$274 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 6, 2014 Check-out: Dec 7, 2014

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
159 reviews
Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet... See full review

  • Calin Voicu
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very... See full review

  • Cutty C
  • Jul 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (159)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
159 out of 159
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Mar 12, 2014

Unexpected Disappointing Stay!

The hotel did not live up to the RIU Palace hype. The place was run down, mold on the roofs, landscaping in need of upgrades, had to wait hours for towels at the pool, grafitti on statues in the pools, broken machines in the gym. We were terribly disappointed as we paid a 'premium" to stay at the RIU Palace. Defnitely not a 4 star resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jan 4, 2010

Customer Service Disaster

I had to stand in line early in the morning to get a restaurant reservation. When I showed up, I was told that I wasn't wearing the right attire, was by myself, and was late, and therefore, that I wouldn't be served. I got angry, and the director threatened to expel me from the resort. This is the worst experience in service I have ever had. The room I had was right next to a noisy highway. Staff was very unhelpful on providing any service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Island Dreamer Mom
Business
Huntington Beach, CA
Jan 19, 2014

Sadly Disappointed!

We've stayed at RIU's before, specifically the Palace, but this time our experience did not live up to expectations. Here's why: no face towels in rooms for two days, no pool or beach towels on 3 seperate occasions,(once we waited 3 hours#, buildings are run down, need paint, facia is rotting and there appeared to be moss and or mold on roofs of buildings. In fitness center, 3 of 8 eliptical machines were broken our entire visit, the grounds were messy. Ran out of ingredients for omelets on two occasions, ran out of ingredients for drinks #on the menu) and two several occasions, pillows were as flat as pancakes, rust on shower rods, floors still dirty after maids cleaned, missing tiles in the swimming pool and there was grafetti on one of the stautes in the pool. I've stayed at RIU Palace hotels before in Cabo and it was a solid '4' even leaning to a '5'. RIU Palace Negril was a weak '3'. On the plus side, the food was good and the staff were extremely friendly, courteous and helpful. The nightly entertainment was very good. We paid a premium to stay at the 'Palace' vs the regular RIU, but definitely did not get the value. Unless they make major changes, I wont be staying at this facility again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Carly5622
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Apr 10, 2012

Great location, terrible staff

Beaches and pool area were beautiful! The food at the hotel restaurants was also good. However, the hotel staff were very rude and unhelpful. Whenever there was a problem with the room they said there was never a bell boy around to help us and we had to fix the broken item ourselves. Room service was very limited, if we needed something they often would not bring it to us and we had to go and get it. The lack of service definitely put a dark cloud over what would have been an awesome vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
lollybfov
Business
Denver, CO
Jun 1, 2012

Great location - hotel staff left much to be desired

We loved the location of this resort. Bloody Bay was perfect to lay on a floating raft for hours in very calm ocean waters. Hi and Lo tide seemed not to even exist with the water being so nice and consistent. The water was also beautifully clear. The buffet food was good and offered a lot of variety each day/night. We skipped the dinner reservation we made at Krystal due to all of the awful reviews it was getting from others we talked to at the resort. The other restaurants offered got better reviews, but we weren't able to make reservations for these even four days in advance... brutal. Lastly and by far worst was the service. I can count on one hand the number of folks we came in contact with that were genuinely nice people. The entire group at the front desk, most of the waitstaff, bartenders and reservation folks were dreadful. They made us feel as though we were always imposing on them and every encounter put them out. I went to Jamaica expecting easy going and generally happy people, especially those working in the service industry. I could not have been more wrong. I am a very friendly and gracious person and I could not have been more surprised than I was to have that constantly shut down by the off putting and aloof nature of the people here - The front desk workers were by far the worst!! Most of the guys selling things on the beach were also very rude. They would yell at us and tell us we wasted their time and we didn't support Jamaica if we didn't buy what they were selling. I don't know if this was out of frustration or desperation in not selling enough, but it was frequent and made us feel lousy for no reason. We can't and don't want to buy everything we see and I think they don't look at us tourists as people, but as a constant stream of money. So so different than I expected and have encountered in other countries. In summary, the resort location was lovely. The staff here, and also in other places we visited in Negril were not. Sad to say, but I would not go back to Jamaica because of the people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Rick's Cafe is a joke. You will be hounded from the moment you walk in for tips from all of the cliff divers from across the way and they will say horrible things to you and make you feel like they will come after you if you do not throw tip money down to them after a dive. The food was also not good and service was deplorable.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
pick the one you want
Business
Ft. Lauderdale, Florida
Sep 3, 2012

Needs to be debugged

Had a roach problem. They advertised lobster night but no lobster available. Get an exterminator.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
winter park florida
Sep 13, 2010

The good, the bad, and the really ugly

In order to eat at the restaurants you had to book reservations 2 days out, could not find a person to book reservations. The bottom line we had to spend are vacation time booking reservations can only eat @ 6.30 or 9:00 pm. I'm vacation no watch no cell…. we went with a couple could not get rooms close there in a differant buld..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Allentown, PA
Jul 5, 2011

NOTHING but worries, Mon!

