$332 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 19, 2014 Check-out: Dec 21, 2014

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

4 stars
Norman Manley Boulevard Bloody Bay Beach, Negril,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
160 reviews
Wonderful Jamaica

It was an awesome experience. Hotel location is amazing, sea water was worm and clear. The buffet... See full review

  • Calin Voicu
  • Jul 28, 2014
Great fun

Loved the fact that the buffet food was varied on different evenings. Staff was great .. Very... See full review

  • Cutty C
  • Jul 27, 2014

The Riu Palace Tropical Bay hotel is an all-inclusive luxury Jamaican resort based in Negril. Designed with colonial-Victorian flourishes, the old-fashioned-yet-contemporary facilities are framed by the Caribbean Sea to one side and verdant tropical gardens to the other. Private balconies are standard in every room and the Riu hotels activity program is in full effect, with available volleyball on the beach and snorkeling beneath the waves. Little ones can run riot at the beachfront playground and, after bedtime, parents can take advantage of the hotel’s childcare while dancing deep into the night at the Pacha nightclub.


Key facts
  • 416 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Krystal fusion restaurant, Bloody Bay grill-steakhouse, Hakuchi Japanese restaurant
  • All-inclusive drinks and snacks available 24 hours
  • Free Wi-Fi in lobby and rooms
  • 50 miles from Montego Bay airport (MBJ)
  • 2 swimming pools - one with whirlpool bath
  • Renova Spa
  • Free gym, sauna and whirlpool bath
  • 50,000-square-foot garden
Neighborhood
The Riu Tropical Bay is located on Jamaica's west coast, just north of the center of Negril, a popular resort town with a balanced mix of quiet cliff tops and busy seafront atmosphere. Just around the coast from Kool Runnings Waterpark, the hotel is nestled in the middle of Bloody Bay Beach - a disarmingly picturesque area named for the long-defunct whaling trade - where guests can try parasailing for adrenaline rushes and unrivalled views.
Hints and tips
Why not start the day as extravagantly as the activities sure to follow? Head down to the buffet restaurant for breakfast, and you'll be offered a complimentary glass of Cava. If there’s a member of your party with an approaching birthday, let the staff know - an extra special turn-down service with flowers may greet the birthday boy or girl when it’s time to hit the hay.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive Rooms

Junior Suite Ocean Front
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean front. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 1 king size bed with canopy, split-level living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with whirlpool bathtub, extra shower cabin, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with garden view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".
Junior Suite Ocean View
Air conditioning, ceiling fan, 2 double beds or 1 king size bed, separate living room area with sofa or sofa-bed, direct dial phone, regularly replenished mini-bar and liquor dispenser, satellite flat-screen TV, radio alarm clock, electronic in-room safe (laptop size 15"), iron and ironing board. Bathroom equipped with bathtub and shower, double-sink, vanity mirror, hairdryer and amenities kit. Balcony or terrace with ocean view. Coffe maker as of November 2009. New Italian Bathroom amenities "Lavarino Cosso".

Amenities

  • All inclusive
  • Free internet in room
  • Free parking
  • Pool
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
All inclusive
Restaurant
Internet
Free internet in room
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Dining

Reggae
Lounge bar.Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks
Negril
Main restaurant, serving Intenational and local specialties. Buffet style with show cooking. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
La Plaza
Pavillion Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Pacha
Complimentary entrance and drinks to "Pacha" night club at the hotel Riu Negril (open six nights a week).
Bloody Bay
Lunch restaurant during the day. At nights restaurant/grill and steak house with non-smoking section. la carte for dinner. Reservations Required.
The Sun
Pool and swim-up bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Cubano
Lobby Bar. Unlimited domestic and a selection of imported alcoholic beverages, tropical juice cocktails and soft drinks.
Krystal
Fusion Cuisine Restaurant. la carte for dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.
Rimini
Lunch & Snacks during the day. At nights Italian restaurant serving Buffet (non-smoking). Reservations Required.
Hakuchi
Japanese restaurant. la carte dinner. (Non-smoking).Reservations Required.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (160)

