$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 18, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

Samsara Resort

3 stars
View map of West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
107 reviews
amazing trip

I had a great time at the resort. It's beautiful grounds and cliffs were breathtaking. There's many... See full review

  • palma H.
  • Apr 13, 2015
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
Oceanfront vacation 'on the rocks' at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Cafe (0.9 mi/1.5 km)
Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)
Policies and Fees
  • The resort's tennis court is currently out of service until further notice due to scheduled upgrades.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
107 out of 107
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
first visit
Business
new york
Aug 24, 2009

The worst

this had to be the worst experience my wife and i have had. we will never recommend this hotel to any of our friends or family. terrible service, from receptionist, and security. this has truly been an horrible experience. my wife is from Jamaica, but this was my first visit to the island. if i didn't know that there was better from past vacation experiences, i would not visit again. i will return but not to Samsara.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia , PA
Jan 18, 2010

This is one of the worst resorts

This is one of the worst resorts that i have ever been too. I would like to warn you that i to looked at the reviews an saw sum negative reviews, but i didn't think much of it. This place needs some serious help i mean the food sucked, the employees where really lazy, and worst of all its located far from the beach. they only provide one shuttle to the beach at 9 am. So i guess you are suppose to wake up at 8 for breakfast or something. Trust me if i had more time i would write more but please go with a better resort you wont regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

get ready to be seriously hassled.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love JA
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jun 5, 2010

Samsara no no "SamSorry"

This was the worst hotel (motel)I have ever stayed, my daughter's graduation gift and it was aweful, no towels in the room, you have to take the dirty towels to the front in order to get clean ones, the towels are like brillo against your skin, this hotel needs major renovation, while I was there my television went dead, the worst vacation ever and I travel to Jamaica four times yearly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would not recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Jamaican
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 28, 2010

Stay away "Roach motel"

I could not wait to get back to my computer to write this review. I took my friend from work to visit Jamaica for the first time. When we got to the lobby our trip started to go downhill. 1. When I booked this hotel, I did not pay attention to the fact that a standard room is a ceiling fan only. My friend and I wanted to pay for a room with A/C, but they did not have a room for my friend. We asked them if we can go to Legends instead and were told that there were no rooms. We asked for our money back since they could not accomodate our needs, we were told no refunds. 2. I paid for A/C and was told that it is $15 a day, so they calculated the exchange rate for me at $80 JM. I am a Jamaica and I know that the rate at the Cambio and the banks at the time was $83. (Beware of them converting your US dollars to JM.3. When I got to the room to relax an hour of arguing with management and [...], to find ROACHES running in the bathroom. My friend is such a germaphoid she asked for cleaning supplies to clean her room, because she too had roaches and ants in her bed. (Insect infestation!!!)4.This hotel is on a very dangerous corner, there was someone in front of the hotel to assist guest crossing the street.5. My family and I had dinner at the hotel the first night, my son ordered a hamburger, goat, and filet fish, a couple of drinks to get a bill for $60US. OMG!! We were shocked, because I have eaten at Red Lobster's for less money. (So do not eat there is a a rip off)6. Finally, went it was time to check out, I was told that I have phone bill of $15.00 US, so I did not have anymore US dollars with me, so I asked to calculate it in JM dollars. I was told that the rate today after 6 days $89.00 to one US dollar. The rate has not been $89.00 in over a year. They must have taken me for a fool, because they were giving me a rate of $80.00. I refused to pay the rate of $89 JM, so the manager agree to take the $80JM as before. (Beware of them changing your money, go to a Cambio or bank. Don't trust these people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend a restuarnt close by called Sips and Serve. Very delicious and affordable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mpls
Oct 22, 2008

Rat Infested Motel!!!

I would never recommend the Samasara to anyone....My room was horrible. First I was given a room with two broken beds. It was dirty, there were bugs, lizards and rats crawling around! It was absolutly disgusting!The only Friendly staff person was the wonderful cook.....He was very nice to us and made us feel comfortable.....but sadly he is no longer there! Please do not waste your time and money at this so called Resort....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
keep it real
Business
west palm beach
Jun 28, 2010

Horrible

Samsara is not the hotel to attend they had ants in the bed big huge water bugs so unacceptable they wanted to charge for every thing that is wack as in nasty. you need to take them of ur three star list because there not three star. I felt like I was a child the security guard was so rude and was always talking nasty to my guest just sorry oh and no ac just ceiling fan thats garbage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fairburn
Jun 7, 2008

No Resort

My first experience in Jamaica was not what I anticipated. I had been waiting months for this moment to aarive in Jamaica. Full of excitement and very impatient. It started off rocky when they left my husband's bags in our state due to the plane was full, but then it was raining hard and I was still ok with that I was in another country. It took us over 2 hrs to arrive to our so call resort which it never states anywhere on the hotel which that understates it as well. It was a dump, a hole in the wall. For what we paid we still deserve alot better and some of the guest we met paid more and it wasn't worth. The only thing that made our trip worth it eventhough we were so hurt and felt they got over on us was the fact that we were celebrated our 16th wedding anniversary. We had each other to coax us through this awful trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Don't purchase inclusive it is so not worth it!! The buffet is 14.90 pp and you don'y get a buffet two chices of meat and two entress/sides which were not cook good the drinks 4oz. at Samsara are extra. Legends food is better and their hospitality is better but still own by the same people, so what that tell you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Michael
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Apr 12, 2010

Never got what I paid for!

I paid for the cliff view but When I showed up. I was told [...] didn't send my reservation so I was sent to Legend Hotel. My view was a wall of vines. Shower don't work, no towels, and ants all in my bed. [...] I am disappointed and will FB and Tweeter about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Snorkle! bring bread and the fish will be all around you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Couple from Atlanta
Business
Georgia
Jul 8, 2009

No A/C unless you specify!!!!!

The hotel needs to inform their guests that A/C has to be purchased separately or else you are going to be miserable. Very hot and humid in July. Ants were crawling on the furniture.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

The beaches at Negril had great beach parties with live reggae music and cheap drinks. Make sure you have Jamaican money because some of the places do not have tip insertions when using credit cards. Beaches were free of hasslers and lots of security was present. We loved the beaches of Negril.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lsmitty53 in Baltimore
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 9, 2014

Birthday Present turns to NIGHTMARE!!!

i would strongly advise to not expect to get what is advertised. No in room Wi-Fi. Customer service nearly non-existing, basic items had to repeatedly request, requested follow-up by staff nearly never done. Request to speak to Mgr was rejected and I was not allowed to speak to the mgr who was there. I was ignored and not the only visitor to have problems with them at same time. I chose to spend my birthday weekend with them and instead of at least being pleasant I was grateful to leave. Will contact dept of tourism for Jamaica, and report to approiate authorities for our country. If you are looking for something pleasant to remember I advise not to stay at this location. My age 57years. and have completed a lot of international traveling. But as I said was not allowed to speak to the owner (who lives on site) or any manager at all, and was intentionally ignored when a direct request was made repeatedly. Truth and honesty should always be first and someone in authority should be available to answer a visitor who was staying with them. God bless all who has the patience and courage to read this honest and truthful review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Beware hotel specials that sounds to good to be true. and never expect to get everything that is in ads that you read online. Always find a way to spend a little more so you will at least be treated civil and you might get what you are promise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top