$135 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 18, 2015 Check-out: Jan 20, 2015

Samsara Resort

3 stars
West End Road, P O Box 3023, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
92 reviews
Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the... See full review

  • Dr. Vanessa
  • Jun 19, 2014
Great staff and location!

Love the staff and location! Food is good, although nothing special. See full review

  • Kybug
  • Feb 23, 2014
Oceanfront vacation “on the rocks” at relaxed Negril cliff-side resort

The casual oceanfront Samsara Resort rests on Negril's famous cliffs, which rise above coves, lagoons and stunning rock formations. Guests spend lazy days lounging by the pool or on the 400-foot oceanfront sundeck carved into the cliffs. The water below is ideal for swimming, snorkeling and scuba diving. An all-inclusive option includes meals, drinks and an exchange program with sister property, Legends Beach Resort, located five minutes away on Seven Mile Beach. Don't miss the stunning sunset view from the cliffs, followed by a romantic cliff-side dinner.

Highlights
  • Oceanfront location on Negril's famous cliffs
  • Shuttle to Seven Mile Beach
  • All-inclusive option with buffet and a la carte dining
  • Sun decks built into cliffs with lounges, shade tents

 

Rooms

Accommodations at the Samsara Resort include a mix of hotel rooms, cottages and pillar huts. They are decorated with a tropical flair of colorful fabrics, tile flooring and flower petals strewn across beds. Most enjoy sea views and all include patios or balconies overlooking gardens. All are equipped with cable TV. Some have air conditioning, while others are cooled by ceiling fans and sea breezes.

 

Features

The cliff-side location creates a unique alternative to the typical beach locale. Samsara Resort guests enjoy easy access to the ocean for swimming and snorkeling. Private sundecks with lounges and shade tents are chiseled into the cliffs. The pool and Jacuzzi offer stunning ocean views. Relax by the pool on a "chill-out" bed or indulge in a cliff-side massage. The resort's scuba center offers courses and a variety of dives.

 

Guests choosing the all-inclusive option (all meals and drinks) receive exchange privileges, including dining, at sister property Legends Beach Resort. Legends is just five minutes away on famed Seven Mile Beach. Shuttles between the resorts run regularly.

 

For a dramatic transition from day to night, enjoy a cliff-side cocktail as the sun sets over the water. Evenings are playful and relaxed. Start with a cliff-side dinner of West Indian red pea soup and grilled snapper, followed by a visit to the oceanfront bar. Live entertainers perform two nights per week.

 

Transportation
  • Montego Bay Airport (33.2 mi/53.3 km)
Attractions
  • Negril Hills Golf Course (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Jimmie Buffett's Margaritaville (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Rick's Café (0.9 mi/1.5 km)

 

Business
  • High speed Internet (fees apply)

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Samsara Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.1 out of 5

Samsara Resort Rooms

Standard w/Fan - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Standard rooms may be located on either side of the street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Standard w/Fan
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Standard rooms may be located on either side of street in octagonal bungalows with high ceiling or in main hotel section, with 1 Double or 1 Double plus 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah with view of tropical gardens.
All Inclusive Superior w/ AC
ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.
Superior w/A.C. - EP Plan
EUROPEAN PLAN ONLY - Superior rooms are located in the main oceanfront hotel section, with 1 King or 1 Double + 1 Twin or 2 Double beds, includes air conditioning, ceramic tile flooring and are equipped with cable television, direct dial telephone, bathroom with shower, ceiling fan and furnished private patio or verandah, most with sea view.

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Room service
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking

Dining

Restaurant
The seaside restaurant and bar offer local and international dishes as well as snacks throughout the day and evening. Samsara's well known Happy Hour brings old and new friends together for good music, tropical cocktails and amazing sunsets. Outstanding views, friendly service and twice weekly live dinner entertainment. Optional All Inclusive plan offers great value for money with 3 meals per day (snacks not included), open bar with unlimited domestic liquors and non alcholic beverages from 10 am - 10 pm. Exchange privilege on all inclusive meals / drinks at sister property Legends Beach Resort.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (92)

Ratings and reviews for Samsara Resort

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.2
Room cleanliness:
3.8
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4
Value:
3.9

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New Jersey
Nov 23, 2014

Nice place

Overall good. Friendly and good location. Shower was icky

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Melissa yoga momma
Business
New Jersey
Nov 23, 2014

Nice plAce

Great location. Nice grounds. Not so nice shower. Friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dr. Vanessa
Business
Florida
Jun 19, 2014

