$74 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Samsara Resort

3 stars
West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
90 reviews
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
awesome get away

Negril is beautiful! This hotel has spectacular staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the... See full review

  • MAVRCK86
  • Apr 21, 2013
Oceanfront vacation “on the rocks” at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Café (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)

Hotel Map

18.2727 -78.3669
Area served
Negril, Jamaica
Nearby airports
Montego Bay – Donald Sangster International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located on Negril’s West End Road nestled atop low cliffs with direct sea access to crystal clear lagoons and coves. This area offers outstanding privacy and a tranquil setting commanding spectacular Caribbean views of sea and sunset. Area Location - Downtown Negril - 1.5 km / Rick's Café (cliff jumping, dancing) - 1.5 km / Negril Lighthouse - 2 km / Negril River - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Crafts Market - 2 km / Jimmy Buffett's Margaritaville - 4 km / Negril Hills Golf Club - 16 km / Negril Royal Palm Reserve - 17 km / Horseback riding – 40 km / YS Falls – 56 km / Mayfield Falls - 72 km / Appleton Rum Factory - 80 km / Bamboo Avenue – 96.5 km / Black River – 120 km / Dunn’s River Falls – 145 km / Dolphin Experience – 145 km / Blue Mountains – 289 km.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (90)

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
90 out of 90
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ronang
Queens, NY, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Awesome December 2011

Great location, very safe (unlike some beach side hotels). Amazing staff!! You should get a room with a/c for sure. I did all inclusive even after reading bad reviews for food. They short change you a bit with the cheap drinks & salads, but it wasn't bad at all. I rented a scooter for $30 per day to zip around with - no issues. The locals can be a little pushy out on the street especially on the beach side, but be firm with your "NO" & they won't bother. Jumping off ciiffs was fun, I can NOT wait to get back to Samsara!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

2 minute walk down the road and you'll reach 2 stores to get drinks, snacks, toiletries, etc. Lots of places to eat if you don't do all inclusive.

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Paul David
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Dec 9, 2011

it was good

The staff at the hotel were nice to deal with. The food was good. just remember to bring your own beach towels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

there's lots of places around to eat cheaper

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pbergin
Virginia
Nov 18, 2011

Samsara 11-2001

You can't get a better value than this hotel in the middle of November. At $44/night it's an outstanding deal. We got two cottages with lofts for that price. The view from the cliffs is spectacular. The restaurant and bar are fair to middle. Pricey, but reasonably good food. I'd avoid the all-inclusive and go for the local restaurants and food stands, cars etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The fare for cabs should never be more than $100J per person from the cliffs to town and $100J more to the beach. This is what the locals pay for a Route taxi. When you hail a cab look for the red plates, and tell them that you are NOT chartering. Tell them what you'll pay and stick to it. You'll get your way

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JETSRI
Boulder, CO
Nov 9, 2011

Great first place to stay for first time to Negril

We were very happy with Samsara, the staff, and the rooms. There is a restaurant at the hotel with a bar which is convenient, but pricy. There are other places to eat in walking distance. There is no beach front, but they do provide a shuttle to their other resort, Legends. I enjoyed the pools and lounge chairs. Beach towels are not provided so bring your own. Overall, we were very happy and will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

3 Dives- Best food ever. Long wait, but worth it.

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
doctor love
City of London, UK
Nov 6, 2011

we had a nice relaxing family break.

my experience was quite good, the room was a good size, in overall we enjoyed thye time we spent there. the staff were helpfull and approable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
nativelady
United States
Oct 28, 2011

exploring Jamaica

I stayed at Samsara for a few days into my trip. Staff was very friendly and helpful, cliffs were beautiful. Few local shops around the resort, i'd suggest eating at Choices, or on down the street to local street vendors. I stayed in the garden side of the resort and it was amazing. The view was lovely, porch was peaceful and I LOVED the room!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you arent all-inclusive at this resort, then I definitely wouldnt eat at Samsara. The restaurants and street smoker a few steps away is half the price, real Jamaican food, and have many cool stories to tell!

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
justthe2ofus6886
Greenville, SC, USA
Oct 19, 2011

Great Vacation

Samsara Hotel was quite an experience. When we arrived, we were asked if we wanted to upgrade our room, and we said yes, best decision we made.We truly enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Yes, we would love for the air conditioning to be complimentary since Jamaica's weather is rather warm, but we would let up our windows at night along with the back door, and it was very breezy (and we never experienced any bug problems). Our room was ocean front, and when we walked down to the cliff area, it was absolutely gorgeous! It was tranquility at its best. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Everyday, we visited downtown Negril mingling with the locals and met some new friends. Everyone was so nice and friendly and were willing to assist us in every way possible. This trip I must say was an enlightnening experience! We were able to Jet Ski, and visited several night life activities while there. We didn't get to expereince any of the "tours" per say, but just interacting with the locals was good enough for us. We definitely will visit Jamaica again! Irie!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When taking the taxi, always ask for local price. It's cheaper than taking the hotel transportation or the tourist transportation

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Cmon
Maryville, TN, USA
Oct 10, 2011

Diving trip

Great dive shop and instructors . These are the best I have seen in travel all over they are a great bunch . They teach in a way you learn . Anyone interested in learning Scubra diving check out Marine Life Divers in Negril.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Twoody
Ontario Canada
Oct 4, 2011

Samsara Sam So So

Staff not hospitable, very standoffish. We are in our late 30's. dont smoke or drink, not there to party and wreck the place.... Just didnt feel welcome. Paid $75.00 for AC that was sent to 78 degrees.. Almost useless and during room cleaning, they turned it off...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

The roundabout in Negril, comes a live at night, but a little scary..?

Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Laverne
Titusville, FL, USA
Sep 26, 2011

great family vacation

The hotel was wonderful and the staff was great. The rooms are very pretty and colorful. When arrived we had three rooms for the six of us.My mattress was hard in my room so i called the front desk say aprox. 11:00pm they right away sent house keeping up and changed my room , no charge and also move all belonging for us.The Samsara was very nice and quiet, there were no children there adults only. We will be going back to Samsara very soon. We loved it.The food is the best ever at the hotel resort called Ciao Jamaica we ate there everyday also at other restaurants in Negril. I will recommend your stay there you will be happy and have fun. The best trip ever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search