$305 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 13, 2015 Check-out: May 16, 2015

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
View map of Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
184 reviews
Fantastic Hotel and Great Location

We booked a jr. suite ocean front and got upgraded to an oceanfront suite which was an amazing... See full review

  • EM311
  • Mar 2, 2015
Husband Wife getaway

We have stayed here for the 4th time. While it is an hour+ drive to and from airport, we feel it is... See full review

  • mark b.
  • Feb 13, 2015

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 184
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.6
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.2
Location:
4
Value:
4

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BKLYN STAR
Business
New York
Aug 17, 2014

Great getaway for family and couples

The hotel was awesome !! On my B day the hotel brought a cake to my room. The hotel is very clean. The staff was very Welcoming. One day I requested Do Not disturb.. That night a staff member came to my room to ask if I needed any towels for bathroom accessories.. I highly recommend this hotel .. The one thing they should add is having appetizers at poolside or even at the beach location. Otherwise just an awesome experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bring more than just shorts and a T-shirt especially for dining

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nikko Wassin
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Apr 12, 2014

Great Vacation

Room was good and clean. The beach was the best I've ever been to. Staff was over the top nice!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jeffrodiziac
Business
corona,california
Dec 15, 2013

personal oasis

My experiance at riu palace tropical bay,negril was pretty awsome! I arrived to negril from LA kinda late,about 10 pm and right from then on I was treated like royalty.Whatever you need,want they will do their best to get you.the hotel rooms were nice olny complait was a little bit of foul odor like moister in room idk not too bad.hotel buffett was one best I have ever had,pool is awsome , bars great entertainment from the morning on they provide it.From morning arobics in the water ,criket on the beach , beach volley ball to live reggae and live dance shows on the stage at night .Oveall definettly go to negil an stay at riu tropical bay awsome flat out awsome place oh yea do the ys falls climb and sunset cruise

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Black river / ys falls

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JZ80
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Treated like a queen

Loved this hotel. I stayed over New Year's Eve and had a great time at the party. We ate lobster and they celebrated with a band, large ice sculptures, champagne and hats with horns. The food was delicious, the beach is grand, but it just takes time to get there. My only complaint is that the bed was a bit hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a shuttle to the location. The roads are kind of iffy to drive yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jamaica Mike
Business
New Brunswick, New Jersey
Apr 30, 2011

RIU Palace Tropical Bay, Negril Jamaica

This is my 6th stay at the RIU, in Negril Jamaica. I've stayed at the Hotel Club RIU three times, and and the RIU Palace three times, all within the past year and a half. For the value, the Hotel Club RIU is the best in Negril. However, the RIU Palace is second to none. The RIU Palace is simply way better!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The Times Square duty free shopping center is a five minute taxi ride from the hotel. The prices are the lowest. Don't buy from hotel gift shop or airport, unless necessary. Check our the West End of Negril. There are awesome cliffs, excellent sunsets, and the greatest restaurants ( 3 Dives, and XTABI are great!!)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Nicole S.
Business
Upstate Newyork
Aug 15, 2010

The best staff ever!

My first 5 days were spent alone. The dining staff got to know my likes and dislikes. I eventually never ordered anything to drink or chose a table. I was seated where I always sat and my favorite drinks magically appeared. [...] from the entertainment department nicknamed me " Miss Jamaica" and always tried to include me in everything. This hotel looks big but is still very intimate. The staff knows your name and you know theirs. Oh, did I mention it has the most beautiful beach that God has created. The water is crystal clear and so calm( the beach is located in a bay). Only issue was the food, it was hit or miss. When my husband joined me on the last night the hotel transformed from an awesome time for self reflection and for admiration of the beautiful setting to the most romantic place ever. Have fun!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Jungle( a local night club, NYC meets the west indies) has ladies night on Thursdays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milano
Mar 31, 2010

Family Resort

I spent few days in the hotel. I appreciated a lot the quality and variety of breakfast. The lunch could be improved like the dinner. The water is undrinkable. In a 5 stars hotel could offer bottles at tables. The pool could be refurbished like most of sun beds changed. Personnel very good. Hotel good for families not for singles

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 4, 2010

Customer Service Disaster

I had to stand in line early in the morning to get a restaurant reservation. When I showed up, I was told that I wasn't wearing the right attire, was by myself, and was late, and therefore, that I wouldn't be served. I got angry, and the director threatened to expel me from the resort. This is the worst experience in service I have ever had. The room I had was right next to a noisy highway. Staff was very unhelpful on providing any service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Saphy25
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Sep 29, 2009

The best birthday ever

The best vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top