Ratings and reviews for Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
160 out of 160
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.3
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Spring Breakers 2012
Business
Florida, USA
Apr 8, 2012

Far away from Montego Bay Airport

We were really surprised when we got to Montego Bay and our hotel was 1 1/2 hours away from the airport. We were not expecting this.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are planning to visit Ocho Rios stay in a different resort, close to Ocho Rios and not in Negril

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake Orion, MI 48362, USA
Apr 8, 2012

great jamaica vacation

It was beautiful in every way but one: The dinners are tooo late and it was very difficult to make reservations due to the weddings at the steakhouse. Also, If people didn't show up for their reservations at a restaurant then they should still fill them up if there are people waiting. 3 nights in a row we were turned down in the restaurants even though there were empty tables. We complained several times . The buffet was incredible ! Otherwise the staff was wonderful and we were glad to tip generously!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

snorkeling! scuba diving

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
PSU Chicago
Business
Chicago
Apr 1, 2012

Nice trip!

Wasn't sure what to expect from Jamaica after seeing some mixed reviews and worrying about safety, but it was all good. The Palace Tropical Bay was a great place to stay. We ended up in building 5 on the ground floor which was fine. Did get some mild extra noise being on the ground floor but this was not bad at all. It was still well shielded from the night time activities that took place, could barely hear anything from our room when we were trying to sleep. Our room was spacious for 4 people and was in good condition. The staff was outstanding at the resort. All were very friendly and accommodating, no bad experiences. While gratuities are supposed to be included, had read from other reviews about tipping anyway. We only felt pressure to tip from the watersports staff, which appears to be contracted out from the RIU. We ended up doing some tipping out of courtesy and for excellent service and this was always well received, after all they work hard aren't getting all that much for pay. The beach was AWESOME, very well kept. Great snorkeling on the beach despite having no reefs. Great for kids since it the water was very shallow for a long stretch with no nasty undertoe or riptides. There are vendors who walk the beach offering services and products but they left you alone with a polite "no thank you". We did end up visiting the RIU Club down the beach and I have to say the Palace had MUCH nicer beach and grounds. Glad we were at the Palace! We ended up doing the snorkel excursion which was very nice. One thing to note for the specialty restaurants they changed their dining policy which sounds like a substantial improvement from what it used to be. We were able to book all our specialty restaurants for the entire stay in just one morning. We ended up lining up at about 7:50am and there were only 2 other folks waiting. Food overall was pretty good, the buffets really had good variety for all meals and good to very good quality. The Japanese and Fusion restaurants were very good, the Italian was only so-so. Overall a great stay, reasonable price for an all inclusive, excellent staff and outstanding beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
jerkstore
Business
Florida, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Enjoyed our stay, but won't be back.

