$91 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 21, 2014 Check-out: Dec 22, 2014

Samsara Resort

3 stars
West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
92 reviews
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great staff and location!

Love the staff and location! Food is good, although nothing special. See full review

  • Kybug
  • Feb 23, 2014
Oceanfront vacation “on the rocks” at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Café (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
48 out of 92
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
4

81% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Vanessa
Business
Florida
Jun 19, 2014

Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the minute we left. The staff was friendly, reliable, and very accommodating to our needs. Everything was exactly as pictured from the room to the cliff-side view from the pool and Jacuzzi. The room had everything we needed, a nice king-sized bed, a closet, cable tv, a shower (with warm water), clean towels and sheets daily, night stands, chest and drawer set with a mirror, a medicine cabinet with a mirror in the bathroom, soap, a front patio with clean furniture and a nice hammock to relax in. They even offer free-parking. (Wi-Fi is available for a small fee.) The grounds were kept clean and pretty with so many different varieties of plants. The pool, Jacuzzi, and fountain were all clean, well-kempt, and with comfortable temperatures. The cliff-side area was clean and amazing, couples sat by it enjoying the view of the water, and watching the snorkelers swim buy. There is even an accessible and safely located ladder to enter the water if you decide....or you could do what most people did, which was just jump right in!:-) The service at the downstairs bar and upstairs restaurant were great too. The restaurant offered affordable all-you-can eat buffet for meals, or pay as you go. We chose (and saved with) the pay as you go option for breakfast only, as we were never there for lunch or dinner (and always found good and affordable food locally). The hotel is right across from the Cia Italian restaurant, which offers really good food (pizza, pasta, seafood, etc.) Not to mention, Samsara is conveniently located in Negril, so you're really close to the shopping areas and other seaside places. You also have an amazing view of the waterside from the Samsara restaurant and we happened to be seated at the same table each morning, which made our stay even more enjoyable, because it made us feel comfortable, like we were home. From day 1, we were happy with our choice of staying at this hotel, and by our final day, we both agreed that we would DEFINITELY return to this hotel in the future. Thanks Samsara!!....we loved it!!!:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to "The Jungle" nightclub for a good time, $15 US (or $1500 JA), offers a certain selection of unlimited free drinks (such as Bacardi Vodka, tequila, or rum) from 9 PM-2AM, great music and atmosphere (there is a downstairs area and an unroofed upstairs area)--both sections play a variety of reggae, r&b, hip-hop, and a little calypso music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kybug
Business
Usa
Feb 23, 2014

Great staff and location!

Love the staff and location! Food is good, although nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimmy Dorsey
Business
Gwynn Oak, Md
Aug 5, 2013

If only for medical reasons

I could not believe that a hotel would not have air condition for a body unless you pay extra for it. I travel four or five times a year but never ran into this before. $18 a day is the price you have to pay in order to receive comfort in the brutal heat of the day and some nights. If you have a heat related medical condition take some extra bucks. However, this Resort should warn it's potential customers about this condition if only for medical reasons. Plus, towels are not in the rooms when you arrive you have to ask for them. Once I had to ask at the end of a day. The bar is staffed intermittently because the same waiters are used in the restaurant above the bar. Other than that, this is a nice place but the air conditioner situation I didn't care for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

This is a nice place but the air conditioner situation I didn't care for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LCKR
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 30, 2013

Relaxing and fun

Had a great time in Negril - Samsara is basic but the staff are friendly and very accommodating. The resort is a little tired but being able to shuttle to and from their sister property, Legends, was a great bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdang
Business
Boston
Mar 27, 2013

Amazing experience

Located in a nice, quiet area in the West End, perfect for a relaxing vacation. Very easy access to 7 Mile Beach with free shuttle daily at 10am if you're looking for more action. Cliffside resort, fun to jump off, and the best place to view sunsets in Negril! Staff is friendly, welcoming, & helpful. Ocean view rooms are awesome, very spacious even with an oversize king bed. -All inclusive plan in great for drinks 10am-10pm, but buffet food is whatever -Game room is outdated, need to get a new pool table

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxis - Always negotiate an agreeable price before entering the car, use the listing at the front desk for reference

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terri and Mike
Business
Drumheller, Alberta, Canada
Oct 16, 2012

Home away from home!!

My husband and I have stayed at Samsara for our vacation for 4 years straight. And awaiting our 5th. I dont think I would go anywhere else in Negril. The rooms are fair....but why sit in your room in Jamaica!! Very clean and thats what mattered to us the most. The odd bug or ant...but what do you expect when in the tropics!! Dont keep opened food in your room is a good practice to follow!! Food is alright...breakfast is amazing!! Lots of places close by to choose from to eat!! Staff is why we keep going back...we are treated like family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leticia w.
Business
tampa,Florida
Jun 21, 2012

Amazing couples retreat

honestly the best experience I ever had. its a ideal island getaway no stress honest relaxation. we had the king cottage with ac (get ac).amazing room its kind of rundown however we enjoyed every moment of the cliffs and beautiful sunsets. the front desk is weird and when it rains the whole resort is filled with water. however the all inclusive is not needed surrounding restaurants food 100x better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

two restaurants you have to try. choices which is across the street and three dives the taxi people will trick you into paying but walk trust me 20 dollars for a taxi is ridiculous they rip you off

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ronang
Business
Queens, NY, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Awesome December 2011

Great location, very safe (unlike some beach side hotels). Amazing staff!! You should get a room with a/c for sure. I did all inclusive even after reading bad reviews for food. They short change you a bit with the cheap drinks & salads, but it wasn't bad at all. I rented a scooter for $30 per day to zip around with - no issues. The locals can be a little pushy out on the street especially on the beach side, but be firm with your "NO" & they won't bother. Jumping off ciiffs was fun, I can NOT wait to get back to Samsara!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 minute walk down the road and you'll reach 2 stores to get drinks, snacks, toiletries, etc. Lots of places to eat if you don't do all inclusive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul David
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Dec 9, 2011

it was good

The staff at the hotel were nice to deal with. The food was good. just remember to bring your own beach towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there's lots of places around to eat cheaper

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pbergin
Business
Virginia
Nov 18, 2011

Samsara 11-2001

You can't get a better value than this hotel in the middle of November. At $44/night it's an outstanding deal. We got two cottages with lofts for that price. The view from the cliffs is spectacular. The restaurant and bar are fair to middle. Pricey, but reasonably good food. I'd avoid the all-inclusive and go for the local restaurants and food stands, cars etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The fare for cabs should never be more than $100J per person from the cliffs to town and $100J more to the beach. This is what the locals pay for a Route taxi. When you hail a cab look for the red plates, and tell them that you are NOT chartering. Tell them what you'll pay and stick to it. You'll get your way

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top