$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Samsara Resort

3 stars
View map of West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Redoncedar
Business
Philadelphia, Pa.
Jul 5, 2010

Very Peaceful Vacation

I really enjoyed the peace and quiet. It is what my husband and I needed. The staff was great,especially [...] in the restaurant. The massage was heaven. One of the best I have ever had, and she stayed late for me because the massage was a spur of the moment decision. We had the all - inclusive plan and the food was good, especially breakfast. The only compliant I had was the glasses and /or cups were so small in the dining room and bar, I was always reordering. Also, if you wanted coffee in the morning, you had to go to the restaurant.No coffee pots in the room, and no room service for coffee only. Also, it was very hot when we were there. The restaurant is not air conditioned at all. They had ceiling fans, but it didn't really do the job.Also, because it was open, we were always contending with flys. We paid for air - conditioning,and it was fine as long as it ran a lot. We had to turn it off w/ a key when we left the room, which made it very hot when we came back in. It took longer to cool down than if we had left it on. The front desk is also open, so it was hot too. I would definetly recommend going in cooler weather. June is very hot. The staff really made up for my "American" way of thinking as far as the air conditioning and the coffee. They called us by name from the 1st day till the day we left. Anyone would do anything for you to make you happy. The cliffs are beautiful and the rooms were clean and comfortable, as long as the air conditioner was on. Even w/ all it little quiks, we plan on going back next year, just maybe in cooler weather.It was definetely a great vacation. I loved the peace and quiet of the place and the staff. We were there for 9 days and hopefully next year, we are going to try for 2 weeks.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Jamaican
Business
West Palm Beach, FL
Jun 28, 2010

Stay away "Roach motel"

I could not wait to get back to my computer to write this review. I took my friend from work to visit Jamaica for the first time. When we got to the lobby our trip started to go downhill. 1. When I booked this hotel, I did not pay attention to the fact that a standard room is a ceiling fan only. My friend and I wanted to pay for a room with A/C, but they did not have a room for my friend. We asked them if we can go to Legends instead and were told that there were no rooms. We asked for our money back since they could not accomodate our needs, we were told no refunds. 2. I paid for A/C and was told that it is $15 a day, so they calculated the exchange rate for me at $80 JM. I am a Jamaica and I know that the rate at the Cambio and the banks at the time was $83. (Beware of them converting your US dollars to JM.3. When I got to the room to relax an hour of arguing with management and [...], to find ROACHES running in the bathroom. My friend is such a germaphoid she asked for cleaning supplies to clean her room, because she too had roaches and ants in her bed. (Insect infestation!!!)4.This hotel is on a very dangerous corner, there was someone in front of the hotel to assist guest crossing the street.5. My family and I had dinner at the hotel the first night, my son ordered a hamburger, goat, and filet fish, a couple of drinks to get a bill for $60US. OMG!! We were shocked, because I have eaten at Red Lobster's for less money. (So do not eat there is a a rip off)6. Finally, went it was time to check out, I was told that I have phone bill of $15.00 US, so I did not have anymore US dollars with me, so I asked to calculate it in JM dollars. I was told that the rate today after 6 days $89.00 to one US dollar. The rate has not been $89.00 in over a year. They must have taken me for a fool, because they were giving me a rate of $80.00. I refused to pay the rate of $89 JM, so the manager agree to take the $80JM as before. (Beware of them changing your money, go to a Cambio or bank. Don't trust these people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

I recommend a restuarnt close by called Sips and Serve. Very delicious and affordable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jun 28, 2010

better hotel next time

things i missed face towels hair dryer iron shampoo fridge coffe maker. a ant free bed

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just natural and 2 dives the food was great

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
keep it real
Business
west palm beach
Jun 28, 2010

Horrible

Samsara is not the hotel to attend they had ants in the bed big huge water bugs so unacceptable they wanted to charge for every thing that is wack as in nasty. you need to take them of ur three star list because there not three star. I felt like I was a child the security guard was so rude and was always talking nasty to my guest just sorry oh and no ac just ceiling fan thats garbage

