$51 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 15, 2014 Check-out: Jul 18, 2014

Samsara Resort

3 stars
West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
142 reviews
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
awesome get away

Negril is beautiful! This hotel has spectacular staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the... See full review

  • MAVRCK86
  • Apr 21, 2013
Oceanfront vacation “on the rocks” at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Café (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.2727 -78.3669
Area served
Negril, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay – Donald Sangster International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located on Negril’s West End Road nestled atop low cliffs with direct sea access to crystal clear lagoons and coves. This area offers outstanding privacy and a tranquil setting commanding spectacular Caribbean views of sea and sunset. Area Location - Downtown Negril - 1.5 km / Rick's Café (cliff jumping, dancing) - 1.5 km / Negril Lighthouse - 2 km / Negril River - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville - 4 km / Negril Hills Golf Club - 16 km / Negril Royal Palm Reserve - 17 km / Horseback riding – 40 km / YS Falls – 56 km / Mayfield Falls - 72 km / Appleton Rum Factory - 80 km / Bamboo Avenue – 96.5 km / Black River – 120 km / Dunn’s River Falls – 145 km / Dolphin Experience – 145 km / Blue Mountains – 289 km.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (142)

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
142 out of 142
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Vermont
Jan 18, 2011

January vacation in Negril

We sampled the food on the first night and the following breakfast and decided to frequent the surrounding restaurants for the rest of our stay. There are many within walking distance and most are better than Samsara's main dining room. The advertised WIFI is only available at the restaurant across the street from the ocean side units. The atmosphere is somewhat laid back as compared to the beach locations. Take advantage of the free shuttle to the sister resort on the beach so you can get the feel of sand between your toes. It would have been better if the "hot" tub was actually hot.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't miss Just Natural restaurant. It's just up the road on the left and has a great outdoor setting and excellent food.

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winegal_24
Wenatchee, WA
Dec 23, 2010

Cheap & Worth It

The hotel is older than it looks in the pictures, but the weather was so nice in Jamaica that we did not spend much time inside. The staff was friendly and nice. We decided to do the all-inclusive option and found that we got our money's worth out of the free drinks alone! The food was not very great, but there is a great Jerk Chicken place about a block up the road. Samasara's cliff location provided a beautiful backdrop and AMAZING snorkeling (as long as the water was calm enough).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three Dive Jerk Center!

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winegal_24
Wenatchee, WA
Dec 23, 2010

Cheap & Worth It

The hotel is older than it looks in the pictures, but the weather was so nice in Jamaica that we did not spend much time inside. The staff was friendly and nice. We decided to do the all-inclusive option and found that we got our money's worth out of the free drinks alone! The food was not very great, but there is a great Jerk Chicken place about a block up the road. Samasara's cliff location provided a beautiful backdrop and AMAZING snorkeling (as long as the water was calm enough).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Three Dive Jerk Center!

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deetric
Orlando, Florida
Oct 19, 2010

Had fun in Jamaica

I really like the view from the room I was staying at..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Deetric
Orlando, Florida
Oct 19, 2010

Had fun in Jamaica

I really like the view from the room I was staying at..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Jonesboro, GA
Oct 15, 2010

Samsara

The stay was good it was raining the first 3 days there so the place was disorganized but once they got everything back to it's normal state it looked a whole lot better I told my husband we should have been visiting the next week. We stayed for 8 days and the power was off but the generator was working we had no air but with the door open it wasn't that bad until the 5th night our air did not work so the next night we moved into another room. We stayed in Room 317 and 315. The food was good but I did not like the beds. Other than that it was a good place. The pizza place across the street was the greatest I had pizza about 4 to 5 times. I wish the restaurant would have fixed plantains more ofter. But all in all it was a good trip. I enjoyed the waitors and and waitress hello to our friend [...] he was great. We were there Sept 28 thru October 7, 2010

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C-Cure
Lexington, Kentucky
Sep 7, 2010

Negril Nice

Nice and Relaxing thanks to the Staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

New eating location on property

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
C-Cure
Lexington, Kentucky
Sep 7, 2010

Negril Nice

Nice and Relaxing thanks to the Staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

New eating location on property

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jyoung
Jamaica, NY
Sep 2, 2010

Samsara resort

While I was there I spent most of my time at the legends resort which they provide a free shuttle bus for. I loved that. I liked samsara for the beautiful scenery it was quiet and relaxing. The rooms had air conditioning and ceiling fans and the room was very clean. They provide clean towels everyday and they make ur bed daily. They upgraded my room to a oceanfront view room with a terrace which I loved. One thing I did not like was that the prices for the food and the spa to get a message was too high. Overall it was a good hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Seattle
Aug 30, 2010

Great Value for your Buck

Overall Staff was great and handy all the time. Loved the location and view. Cant complain about anything other than the occasional bug in the room. But that was to be expected in Jamaica.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top