$291 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 29, 2014 Check-out: Sep 1, 2014

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
213 reviews
Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet... See full review

  • Calin Voicu
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very... See full review

  • Cutty C
  • Jul 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

18.3446 -78.333
Area served
Negril, Jamaica.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay's International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located on Jamaica's West-End, in Negril.

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (213)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
46 out of 213
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

85% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Calin Voicu
Ocean City, MD
Jul 28, 2014

Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet is our best experience until now.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Horses

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cutty C
Pompano beach ,Florida
Jul 27, 2014

Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very energetic and friendly. Andrew at front desk was particularly helpful and the show/entertainment staff great with the kids and adults!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Native daughter
Saint Augustine, Florida
Jun 16, 2014

Enjoyable but a little dated

Hotel was very nice but property and frniture in the rooms could be updated. Beds were not as comfortable as could be and pillows and linen were not as nice as expected from a resort. Food and entertainment were good and staff was very friendly. Jerk hut on the beach for lunch everyday was excellent and drinks were great. Mini bar was well stocked with beverages everyday and rum was available in room. Would recommend as nice and comfortable. They should have a shuttle that could run people up and down seven mile beach that would have been nice just for shopping or going to local restaurants. The restaurant reservations on-site were hard to get.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Eat at the Jerk hut for lunch. I am a native of Jamaica. Jolly is the BBQ chef and it is authentic and delicious.

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob125690
Washington DC
May 12, 2014

Nice place, unfriendly staff

I really enjoyed my time there as long as I did not have to interact with the staff. The front desk staff has to be the most dour people on the island. That set the tone ofr the rest of the staff, even wait staff who avoided serving, and most of them never smiled. I wanted to tip, but I was waiting for someone to provide service with a smile. The entertainment company that put on the shows and daily activities, went around making fun of the guests, whcih was not funny to see or nice to the guests. I expected professionalism from the staff and respect for the guests. There are mnay places to go, and places like this should send more time investing more in teaching their staff how to act. The location is beautiful, the rooms are very good. The ocean water is crystal clear and wonderful beach. I would not go back becasue of the service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: In Hotel

The evening food is better in the buffet than the sepcialty restaurants, which are just average.

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 12, 2014

Unexpected Disappointing Stay!

The hotel did not live up to the RIU Palace hype. The place was run down, mold on the roofs, landscaping in need of upgrades, had to wait hours for towels at the pool, grafitti on statues in the pools, broken machines in the gym. We were terribly disappointed as we paid a 'premium" to stay at the RIU Palace. Defnitely not a 4 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
resort lovers 85
Boston, Ma
Mar 8, 2014

perfect hidden beach gem.

Hotel was well maintained and clean. Staff was super friendly and accommodating. Beach was perfect and couldn't be better. Many food options in buffet and always serving fresh tropical fruits. Pool space was lacking. Pool would have been better if it was heated since the pool water was still cold during our travel. The non-motorized water sport activities equipment were clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly and very helpful to get you to the activity you want.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Don't book round trip transport to and from hotel via the bus that stops at every hotel along the way. We used the travel provided by Jamaica Tours company. The bus was expensive overall per person and time consuming. Look around and book for private transfer or just take a taxi. It would cost less money and save a lot of time.

Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Huntington Beach, CA
Jan 19, 2014

Sadly Disappointed!

We've stayed at RIU's before, specifically the Palace, but this time our experience did not live up to expectations. Here's why: no face towels in rooms for two days, no pool or beach towels on 3 seperate occasions,(once we waited 3 hours#, buildings are run down, need paint, facia is rotting and there appeared to be moss and or mold on roofs of buildings. In fitness center, 3 of 8 eliptical machines were broken our entire visit, the grounds were messy. Ran out of ingredients for omelets on two occasions, ran out of ingredients for drinks #on the menu) and two several occasions, pillows were as flat as pancakes, rust on shower rods, floors still dirty after maids cleaned, missing tiles in the swimming pool and there was grafetti on one of the stautes in the pool. I've stayed at RIU Palace hotels before in Cabo and it was a solid '4' even leaning to a '5'. RIU Palace Negril was a weak '3'. On the plus side, the food was good and the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. The nightly entertainment was very good. We paid a premium to stay at the 'Palace' vs the regular RIU, but definitely did not get the value. Unless they make major changes, I wont be staying at this facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ballet fan
bloomington, ind
Jan 10, 2014

family vacation

We have been to this hotel around 5 times, most recently with our entire family for Christmas break. Great beach, very relaxing, great staff. Probably not worth as many stars as claimed but still a very comfortable and relaxing place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alexzig
New jersey
Dec 15, 2013

Jamaica trip

We had a great time .Food was great, service and interment also was good. We will recommend this resort to our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Really unimpressed
Toronto, Canada
Dec 5, 2013

Messed up reservation/booking

when we arrived, we were told that both our junior suite-oceanfront rooms were not available for 2 nights of the 7 nights of our reservation. the hotel was overbooked and we had to move to the sister hotel and a down-grade. after hours of arguing that we would not move, the hotel management was not able to do anything about our situation. apparently, depending on how the reservation was booked, we suspected as an Orb1T booking, we were going to be victims of the system. compensation was an upgraded suite with a Jacuzzi tub for when we returned for the remainder of the stay. appalling treatment of sister of the bride and parents of the bride.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top