To be fair, let's start with the (very few) positives: 1. GREAT beach, easily the nicest of the five all-inclusives I have stayed at. Something magical about wading in the placid Caribbean at 630pm while watching the sunset in Bloody Bay is an experience I will not soon forget. 2. Most of the staff is very, very friendly, and will go out of their way, unexpectedly, to ask you how you are doing and welcome you to Jamaica. The bartenders also do an excellent job, with the pool bar guys staying a little extra even while closing to make sure your drinks are full. 3. Great food and world class service at the Krystal. I'd provide reviews of the OTHER restaurants here, but that leads to one of many, many glaring flaws with this resort: -Unreasonable dinner reservation appointment window. Namely every second day from 8-10:30am. Yes, on your vacation, you have to get up at 8 and stand in line in order to hopefully get a reservation at one of the three tiny restaurants here---and you might not score a table until the next night. No exceptions, unless you are willing to go though a labyrinth of red tape. To be fair, the Krystal was full the night we managed (with some begging the day before ) to get a seat, but be warned that it is very, very hard to get a seat at one the restaurants here. We have never experienced this much of a hassle at any other resort. And this was not even the busy season. What if you can't get a seat on one of the restaurants? There's always the All-Inclusive Buffet, right? Think again . . . . -All inclusive dinner buffet is mediocre, to put it kindly, consisting of undercooked pasta, dried "jerk" chicken, grisly steak, and other culinary horrors. Every once in a while the cooks would score with their turkey dishes or some of their lunch dishes, but overall, the buffet here is third rate. Thankfully, toothpicks are in abundance here. -Good luck with the towels. The first night, our room was not ready in time, but 30 minutes later it was, with a promise that towels would be delivered later. After three phone calls the towels finally showed up about 5 hours later. Then there is the pool towels--easily the most aggravating thing I have ever dealt with at an all-inclusive. Each guest gets 2 pool towel cards upon check-in, one card per towel, Then, you turn in your wet towels for new ones. One night we left our towels at the pool and went for a swim in the Caribbean, only upon returning to our pool chairs to discover our towels were taken by the towel boys. The next day, without the prized towel cards, I asked for new towels and explained the situation to the towel boy, and he cut me off and refused to give me fresh towels, and had the gall to tell me I had to go to the front desk and pay $20 for a new towel card! At an AIR??? And trust me, these towels were no $20 towels. (Meanwhile, 20 feet away, drunkards were dancing on the pool bar, fighting each other, dropping F bombs in front of small children, and not being removed, but I was a scofflaw for asking for a towel). Now, I get that there is only a set amount of towels to go around. But just like with the restaurant reservations, this was NOT in the busy season, and I have NEVER had a problem getting pool towels at an AIR before. Just HERE. -Mini bar. Minor complaint here, but we paid for it, and it just added to the list of minor annoyances. Our mini bar was not restocked on a regular basis. One night I called the front desk to ask if the refrigerator could be restocked, and the woman explained the people that do that left already. MY problem? Yet another excuse. She promised to work with the food service people to get the mini bar restocked. Never happened. I know these are all nitpicking things, but it's the small things, the details, that make or break an all-inclusive resort. And when it's one distraction after another, they pile up into one tremendously awful experience. Instead of hearing "YES!" it was one excuse after another from variou...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Wait until you get back to the Montego Bay airport to shop for souveniers.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NewYork
Jan 4, 2010

Not so great

Riu hotel is really nice,the beach is really nice. But the food was really bad. I mean just because it is all inclusive doesnt mean every meal has to buffet. I mean everything was fried, fried. NO fresh seafood, no grilled food.It was one of the worst all inclusive ever. The resort had 3 restaurant and you can only reserve for seats every other day and even that was booked.Even the booked restaurant the food was horrible, cold premade food, uncooked food and the seating is only 6:30 or 9:30. I mean i pay all this money for a nice vacation and food. This is my 1st caribean vacation without eating any lobster,no fresh shrimp or any good food. So give a F for food. In my book Riu gets a BiG FAT F .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
raqwest
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Sep 24, 2011

Rooms Smell

We moved 3 different times and still ended up in a room that smelled. There was mold growing on the outer door entry to the two adjoining rooms and each room we were moved to either smelled of sewage or mold. Upon returning home all of my clothes smell of mold... even those that I never wore. The people were great but beware this is a very poor country so some may be genuine and others may just be playing on your sympathy. I would not return and primarily due to the rooms... I think they have a serious mold problem!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top