The title of my review pretty much sums up how I feel about Jamaica in general. I just don't have a compelling reason to want to do it all over again. The employees of the hotel were very friendly and helpful, of course, this was aided by some well-placed tips towards the beginning of our 5-day stay. It seemed like word spread quickly among the staff, and it seemed like we received extra attention (sometimes to the point of excess) as a result. The hotel itself is really nothing spectacular. The rooms are furnished with nice materials (dark wood, tile, granite, marble), but the slow drains, sloppy caulking, and odd electricals, made for a less than stellar feel to the room. The housekeeping staff seemed very stingy with the bar soaps (though they did a good job of restocking the in-room drinks every day). The grounds are attractive and well maintained, but the buildings have a dated look to them. The pools are somewhat small, I can imagine how crowded they must be in the peak season from Dec-Feb. The beach was nice, though nothing spectacular. I've been to many beaches in Florida that are much nicer. Bloody Bay seems "sterile", in that I didn't see a single fish in the water near the beach. I don't know if that's due to an effort to remove seagrass, to "sanitize" the beach for tourists expecting nature's swimming pool, or what. On the last day of our stay, a phone call was received, purportedly from the housekeeper, asking that her tip be left under the rug in the room, rather than on the nightstand. This felt very sketchy / creepy, and just had the feel of something improper going on. Also, BEWARE of JTL Tours. Apparently, this is the contractor for some of the online travel booking websites, and some of the tours they sold us in the hotel lobby were terrible. The catamaran trip to Rick's cafe (site of the famous cliff diving), was AWFUL. The catamaran was more of a barge than a nice sailing vessel. No mast, no sail, and a blue utility tarp for the cover in case of rain. This, plus the odd port of entry behind the Burger King, felt VERY cheap. The ScubaCaribe catamaran looked beautiful, and left from the beach, eliminating the need for a bus ride. One of our family members was injured, and so the rest of us did not want to go on the tour we booked for our last day, since we wanted to spend time with the injured family member (whom we don't get to see very often). JTL Tours refused to refund the price of the tour (so now they get to deal with American Express instead!).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Negril Buffet was the best food of all the dinner restaurants. Don't bother with the "specialty" restaurants. Don't miss the Jerk food at lunchtime -- it's the best!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DRob1972
Business
Little Rock, AR, USA
Mar 19, 2012

Negril Trip

Great resort! Staff was friendly and nice. Will visit again the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mr. Brian
Business
Illinois
Mar 12, 2012

Honeymoon

Went for a honeymoon the second week of march and had a really good time. The location is fantastic and the beach was truly great. Our room was very clean and the mini bar was filled every day. One of the best parts of the Riu Palace was the staff. Any help we ever needed from the front desk was fulfilled and everyone we encountered was friendly. The cocktails from the bars were never watered down and I was pretty impressed with that aspect. My wife actually had to ask for less rum in her drinks. The buffet food was anywhere from pretty good to just ok depending on your taste and selection. Getting reservations at the restaurants was a little frustrating because we only got to go the places that weren't booked already. We went to the japanese and steak house and I would sayboth places were ok. I was fine with that though because we went for the location and not the food. Overall it was a great place to go and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place to my friends. We really did have a great time during our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Next to the resort you can walk to the local shops. At a couple spots they bring in fresh lobster and while it may seem sketchy, get some! They will ask for $25 per person but you can talk them down in price. It was delicious!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Reserve with confidence.
Business
Bucks, PA, USA
Mar 9, 2012

Fantastic Vacation

The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. Our room was comfortable and clean. The food at the restaurants was a good or better than you would expect to receive in any fine dining restaurant. Even the food at the buffet was exceptional. I have been to all inclusive resort hotels in the past and this hotel rates far and above the rest. This is my first experience at a RIU Hotel and I would highly recommend this facility. In fact, I am going to seek out a RIU in the future. No more surprises for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cg19man
Business
Upstate, New York
Mar 8, 2012

Great time- at home feeling while on vacation

This was my wife and my first time to Jamaica. It was a very relaxing and recharging getaway. Riu Tropical was a fabulous experience. We were pleasantly surprised that 'all inclusive' means just that: food/drink 24 hours a day, and recreation of various types are at your disposal anytime during the day. The entertainment and music were tasteful, fun and appealing to families and couples alike. At dinner the first night there, my bride was already planning her next trip here. Absolutely excellent, and the price is a bargain.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure to have your Jamaica Tour LTD transportation voucher to the hotel in advance of the trip. $45 USD per person, but it's a solid 90 minute drive to the resort with the drop offs along the way.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Lulujambo
Business
Georgia
Mar 6, 2012

Beautiful room. Fabulous staff.

