$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 20, 2015 Check-out: May 23, 2015

Samsara Resort

3 stars
View map of West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
107 reviews
amazing trip

I had a great time at the resort. It's beautiful grounds and cliffs were breathtaking. There's many... See full review

  • palma H.
  • Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
Oceanfront vacation 'on the rocks' at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)
Policies and Fees
  • The resort's tennis court is currently out of service until further notice due to scheduled upgrades.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
20 out of 107
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.7

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 23, 2014

Nice place

Overall good. Friendly and good location. Shower was icky

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa yoga momma
Business
New Jersey
Nov 23, 2014

Nice plAce

Great location. Nice grounds. Not so nice shower. Friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cashneuro
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 2, 2013

Great view but lacking a little something extra

The hotel is located on top of a cliff. It offers great view of the ocean. I booked a superior ocean front, and was suprised to find out that the only diifference compared to the a standard room was the inclusion of air conditioning. There was a slight Oder at times radiating from the bathroom. Overall the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a resturant, Three Dives, that offers very good food at a reasonable price. We mostly had the jerk chicken and it was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MAVRCK86
Business
Boynton Beach, Florida
Apr 21, 2013

awesome get away

Negril is beautiful! This hotel has spectacular staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and excursions available (sunset cruise, horseback on the beach, tour of the black river and YS falls). Great to have access to the sister hotel (Legends) on the beach. But enjoyed being at Samsara; jumping off the cliffs and snorkeling. We did the all inclusive and could not have been happier. I would not recommend this hotel to people who need 5 star hotels and amenities. But for the folks who want to experience Jamaica and are not hung up on all the comforts of home, this is the place and culture for you (no blow dryer or iron in the room, air available at a cost; but ceiling fan was enough to cool us). Thank you for a great vacation Samsara!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carol Linda Jennifer
Business
Lake Placid, Florida
Apr 5, 2013

chillaxing vacation - beautiful view

I enjoyed the peace & quiet at samsara. I also liked walking the beach at the sister resort Legends. The shuttle only runs at set times, but taxis are readily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Did not have much entertainment in the week I stayed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janet L
Business
Naperville, IL, USA
Jan 4, 2013

Relaxing Week in Negril

Was at first taken aback that our room was across the busy street - but then found out that we were given a cute 2 bedroom cottage (I though I booked a one room) - I loved our front deck, the room was big and very clean. We spent the majority of our time at their sister hotel Legends on the beach where our friends were staying but it was nice to come back to our cute cottage and the staff at the Samsara were amazing - loved Peter who took good care in getting us across the street or into a shuttle or cab. The restaurant Ciao at the Samara was very good - my husband ate their four times! We spent one afternoon cliff jumping at Samsara and a sunset - I do now wish we would have spent more time there, the bar staff and servers are way more attentive at Samsara then anywhere in Negril.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ciao Restuarant - very very good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
over 55 couple
Business
irvine, california
Jan 7, 2012

Family christmas reunion

Very charming boutique hotel, out of the ordinary. stayed at a large all-inclusive resort for the first 3 days in montego bay, then moved to Samsara. It was a nice change from the large resort feel. Be sure to rent a room facing the water instead of the rooms across the street. Ours was very nice and looked remodeled. the Christmas meal was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smheigh
Business
Annandale, VA
Jan 2, 2012

Great for the adventurous family.

Beautiful location on the cliffs. My teenage daughters and I loved the cliff diving and snorkeling, right outside your door. Plenty of room, it never felt crowded and we never had to fight for a lounge chair or outdoor bed. Wonderful outdoor spa and the dive shop is great, we rented snorkeling gear onsite and could have gotten dive certified if we felt that ambitious. This is not a fancy resort, the rooms are not plush but have everything you need, it's spotlessly clean, and the beds are comfortable. The food is so-so but there's an excellent restaurant, Ciao Jamaica, right across the street. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When you stay at Samsara, take the free shuttle to its sister resort, Legends, for the day for a beach and shopping experience. The beach is amazing but Legends is alot more crowded and we preferred staying at Samsara.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
over 55 couple
Business
irvine, california
Dec 28, 2011

family reunion

Very unique quaint hotel.We had our christmas dinner buffet at the hotel and the food was very good. However, they really need to install some outdoor lighting (like tiki lights)because it was so dark we couldn't see what we were eating (the candle light kept flickering out due to the wind). Be sure to get the rooms on the ocean side. Stay away from the rooms on the across the street on the inland side of the road.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doctor love
Business
City of London, UK
Nov 6, 2011

we had a nice relaxing family break.

my experience was quite good, the room was a good size, in overall we enjoyed thye time we spent there. the staff were helpfull and approable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top