Fantastic honeymoon or family getaway

My fiancé and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay from the minute we were greeted at the door to the minute we left. The staff was friendly, reliable, and very accommodating to our needs. Everything was exactly as pictured from the room to the cliff-side view from the pool and Jacuzzi. The room had everything we needed, a nice king-sized bed, a closet, cable tv, a shower (with warm water), clean towels and sheets daily, night stands, chest and drawer set with a mirror, a medicine cabinet with a mirror in the bathroom, soap, a front patio with clean furniture and a nice hammock to relax in. They even offer free-parking. (Wi-Fi is available for a small fee.) The grounds were kept clean and pretty with so many different varieties of plants. The pool, Jacuzzi, and fountain were all clean, well-kempt, and with comfortable temperatures. The cliff-side area was clean and amazing, couples sat by it enjoying the view of the water, and watching the snorkelers swim buy. There is even an accessible and safely located ladder to enter the water if you decide....or you could do what most people did, which was just jump right in!:-) The service at the downstairs bar and upstairs restaurant were great too. The restaurant offered affordable all-you-can eat buffet for meals, or pay as you go. We chose (and saved with) the pay as you go option for breakfast only, as we were never there for lunch or dinner (and always found good and affordable food locally). The hotel is right across from the Cia Italian restaurant, which offers really good food (pizza, pasta, seafood, etc.) Not to mention, Samsara is conveniently located in Negril, so you're really close to the shopping areas and other seaside places. You also have an amazing view of the waterside from the Samsara restaurant and we happened to be seated at the same table each morning, which made our stay even more enjoyable, because it made us feel comfortable, like we were home. From day 1, we were happy with our choice of staying at this hotel, and by our final day, we both agreed that we would DEFINITELY return to this hotel in the future. Thanks Samsara!!....we loved it!!!:-)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to "The Jungle" nightclub for a good time, $15 US (or $1500 JA), offers a certain selection of unlimited free drinks (such as Bacardi Vodka, tequila, or rum) from 9 PM-2AM, great music and atmosphere (there is a downstairs area and an unroofed upstairs area)--both sections play a variety of reggae, r&b, hip-hop, and a little calypso music.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Lsmitty53 in Baltimore
Business
Baltimore, MD
Jun 9, 2014

Birthday Present turns to NIGHTMARE!!!

i would strongly advise to not expect to get what is advertised. No in room Wi-Fi. Customer service nearly non-existing, basic items had to repeatedly request, requested follow-up by staff nearly never done. Request to speak to Mgr was rejected and I was not allowed to speak to the mgr who was there. I was ignored and not the only visitor to have problems with them at same time. I chose to spend my birthday weekend with them and instead of at least being pleasant I was grateful to leave. Will contact dept of tourism for Jamaica, and report to approiate authorities for our country. If you are looking for something pleasant to remember I advise not to stay at this location. My age 57years. and have completed a lot of international traveling. But as I said was not allowed to speak to the owner (who lives on site) or any manager at all, and was intentionally ignored when a direct request was made repeatedly. Truth and honesty should always be first and someone in authority should be available to answer a visitor who was staying with them. God bless all who has the patience and courage to read this honest and truthful review.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Beware hotel specials that sounds to good to be true. and never expect to get everything that is in ads that you read online. Always find a way to spend a little more so you will at least be treated civil and you might get what you are promise.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kybug
Business
Usa
Feb 23, 2014

Great staff and location!

Love the staff and location! Food is good, although nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ro2013
Business
California
Nov 13, 2013

Amazing view but...

Breathtaking cliff and sunset view are the best part of this hotel. Internet was down 3 out of 4 days I stayed there. Room was clean, however I did find a couple of bugs in the room and bathroom. Ocean view: I paid for it but they gave me an ocean front view but was obstructed with trees that made it hard to see any ocean. Bed mattress was too firm. Restaurant food was good but pricey.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Rick's Cafe is an amazing place to relax and enjoy amazing cliff divers and sunset view!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Jimmy Dorsey
Business
Gwynn Oak, Md
Aug 5, 2013

If only for medical reasons

I could not believe that a hotel would not have air condition for a body unless you pay extra for it. I travel four or five times a year but never ran into this before. $18 a day is the price you have to pay in order to receive comfort in the brutal heat of the day and some nights. If you have a heat related medical condition take some extra bucks. However, this Resort should warn it's potential customers about this condition if only for medical reasons. Plus, towels are not in the rooms when you arrive you have to ask for them. Once I had to ask at the end of a day. The bar is staffed intermittently because the same waiters are used in the restaurant above the bar. Other than that, this is a nice place but the air conditioner situation I didn't care for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

This is a nice place but the air conditioner situation I didn't care for.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cashneuro
Business
Los Angeles, California
Jun 2, 2013

Great view but lacking a little something extra

The hotel is located on top of a cliff. It offers great view of the ocean. I booked a superior ocean front, and was suprised to find out that the only diifference compared to the a standard room was the inclusion of air conditioning. There was a slight Oder at times radiating from the bathroom. Overall the staff was very friendly.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a resturant, Three Dives, that offers very good food at a reasonable price. We mostly had the jerk chicken and it was great.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
LCKR
Business
Washington, DC
Apr 30, 2013

Relaxing and fun

Had a great time in Negril - Samsara is basic but the staff are friendly and very accommodating. The resort is a little tired but being able to shuttle to and from their sister property, Legends, was a great bonus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Samsara Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MAVRCK86
Business
Boynton Beach, Florida
Apr 21, 2013

awesome get away

Negril is beautiful! This hotel has spectacular staff. Very friendly and knowledgeable about the area and excursions available (sunset cruise, horseback on the beach, tour of the black river and YS falls). Great to have access to the sister hotel (Legends) on the beach. But enjoyed being at Samsara; jumping off the cliffs and snorkeling. We did the all inclusive and could not have been happier. I would not recommend this hotel to people who need 5 star hotels and amenities. But for the folks who want to experience Jamaica and are not hung up on all the comforts of home, this is the place and culture for you (no blow dryer or iron in the room, air available at a cost; but ceiling fan was enough to cool us). Thank you for a great vacation Samsara!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top