Treated like royalty from the moment we arrived. All the staff were wonderful, especially those at the reception desk. Our suite (6317) was spacious (kingsized four poster, jacuzzi, double sinks), spotless and on the ocean front. Fell asleep every night listening to the waves roll onto the beach. Bliss. Food was average. I'm picky but always found something to eat. As much as you can eat lobster tails on menu one night and they were fabulous! Didn't use the pool but the beach was nice and the water shallow and warm. Often saw fish circling us in the water. Entertainment much in-line with other all-inclusives. Once you've seen one you've seen them all. However, there was a piano player in the lobby some evenings and he was fantastic. What makes any trip to Jamaica special is the people, and this trip was no exception. They are welcoming and fun-loving, not to mention resourceful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Get outside the hotel. Take a trip into the smaller villages and see what life is really like outside the tourist areas. Lots of great food to be bought from the roadside - shrimp,goat,fish, different fruit - and be sure to drink from a real coconut.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Riu Palace Tropical Bay All Inclusive

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bermudaful Boy
Business
Austin, TX, USA
Mar 4, 2012

Go for the beach and booze

Location Everyone knows Seven Mile Beach but this resort sits on Bloody Bay which is just before 7-Mile. You actually pass the RUI on your way in from MoBay. Beach is much, much wider, with only 4 resorts in 1.5 miles; it's also far less crowded. Not nearly as busy with loud watercraft and louder tourists. Same water, same view. Same great beach food, tourist souveniers, etc. Staff Front desk folks were amazing; helpful, thoughtful; funny! Good folks! Food Just don't go here for the food as it is below mediocre. The dining wait staff was sporatic in being engaged v. being disinterested. We tended to eat each meal late and most of the food was cooked in such bulk that most everything was overcooked. Meats? Generaly shoe leather, but the last night we all enjoyed roast duck that while overdone as well was chewable. Their smoothies are based on sugar syrup! Thin and yucky! We didn't bother to waste 1 hour plus to make reservations at any of the 4 A La Carte restaurants. Give me a break! Beach Grill Only exception as you've heard is the beach side jerk chicken grill which was outstanding. Booze Bar staff was ALWAYS fun and engaging! Pool bar is the place during the day. Lobby bar features classic piano lounge lizard fare. Not our scene but a nice warm up to dinner. Rum was primarily Appleton (3 ways). Red Stripe beer flows cold. Red wine at dinner was the worst! Room Service Barely. They offer 24 hour room service which provides only 5 options - low end cold cut sandwhiches, a Mexican taco plate, and nachos which gave my daughter and another father food poisoning (8 hours of heaving!) Room We were in 2306. Almost lowest price room but from third floor balcony had nice view of Bloody Bay throught the trees. Good location to right of lobby area and outdoor entertainment which can be loud. Avoid any rooms backing up to street, lots of motorcycles and loud mufflers. Biggest complaint was the horrid musty smell! Really bad but my daughter hates to complain so I left it alone. Never again! I sprayed Ozium every day which I always carry. Firm bed suited my family just fine. Water pressure in all of Negril is weak. Toilets flush even weaker. Activities Standard overpriced tours, scuba lessons, etc. Negril natives are cool so book your own from folks on the beach or on-line. Great snorkeling trip with Famous Vincent to the awesome reef. Only $25 ea. plus $5 tip to his 2 helpers. Well worth it. Try to go early or late. We had a 9 am full boat but the next day our friends had just the two of them on board for a 12 pm trip! Summary I guess I'm not an all-inclusive guy. Don't like cruises, don't like seeing massive amounts of food waste. It disgusts me. What bothers me equally is how rude my fellow countrymen can be. 'Please' and 'thank-you' go a long way, people. Following 5 nights here we moved to The Rockhouse in the west end of Negril. 34 rooms, 147 staff members, 2 restaurants. No beach but a salt water pool and elegant accomadations. Do yourseld a favour and check it out. Their location is better than ANY of the west end cliff hotels: The Caves, Xtabi, Catch a Falling Star and Tensing Pen. More lush, on the cove with Pirate's Cave, cliff jumping from your balcony! It was wonderful especially after suffering through RUI Tropical Palace.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Do your homework!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top