$291 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 18, 2014 Check-out: Aug 21, 2014

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
210 reviews
Pereira Family

Perfect places to vacation. None of the typical all inclusive complaints. The food is outstanding,... See full review

  • ineicyx
  • Jun 4, 2014
Irie

Great location and excellent staff. Food was great and fresh. Would revisit in a heartbeat. See full review

  • Kamski
  • May 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.3446 -78.333
Area served
Negril, Jamaica.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay's International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located on Jamaica's West-End, in Negril.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (210)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
210 out of 210
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

86% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chris A Fan
Santa Clara, CA
Jul 12, 2014

40th Birthday Party

The Riu Palace in N egril was wonderful, clean, comfortable, centrally located to fun excursions & near downtown Negril for shopping & authentic Jamaican cuisine when the buffet (which was satisfying) wore thin. I would definitely recommend this spot for sun in the fun. I'll be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native daughter
Saint Augustine, Florida
Jun 16, 2014

Enjoyable but a little dated

Hotel was very nice but property and frniture in the rooms could be updated. Beds were not as comfortable as could be and pillows and linen were not as nice as expected from a resort. Food and entertainment were good and staff was very friendly. Jerk hut on the beach for lunch everyday was excellent and drinks were great. Mini bar was well stocked with beverages everyday and rum was available in room. Would recommend as nice and comfortable. They should have a shuttle that could run people up and down seven mile beach that would have been nice just for shopping or going to local restaurants. The restaurant reservations on-site were hard to get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at the Jerk hut for lunch. I am a native of Jamaica. Jolly is the BBQ chef and it is authentic and delicious.

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jamaican Me Crazy
Thousand Oaks, California
Jun 13, 2014

Birthday Vacation

Went here for my Birthday week and had an amazing time. The hotel was beautiful and had everything u needed to relax. The staff was great with the exception of a couple bad apples. The beach and pool made the trip. Only downside for me was the bed. It was too hard and my biggest issue was the comforter, it smelled like dust and when I got home I had mite bites on my legs from it. The rest of room was always clean don't get me wrong. But my girlfriend and I want to come back soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

The 3/4 restaurants require men only to dress nice(long pants and closed toe shoes) and u want to make the reservations the day before and it's either 630p or 9p dinner times.

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
ineicyx
Orlando,FL
Jun 4, 2014

Pereira Family

Perfect places to vacation. None of the typical all inclusive complaints. The food is outstanding, the specialty restaurants were easy to get in to, and the wait staff was amazing. The nightly entertainment was above average. Staff go out of their way to be helpful and always ask if there is anything they can do for you.Beautiful beach ,clear water, you see fish also. I really enjoy!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: In Hotel

Every night have show and music

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kamski
Minot, North Dakota
May 27, 2014

Irie

Great location and excellent staff. Food was great and fresh. Would revisit in a heartbeat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

barter with excursion agents for the lowest price. They all have the same excursions.

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob125690
Washington DC
May 12, 2014

Nice place, unfriendly staff

I really enjoyed my time there as long as I did not have to interact with the staff. The front desk staff has to be the most dour people on the island. That set the tone ofr the rest of the staff, even wait staff who avoided serving, and most of them never smiled. I wanted to tip, but I was waiting for someone to provide service with a smile. The entertainment company that put on the shows and daily activities, went around making fun of the guests, whcih was not funny to see or nice to the guests. I expected professionalism from the staff and respect for the guests. There are mnay places to go, and places like this should send more time investing more in teaching their staff how to act. The location is beautiful, the rooms are very good. The ocean water is crystal clear and wonderful beach. I would not go back becasue of the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The evening food is better in the buffet than the sepcialty restaurants, which are just average.

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Boyfriend of the year
Fort mcmurray, ab
May 3, 2014

Couples getaway

Clean rooms, friendly staff, and great food. Can't wait to go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Uncle Mat
Noblesville, IN
Apr 13, 2014

Good experience

Enjoyed every minute of the stay. Staff was very good and the service was perfect. Food was excellent. No complaints.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikko Wassin
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 12, 2014

Great Vacation

Room was good and clean. The beach was the best I've ever been to. Staff was over the top nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
yaman
Vermont, USA
Mar 23, 2014

Love This Place

This was our 3rd time to the resort. We absolutely Love It. The staff can't do enough to make sure you have everything you could ever want or need. The food is good and the drinks are great as long as you tell them wash at you want otherwise they were a little weak for my taste. The staff keep the place looking good from the buildings to the beach. I think the beach is the best part the Locals can get a little annoying but If you tell them you are good and are polite about it they move on quickly. We are all ready talking about next years visit and this time we are taking our kids

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: In Hotel

The best beach singer is Kevin he is a single guy with a guitar. He is low pressure and has the best voice.

Back to menu Return to top