$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 4, 2015 Check-out: May 7, 2015

Samsara Resort

3 stars
View map of West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
95 out of 95
Amenities:
3.2
Cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nativelady
Business
United States
Oct 28, 2011

exploring Jamaica

I stayed at Samsara for a few days into my trip. Staff was very friendly and helpful, cliffs were beautiful. Few local shops around the resort, i'd suggest eating at Choices, or on down the street to local street vendors. I stayed in the garden side of the resort and it was amazing. The view was lovely, porch was peaceful and I LOVED the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you arent all-inclusive at this resort, then I definitely wouldnt eat at Samsara. The restaurants and street smoker a few steps away is half the price, real Jamaican food, and have many cool stories to tell!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justthe2ofus6886
Business
Greenville, SC, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Great Vacation

Samsara Hotel was quite an experience. When we arrived, we were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room, and we said yes, best decision we made.We truly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Yes, we would love for the air conditioning to be complimentary since Jamaica's weather is rather warm, but we would let up our windows at night along with the back door, and it was very breezy (and we never experienced any bug problems). Our room was ocean front, and when we walked down to the cliff area, it was absolutely gorgeous! It was tranquility at its best. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyday, we visited downtown Negril mingling with the locals and met some new friends. Everyone was so nice and friendly and were willing to assist us in every way possible. This trip I must say was an enlightnening experience! We were able to Jet Ski, and visited several night life activities while there. We didn't get to expereince any of the "tours" per say, but just interacting with the locals was good enough for us. We definitely will visit Jamaica again! Irie!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When taking the taxi, always ask for local price. It's cheaper than taking the hotel transportation or the tourist transportation

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cmon
Business
Maryville, TN, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Diving trip

Great dive shop and instructors . These are the best I have seen in travel all over they are a great bunch . They teach in a way you learn . Anyone interested in learning Scubra diving check out Marine Life Divers in Negril.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Twoody
Business
Ontario Canada
Oct 4, 2011

Samsara Sam So So

Staff not hospitable, very standoffish. We are in our late 30's. dont smoke or drink, not there to party and wreck the place.... Just didnt feel welcome. Paid $75.00 for AC that was sent to 78 degrees.. Almost useless and during room cleaning, they turned it off...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The roundabout in Negril, comes a live at night, but a little scary..?

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laverne
Business
Titusville, FL, USA
Sep 26, 2011

great family vacation

The hotel was wonderful and the staff was great. The rooms are very pretty and colorful. When arrived we had three rooms for the six of us.My mattress was hard in my room so i called the front desk say aprox. 11:00pm they right away sent house keeping up and changed my room , no charge and also move all belonging for us.The Samsara was very nice and quiet, there were no children there adults only. We will be going back to Samsara very soon. We loved it.The food is the best ever at the hotel resort called Ciao Jamaica we ate there everyday also at other restaurants in Negril. I will recommend your stay there you will be happy and have fun. The best trip ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Zee G
Business
Cincinnati, OH, USA
Sep 19, 2011

Enjoyed Samsara

The hotel is a great value ! I was very surprised upon checking in , my room was great , ocean view , very clean and the resort is in a great location. Beautiful grounds and friendly staff . My suggestions would be that Samsara invest in new pads for the lounge chairs and beds and to replace some of the loungers as its time. The pools are nice and were clean daily , all inclusive is a little costly so I suggest no to that option, can't speak about the food as I never ate there during my stay . The resort is very peaceful and I'll definitely be back . Make sure you get an air conditioned room as its very hot and fan only won't be very comfortable. There's a sister resort Legends and the access to the ocean is great there as Samsara is on the cliffs , however I dont suggest staying there as it definitely doesn't compare to the Samsara at all !

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
30 something on the move
Business
Greenbelt, MD, USA
Sep 9, 2011

Great for the Price

The hotel was average, with a beautiful view. We didn't spend to much time at the hotel because of the reviews read prior to the trip about food etc. We decided to do the local experience and glad we did. Breakfast at the hotel was nothing to write home about we ate at Sweet Spot and Sweet n Spicey both great spots to eat ate. About a $5 jamaican dollars taxi ride. Also if you want any amenities you have to rent them per day. $12/day for a refrigerator. We might spend a little more next time for comfort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Ask the locals they usally know best Sweet and Spicey has a nice family dining experience.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, fl
Aug 19, 2011

Not what i was expecting :(

Wow! it was not at all what i had expected. Frist off i paid extra for an ocean view room, and i got a few of trees! The A.C. didn't work, the t.v.remote was taped together.The front desk closed and open between the hours of 8am-11pm. Their towels were old, and they seem to have a shortage on towels and etc. when i was moved into another room for A.C. purposes, the view was no better from the second room. Don't know why they call it an Resort, because it felt like a motel-an OLD MOTEL!Some of the front desk help had attuide, and seem offended when asked for a extra face towels. The Only thing i can say that was good about the "motel" is once you were at the pool area the view was REMARKABLE. However, i've been to jamaica serval times over, and i can see a remarkable view anywhere. The cable went out and was never restored.Sorry to say Samsara SUCKED!:( never again will i stay at Samsara... When compare to my other visits and hotel stay, Samsara was the worst i've ever experience in jamaica. i still enjoy(ed) myself, because i only used the "motel" for sleeping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
First time at negril
Business
south orange, nj
Jun 21, 2011

Very Relaxing

The hotel definitely wasn't a 5 star hotel and i didn't expect that. However the property was beautiful. I think the grounds need a little upkeep but I really enjoyed the cliffs and the views. very peaceful and relaxing. the room was a little musty but once you turn on the fan you're good to go. there were ants but they didn't really bother me. the food was sub par so we ate at ciao jamaica (right across the street) and choices (also right across the street). we went to legends (samsara's other hotel) and enjoyed our time on seven mile beach. overall it was a wonderful experience. we also met the owner who taught my fiance how to float!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

eat at ciao Jamaica! the staff was super friendly and the food was delicious. I loved that the cuisine is Italian with a Jamaica twist. very tummy!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kc mama
Business
upstate new york
Jun 20, 2011

Truth!

We visited Negril, staying at Samsara for our March spring break this year. It was our first trip to Jamaica. Most of Jamaica was a happy surprise for us. This is also true of Samsara. We were given a standard type room on the garden side of the road. Upside - garden rooms are cool and quiet. Downside - the road, the road, the road - no ocean view. But - we got over that and enjoyed the large cottage room, with our rooster friends. You've seen it before, you get a great value here. The food was abundant. We saw vegetables and herbs used in meals planted around our cottage. Jamaican food at every meal. This was great with my husband, and not bad for me. Some food is pretty HOT. We enjoyed time at both properties. We would want to return to Legends, but only for beach time, not for sleeping. We like Samsara peace too much. Staff at both properties is very good to excellent. One of us needed a doctor and one was sent for, arriving and providing treatment within an hour. Excellent care. I would always ask if this service is available, whenever travelling abroad. Expect it to be expensive, as we did, but we were amazed at the relative low cost and the high quality. We took trips to Mayfield Falls and sorkeling. With both, I would recommend checking out company more than we did. Its probably not our best safety practice. End of the day, great trips, good times, safety attended to. A little attention to yourself is worth it. Have Jamaica fun, and go home well so you can go back to Jamaica. Finally, who has a better view than Samsara? Beautiful property, amenities fine, travel in a way where you can actually see Jamaica. Pay attention and relax.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Sunsets and bar just perfect.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top