$305 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 27, 2014 Check-out: Oct 30, 2014

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
158 reviews
Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet... See full review

  • Calin Voicu
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very... See full review

  • Cutty C
  • Jul 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

18.3446 -78.333
Area served
Negril, Jamaica.
Nearby airports
Montego Bay's International Airport (MBJ)
Area description
Located on Jamaica's West-End, in Negril.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
bayboy
Business
Canada
Feb 26, 2012

Riu Palace, Negril

Making reservations for the restaurants was a joke having to stand in a line for up to 2hrs,then you could only book for 2 nights.The resort did not offer any dancing or entertainment,the shows started at 9:30 and lasted about an hour.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yaman
Business
Vermont, USA
Feb 11, 2012

I will be back

We had a great time here, the Beach is the best part of the whole place. It is also the best beach on the entire strip of the resorts in Bloody Bay. Having to make reservations for dinner was a little frustrating especially since the restraunts were not even full. The food was good but not great, i would eat at the buffet there are more options and it is more relaxed and enjoyable attmosphere. but overall the place is beautifull and we are allready trying to figure out next years trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Don't waste your time on shopping trips they all sell the same stuff, and it is right on the beach with in walking distance of the hotel, so you can do it in you bathing suit and with a drink in your hand.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
1 trip a year
Business
Cleveland, OH
Feb 9, 2012

LOVED EVERY MINUTE!!

My husband and I went with a group of 10 of us. We had a fabulous time. We have stayed at other RIU Palace's before. This one is a little smaller than the others but it never felt crowded. The pools are great & the beach at the RIU palace is the best beach on bloody bay. We walked from one end of the bay to the other to check out the beaches & other hotels. We really felt we were at the best resort with the best beach. The staff was amazing. The entertainment staff was fabulous & make quick friends with the guests at the hotel. They are true professionals and even remember your name. O'Ryan was such a great help finding a cab to Rick's & showed us a great time. Sage from room service was also top notch. The pool bar staff was very fun and friendly as well. If there was one small complaint it would be making reservations for dinner. They take them on Tuesday, Thursday & I think Saturday mornings at 9am. You have to stand in line to make your reservation & the line gets very long. If you know what you want when you make reservations it makes the line move much quicker. We had a little problem with the safe the morning we were supposed to leave and our passports, money & valuables were all locked up putting me into pure panic. We called the front desk & a manager was there within 10 minutes to open the safe. I have seen some negative reviews, but I truly believe a vacation is what you make of it. We did not have one negative experience. We went to have a great time & we did. The food was fabulous & everyone in our group could not say that enough and the staff was also fabulous. We did not enoucounter any problems with mosquitos either. A few of us got a few sand flea bites, but nothing to make a big deal about. By the end of our stay, we knew most of the staff by name & they knew us as well. I would return to this hotel in a minute. This resort is not really geared toward children. We have 2 children but did not take them on this trip. There were some young kids there and this resort is really not the place for them. It is Jamaica after all and their laws for drug use are very "loose." There were never any problems, but the smell is unmistakable & you can smell it around the resort and on the beach. People are mostly relaxing around the pool with drinks & I know personally I did not love having kids jumping in the pool splashing around us. Luckily we only experienced that on our last day there, but if you are considering taking your children, you may want to look for another resort that is a little more family oriented. I wish I was still there!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
aifos
Business
Toronto, ON, Canada
Jan 19, 2012

Great trip

Beach is beautiful and clean, food is excellent. Staff are friendly. Our only disappointment was that our room was not ready for check in when we arrived at 3. Had to wait an hour and half.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JZ80
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Jan 13, 2012

Treated like a queen

Loved this hotel. I stayed over New Year's Eve and had a great time at the party. We ate lobster and they celebrated with a band, large ice sculptures, champagne and hats with horns. The food was delicious, the beach is grand, but it just takes time to get there. My only complaint is that the bed was a bit hard.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a shuttle to the location. The roads are kind of iffy to drive yourself.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
referee01
Business
San Diego, CA
Dec 27, 2011

Dec 2011

Had an awesome vacation at this hotel - staff was super friendly and helpful - Beach and swimming was superb - food at the buffet was plentiful and a great variety - entertainment nightl;y very entertaining - only negative is the bugs - got bitten to pieces - every thing else excellent - highly recommended

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Skinny Mine
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 22, 2011

Yeah Mon

The vacation was amazing, everything was great. Respect.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The steak house was the best. Japanese not so much.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
West Palm Beach, FL, USA
Dec 17, 2011

Great stay

Good entertainment, food was good. Would definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Souvenirs are cheaper at the Craft Market in Montego Bay or Negril than at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Warren G
Business
Greensboro, NC, USA
Dec 14, 2011

Incredible Anniversary

My wife and I have been to Jamaica at least fifteen times. This was by far the best time that we've had. The experience was absolutely amazing. The place was very clean and neat at all times from the rooms to the grounds! There was plenty of activities that kept us active when we chose. The entire staff was overly friendly, The food was great! (not the place to be if on a diet!) I am dfinitely going back next year, thinking about bringing my group of twenty! OUTSTANDING!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to bring long pants if planning on formal dinner reservations. There is a dress code they didn't tell me about and I had to skip my reservation! Wasn't that big a deal, it was an after thought more than anything.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Wally Svetlana
Business
Calgary, AB, Canada
Dec 14, 2011

Great Vacation

From the first step in the hotel we felt very comfortable. We arrived early, so our room was not yet ready, the staff went out of their way to ensure we were comfortable, entertained, and well looked after until we could get into our room. During the next ten days we were continually awed by the service and attitudes of all the staff. exceptional mention must be awarded to the entertainment staff.... fantastic shows! Very professionally choreography, stage design, costumes, and performing. Throughout our stay, this hotel was top of the line for us. We will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Mayfield Falls - do not miss this adventure. The natural mineral pools give you the most amazing massage and relaxation that you could imagine You'll feel and look 15 years younger (if you are over 40).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top