$56 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 26, 2014 Check-out: Oct 29, 2014

Samsara Resort

3 stars
West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
90 reviews
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great staff and location!

Love the staff and location! Food is good, although nothing special. See full review

  • Kybug
  • Feb 23, 2014
Oceanfront vacation “on the rocks” at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Café (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.2727 -78.3669
Area served
Negril, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay – Donald Sangster International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located on Negril’s West End Road nestled atop low cliffs with direct sea access to crystal clear lagoons and coves. This area offers outstanding privacy and a tranquil setting commanding spectacular Caribbean views of sea and sunset. Area Location - Downtown Negril - 1.5 km / Rick's Café (cliff jumping, dancing) - 1.5 km / Negril Lighthouse - 2 km / Negril River - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville - 4 km / Negril Hills Golf Club - 16 km / Negril Royal Palm Reserve - 17 km / Horseback riding – 40 km / YS Falls – 56 km / Mayfield Falls - 72 km / Appleton Rum Factory - 80 km / Bamboo Avenue – 96.5 km / Black River – 120 km / Dunn’s River Falls – 145 km / Dolphin Experience – 145 km / Blue Mountains – 289 km.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Love JA
Business
Silver Spring, Maryland
Jun 5, 2010

Samsara no no "SamSorry"

This was the worst hotel (motel)I have ever stayed, my daughter's graduation gift and it was aweful, no towels in the room, you have to take the dirty towels to the front in order to get clean ones, the towels are like brillo against your skin, this hotel needs major renovation, while I was there my television went dead, the worst vacation ever and I travel to Jamaica four times yearly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

I would not recommend anyone staying at this hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chattanooga, TN
May 25, 2010

Awesome Scuba Diving

We had an amazing time at this resort. We spent a lot of our time snorkling and we even went scuba diving two of the mornings we were there. The scuba instructors are right there at the resort and made us feel very comfortable for my first time diving. The rooms were clean. We very much enjoyed the balcony with ocean view (it is worth the upgrade). Most of the staff was very friendly. My only complaint is that some of the receptionists and even one bartender weren't the best at customer service. They wouldn't smile, didn't look us in the eye, and didn't really answer our questions. They acted like we were a pain to have around- like we were an inconvenience to them. But again that was only a few of them. We did not partake in the all inclusive, instead we ate at different restaurants near by and had an excellent meal everytime. We highly recommend "Just Natural". It is an amazing vegetarian restaurant with each table surrounded by gardens. The restaurant at the hotel was good. We took the shuttle up to the beach on our last day and it made us feel even better that we were staying on the cliffs. On the beach there are a lot of people trying to sell you stuff and the loung chairs at Legends are all very close to one another. It is not nearly as relaxing as Samsara. If we were to go back to Jamaica Samsara is the place I would want to go!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
C-burt
Business
new york, ny
May 17, 2010

samsara

The resort is gorgeous. The staff was very helpful and attentive. I would consider coming back again. Everything was perfect, and the food was good. The amenities in the room were very minimal. I was hoping there would be shampoo and stuff. I think the gift shop closed too early considering it's hard to find any last minute shopping in the area. We didn't spend a ton of time at the resort, but when it did, it was very relaxing. We got a massage that was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We loved the wild thing tour. Definitely sign up for that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montevideo, Uruguay
May 13, 2010

Very nice place

The hotel is very nice, something important is that if you pay te economic room you will have to cross a very dangerous road to go to the pool and beach so think about painb the economic rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Baltimore, MD
May 2, 2010

Samsara Negril

We stayed one previous time in Negril on the beach. We found that staying on the cliffs is more peaceful and relaxing. Less hassle from locals to buy goods as they can not come onto the cliff properties as they can on the beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you stay at Samsara you mus go to Just Natural for breakfast or dinner. It is a short walk from the resort and is a vegetarian and seafood restaurant. For breakfast the 'Jamaican Breakfast' is great and for dinner the eggplant is wonderful as well as the fish dishes. Prices are also very reasonable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mad Michael
Business
Atlanta, Ga
Apr 12, 2010

Never got what I paid for!

I paid for the cliff view but When I showed up. I was told [...] didn't send my reservation so I was sent to Legend Hotel. My view was a wall of vines. Shower don't work, no towels, and ants all in my bed. [...] I am disappointed and will FB and Tweeter about this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Snorkle! bring bread and the fish will be all around you.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Apr 3, 2010

Samsara Resort is excellent!

