$70 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 26, 2015 Check-out: Jul 28, 2015

Samsara Resort

3 stars
View map of West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.3 / 5
5.01.0
108 out of 108
Amenities:
3.1
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.8

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
30 something on the move
Business
Greenbelt, MD, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Great for the Price

The hotel was average, with a beautiful view. We didn't spend to much time at the hotel because of the reviews read prior to the trip about food etc. We decided to do the local experience and glad we did. Breakfast at the hotel was nothing to write home about we ate at Sweet Spot and Sweet n Spicey both great spots to eat ate. About a $5 jamaican dollars taxi ride. Also if you want any amenities you have to rent them per day. $12/day for a refrigerator. We might spend a little more next time for comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the locals they usally know best Sweet and Spicey has a nice family dining experience.

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 19, 2011

Not what i was expecting :(

Wow! it was not at all what i had expected. Frist off i paid extra for an ocean view room, and i got a few of trees! The A.C. didn't work, the t.v.remote was taped together.The front desk closed and open between the hours of 8am-11pm. Their towels were old, and they seem to have a shortage on towels and etc. when i was moved into another room for A.C. purposes, the view was no better from the second room. Don't know why they call it an Resort, because it felt like a motel-an OLD MOTEL!Some of the front desk help had attuide, and seem offended when asked for a extra face towels. The Only thing i can say that was good about the "motel" is once you were at the pool area the view was REMARKABLE. However, i've been to jamaica serval times over, and i can see a remarkable view anywhere. The cable went out and was never restored.Sorry to say Samsara SUCKED!:( never again will i stay at Samsara... When compare to my other visits and hotel stay, Samsara was the worst i've ever experience in jamaica. i still enjoy(ed) myself, because i only used the "motel" for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 19, 2011

Not what i was expecting :(

Wow! it was not at all what i had expected. Frist off i paid extra for an ocean view room, and i got a few of trees! The A.C. didn't work, the t.v.remote was taped together.The front desk closed and open between the hours of 8am-11pm. Their towels were old, and they seem to have a shortage on towels and etc. when i was moved into another room for A.C. purposes, the view was no better from the second room. Don't know why they call it an Resort, because it felt like a motel-an OLD MOTEL!Some of the front desk help had attuide, and seem offended when asked for a extra face towels. The Only thing i can say that was good about the "motel" is once you were at the pool area the view was REMARKABLE. However, i've been to jamaica serval times over, and i can see a remarkable view anywhere. The cable went out and was never restored.Sorry to say Samsara SUCKED!:( never again will i stay at Samsara... When compare to my other visits and hotel stay, Samsara was the worst i've ever experience in jamaica. i still enjoy(ed) myself, because i only used the "motel" for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time at negril
Business
south orange, nj
Jun 21, 2011

Very Relaxing

The hotel definitely wasn't a 5 star hotel and i didn't expect that. However the property was beautiful. I think the grounds need a little upkeep but I really enjoyed the cliffs and the views. very peaceful and relaxing. the room was a little musty but once you turn on the fan you're good to go. there were ants but they didn't really bother me. the food was sub par so we ate at ciao jamaica (right across the street) and choices (also right across the street). we went to legends (samsara's other hotel) and enjoyed our time on seven mile beach. overall it was a wonderful experience. we also met the owner who taught my fiance how to float!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at ciao Jamaica! the staff was super friendly and the food was delicious. I loved that the cuisine is Italian with a Jamaica twist. very tummy!

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kc mama
Business
upstate new york
Jun 20, 2011

Truth!

We visited Negril, staying at Samsara for our March spring break this year. It was our first trip to Jamaica. Most of Jamaica was a happy surprise for us. This is also true of Samsara. We were given a standard type room on the garden side of the road. Upside - garden rooms are cool and quiet. Downside - the road, the road, the road - no ocean view. But - we got over that and enjoyed the large cottage room, with our rooster friends. You've seen it before, you get a great value here. The food was abundant. We saw vegetables and herbs used in meals planted around our cottage. Jamaican food at every meal. This was great with my husband, and not bad for me. Some food is pretty HOT. We enjoyed time at both properties. We would want to return to Legends, but only for beach time, not for sleeping. We like Samsara peace too much. Staff at both properties is very good to excellent. One of us needed a doctor and one was sent for, arriving and providing treatment within an hour. Excellent care. I would always ask if this service is available, whenever travelling abroad. Expect it to be expensive, as we did, but we were amazed at the relative low cost and the high quality. We took trips to Mayfield Falls and sorkeling. With both, I would recommend checking out company more than we did. Its probably not our best safety practice. End of the day, great trips, good times, safety attended to. A little attention to yourself is worth it. Have Jamaica fun, and go home well so you can go back to Jamaica. Finally, who has a better view than Samsara? Beautiful property, amenities fine, travel in a way where you can actually see Jamaica. Pay attention and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Sunsets and bar just perfect.

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mt. Vernon, NY
Jun 12, 2011

Good Getaway

The hotel was nice, just need to be open alittle later for the night owls

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

The chained hotel was more close to the entertainment then the Samsara

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Snorkeling Duo
Business
Nebraska
Jun 7, 2011

"Just What We Needed"

We loved snorkeling there, going to local restaurants, and visiting with Jamaican friends who we signed in at the resort. The non-inclusive option fit what we wanted well. The staff were helpful and friendly. The only negative is the high taxi cost and walking on the very narrow street that goes by the resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

"Just Natural" A great little outside dining experience a couple minutes walk from the resort.

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Apr 26, 2011

the bad

I got a all-inclusive at the hotel and it was very bad they gave you your drinks in a 8oz plastic cup and they did not sever a lot of food I ate at the hotel three times and ask could I get some of my money back and they told me they could not prove if I ate there or not.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Virginia
Apr 20, 2011

not to bad

the hbotel is good to relax, if you go with children don't stay at the garden, road is very danger to cross

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
fruity
Business
atlanta, ga.
Apr 14, 2011

really nice for the price

This hotel was nice and clean custmore service was great when we was around. Spent most of the time out and about but had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Take taxie where every you wanna go.

Back to menu Return to top