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chillin Crew
Business
Ealing West London
Jun 16, 2010

Samsara Resort...Good Times

During our 6 day break Samsara was a good location away from the beach and the hustle and bustle. Making the resort the ideal spot to relax as you had a daily free shuttle to the sister resort Legends on the Beach. Other reviews have commented on the attitude of the staff, but on my stay, I cant speak highly of the staff as they were happy to accomdate any requests. We opted out of the All-Inclusive option due to the limited menu options and the drink options avaiable. I would say that all of the none bottled drinks ( Red Stripe/ Guniness) had been watered down. The local food was really good but the versions of popular western dishes i.e Pasta. Were not the greatest. Overall i will be going back to Samsara for the amazing sunsets as you have a drink overlooking the cliffs and general cool vibes, that floats around the resort. I would also suggest that you head to the HI LO Supermarket to grab bottles of Alcohol and snacks ( which are limited on the resort and much cheaper)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

I would 100% recoomend the food at Choices a Restaurant across the road from the Samsara. Lunches and Breakfast were of a good standrad and the cook in the kitchen is happy to answer questions about the menu. I recomend the Ox Tail plate...simply amazing. Also out of the hotel and take a right and you will find a Jerk Restaurant called 3 Dives, Once again excellent Jerk Conch and Chciken, washed down with a Red Stripe.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love JA
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jun 5, 2010

Samsara no no "SamSorry"

This was the worst hotel (motel)I have ever stayed, my daughter's graduation gift and it was aweful, no towels in the room, you have to take the dirty towels to the front in order to get clean ones, the towels are like brillo against your skin, this hotel needs major renovation, while I was there my television went dead, the worst vacation ever and I travel to Jamaica four times yearly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would not recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
May 25, 2010

Awesome Scuba Diving

We had an amazing time at this resort. We spent a lot of our time snorkling and we even went scuba diving two of the mornings we were there. The scuba instructors are right there at the resort and made us feel very comfortable for my first time diving. The rooms were clean. We very much enjoyed the balcony with ocean view (it is worth the upgrade). Most of the staff was very friendly. My only complaint is that some of the receptionists and even one bartender weren't the best at customer service. They wouldn't smile, didn't look us in the eye, and didn't really answer our questions. They acted like we were a pain to have around- like we were an inconvenience to them. But again that was only a few of them. We did not partake in the all inclusive, instead we ate at different restaurants near by and had an excellent meal everytime. We highly recommend "Just Natural". It is an amazing vegetarian restaurant with each table surrounded by gardens. The restaurant at the hotel was good. We took the shuttle up to the beach on our last day and it made us feel even better that we were staying on the cliffs. On the beach there are a lot of people trying to sell you stuff and the loung chairs at Legends are all very close to one another. It is not nearly as relaxing as Samsara. If we were to go back to Jamaica Samsara is the place I would want to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C-burt
Business
new york, ny
May 17, 2010

samsara

The resort is gorgeous. The staff was very helpful and attentive. I would consider coming back again. Everything was perfect, and the food was good. The amenities in the room were very minimal. I was hoping there would be shampoo and stuff. I think the gift shop closed too early considering it's hard to find any last minute shopping in the area. We didn't spend a ton of time at the resort, but when it did, it was very relaxing. We got a massage that was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the wild thing tour. Definitely sign up for that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
May 13, 2010

Very nice place

The hotel is very nice, something important is that if you pay te economic room you will have to cross a very dangerous road to go to the pool and beach so think about painb the economic rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 2, 2010

Samsara Negril

We stayed one previous time in Negril on the beach. We found that staying on the cliffs is more peaceful and relaxing. Less hassle from locals to buy goods as they can not come onto the cliff properties as they can on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at Samsara you mus go to Just Natural for breakfast or dinner. It is a short walk from the resort and is a vegetarian and seafood restaurant. For breakfast the 'Jamaican Breakfast' is great and for dinner the eggplant is wonderful as well as the fish dishes. Prices are also very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top