I loved SamSara. I especially enjoyed how I could travel to legends - on the beach. I wish that the food (all inclusive) had included more. I would call it more of a buffett. Overall, I had an excellent time. It was beautiful and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

All attractions are about 1 1/2 hours from the resort...much time is spent traveling. Having said this, it is still worth staying at SamSara because of how beautiful the location is.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New YOrk
Apr 1, 2010

Samsara Hotel

Loved having breakfast and dinner in the restaurant...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

the Time Square Mall and the Bayside Mall are great shopping malls...

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alan & Linda
Business
Hatfield, Ma. USA
Mar 7, 2010

Samsara Resort Vacation

The Samsara Resort on the cliffs of Negril is the most relaxing vacation we have ever experienced. We have been to other islands in the Caribbean and have stayed in the big places with all their glitz and glamor but they can't compare to the caribbean charm that you find at the Samsara. Eleven years ago I took my first trip to Negril and fell in love with this area of Jamaica. I believe the cliffs to be one of the most desirable pieces of real estate in the world. The Samsara is a small resort, I would guess about 50 rooms, which to me is perfect. With that size the staff all get to know the guests, how they like thier drinks and how they take their coffee in the morning. The staff at the Samsara are all wonderful people and are eager to assist you whenever needed. The kitchen staff seem proud of the quality of the food they serve and we believe to be some great Jamaican cooks. The Mutton stew, fish dishes and breakfasts of omlets and Jamaican sausage or saltfish are some of my favorites, not to forget their fried chicken which would make Colonel Sanders and Popeye cry in their beer. To enjoy the food at the Samsara you only have to be willing to try some great Jamaican recipes. The room accomodations are more than adequate, well maintained and kept very clean by a group of nice ladies. We don't spend alot of time in our room when at the Samsara so the only things we require are a confortable bed and a clean bathroom. The walls I believe are concrete block so you don't get any noise from your neighbors. The bar at Samsara sits adjacent to the cliffs with a full panoramic view of the caribbean looking west. The sunsets viewed from here are some of the most spectacular in the world. Same sunsets as Ricks Cafe except you don't have to leave the hotel. It does something for the sole watching these sunsets from the bar. Great staff and great drinks. Reggae Night was also a great time. I have never been in the pool at the Samsara and therefor did not enter a rating. The pool looks very nice, clean, well maintained and used frequently by many guests. With the beauty of the Caribbean only feet away I do all of my swimming in the sea. We did have a few days with heavy seas due to a storm over much of the caribbean, so swimming off of the cliffs was not a good idea. Although it is mesmerizing to watch the storm waves crashing against the cliffs We took this time to use the courtesy shuttle to Legends on seven mile beach which has been rated as one of the best beaches in the world so many times. This gives you a chance to walk the beach and mingle with the locals and check-out the items they are selling. I particularly like the work of "Jamaica Cris" an artist up the beach to the west. I have bought a few paintings from him which adorn some walls in my home. There is also a group of nice shops called Times Square almost across the road from Legends which has things from diamonds and fifth avenue fashions to T-shirts and other souvenirs if you are so inclined. If you don't get-out and interact with the good people of this area, well, I think you missed visiting Jamaica. The gift shop at Samsara has many of the things most people like to bring home like coffee, many varieties of rum, beachwear, T-shirts and local crafts at good pricing. This nine day vacation was one of the best in our lives. This is not the first time we have stayed at the Samsara and hopefully will not be our last. It's surprising how many return guests Samsara has who are loyal to this resort and for good reason. When this hotel was first built it must have been the Jewel of Negril, and over all this time, still is. Alan B. & Linda R. Hatfield, Ma. USA

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Winnipeg, Canada
Jan 27, 2010

Great for relaxation!

We loved the whole experience. If you want to get away, relax and have great home cook meals, this is the place to go. All the staff was very friendly and helpful. Anything we needed or had questions about they were right there to help out. The first few nights we stayed in the pillar hut, which was awesome! The deck faced the ocean and we had amazing views for the sunset. At night we slept with the windows open and had a wonderful breeze thru-out our little cabana. Over all it"s a nice cozy, quiet, enjoyable resort. we would defiantly go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

if you stay at Samara you must go to Rick's cafe at least once. It's only a 20 minute walk and they have crazy cliff jumping there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top