$77 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 20, 2014 Check-out: Dec 23, 2014

Samsara Resort

3 stars
West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
92 reviews
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great staff and location!

Love the staff and location! Food is good, although nothing special. See full review

  • Kybug
  • Feb 23, 2014
Oceanfront vacation “on the rocks” at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Café (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Carol Linda Jennifer
Business
Lake Placid, Florida
Apr 5, 2013

chillaxing vacation - beautiful view

I enjoyed the peace & quiet at samsara. I also liked walking the beach at the sister resort Legends. The shuttle only runs at set times, but taxis are readily available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Did not have much entertainment in the week I stayed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdang
Business
Boston
Mar 27, 2013

Amazing experience

Located in a nice, quiet area in the West End, perfect for a relaxing vacation. Very easy access to 7 Mile Beach with free shuttle daily at 10am if you're looking for more action. Cliffside resort, fun to jump off, and the best place to view sunsets in Negril! Staff is friendly, welcoming, & helpful. Ocean view rooms are awesome, very spacious even with an oversize king bed. -All inclusive plan in great for drinks 10am-10pm, but buffet food is whatever -Game room is outdated, need to get a new pool table

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Taxis - Always negotiate an agreeable price before entering the car, use the listing at the front desk for reference

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Tracyml
Business
Milwaukee
Feb 4, 2013

Disappointed

I was really disappointed with this hotel. I travel a great deal, and by far this was my worst. The food was not good, it's not for a person that wants to be around some action or other sites. The place needs updating. The pool furniture was old and run down, I wouldn't even sit on it. The lighting in the bathroom was horrible and one day it took until 4pm to get fresh towels. I asked for some extras and I received only 1 towel. And mosquitoes were constantly in the room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Janet L
Business
Naperville, IL, USA
Jan 4, 2013

Relaxing Week in Negril

Was at first taken aback that our room was across the busy street - but then found out that we were given a cute 2 bedroom cottage (I though I booked a one room) - I loved our front deck, the room was big and very clean. We spent the majority of our time at their sister hotel Legends on the beach where our friends were staying but it was nice to come back to our cute cottage and the staff at the Samsara were amazing - loved Peter who took good care in getting us across the street or into a shuttle or cab. The restaurant Ciao at the Samara was very good - my husband ate their four times! We spent one afternoon cliff jumping at Samsara and a sunset - I do now wish we would have spent more time there, the bar staff and servers are way more attentive at Samsara then anywhere in Negril.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Ciao Restuarant - very very good!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Teeeeee
Business
Wilmington, DE
Nov 25, 2012

7 Stays

This is our seventh trip to Samsara and they seem to have improved something on the property every time we return. The location is excellent- a short walk or taxi to all the negril hotspots. The new restaurant on the property is wonderful- menu and staff! The only complaint would be the bar staff at both Samsara and Legends were not very personable. We were not all inclusive- and we were tipping- yet they seemed to be bothered all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

ALWAYS agree on a price with the taxi driver before you get into the car. Use the taxi price guide on the front desk as a guide.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Terri and Mike
Business
Drumheller, Alberta, Canada
Oct 16, 2012

Home away from home!!

My husband and I have stayed at Samsara for our vacation for 4 years straight. And awaiting our 5th. I dont think I would go anywhere else in Negril. The rooms are fair....but why sit in your room in Jamaica!! Very clean and thats what mattered to us the most. The odd bug or ant...but what do you expect when in the tropics!! Dont keep opened food in your room is a good practice to follow!! Food is alright...breakfast is amazing!! Lots of places close by to choose from to eat!! Staff is why we keep going back...we are treated like family!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Leticia w.
Business
tampa,Florida
Jun 21, 2012

Amazing couples retreat

honestly the best experience I ever had. its a ideal island getaway no stress honest relaxation. we had the king cottage with ac (get ac).amazing room its kind of rundown however we enjoyed every moment of the cliffs and beautiful sunsets. the front desk is weird and when it rains the whole resort is filled with water. however the all inclusive is not needed surrounding restaurants food 100x better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

two restaurants you have to try. choices which is across the street and three dives the taxi people will trick you into paying but walk trust me 20 dollars for a taxi is ridiculous they rip you off

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ppimentel90
Business
New Jersey
Mar 20, 2012

Relaxing time in Jamaica

A group of friends and I went to Jamaica for spring break this year and we stayed at the Samsara Resort. The resort itself was nothing out of the ordinary but the people that we met there including the staff is what made our trade worthwhile. The food there is not five star but it feels like a great home cooked meal. It is mostly buffet style if you stay and pay all inclusive. I would 100% recommend this to anyone and I would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
over 55 couple
Business
irvine, california
Jan 7, 2012

Family christmas reunion

Very charming boutique hotel, out of the ordinary. stayed at a large all-inclusive resort for the first 3 days in montego bay, then moved to Samsara. It was a nice change from the large resort feel. Be sure to rent a room facing the water instead of the rooms across the street. Ours was very nice and looked remodeled. the Christmas meal was excellent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
smheigh
Business
Annandale, VA
Jan 2, 2012

Great for the adventurous family.

Beautiful location on the cliffs. My teenage daughters and I loved the cliff diving and snorkeling, right outside your door. Plenty of room, it never felt crowded and we never had to fight for a lounge chair or outdoor bed. Wonderful outdoor spa and the dive shop is great, we rented snorkeling gear onsite and could have gotten dive certified if we felt that ambitious. This is not a fancy resort, the rooms are not plush but have everything you need, it's spotlessly clean, and the beds are comfortable. The food is so-so but there's an excellent restaurant, Ciao Jamaica, right across the street. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

When you stay at Samsara, take the free shuttle to its sister resort, Legends, for the day for a beach and shopping experience. The beach is amazing but Legends is alot more crowded and we preferred staying at Samsara.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top