$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Samsara Resort

3 stars
West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
90 reviews
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great staff and location!

Love the staff and location! Food is good, although nothing special. See full review

  • Kybug
  • Feb 23, 2014
Oceanfront vacation “on the rocks” at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Café (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.2727 -78.3669
Area served
Negril, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay – Donald Sangster International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located on Negril’s West End Road nestled atop low cliffs with direct sea access to crystal clear lagoons and coves. This area offers outstanding privacy and a tranquil setting commanding spectacular Caribbean views of sea and sunset. Area Location - Downtown Negril - 1.5 km / Rick's Café (cliff jumping, dancing) - 1.5 km / Negril Lighthouse - 2 km / Negril River - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville - 4 km / Negril Hills Golf Club - 16 km / Negril Royal Palm Reserve - 17 km / Horseback riding – 40 km / YS Falls – 56 km / Mayfield Falls - 72 km / Appleton Rum Factory - 80 km / Bamboo Avenue – 96.5 km / Black River – 120 km / Dunn’s River Falls – 145 km / Dolphin Experience – 145 km / Blue Mountains – 289 km.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia , PA
Jan 18, 2010

This is one of the worst resorts

This is one of the worst resorts that i have ever been too. I would like to warn you that i to looked at the reviews an saw sum negative reviews, but i didn't think much of it. This place needs some serious help i mean the food sucked, the employees where really lazy, and worst of all its located far from the beach. they only provide one shuttle to the beach at 9 am. So i guess you are suppose to wake up at 8 for breakfast or something. Trust me if i had more time i would write more but please go with a better resort you wont regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

get ready to be seriously hassled.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westfield, Massachusetts
Jan 14, 2010

Fabulous resort all around

When we arrived at Samsara we were early for check-in but were greeted warmly! They showed us to the bar and where we could get lunch. We had all-inclusive packages that I highly recommend-it takes the guess work out of what/where to eat and the drinks are included. They are smaller sizes but the bar is conveniently located.They have a great variety of local and american foods served buffet style. We went snorkeling there by putting down a deposit and get the money back upon return of the equipment. They had great Jamaican music playing, but it could have been a little louder. It is not located on the 7-mile beach but is only a short distance away by the hotel shuttle and then walk from Legends or your car. Overall an extremely relaxing place with amazing views and a wonderful staff to round off the experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Craft market- It is located near the sister hotel of Legends. Remember to haggle and pay what you feel appropriate for something!! They had amazing jewelry of all styles and shirts that say Jamaican soccer on them that are not located many other places around Jamaica (great gifts for the average guy!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bunkbed
Business
Stockholm Sweden
Jan 7, 2010

Good value for money.

Nice, roomy, bungalows. Neat and tidy. Extremely expensive internet-connection...you can surf for free at many cafes and restaurants in the village. No WI-FI at the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SweetpeaAdventures
Business
USA
Dec 29, 2009

Nice time in Negril

We spent 10 days in Negril. Our first two were at Samsara on the Cliffs. The last 8 were on 7 mile beach at an all inclusive. I wanted to get a feel of the west end cliffs. The hotel upgraded us to a beach side room. We had double balconies which was nice, a clean room, and plenty of quiet privacy. The only thing was that they did not supply beach towels, we didn't bring our own, so had to air dry after using the pool/hot tub. It's a nice resort for the money. We did not choose the all inclusive package b/c there are too many good restaurants within walking distance that we wanted to try.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Just Natural for B/L/D. Yummy food set in a perfect tropical garden. 3 Dives Jerk is a short walk away as well. Enjoyed the view. Oh, and LM grocery is a very short walk up the road if you need any thing from a six pack of Red Stripe to shampoo.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Nov 17, 2009

Pre Birthday stay

During my stay I went to Scubba Dub, had a great time. Most of my time was spent relaxing. Great view of the sunset. Did not like the fact that all the economy rooms were on the garden side of the hotel "I love the ocean" so that put a damper on my stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york, ny
Oct 28, 2009

Yah Mon - This Place is Alll-right...

went with my boyfriend for a long weekend, and it was easily the most relaxing time i've ever had - plentiful drinks, plentiful everything. though the forecast had predicted rain for our entire stay, we only saw a storm once and didn't mind it at all. just sat in the bar, until it passed, which it did quickly. it's hard to get irritated with the rain (or anything!) when you're in such a beautiful place and all the locals are quick to remind you that the rain is a blessing to Jamaica. you must cliff dive while you're here - it's amazing. wish samsara would put a diving board on one of the edges so you could get a better jump. Also, lights reflecting off the cliffs at night would truly add to the atmosphere and the beauty of the place... only things we noted were minor - a few chips in the tile of the pool, lack of a diving board, lights off the cliffs would be a cool addition, not the best all-inclusive food (very bland and heavy), and maybe a hammock or two around the property.... However, these things are VERY minor and for our purposes, the trip was perfect. we cannot wait to go back...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

hit 3 Dives nearby for some amazing, authentic lobster and jerk chicken plates...It's not a tourist magnet like Ricks, and therefore...much cheaper.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Youngstown, OH
Oct 19, 2009

Awesome Hotel, Even Better for the Price

The staff there was unbeatable, from the security at the front gate, to the front desk staff, to the the bartenders, the dining room crew, and the groundskeepers. One day we got a little burnt and the security and groundsman went and cut us fresh aloe. Anywhere we wanted to go, the hotel staff was more than willing to help. Property was well kept, and quite beautiful. But, you need to stay on cliff side (where we were), not gardenside! Gardenside is across the road and if you want to enjoy any of the amenities easily, and really enjoy the hotel at all, you must be cliff side. All inclusive was a heck of a deal, especially if you enjoy any cocktails at all. Nice selection at the bar, and the food buffet (though not large) did include many Jamaican style dishes to try along with some basics that most anyone would enjoy. If we head to Negril again we would likely return here because the staff, the property, and the scenery are uncomparable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you want to rent a motorized bike or scooter, right outside the gate about 100 ft away is Gas's Bike Rental. Awesome prices for a full day rent- you can't beat it anywhere!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
IN
Sep 21, 2009

Great Get Away

This is a great quite get away. Take your own shampoo! The staff is friendly some are much more helpful than others. If you want a relaxing stay this is the place. Beds are very hard!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Tallahassee, FL
Sep 15, 2009

Awesome place

Had a great experience at Samsara, but not very happy with Orbitz since the reason I booked with them was because of the AC in the hotel rooms, and getting there me and my girlfriend were very hot the whole day because there was no A/C in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, New York
Sep 1, 2009

Great Vacation

For the price it is a great hotel. Everyone is super friendly and nice. They go out of their way to help you and answered all questions in a super friendly manner. Upon reading other reviews I was worried about what to expect. But from my arrival to departure everything went very well at the hotel. The cliffs are beautiful and the ocean is awesome. Pool is great also. If I happen to be in Negril again I would stay at the Samsara again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top