about what to expect. But from my arrival to departure everything went very well at the hotel. The cliffs are beautiful and the ocean is awesome. Pool is great also. If I happen to be in Negril again I would stay at the Samsara again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls
Oct 22, 2008

Rat Infested Motel!!!

I would never recommend the Samasara to anyone....My room was horrible. First I was given a room with two broken beds. It was dirty, there were bugs, lizards and rats crawling around! It was absolutly disgusting!The only Friendly staff person was the wonderful cook.....He was very nice to us and made us feel comfortable.....but sadly he is no longer there! Please do not waste your time and money at this so called Resort....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top